Proton X50 – electric powered tailgate available in official Urban and Utility accessories packs, fr. RM3.3k

There’s no doubting that the just-launched Proton X50 is pretty well specified, even from the Standard base model on, and such is the spread of kit across the four available variants that most bases should be covered. But like with everything else, there’s always room for more, especially so if it’s something that will be useful to have on a daily basis, like an electric powered tailgate.

The automaker is making this item available as an optional accessory, and has specified its availability in two accessories packages revealed for the X50. The first is in an Urban package, which groups the powered tailgate assembly with three other items, in this case a built-in SmartTag reader, a magnetic sun shade set and PVC coil mats. The package is priced at RM3,500.

The other is called an Utility package, where the powered tailgate is lumped together with PVC embossed mats, a boot tray and door scuff plates. The pack is slightly cheaper, at RM3,300.

Internal memo that is circulating online.

It’s evident from the pricing of both packages that the bulk of the cost is from the powered tailgate unit, which cannot be purchased independently at this point. Fitment of the unit, we were informed, will be carried out by the dealer. Do note, however, that unlike the one fitted on the X70, the powered tailgate here does not include a kick sensor.

Note that these packages are officially available as an optional extra, and are not by any means compulsory to all X50 buyers. This has been confirmed to us by Proton itself, so if your SA or dealer claims that the packages are compulsory, you now know that is not the case.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:23 pm

Can add X50 accessories pack into loan amount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • benard on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:37 pm

buy from shopee in 2-3 months time. will cost just hundreds rather than thousands through proton. just remember this is a chinese car, internet shopping is your friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Truckers on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:01 pm

Just remember YOU ARE VOIDING WARRANTY. Getting Proton approved accessories meant being covered by warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:12 am

Loan mark up 0-d/payment can rocket to 40K booking this year

• China car for RM79k on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:30 pm

This price is crazy. Tail gate price also crazy.

• Copy Paste on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:04 pm

Copy paste: “Go and compare the X50 (Geely) and HR-V in the Philippines (both export markets) and you will see the price difference is about the same as here, so the pricing by Proton is fair.”

• Aura89 on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:09 am

3k for a functional piece of accessory is expensive? Haha. Then what you call your TRD or Mugen functional-less bodykits sold for 4-5k? A waste of resource?

• R3 Racer on Oct 29, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Those Mugen and TRD kits are for high end car.

• City & Vios are high end cars? LOL!

• Dumb Joe on Oct 30, 2020 at 7:06 pm

Japanese is higher end than chinese product

• No spare part on Oct 27, 2020 at 8:54 pm

So 79k become 82k.
    103k become 106k.
    Just a trick for p1 to mark up price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
    • suomynona on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:44 pm

You forgot ah you got the power to choose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Just top up rm13k & get 2014 Range Rover Evoque 2.0 Si4 Dynamic SUV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • E.M.P. on Oct 27, 2020 at 10:44 pm

Someone will be waving his arms and screaming Endless Money Pit.

• Copy Paste on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:58 am

Copy paste: “Evoque owners cry because their SUV becomes too cheap even p1 can get auto tailgate

So sad , haha!”

• hantu raya on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:10 am

and inherit previous owner’s problems and mistakes???

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:10 pm

You forget they came from Japanese car ecosystem where they were not given the power to choose, only following herd mentality choice.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:44 pm

It’s called optional for a reason you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Siapa lagi yang nak sokong Proton… kalau bukan bangsa kita sendri. tingkatkan prestasi, kurangkan kontroversi. ayuhh proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • too much. this x50 shud be priced 62K to 86K max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 27, 2020 at 10:15 pm

Make your own car then that cost 62k to 89k max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
        • Rakyat Potong SalesMan on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:33 pm

This price for local car is not justifiable. It is not even Japanese quality. Go for City or Vios better. Better RV and at least it is Sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Avenger on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:02 pm

No of course not. Your paying continental quality at Proton prices. What’s so great about being sushi, other that constant parts failure?

• Copy Paste on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:05 am

Copy paste: “Fanboyism: A case of more cents than sense.”

• Its OK on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:26 am

Abg Ry, Bukan mahal. SUV X50 dah boleh dikira sangat berbaloi dengan spesifikasi yg hebat, hanya ramai di kalangan kita sahaja yang tidak mampu sekarang! so Sabarla, tekadkan diri untuk menabung simpanan, sampai masa di masa hadapan, pasti keluar pula nanti versi yang lebih hebat tahun 2022 X50 Flagship Pro edition.

• hantu raya on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:11 am

yes and I-phones should be rm100 only… we get it you’re a cheapskate.

