Proton X50 – Geely explains downsizing move, three-cylinder vibration countermeasures for 1.5T engines

Malaysians in general have a preconceived idea of how big an engine should be for each type or car. We’ve encountered many who dismiss 1.0L turbo B-segment cars because of engine capacity, despite the boosted motors having good figures and low end torque that would see them overtake 1.5L NA rivals. C/D-segment cars with 1.5T engines? “Can move ah?” is a common question.

This is despite engine downsizing being with us for some time now, and plenty of evidence that a downsized turbo engine is capable of much more than its engine capacity suggests. In my opinion, VW Group models are the best poster cars for the downsizing movement (your first time in a modern GTI will tell you it’s all the car you’ll need), and we got to hat tip Honda for introducing downsized turbo engines in the Japanese mass market arena.

It’s all about fuel efficiency and emissions, which are (rightfully) forced on carmakers. With turbocharging to compensate, an engine can get away with having lower displacement and fewer cylinders. A smaller engine is a more efficient one – they’re also lighter and smaller in size, which adds to the FC gains.

Of course, many have been converted, and the mindset of most have changed, but the reaction of some to the new Nissan Almera’s 1.0 litre turbo engine proves that some are wedded to bigger is better. You’ve read what we think of this subject; now let’s see what Geely has to say.

In an article focusing on the 1.5TD engine range and interviewing Hakan Sandquist, Geely’s director of powertrain strategy at CEVT (China Euro Vehicle Technology) in Gothenburg, the company explained the rationale behind the 1.5TD engine family – which houses the X50’s 1.5T and 1.5 TGDi engines – the reason for downsizing, and countermeasures for a three-cylinder engine’s inherent character.

In addition to the efficiency positives listed above, Geely says that the three-cylinder engine is perfect for compact models for a variety of reasons: the smaller size leaves room for hybrid systems (the 1.5 TD engine range was from the onset designed to support electrification) and gives designers more freedom; while lower weight makes it easier to achieve a 50:50 chassis weight balance in front-wheel-drive models.

Three-cylinder engines vibrate more; that’s just the way they are. But Geely and Volvo did not see this inherent three-pot characteristic as an unsolvable problem, because they already have the secret sauce for odd-numbered cylinder engines in the pantry. “For years, Volvo has utilised a five-cylinder engine and has extensive experience developing engines for the premium market segment,” Sandquist said.

An army of measures are there to neutralise the enemy. The 1.5TD range features counterweighted crankshafts, dual-mass flywheel with centrifugal pendulum absorber damper, single balancing shaft, low noise timing belt, high stiffness oil pan, asymmetric oil pump impeller, and an engine compartment and vibration dampener. All these “have effectively eliminated perceivable engine vibrations,” Sandquist says.

Geely claims that noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) in models powered by 1.5TD engines is on par or better than some equipped with four-cylinder engines. The carmaker says that electrified versions of the engine should further reduce vibrations, as most of the sensation is felt during engine start-up and at low engine speeds. In hybrids, the electric motor takes care of these situations before the ICE comes in.

All Volvo Engine Architecture engines (VEA forms the foundation of the 1.5TD) are designed to accommodate a combination of turbochargers, superchargers and electric systems – this allows Volvo and Geely to offer consumers different levels of power outputs within the same engine family. Like building blocks.

With the 1.5TD, Geely and Volvo set out to create a “highly responsive, compact and powerful premium-quality three-cylinder engine”. With a low inertia turbocharger, traditional turbo lag is minimised and “nearly imperceptible” while giving the engine the endurance it needs at higher speeds. Geely claims a smooth and linear power output similar to much larger NA engines.

Built to be modular and electrification-ready, the 1.5TD has plug-and-play support for mild hybrid, range extender, hybrid, and plug-in hybrid systems. An example is the plug-in hybrid “Twin Engine” version of the Volvo XC40. Geely claims that the 1.5TD has the potential to meet future Euro 7 emissions levels, and global fleet CO2 targets past year 2030.

Finally, durability. Volvo and Geely say that they tested and validated the 1.5TD above and beyond the prevailing industry standard. The engines are designed to last 15 years or a distance of 350,000 km, higher than the norm of 10 years or 200,000 km.

