Volkswagen Malaysia teases the Mk8 Golf GTI on Insta

After a couple of local sightings, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has teased the Mk8 Golf GTI on Instagram, hinting that the hot hatch is coming soon to our market. “What happens next? Fight or Flight?” Fight, of course – bring it on, we say!

Earlier this month, a red Mk8 Golf GTI was spotted in Pekan wearing light disguise. Pekan is of course home to Volkswagen’s Malaysian assembly facility, which rolls out the Vento, Passat and Tiguan, with the Tiguan Allspace and Arteon recently joining the list. All variants of the Golf have been CBU fully-imported since day one, but it looks like this will change soon.

That was actually the second sighting of the hot hatch in our patch – before the red car, a dark blue unit was snapped without any disguise in Putrajaya, and it even had the Hicom plant’s ‘OK’ stickers on it. I think it’s a given that the Mk8 Golf GTI’s local introduction is around the corner – the only question now is how far ahead is that corner.

The Golf GTI has always been the best example of a classy and understated hot hatch, and the Mk8 is no different. We know it’s a GTI from the twin exhaust pipes – one on each side, they’re sizeable and real. The regular Golf’s pipes aren’t really exhaust tips, but a chrome trim that simulates pipes. Where the central ‘GTI’ emblem is, the regular car has ‘Golf’. Also seen on the red example above are 18-inch ‘Richmond’ alloys.

The Mk8 Golf GTI is powered by an EA888 2.0L turbo-four with 245 PS and 370 Nm of torque – that’s a jump of 15 PS and 20 Nm from the regular Mk7.5 GTI and on par with the outgoing model’s Performance Pack version. Gearbox options are a six-speed manual and seven-speed DSG dual-clutch automatic, but only the latter will land here, as usual.

Under the skin are MacPherson struts at the front, multilink suspension at the rear, an XDS electronic differential lock and a sports suspension setup that’s 15 mm lower in ride height compared to the standard Golf. New for the Mk8 is a Vehicle Dynamics Manager control system that coordinates the operation of the XDS and the optional DCC adaptive dampers. As you can see the gallery below, all the GTI visual cues are present, but the interior is very screen heavy. What do you think of the Mk8 Golf GTI versus the outgoing version?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:38 pm

So much trust and confidence by VW bosses on our DRB abams. Together with new Proton X50, these will bring DRB back into glory and prosperity once more.

• For the same price…. is better buy the bigger and more powerful G20 BMW 320i M. Just saying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • autodriver (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:30 pm

320i is more powerful than Golf GTI? People who wanna buy Golf GTI most of them already have BMW or Merc at home. Those who want Golf GTI but not afford they will likely buy second hand.

• Sourish on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:29 pm

I will take golf gti over the 320i anytime (unless 330i)

• Rulered on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Nope, G20 320i sports is bigger but not more powerful than Golf GTi Mk8.

• hazri on Oct 29, 2020 at 3:51 pm

3 series is an entry level bmw sedan. except m3 la.

but this golf gti is not an entry level hatchback. it is a beast. nobody looks at golf gti and saying…ohh naik golf je ponn. it much way better than scirocco, a class, 1 series, a1.

• Rakyat Potong SalesMan on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:32 pm

Why buy this, the X50 the best in class. Most powerful 7.9 sec ???? and super dooper suv. No 1 in the world. Even Havel cannot fight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Volkswagen please don’t let us down (again) on Oct 28, 2020 at 1:22 pm

This is exciting! Although the GTI’s tartan seats doesn’t seem to have made the cut for this CKD version. I wonder why cause tartan seats are a staple when it comes to the GTI. I suppose we’ll have to wait for the full reveal. Am hoping that it’s competitively priced considering it’s a CKD. However if Volkswagen Malaysia fails to even include AEB (seems like they keep making this big mistake) it’s probably a car that’s DOA.

• thefact on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:11 pm

i remember this was once asked before…
      The fabric seats have no electric adjustments..as in the MK7… its purely manual. If i buy GTI at the crazy prices here in Malaysia (kena tax)…..i think i would love to have electric seats? no?

• longjaafar on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:00 pm

I wonder what the CKD price will be. If it undercuts the 320i by 20k, will it sell well?

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:27 pm

Golf is signature of VW and pls don’t ruin it up. Hope the price is competitive since it is CKD. People expect CKD will save at least 10-15%, if Golf GTI sell at 220k it will attract many car enthusiast attention. Btw pls offer the AEB this time.

• My friend already place booking, price just under RM200K! Launching before year end!

• Bob_B78 on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:17 am

Funny that GTI is being compared to BMW 3 series. As an apple to apple comparison, it should be compared with mercs A class or BMW 1 series which they are in the same C segment. 3 series is D segment and saloon body type

• hazri on Oct 29, 2020 at 3:54 pm

rear light..why why..look same as x70..why..

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 29, 2020 at 6:36 pm

From the blue GTI pics it doesn’t seem like we will have any form of AEB of sorts. Also this Mk8 interior feels cheaper than the Mk7.5 if you go watch some of the youtube review videos. If it’s CKD there’s no way they can price it above 220k unless it’s a top spec car…which I doubt it is. Anyhow the GTI will be placed in an interesting price category if priced well. It will sell better than before but don’t expect fire sales because most people can’t even differentiate the GTI from a normal Golf nor require the firepower that it has.

• this Golf GTi Mk8 just a tad under RM200K. But 0-100kmh is same Civic TCP 190hp.

• Rimau on Oct 30, 2020 at 8:46 am

You got calculate wrong ah? Tcp with gti the gap is so big. Gti at least 6 sec ,your tcp I think kena tinggal 3 sec behind got la.

• Price it right, it will sell better and take the opportunity to gain the confidence back from supporters!