• English Teacher on Oct 27, 2020 at 10:20 pm

“Note that these packages are officially available as an optional extra, and are not by any means compulsory to all X50 buyers.” Failed at reading, did you? Let me offer my services to teach you beginner’s level at reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Ghani on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:18 pm

This X50 not affordable priced at all. Local artistes who used to living a luxurious life previously. Even struggling hard now, more so acting jobs are hard to come by

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
        • Sure... on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:02 am

Then, those local artists has fallen out of target-market for x50. They couldn’t even buy an HRV, neither Kona nor Seltos, and more, bcos x50 is the most affordable out of bunch, and the most featured too. They better be grateful that Myvi/Iriz/Persona exists or wait for d55l

• Troll Hunter on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:56 am

It is unaffordable for a low level troll earning peanuts like you. Try harder to upgrade your troll level can afford this car

• Always never salahkan Diri sendiri on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:48 am

Seriously bro, Harga Dia Mmg Tak Mahal! Cuma currently Kiraan Budget Je Yg Tak Sampai or xlepas 1/5 20% for monthly commitment! sila salahkan Covid, bukan sebab diri sendiri or Proton hahaha

• Raja Kamarul on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:51 am

Let’s get out of this “national car must be affordable” line, OK?

They are now run like business, unlike before where they could easily depend on bailouts (which you will also gripe about). Let them position their cars, the specs to how they see fit. And make a profit for once.

Fact is if they added those packages as standard, someone will say it is a money-making scheme for cronies of the owners (which is what it was back in the day), or that it was unnecessary. Now Proton is giving you the option. Consumerism at its best.

• Agree. Please remember Proton is no longer a national car. It is now in jointly owned by DRB Hicom and Geely. It is a private business just like any other automobile companies with the exception of Perodua. Proton is entitled to run its business it deems fit.

• Puteri Intan on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:36 pm

It is a china car. In China how much is x50? Can somebody share?

• Copy Paste on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:58 pm

Copy paste: “The sentiment against this “China car” by many is totally unreasonable. As is the notion that “Malaysian made things must be affordable”, as if it is a law.

First of all, quality products can come from anywhere. China is not a poor 3rd world nation. They are economically MUCH stronger than we are, and is leagues ahead in approaching a ‘developed nation’ status. And Geely is a multi-national car maker with access to some of the best technological and design departments (and with no shortage of funds). Do not bundle them up with car makers like Chery, Dongfeng, or anyone similar. Geely is not interested in making “white goods” cars like Proton used to, or indeed other Chinese car makers.

Secondly, the cost of a product is not dictated by its nationality. Of course itnisn’t, but you lot think it is. High quality products are NOT cheap no matter who makes them. Proton wants to get rid of their cheap image and into a more premium market diverting away from Perodua. Let them! It’s no use competing with Perodua who has the backings of Daihatsu. And competing with Perodua means making cars that will never be sold outside of ASEAN, and Proton’s technological development will be as slow as ever (yet not any richer too). Let this sink in your thick heads: GOOD THINGS ARE EXPENSIVE!
            The cheapest you can expect out of a good product is ‘reasonably priced’. If you still can’t afford it, the problem is at your end.

And third, China prices are only possible in China. There are almost 20 local car makers in China and they have a generous tax policy. But more importantly China is literally the major global supplier of steel, aluminium, and other raw materials that goes into making cars. They can make car chassis at less than 2/3rd the price. Not to mention they are masters of production efficiency 2nd only to Japan.

I am as cautious as any other when it comes to buying things from China. But you have to give credit where it’s due. Geely is not your typical Chinese car maker.”

• So because of that must sell to you people RM50k-60k to be affordable then Proton closed shop thousand lose their job.

• Jawabandar on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:48 am

That’s why persona and saga is only suitable for people like you. Choose car that suits your budget. If not for new cars, second hand ones would do.

• IGP mom on Oct 27, 2020 at 9:46 pm

I’m being wary of this feature. Will it become like the famed Proton power window from Proton Saga since 1985 onwards to Wira, Waja, Perdana, where it eventually stuck … to wind down the window simply means open the door.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • applegreen on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:30 am

Agree mom. was thinking to buy the Kona or X50…. and finally that four-potter in Kona powerplant. the dealbreaker.

• hantu raya on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:48 am

go ahead and dont come out of your cave.

• IGP mom on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:20 am

Actually, I’m not going back to the cave … fanboys aiyo …

• Lets See on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:09 pm

Waja came out in 2000. So your assumption Proton never improved in the 20 years since? That is not being wary, that is just being biased without reason.

• IGP mom on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Have you worked at Proton manufacturing plant? I had.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • The window problem was not caused by the manufacturing process, but by substandard quality parts from crony vendors. Crony vendors that got rooted out under Geely, if you must know. Now, ‘mom’ try harder and think of better story to sound more convincing next time.

• Arnie on Oct 28, 2020 at 7:22 pm

So you’re saying Proton haven’t changed since Geely tookover? LMAO! They have new management and new quality benchmark to Geely/Volvo global standards. This isn’t the same Proton you worked in laa. No more benchmarking to inferior Jap standards anymore.

• IGP mom on Oct 29, 2020 at 12:19 pm

Oh, by the way, how good is Geely? Try ask the Chinese in China. Mostly are taxi. When I asked the locals, they said it’s not a good brand, probably somewhere around 5th or 6th brand in China, and not selling that great. How else do you think a China brand would try to make a presence in Malaysia?? Why earn small money with 30 million population instead of focusing on 1.2 billion population market. Think about it!