Jointly developed by Geely and Volvo at Volvo’s R&D centre in Gothenburg, CEVT China Euro Vehicle Technology in the same Swedish city, and the Geely Research Institute in China, the 1.5TD engine range is produced around the world following the Volvo Global Manufacturing System. The engines share over 90% of the same global suppliers through the Chinese carmaker’s global joint procurement system.

The 1.5TD family has three base variants. The range starts with the 1.5T PFI, which is the 1.5T in the X50 Standard, Executive and Premium. PFI stands for port fuel injection. The next one is the 1.5TD using direct injection – this is the 1.5 TGDi in the X50 Flagship. There’s also a 1.5T Miller designed specifically for hybrid applications. The variable valve timing in this PFI mill is adjusted to enable the engine to run on the more fuel efficient Miller cycle.

All three engines in the 1.5TD family are 1,477 cc three-pot turbos with similar bore and stroke measurements of 82 mm and 93.2 mm. What differs is the compression ratio, which is expected because of the different fuel injection systems – it’s 10:1 for the 1.5T PFI, 10.5:1 for the 1.5TD (1.5 TGDi) and 11.5:1 for the 1.5T Miller PFI.

The 1.5T kicks things off at 150 PS (110 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 226 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm; the 1.5TD (1.5 TGDi) does 179 PS (132 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm; while the 1.5T Miller is good for 143 PS (105 kW) at 5,500 rpm and 215 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,000 rpm. The 1.5TD figures will be 177 PS (130 kW) if tuned for RON 92 petrol, and 177 PS is what Proton quotes.

The Malaysian carmaker has also revealed claimed fuel consumption figures – 6.4 litres per 100 km (15.6 km/l) for 1.5 TGDi Flagship and 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l) for the non-DI 1.5T engine that powers the rest of the X50 range.

We’ve already covered the X50 extensively from the media preview that happened last week, and you can check it out here. Below are the spec-by-spec differences that we know so far. Bear in mind though that the images you see here are of the top Flagship variant – Proton has yet to reveal the other variants in the metal.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Reverse camera
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Simple question: Is the counter-vibration parts need to replace in the long-run? Just like bearing, engine mounts and suspension bushes.

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Simple answer: No. It’s an integral part of the engine like the camshafts or the crankshaft.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Basher Dont Learn on Sep 27, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Read properly la bros. The diagram shows there is a BIG “centrifugal pendulum absorber damper” integrated to the “dual mass flywheel”. We all know flywheel is expensive to replace. So in my opinion, the pendulum could shorten the lifespan of the flywheel…

• Why So Serious on Sep 28, 2020 at 9:47 am

How short is your short? Here is the lifespan as tested by CEVT; “The engines are designed to last 15 years or a distance of 350,000 km, higher than the norm of 10 years or 200,000 km.”

• Michael Chong on Sep 28, 2020 at 7:52 am

Pity Geely must explain all this to us. Isnt it a Proton car and shouldnt Proton staff be teaching us on this?

• Not really. This is a Geely global media release on their website to announce the debut of this new engine. It isn’t just related to Proton as the said 1.5 TD & TGDi is a global engine it just so happens the global debut was on Proton X50 and not a Geely car.

• Imprezzed on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:19 am

I suspect the mounting might wear out earlier.

• Kodak on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Better power than Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Suhaimi Sulaiman on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:02 pm

3 cylinder is a joke. Only Daihatsu Charade used that before and it was utter junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
      • Anonymous on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:25 pm

I know you stay in cave since the 80s, but it’s 2020 now. Time to wake up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Sure... on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:44 pm

A joke to you, untill you see what’s inside Koenigsegg Gemera

• Yusuf Iman Bin Quek on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:05 pm

More like you are a junk

• U never feel the Daihatsu Charade GTti engine before…

• Michael Chong on Sep 28, 2020 at 7:53 am

I only wish our local Engineers had designed and made this car. Then we got something to be proud of

• Kam Lee Huat on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Why didn’t our engineers come out with a good SUV long ago? Didn’t we have any transfer of technology long ago.

Mitsubishi made the best SUV before. The Pajero is a legend still.

Why we never learnt anything from our partner Mistubishi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:35 pm

Because Mitsubishi never taught anybody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Engineer on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:47 pm

SUV transfer of technology when was that? Proton have never assembly a Pajero ever. So where got such transfer ever happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Steven Ong on Sep 28, 2020 at 7:54 am

Truth be told, Proton staff could not understand the subject matter then

• English Teacher on Sep 28, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Yes, well understandable nobody could understand something that was never taught.

