Proton X50 – why it doesn’t come with paddle shifters, and only four airbags for the base Standard variant

Looking at the specifications of the Proton X50, you’ll notice a few things. Firstly, only three variants – Executive, Premium and Flagship – come with six airbags, while the base Standard variant makes do with just four.

This is certainly worth questioning, especially since Proton has long been pushing the safety message and we don’t think it fits the brand to offer a car with four airbags in 2020. For that matter, even its larger sibling, the X70, offers six airbags across its entire four-variant range.

Secondly, paddle shifters are not offered on any of the X50 variants, which is a bit curious, especially given the available performance on tap and just how dynamic-looking the SUV is. The car which the X50 is based on, the Geely Binyue and Coolray, is offered with paddle shifters in other markets, so why not here as well?

On the topic of paddle shifters, Proton says the Sport versions of the Binyue and Coolray do come with paddle shifters, but the X50 does not follow that specification. This is evident in the lack of a large roof-mounted wing and S logos on the front seats, which you can see in Matthew’s previous first look video linked below. As such, there is no option for paddle shifters for the X50, and adding them on would require additional development work that involves programming and costs.

As for the four airbags in the Standard variant, Hazrin Fazail Haroon, director of group engineering at Proton, said, “the reason why we have all this specs are purely to balance the cost and also the business case of an offering that we want to give to the customer, to be able to stretch it to the level that customers are able to perhaps purchase this car is purely on the specs and rationalisations. It’s not that we can’t do this, but this is basically a business decision in terms of the specifications.”

So, there you have it. Costing was a big factor when Proton specified the X50, and the goal was to ensure customers got as much car for their money. While the Standard variant only comes with four airbags, it isn’t exactly devoid of other safety kit, with plenty of core systems like ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist, hill descent control and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors.

Despite not having any paddle shifters, the seven-speed dual-clutch transmission does come with a manual mode on the gear lever, so you still have a means of shifting gears yourself. With all said and done, what are your thoughts on the matter?

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Frozen on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:27 am

If costing of 2 extra airbags could be such a determinant factor, it sounds like prices are going to be very competitively low and profit margins perhaps razor thin enough for 2 airbags to matter that much. I feel good about this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:49 pm

Ambik je HRV ade paddle shifters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • noturbonobuy on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:29 am

HRV Tak best takde turbo

• Haprak on Nov 03, 2020 at 8:39 am

masa nk beli mcm2 mau…paddle shift la bla bla bla…
        Bila beli entah sebulan sekali guna pon tidak….believe me !!!!

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:28 am

Jelaskan, jangan tak jelaskan. Kalau tak bagus, jelaskan cepat-cepat.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:15 pm

I blame this on M’sian automotive being too price sensitive coupled with rakyat’s apathy towards safety features and from that Gomen have little incentive to make minimum mandatory levels as law. Rakyat just don’t care. This can be seen by the record number of Perodua cars they bought.

• Ben Yap on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:29 am

4 airbags is a big no. better get the safer HRV with 6 airbags. your life is more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
    • Safety First on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:22 pm

If Honda put priority to safety, why HRV doesn’t come with Honda Sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Reality Check on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:34 pm

Just get other than standard variant, suddenly HR-V is looking like a big joke.

• Li Peng on Oct 02, 2020 at 4:24 pm

H-RV is much more slow too, resulting in a safer car.

• johnweak on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:37 am

no paddle shift..what a turn off

protectors will be like: even if available also you won’t use it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Celup King on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:43 am

Executive with 4airbags @Rm7x,xxx still very worth the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • There shouldn’t be any compromise on safety regardless of whatever reason you want to give. Government should put a stop on this. Not just X50 Standard, but plenty more in Malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • tiki taka on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:49 am

only in Bolehland. 4 airbags are given just bring the cost down!

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:11 pm

So they’re saying we don’t get paddle shifters due to cost and the business case while Pinoys which has lower buying power than we do has them. Has Malaysian currency shrunk so much?

• lilytan on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:56 pm

That is all protong like we all know. Same old protong. Their decisions have always been poor. Even with this already cheap chinese rebadge they want skimp on safety. Treat local customer like junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Sad truth on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Yes and No…dont just look at paddle shifter itself. Look at the overall cost of installing it. Remember its not originally RHD vehicle.

