2020 Mazda CX-30 2.0G gets powered tailgate, RM145k

Bermaz Motor has announced that the entry-level Mazda CX-30 2.0G now comes with a powered tailgate as part of a model year update. This addition brings with it a price increase of RM3,110, with the car retailing at RM144,759 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a 50% rebate in the sales and service tax (SST). The other variants – the 2.0G High, 2.0G High AWD and 1.8D High – remain unchanged.

Aside from the powered tailgate, the 2.0G retains its automatic LED headlights, halogen daytime running lights, 16-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, manual air-conditioning, manual fabric seats, seven-inch digital instrument display, head-up display, 8.8-inch touchscreen with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, reverse camera, and eight speakers.

Safety-wise, the 2.0G continues to come with six airbags and stability control, doing without the i-Activsense driver assistance systems of the other variants. It also soldiers on with the same 2.0 litre Skyactiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine making 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Those outputs are sent to the front wheels through a six-speed automatic gearbox.

GALLERY: 2020 Mazda CX-30 2.0G (pre-update)

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Typical Malaysian on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:40 pm

The more we see the kampung x50, the more we wanna buy the classy jepunis Mazda CX-30

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:49 pm

For Rm145k, why settlefor kosong CX-30 when for Rm20k less we can get the far better X70?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • Haidi on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:05 pm

why settlefor problematic X70 when for Rm30k less we can get the far better Aruz??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 02, 2020 at 9:26 am

Probably because the Aruz looks terrible and, as with all Perodua cars, it has 0% advanced high strength steel (gigapascal-class steel) content which is pretty primitive in this day and age?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Saw a set of Aruz accident photos where driver died so I believe you. That isn’t an SUV, it’s a third world standard MPV on stilts.

Hope D55L by virtue of it being sold in Japan ada lah standard sikit.

• Ohh but i havent heard of X70 with fuel pump problems, have you changed it yet on your Aruz bro? Better do so quick.

• (Like) Mazda CX-30 RM145k.
    (Dislike) Proton X50 RM75k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 39
    • Bodxh Raj on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:27 am

Heard from fren that there are too many proton sales guys and gals in town. To get the business, they willing to do zero commission. How to survive like this? Proton is sellable because it is still a cheaper car. Thats all. People tends to still compare it with Japanese. It is a completely different class and comparison like this wont make people let go the CX30 unless they cannot afford and must go Proton.

• That shows the salespeople have renewed confidence back in Proton again. Well done Proton!

• Ongtk on Oct 02, 2020 at 3:09 pm

Proton sales guys and gals in town. To get the business, they willing to do zero commission. Becuz caruman KWSP 16% from majikan more then made up the commission, so Proton sales bijak!

• Anggur masam on Oct 02, 2020 at 5:46 pm

No commission, low pay and compete with so many sales men sales ah mui. Proton must do something to help all of them to prove that proton care.

• Engineer on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Perodua sales 5 figure income is normal.

• X70 Buyer on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:47 pm

No comission means no income la! Who do work without income. You want to lie about Proton salespeople oso make it believable la! Perodua forgot to teach you in lying properly kah???

• walley on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:58 pm

If Increase 3k+, we would prefer either add i-Activsense or other feature like power seat etc. Mazda lower spec car must add more feature against X50. I believe many people still prefer Mazda but at least make gaps smaller.

• tricycle on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:28 pm

I hope mazda malaysia (bermaz?) will bring the 2.5 turbo engine on this model along with all safety senses including adaptive cruise control with stop and go function for traffic jam. Price should be lower than rm200k. With this kind of offering, i would choose cx30 over x1 or gla250 or lexus ux.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:01 pm

bermaz, give iactivsense to lower spec cars, not everyone needs auto seat leather etc

• Walley on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:17 am

Yes. Does not matter have MRCC or not. But at least like BMW recently add AEB. New Almera standard for all variants have AEB and 40K+ myvi also have but 140K+ CX30 does not have. CX30 is very nice car have went for test drive. If this low spec have the feature like CX5 2.0 high, I guess I already bought it. If bermaz pushing buyer get high spec at the end will lost even more customers.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:31 pm

Lol 3k for powerboot. All the B segment SUVs are about to be slaughtered by the X50 this month. Can’t wait for Proton to do the same magic with its sedans to put pressure on other manufacturers.

• Monana on Oct 02, 2020 at 3:03 am

Launch, then few years add power tailgate, later add this small thing then after few years add that. Typical of Bermaz. We never get a full spec Mazda. Naive potential buyer will say “This is perfect what? Got MRCC”. What they dont know is that the top-spec CX-30 in Malaysia does not get Stop & Go with the MRCC. This is what we call “jelik”. Bermaz is a “jelik” company. Their car is good though, but only in the other markets.

• Mazda pricing under bermaz is a joke

• Still cant forgive you bermaz for removing the stop and go feature for ACC and active lane centering in the cx30, even thai market gets it……

• Mazda why are you so expensive on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:08 am

Not sure how much of a say autoblogs have to car manufacturers, but Paultan, if you do, please please please tell Bermaz that buyers don’t need features like a powered tailgate but would rather have those safety features Mazda makes STANDARD across their entire range of vehicles in countries like The USA and Australia. Like I get that they want to differentiate the specs between the high and the low but realistically the base model for this car is the worst value for a vehicle in Malaysia ever. I get that it’s imported and such but that gives them no excuse to deny Malaysians features that should be standard in Mazda vehicles. If they really want to pull off this kind of nonsense, they should sell their vehicles cheaper. Cause as much as I am a fan of Mazda, they won’t be selling their cars solely based on handling. It’s unfortunate cause Mazda’s in other markets are favorable due to the standard features you get.

• shut up and give us CKD already