• Abu Bakar Awang on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:27 pm

Honda City still hold 70% of its value after 5 years.

Have you seen Haval value? After 2 years, it loses 90% of its value.

The same with any China car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
      • Brian on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:26 pm

If you look to sell off your Japanese car after just 5 years, something must be seriously wrong with it.

• Darren on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:32 pm

Which is why your comparison is irrelevant. This isn’t a china car, it is a Proton. You want to talk about Haval, go find yourself a Haval article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • 18 year ago Nokia phone also have good resell value, now you compare china phone Oppo, Vivo and Nokia see which got good resell value. Japanese car selling higher price compare to 10 year ago with the same segment. Time to wake up frog

• Anonymous on Sep 26, 2020 at 6:27 pm

What? Your argument is that Geely is a bad car maker because Haval is? Wow.
        If we were to follow that logic, then Toyota is at the verge of bankruptcy because Nissan is the worst financially performing car maker in the world.

• Cheers on Sep 26, 2020 at 1:46 pm

Better horsepower than Almera

• Premium Kotex on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:32 pm

The norm… other Proton 10years/200,000km engine life span?

No wonder….

• Sure... on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:47 pm

Yet you still see 1st gen Proton Saga & Wira on the road clocking more than 300, 000 km

• Anonymous on Sep 26, 2020 at 6:35 pm

That is just the quality testing standard. The engine should AT LEAST last 10 years or 200,000 km, whichever comes first. After that there is no guarantee of a normal service life. Usually beyond that the engine would maybe need a cylinder head overhaul. Going much further and you would be replacing parts and doing major overhauls. Extending that quality standard farther means the engine can have a longer normal service life.

• AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:35 pm

No doubt. Launch the X50 now.

• 10*********Article on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Brilliant written reports by sir. Danny Tan. Highly technical and easy to understand. Golden points on engine performance, NVH and durability
    Cant wait for X50’s test drive video & written reports soon by PT

• Raja Celup on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Much better if can offer 10-years car warranty unlimited mileage (including DCT gearbox also)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Maxine on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Ya reflection on yourself, a weird series of Kunta’s fantasy Novela – sending his Djinn to whisper into Dato We Ka Siong ears to table stricter rules for all car brands to upgrade Bumper-2-Bumper and powertrain warranty to 10years/100,000 miles plus corrosion protection and roadside assistance service as offered in NA.

• M & B on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Nice!

• Here's another comment on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Those people still thinking in WW2 era despite never go through them and still living in 2020.

They glorify engine displacement without checking the power figure. Not only that, they still couldn’t get over with turbo reliability myths. Still prefer timing-chain over lighter and more efficient timing-belt. They rather stay with 4 speed auto trans than DCT. They’re afraid of change, they rather stay behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • Chelliah on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:10 pm

The people you talk about got money in the bank. People with Turbo spend so much in repairs, they don’t have money in bank at all

That is the difference.

Don’t action and laugh at people who are old fashion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • Here's another comment on Sep 25, 2020 at 6:35 pm

I still LOL them big time, bcos jus like you, they don’t have even the slightest idea how reliable modern turbochargers can be. They’re seriously missing out big time thinking big engine = more powerful.

I do own a turbocharged cars and I can always smile looking at my bank account. Bcos, it’s pretty much maintenance free. Driven over 150k km and counting, not even once the turbo’s been touched. It’s still going strong with plenty of torque and wide powerband. Going up hills & overtaking is a breeze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • The only turbo user whining abt turbo reability are those who like to overdue their service interval & like to use cheap/fake engine oil..

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:38 pm

“People with Turbo spend so much in repairs”

Yes, people with old Saga’s and “bolt-on” turbos.

• Kassim on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:37 pm

DCT is not ideal in traffic jam. You can’t let your car creep forward or else the gearbox will
      overheat.

I prefer DCT myself but some may prefer ancient 4AT cos its more reliable. they are not car enthusiasts.

• Ol Skool on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:03 pm

I’ve never experience any kind of overheating with my DCT gearbox, driving in traffic jam under the hot sun. Regular maintenance is only changing AT oil as scheduled, and that’s it.

