Perodua safety features illustrated in animation video

There are parts and systems aplenty that go into a car’s safety measures for the benefit of its drivers, occupants as well as the road users around them, and these systems can sometimes be tricky to visualise from text. Here, Perodua has released this animation video to help illustrate the safety features in its vehicles.

Titled ‘Reach Safely with Perodua’, the video begins with a Perodua Alza that is depicted with its Isofix child seat anchors on the outside pair of seats in the second row, enabling the proper and secure installation of child seats for smaller occupants.

Next, the seven-seater is followed by the appearance of an Axia Style. The A-segment hatch in its vibrant Sunrise Orange exterior paint tackles a twisty stretch of road, while the car’s vehicle stability control (VSC) keeps the drive free of drama.

The Axia shares a stretch of road with a Bezza coming in the opposite direction, inadvertently splashing water on the Bezza’s windscreen. The Bezza driver clears his screen and sees the looming hazard just in time to take evasive action, and manages to do so successfully with the help of ABS and EBD.

The next animated demonstration is decidedly less pulse-raising, but no less handy; Perodua’s SUV entry, the Aruz is seen here to set off from a standstill on an incline without rolling backwards, thanks to the hill start assist (HSA).

Rounding up the animated demonstrations here is the Myvi 1.5 AV which showcases its autonomous emergency braking (AEB), put into action when a boy has run out on to the road in front of the Myvi to retrieve a ball, right after the driver had momentarily taken his eyes off the road ahead.

The automaker’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite of features is standard on 1.5 litre Myvis, and is optional on the Myvi 1.3 X. Even the Bezza and Axia get ASA 2.0, too.

The effort made by Perodua to put as many of its safety features into as many model variants as possible is laudable, especially given the vast popularity of its products. That said, not all Perodua models are made equal from a safety equipment standpoint, and we have identified the five variants you should look past, and where to aim your hard-earned money instead.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 09, 2020 at 7:06 pm

get ready popcorn see what the peroduck haters have to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Aura89 on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:02 am

Alza: Safety?! What safety?

• Sick & Tired on Oct 10, 2020 at 10:38 am

This difficult time, still ppl sowing hatred. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:42 am

Who owns Perodua? See the majority shareholders? EPF, Khazanah and UMW. I wonder why the Government never insisted that PErodua gave us safer cars? This shows greed

For 25 years, the owners of UMW in Malaysia were interested in $$$$$ only and never negotiated with their principal in Japan to give Malaysians a safer car.

One good example is Toyota. Only 5 years ago, our Toyotas came with VSC in Malaysia but global Toyotas had VSC like 18 years ago.

Can we blame the Japanese? Yes we can but we have to blame the greedy owners in Malaysia who never negotiated a better deal for Malaysians ie safer cars for Malaysians the past 25 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Damon Lee on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:59 pm

You see, your example on Toyota fully explains well why Perodua was slow to intro more safety features, the main reason was principal Toyota itself had been slow to intro safety features in their own cars and if they do not implement them, Perodua could not implement them as they do not get these features from principal Toyota.

So the reason why is not because of greedy owners from Malaysia but greedy owners from Japan. We know Toyota & Daihatsu owns shares in Perodua and you had told us they are solely responsible for GameChanging tech so whatever is missing in Perodua cars are due to Toyota & Daihatsu greediness.

I blame Japan the fault is not from Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2020 at 6:44 pm

for every rm 1 the japanese earns, he has to give rm 0.30 back to a local. cant blame them for being a bit nonchalant in some parts.