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:16 pm

When you go “oh by the way” it is telling you have nothing to reply and try to divert the topic. Sad comeback.

But no, selling more doesn’t mean it is better brand. Does VW selling more makes it a better German brand than Mercedes Benz? Not, according to Interbrand’s 2020 Best Global Brands list.

• IGP mom on Oct 30, 2020 at 11:44 am

I thought you are an engineer, but by name only? My response above is a direct reply to Arnie who claims Geely quality benchmark. Dont take my word for it, go to China and see how many bother with Geely presence at all. If you cherry pick VW vs Benz as example, that’s not an engineer’s work. It’s a kopitiam apek style of bias seeking to boost his own opinion.

And if dudes like you are such a fanboy, ask yourself if you are given a free choice to pick X50, HRV, CX3, BMW X1, BMW X2, which one will you choose? It’s just syiok sendiri to make you feel better than it really is to compare with other more expensive cars. But realistically, you know why X50 is the pick now.

• Engineer on Nov 01, 2020 at 12:40 pm

There you go again diverting the topic. No point talking to you when you prefer to sembang kopitiam. If you’d like to know BTW, I would still go for X50 being as it has the highest safety features. I’m done with your pointless sembang.

• Evoque owners cry because their SUV becomes too cheap even p1 can get auto tailgate

So sad , haha!

• deded on Oct 27, 2020 at 10:43 pm

All these can get on the flagship model, if like this rather take flagship model.

• Celup King on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:14 am

The Flagship is nearly 30k above Standard variant, yeah right to save 3.5k you prefer to spend 30k yeah.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:52 am

Did you read? Can you even read?

• Bebak on Oct 27, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Salees man told me …If you want QUICK delivery …… Get the Package…… HINT ! HINT !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:54 am

Try to have some sense. To get it quicker, you do WITHOUT the additional accesories as they come out of the factory without these items. A vendor has to add these outside, like the Saga AE bodykit.

• X70 a better buy on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:17 am

Just get the cheaper and bigger RM94k proton X70 can get powered tailgate already. Why bother with X50?

Also the most expensive flagship X50 should have come with powered tailgate instead of the useless sunroof.

• magnetic sun shades?

any option to add windows tint?
    that brings to my next question, is the car windows already tinted?

• MasterMind on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:37 am

Rm 3500 for electronic back gate?
    hm let consider open and close cost rm 1, you can spent 9 and half years just to open and close you car back door, you need new hobby hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Lets See on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:11 pm

Female users would greatly appreciate the functionality of powered tail gate.

• yusry on Oct 28, 2020 at 9:48 am

package 1 hits home, functionality

nevertheless, better these than paying for the same price or even more for go faster bits, redundant

• TH YEW on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:12 am

By the wording of Memo sighted, Proton is “imposing a compulsory accessories package” for X50…
    Not compulsory… Really?
    Would Proton border to officially clarify their stand?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:29 am

It’s not compulsory to customers. Confirmed.

• Raja Kamarul on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Maybe you didn’t sight it actually la? Or your eyesight needs attention?

• Leslie See on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:28 am

well, it is not compulsory but according to the sale person. 1st batch of cars are all come with accessories installed hence you are not given a choice. So, it is either you pay 3k plus now to get the car before end of the year and enjoy the SST tax exemption or you pay 3k to 4k later and get nothing out of it but the higher tax. It is eithet proton or the dealer ot both. To me , this is cheat!!!!

• Engineer on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:12 pm

There are more than 1 salesman in a showroom and there are more than 1 showroom in any state, and there are more than 1 state in this country. There are choices.

• Leslie See on Oct 29, 2020 at 9:22 pm

well, just to statify you. i have made multiple queries from different sale person and dealers in the same state. all the respondes are the same. i guess that is too much of coincidents they all say the same thing. if buying a car have to compare options across states. I would say the Proton is bad in doing business. maybe it is just me, very bad luck. what a turn off.

• Rabbit on Dec 07, 2020 at 1:21 pm

I just received call from my
      SA. It is my turn, the car coming this week with pre installed the accessories. Proton keep saying is not compulsory, but the car pre installed it, so you got no choice. Either you take it or leave it to next turn number

• Still no paddle shifters even as a optional choice?

• Rabbit on Dec 07, 2020 at 1:18 pm

No power to choose. Now proton fixed in the accessories before deliver to dealer. Either u take it, or let it go to next turn number

• Ansar on Dec 02, 2021 at 9:59 pm

Recently got the X50 Flagship after almost a year wait. Also the bought package 1. I was especially keen to get the power tail gate. However I am disappointed to find out, on delivery of car that this come without the kick sensor.
    With power tail gate, one would assume that its a full package ie with the kick sensor just like any other cars including the X70. After all the kick sensor was the talking point to be able to open the Booth when one’s hands are full. The agent also did not inform me about this short coming. I feel short changed. Had I known that it comes without the kick sensor, I would have definitely not bought the package. Very disappointing.