Manufacturers offer DCT not only for car enthusiast, but also for efficiency reason, otherwise Hyundai won’t bother putting them inside the Ioniq. Ancient 4AT is the most inefficient auto transmission you can get today bcos of the ratio difference between each gear is so far from each other. They’re cheap and reliable, but they couldn’t pass the ever stringent emissions standard. So they’re obsolete, but not yet in MY bcos of our low emission standard.

Maybe you heard a lot about DCT failure in early models of western brands. Everyone learnt from that mistake. But a lot of people always clinging to the bad history, and refuse to move on, nor they want see what the newer generation is offering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Kassim on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Interesting. thanks for your inputs as a DCT car owner.

just curious, do you creep forward in traffic jams (to close the gap)? or do you just depress the brake fully and move forward once there is a big gap?

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:40 pm

3AT is even more reliable as they lack one complete gear set.

• Jeremy on Sep 26, 2020 at 9:40 am

Dry clutch DCT is bad but on this X50 is a wet clutch DCT so your reasoning is not valid. While VW dry clutch DSG has overheat issues, it cannot be said the same for GTI wet clutch DSG which is super reliable.

• casino welcomes cash is king on Sep 27, 2020 at 1:01 pm

Bingo. Seen many DCT cars gearbox overheating going up genting while stuck in traffic jam queue before roundabout until police beat post (between gohtong jaya – gpo route) .

• X50 using timing belt instead of timing chain? If it is not chain… how long it’s gurantee last?

• Bruh... on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Even my 15 year old sedan recommend 100k or 5 years whichever come 1st with OEM timing belt. I always change at 80km mark. With new car, expect similar or better mileage.

• Brian on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:28 pm

It is guaranteed to last you 1.9million KM as long you change it following the schedule. Can you ever travel 1.9million KM?

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:42 pm

Toyota has serious problems with timing chains in their Aygo (both petrol and diesel). Usually they fail when the warranty is expired.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • You mean honda has even serious problems for majority failure parts which usually also fail even haven’t reach warranty yet

• Chow Wei Zhen on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Good job Proton Malaysia. At least making sure that built car quality will be better

• History Bender on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:59 pm

But beforehand we should tip hat off to Proton for going the downsize movement way ahead of everyone when they intro Preve CFE way back in 2012 a full 8 years ahead of its Japanese competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
    • Chelliah on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Is that why the Preve was a failure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Brian on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Multiple disliking @History Bender’s comment doesn’t make Preve a failure no matter how hard you wished it.

• Here's another comment on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Or maybe they just don’t have a resource to develop other than 1.3L and 1.6L. Slap on turbo, done! They’re a lot reliable though. So I’m pretty much welcome the 1.5 TGDI so they can move on to a much better technology.

• Not so. 1.3~1.6 is the sweet spot for turbo’ing engine as you see the many applications for 1.4L from Polo until Passat. The goes for 1.5L from City/Jazz to CR-V. I would say Proton was way too early ahead of the curve with their 1.3 & 1.6 engines but they didn’t have the resource to develop further for better efficiency & emissions. That was a pity as Campro was rock solid.

• lilytan on Sep 25, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Surely they can claim its euro 7 ready, moon and sky too but it will be a dinosaur here if u strip all the best bits when it comes to msia.

• Bruh... on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:26 pm

That… you can blame our govt for low emissions standard in this country. Other manufacturer still offering 1.5 N/A like Honda City even though they got 1.0T engine in Thailand, heck there’s even a few other 1.5 N/A with seven seater, bcos they can in this land.

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:47 pm

Currently, cars in Malaysia cannot fulfill EURO 7 (or EURO 6d) because of the fuel (sulfur content).

• You meant like how Japanese brands have selling us dinosaurs throughout the years and after Proton up their game did these brands started offering better specs?

• Jia Ren on Sep 25, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Bring it on. Excitement and Amazing

• calcutta on Sep 25, 2020 at 3:44 pm

ok,i get the idea that small turbocharged engine can produce the same power,but is the added complexity for only the same amount of power worth it?
    for me as consumer, if you want me to accept additional mechanical risk,there should be a net benefit from all this,civic 1.5 turbo is a good offering with significantly more power and efficiency than the N/A engine it replaced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • toyotafan on Sep 25, 2020 at 3:53 pm

Actually, nobody is interested in the 3 cylinder vibration thing. Only 2 things matter.

For non-car buffs, will there be oil dilution and gunk issue for the GDI?