• Celup King on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:11 am

Peroduck sapoters says quack quack quack

• Roti john on Oct 10, 2020 at 8:47 am

What a creative and colorful cartoon ad! Kudos to the advertisement team for this Game-Changing ad. This shows that Perodua cares for us, they fitted complete safety featues on all models unlike our first national carmaker compromising safety for cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Rahter than showing actual crash test results they had their marketing come out with cartoons to try and convince people their cars are safe, but if they had to do that (which no other carmaker in the world did) that tells me their cars are actually UNSAFE!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:01 am

ASEAN NCAP has tested Perodua’s entire model range. You can find the crash test results on this site or at aseancap.org

• Safety First on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:37 am

Can explain how does Aruz passes NCAP testing with an unknown G-spec variant? If Proton had used LanEVO X as test car for their Inspira, even that can achieve 5 stars!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:00 pm

I’m assuming at some point Perodua had intended to offer three variants of the Aruz (X, G and AV) but decided to go with just two at the end. In any case, the body structure and safety systems would have been identical to the variants on sale. I see no issue here.

EDIT: The G variant indicates the Toyota Rush G, not Aruz G. Structurally they are identical, so there was no need to re-test the Aruz – ASEAN NCAP carried over the Rush G’s results for the Aruz. Again, no issue here.

• Damon Lee on Oct 10, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Safety First had point out a valid point. That is an assumption which we would not know because we have no clue what goes into G spec Aruz; perhaps HPF steel, perhaps double spot welds, extra chassis reinforcement, etc, all that could bump up crash test results but not reflect on the actual car itself.

It is like saying I sent my much smarter twin to sit for my exams and score for me. Does it justify the results?

I want to see the crash test results of the actual car that I can buy!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 10, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Lol you do realise we run checks to know you’re the same person as the commenters above (Alan and Safety First), right? Changing names to back yourself up, nothing better to do?

They’re the same cars, guys. Get over it. Some cars tested by ASEAN NCAP may even be models meant for other countries, but the results still stand for variants sold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
          • I also got dupes.. on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:17 pm

Even without Hafriz saying so, i already know Alan and many accounts are the same. their typing style is the exact same

• Amran on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:59 pm

This john… bertaubat la. His many dupes Damon Lee, Alan and Safety First. now reprimanded by our very own esteemed PT Hafriz, aduii

• Engineer on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:19 pm

Smue samalah… all playing the same game. Safety First@Damon Lee, DK@newme, all of them learnt from Kunta and his 1000 dupes.. their sifu troller.

• Dupe account on Oct 11, 2020 at 11:06 am

@ENGINEER

Safety First/Alan is from your side, why sabo him?

• Engineer sus on Oct 11, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Cus Engineer is an impostor

• Aura89 on Oct 12, 2020 at 8:24 am

Kunta, we have found your troll-mate.
            “Autistic screeching in the background intensifies”

• Engineer on Oct 12, 2020 at 8:33 am

@Dupe Account. Cuz our resident troller have been seen using my handle before. You think i don’t know? LoL.

• Jeremy on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:14 pm

Oh really? Tell me which national carmaker is still selling a 7seater MPV without any form of Stability and Traction Control, and only have a measly 2 airbags for 7 occupants to share in the event of a crash? Definitely not Proton so I wonder which other national carmaker you might be referring to….

• azrai on Oct 10, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Split identity?

• Haidi on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:31 pm

The car models are beautiful.

• Apa ni on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:38 pm

Lol, even cartoon produa driver drive like so high

• Safety First on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:45 pm

Bravo Perodua! Rakyat selamat sejahtera

• Faris on Oct 09, 2020 at 9:59 pm

Cute ad but since when the style gets a touchscreen headunit ?

• Silthice on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:30 am

Using animation is much safer as the ASA 2.0 (without radar) has higher chances of failing…. Anyway cute ad Perodua…

• Perodua’s ADA 1 or 2 are half cooked safety system, as none of the perodua cars has lane departure warning and assist.

• Truth on Oct 10, 2020 at 12:35 pm

perodua the master of gimmicks

• Michael Yap:

I am so proud and happy we have a safe car finally from our National car maker. I just only wish it had been completely designed and made by Malaysians for Malaysians.

Anyhow, it is still a good start. Thank you Michael Yap, we will be forever grateful for this safe car.