Actually My got even lower buying power. Just look at the majority of vehicle class/price roaming our roads.

• Car Lover on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:21 am

No matter what the cost of installing paddle shift at least provide buyer a choice/varient to choose from, whether malaysian buyer affordable they’ll choose according to their budgets. And is the sunroof more suitable option than paddle shift in this country?

• Choong Khim Fen on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:16 pm

Still waiting for proton o release a S version with paddle shift. May not have paddle shift in the flagship, but do release the Sport version, some ppl wont mind paying the extra to get ventilated front seat, 7 color ambient light and paddle shift. Is a bit weird even Philipine Coolray have the Sport version but Malaysian dont have. If proton want to move to premium segment, this is the car to do it so give the call all the feature it need. Even BMW X1 look pale to this if all the spec is there.

• Monana on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Nanti adala yg order dari Taobao. Malaysian Boleh!

• Sam Lee on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Wth 4 airbags versus 4, does it comply to asean ncap 5 star rating?

• Sam Lee on Oct 01, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Wth 4 airbags versus 6, does it comply to asean ncap 5 star rating?

• brandon c on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:52 am

4 airbags is the minimum to achieve 5 stars. so yes it complies

• Lai Teck Siong on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:35 pm

Since it has dual clutch trans its should be fast enough to change once the throttle is pressed. Paddlle shifters are just a fad in many cars. The electric tailgate, which doesn’t come standard, is more annoying in a car that has everything! Come on Proton!!

• hyin21 on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:45 pm

There is manual override on the gear lever, right?

• Kalabumalami on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:58 pm

As the name Standard implies – a barebone minimum while ensuring optimal safety standard. I ought some other detailings could also be replaced with cheaper options such as chrome decals with base polymers, tyre brand, rim design and size or even no rear air vent. In summary, X50 team has done quite a great job setting the variant specs.

• Maria on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:04 pm

I don’t mind if it doesn’t come with paddle shifter but the 4 airbags in standard trims is such a turn off since the price maybe in 70k++.. For me in this price point, esc and 6 airbags should make it as standard fitment. Even the foreign brand offering 6 airbags as standard in their B-SUV.

• now say wana cut cost…

later launch standard model price is rm80k???

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:02 pm

dear proton, dont go back to the past, stop giving excuses. u have a great car, make it great for everyone. not just for ur richer customers.

• Shift button more better if dont have 2nd paddle shift like myvi SE before 1st model… shirt button easily when at highway.

• I’m okay with 4 air bags as long as the car us very affordable because I usually drive alone or with a fren. As I have observed, in the Klang valley, most cars are single-driver cars. I’m using a 2007 Myvi with 2 airbags anyway.

• “On the topic of paddle shifters, Proton says the Sport versions of the Binyue and Coolray do come with paddle shifters, but the X50 does not follow that specification. This is evident in the lack of a large roof-mounted wing and S logos on the front seats, which you can see in Matthew’s previous first look video linked below. As such, there is no option for paddle shifters for the X50, and adding them on would require additional development work that involves programming and costs.”
    I can not accept a lame excuse like this. It can be done together with other parts development. Time wise will be not much difference even though you insist there will be difference, at least save a lot of time. Cost wise……………………if other car models willing to invest money to develop it, why not Proton? Is it Proton claims that they can further improve the car?

“As for the four airbags in the Standard variant, Hazrin Fazail Haroon, director of group engineering at Proton, said, “the reason why we have all this specs are purely to balance the cost and also the business case of an offering that we want to give to the customer, to be able to stretch it to the level that customers are able to perhaps purchase this car is purely on the specs and rationalisations. It’s not that we can’t do this, but this is basically a business decision in terms of the specifications.”
    You can use fabric seat to replace leather, use smaller size rim, use hard plastic instead of soft plastic, etc to cut cost BUT no compromise on safety please!

• Logical Deduction on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:24 am

But the customers can look, see and feel the leather seats, the bling rims, the luxurious soft touch material, the LED lights, etc BUT they don’t see hence don’t care about less 2 airbags. Proton is giving exactly what the customer wants.