For car buffs, are the piston heads for the MPI and GDI the same? Hoping that the GDI piston heads have a kink (aka 328i pistons vs 320i pistons)

Nothing else matters. hic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Venza on Sep 25, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Impressive

• Ragunath Kesavan on Sep 25, 2020 at 4:10 pm

Not many people know about Turbo engines. During warranty, you are fine. But once warranty is over, when the Turbo gives problems, bills are always 5 figures.

This is why true car enthusiast only go for Naturally Aspirated Engines (NA)

Turbo also got problems. And the problems always come after the warranty is over!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
    • Brian on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:39 pm

‘car enthusiast only go for Naturally Aspirated Engines’
      Speak to my GTR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • “true car enthusiast only go for Naturally Aspirated Engines (NA)”
      You’re still stuck in the 4AGE/4G92/B16A/S50 era, this is not 80s/90s anymore.

• Here's another comment on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:37 pm

Hahahahaha LOL when non car enthusiast trying to talk like he’s one of them, this is what they say. This fella have no idea how big aftermarket turbo industry is. Bet he didn’t even know what’s happening to Garrett turbocharger manufacture as of now.

• newme on Sep 25, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Report so much also no use. Just like last year, tons of article about X70, padahal in China top selling SUV is Haval H6. Boyue only managed to get 7th place behind Tiguan, CRV and Xtrail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 25, 2020 at 5:42 pm

And yet Geely is in the Fortune 500 list while Great Wall… isn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • newme on Sep 28, 2020 at 10:26 am

Mabuk ketum ka? Since when Fortune 500 includes non-US company?

• https://paultan.org/2020/08/25/geely-and-volvo-10-year-partnership-by-the-numbers/
          You really should read more and not just blindly hate. It would save you the shame.

• Kopi & Pasta on Sep 25, 2020 at 7:41 pm

“Why not? More views more money. This site want to make money too”

MY people want to know maa, let them be.

• dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:54 pm

In northern China, there’s something called SNOW and they have something called summer and winter too. No wonder that they may prefer different cars there.

• tolak talok on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:01 pm

1. There is no replacement for displacement. Downsized cars are ok on lebuhraya, wait until you are stuck in cutthroat traffic jams. They just don’t have the instant accelerator response. Turbo car will always have turbo lag, get over it.

2. DMF is prone to failure. Just ask the many diesel drivers in Europe who have had to replace DMF. It’s labour intensive to change.

So – no. There’s a reason why Jap makes resisted downsize and turbos for so long.

(Oh, don’t get me started talking about DCT. And please – don’t believe all those reliability numbers. The clutch can be burnt in a few months if not years of heavy traffic jams or just by holding car with accelerator on a slope.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • dream_125 on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:05 pm

“2. DMF is prone to failure. Just ask the many diesel drivers in Europe who have had to replace DMF. It’s labour intensive to change.”

Nissan XTrail from 2005 had DMF already.I don’t want to ask europeans (too far away), I ask you: How many XTrails in Malaysia had problems with DMF?

• tarik balik on Sep 25, 2020 at 10:37 pm

1. Yes there are replacement for displacement, especially when N/A is big and heavy they can’t pass stricter emission standard. Turbocharged engine that’s it, much better a turbocharged hybrid. Turbo lag can be felt only on full acceleration, but who does that in traffic jams when people lightly touch the pedal?

2. Agree with DMF failure. Hope it’s included among 10% passed Volvo standards and let see how well it does inside this X50. It can be replaced with SMF if don’t mind vibration, though gudluck finding one for this engine.

DCT clutch does get burnt for prolonged used in specific condittion. But I haven’t heard yet the issue with wet-clutch DCT.

• DCT is fun to drive, I owned a DCT (dry) for 5 years & I am still loving it over normal AT, torque convertor & CVT. You just have to understand how to drive a DCT car to maximize it’s full potential. There are no complaints about wet DCT, e.g. Gold GTI, Passat 2.0 & Mondeo, changing clutch is just part of maintaining a gearbox, even a manual transmission need to change clutch.

• Ching pen on Sep 27, 2020 at 5:16 am

Comment macam takde otak

• Dong gor on Sep 25, 2020 at 8:31 pm

Want to enjoy the drive of dct and turbo buy x50.. Want to drive a car for 20 yrs buy a Toyota vios 4AT. Simple as that.. It’s your money you decide.

• Uncle Lim on Sep 25, 2020 at 9:51 pm

bro you OK? Now even Vios use CVT with simulated 7 speed shift.

• Swimpal on Sep 25, 2020 at 10:42 pm

The inherent weakness of a turbo charged engine can never go away, more heat, more degradation of engine oil and more wear and tear of engine. The resale value of turbo engines will be bad if problem starts to surface especially when owners are not savvy and prompt in maintenance. The other alternative is to drive turbo engines modestly but it’s hard to achieve if turbo starts to kicking at 1500 RPM

• Saladin on Sep 25, 2020 at 11:55 pm

3 pot = engine vibrate like hell, u dont create problem n giv solution. Just dont create the problem. Less friction on cylinder wall does not justify add item on the engine. 1 part fail others will be like dominos.
    1.5 turbo = boost to high oil dilution problem, boost to low not enough power. Trafic jam eat petrol like hell, highway good fc.
    Timing belt = this is 2020 not 1920
    DCT = for sports car only. Drive fast is ok cos the gear oil cooler is cool by the moving air. In hot sunny traffic jam the gear oil become too hot n spoil ur gearbox.

Turbo engine tech is only use for temporary car sales. All the above mentioned are all known problems. The future will always be EV.

• All cars are good cars, if you do not know how to maintain the car even I give you a RR will become scrap iron. Most importantly in Malaysia the car has to be tropicalised otherwise there will be endless problems. I learnt that Geely/proton has spent great deal of time tropicalised the X50 Turbo, I guess with that kind of price it will still be the best buy.

• That Guy on Sep 26, 2020 at 12:26 pm

“Can move ah?” is a common question.

Ah yes, the same mentality of people pressing on car bumpers and denouncing it as a milo-tin car. Or those that want 1.5cc and higher engines in a-segment cars. These are the people putting those gaudy shark fin strips on the roof their car, ruining the months of work engineers put into designing for the optimal drag on the car.

• nik azlan riak on Sep 26, 2020 at 4:04 pm

There are lots of 1.3 / 1.4 / 1.5 liter turbo merc / beemer/ audis / mini with powerful power & torque….the diff is that they dont advertised their displacement but are damn powerful enough for the road. Nobody complAining…

• You guys at Paultan.org always forgot about this award winning 3 cylinders turbo engine to compared against.
    https://paultan.org/2012/06/14/ford-1-0-ecoboost-is-the-2012-international-engine-of-the-year-bags-first-title-win-for-the-blue-oval/

1.5T 3 cylinders engine can goes as high as 200hp (in Ford Fiesta ST)

• Justice on Sep 26, 2020 at 8:22 pm

a 3 cycl engine? what a shame

• Shopee on Sep 26, 2020 at 10:19 pm

Timing belt…….”d*mn*.looks like proton want to give some market to those rm80k japanese b segment cars and some reason to choose the x70..

• Same L0rr on Sep 27, 2020 at 6:46 am

Campro 1.6 cfe also got turbo meh..

• Useyourbrain on Sep 27, 2020 at 9:58 am

It’s a small sized SUV what do you expect?Put 6 cylinders and bigger cc?Koenigsegg already come out with new 2.0 three cylinders bi-turbo.Scania long time have 9L 5 cylinders turbo with counter balance shaft.
    Even Aprilia has 660cc two cylinders 100hp supersport bike to compete with Japanese 600cc 4 cylinders and Triump/MV Agusta 675cc 3 cylinders.Important aspect is periodic maintenance,replace parts when they are worn etc.I got 3 bikes(400cc/650cc/1000cc) and 3 cars(2 turbocharged) with no issue at all.

• kingx on Sep 27, 2020 at 11:02 pm

10 years? You mean time to scrap those junk after 10 years?

• X-50 is an impressive car based on the limited review and information. I’m interested to get one, but my past experiences with Proton were short of expectations. I had owned 2 proton saga, while my family owned Proton cars ranging from Saga to Perdana in the past. All of us were disappointed with quality and servicing.
    Yes, now Proton is revamped and under the dynamic leadership ofGeely and things look promising. My only concern, whether the after sale servicing part will be up good and knowledgeable since there wil be many people buying X-50 and X-70. If the servicing has improved, then I have no hesitation in getting X-50 (after a full review on the car).

• So with this explanation plus the quoted 255nm we can pretty much confirm TD is the same as the Geely Icon 1.5TD hybrid.