Proton X50 – 1,756 units delivered in November, 2,203 since launch; now topping B-segment SUV markets

The Proton X50 SUV has sailed right to the top of the B-segment SUV market. According to the latest press release issued by the national automaker, it delivered 1,756 units of the X50 in November, while total deliveries since launch is 2,203 units.

At the launch, Proton said it aimed to produce 8,000 units of the X50 in November and December 2020, but it’s unclear if the target can be met. To address this, Proton Edar CEO, Roslan Abdullah said: “Admittedly, deliveries of the Proton X50 have not ramped up to maximum capacity, but we are being deliberate in our approach to ensure our customers get the best product that meets their expectations.”

“Still, we target to increase our volume each month to shorten waiting times, so we urge everyone to please remain patient,” he added. At the end of October, Proton said it had collected nearly 28,000 bookings for the X50, 20,000 of which were placed within the first two weeks since the order books opened.

To recap, the X50 is priced at RM79,200 for the base 1.5T Standard, RM84,800 for the Executive, RM93,200 for the Premium and RM103,300 for the 1.5 TGDi Flagship. East Malaysia prices are RM2,000 higher across the board. These prices are on-the-road without insurance, including maximum sales tax exemption valid until December 31.

If you’re interested in the X50, feel free to watch our spec-by-spec breakdown in the video above. Alternatively, you can also click here to access the full list of X50-related posts, or even compare the X50’s maintenance costs against the X70 and Honda CR-V over five years/100,000 km. Otherwise, just browse full specifications and equipment of the new Proton X50 on CarBase.my.

Meanwhile, other segment-topping models include the X70 (C-segment SUV) with 2,157 units sold in November, while the Exora (C-segment MPV) saw 629 new deliveries. For the month of November, it sold 11,411 units of vehicles, a figure which include both domestic and export markets. This is an 18% increase over the same period in 2019, when 9,643 units were sold.

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Executive

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5T Premium
GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
GALLERY: Proton X50 official photos

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ghani on Dec 02, 2020 at 7:17 pm

X50 a formidable $100k crossover even bettered the 320K of same class rival BMW X2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
    • hahaha proton same class rival bmw. i have never know proton is a premium or luxury car brand

• oiyoh on Dec 03, 2020 at 5:25 pm

You can’t deny, these days Proton buyers either have Mercedes, BM’s & Range Rovers at home. Just go and see X50 groups on FB.

• Kambing goreng on Dec 04, 2020 at 11:52 am

True, for their form 5 kids because it is the cheapest. Not because of quality or image

• oiyoh on Dec 04, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Hah, if they want cheaper means they could have settled for Perodua what, and if quality they could go to Japs instead. The pricier Protons have a blend of both, its a no brainer choice

• John Gagal on Dec 03, 2020 at 1:06 pm

If really great then why not sell it same price RM320K with X2?

Typical delusional jaguh kampung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • Spin Too Much on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:19 pm

Nice try but failed you. Didn’t you remember moaning that X50 was overpriced as it is? Yet 30,000 people didn’t think so so you try to change tack and seeking to challenge Proton to up prices and sell at Rm320k? Hahaha. Better you go ask BMW why not selling X2 at RM79k then.s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • His Friend on Dec 04, 2020 at 9:10 am

And that is why you got GAGAL in your name. You dream to get BMW X2 but not even can afford Proton X50, so you came here to vent. Work harder so you don’t remain as GAGAL, try turn yourself into SUKSES my friend.

• JIM CY on Dec 26, 2020 at 3:08 pm

Gagal, it’s premium in Se Asia. Bmw much bigger more features 2.0.bmw over price +import tax

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 02, 2020 at 7:27 pm

Many would miss the SST-free period

• No problem bruh… so many my frens in UK, Aussie & even Japan are so envy of our X50 here. They really wished buying X50 in their country

• Miss SST period but resale value in the future will be better than getting a year end car.

• Hafriz got his yet?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:40 am

Hafriz more happy with his C300 AMG la

• simon on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:50 am

ask him share his MEDIA price for his x50.

i wnat to know.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 03, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Sure. RM103,300 + RM3,500 for the Flagship with Urban Package.

New car where got discount bro

• azrai on Dec 03, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Honda City new already got RM2k discount.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 03, 2020 at 6:26 pm

That one, they sort of had to, isn’t it? Since the majority of orders are for the V variant.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:21 pm

Kesian Honda City. Launched at the wrong time, wrong year now got swallowed whole by Proton X50.

• To be honest this is all i wanted to know and now I’m satisfied. Thank you. Congrats with your new car!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:29 pm

Haha see this: https://www.facebook.com/100025304735770/posts/771240800396071/

• PitStop on Dec 03, 2020 at 11:54 am

Not yet, if according to his post on X50 Group on Facebook

• Rakyat China on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:08 pm

Thank you for supporting chinese car. Well done Tong San. Now people know Tong San is very advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
    • This is the best you troll brigade can think of? Disappointed to be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • let’s start the ball rolling, any X50 complaints yet?

• Bmtan on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:40 pm

I really hope Proton focus on our local market (Brunei come later after satisfying our Rakyat) & please give a proper estimation time to each Proton Dealer to ensure that at least customer are well known inform when the vehicle can be ready for collection. Please push up the production as well, 1700 units for 1 month is way to low, when Proton can fill up all the 30000 booking which still pending?

• Dissappoint on Dec 03, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Its because x50 booking never even reach 30k. Tats all bullshit one and cheap publicity. If reallt 30k booking must at least delivered 3k-4k x50 per month. Like x70 every month mostly 2k unit delivered. Lastime bukan main said 20k over booking. Soon to be failed this 2 suv. X70 many complaint now a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • No need to commit sin and spread more lies, dude. Compete fairly, if you are good with your customers surely they will buy car from you. Unless, you are the type that BS a lot to customers like how you are doing here…

• LoLipop on Dec 03, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Too clear ody proton made shame mistake.
          And too clear oso here u BS type like p1 helping cover up. Arent u toking abt urself committing sin? LOL!

• It’s easy to see whether your tactic of BS got you more sales or not. You have so much free time to spread your lies here instead of attending to customers already showed that. Looks like it’s too late for you cause karma has caught up with you…Better not waste my effort on the unworthy, LOL!

• MyName on Dec 03, 2020 at 9:24 pm

Wat u expect? P1 try to chase p2 sales figure but never reach. Is like p1 chasing a rainbow which is imposible. Even p1 cheat also cant beat p2 sales. Too good to be true.

• Celup King on Dec 04, 2020 at 7:58 am

A Musang King seller will never want to reduce his product quality and size just to compete selling numbers versus rambutan seller. A Musang King seller prefers to give quality and satisfaction to his customer, that is what Proton have been aiming for.

• panjang on Dec 03, 2020 at 3:02 pm

They can push for output but risk shutting down entire operation due to Covid 19. Apart from the famous glove factory, there are plenty of smaller factory being temporarily shutdown to prevent outbreak.
      Its very tricky in this pandemic. Just like my workplace, orders are surprisingly high.We can push for output but must be very2 careful and cautios with our approach. One wrong move and its a disaster. We can push for max capa but risk 14days closure should we are affected with C-19. The best we can do as for now is push for output with limited headcount which for sure will result in lower capa. This way we will only lose one shift should there is an outbreak and another shift group can cover the down shift.
      One of our supplier was also down for 14 days after an outbreak in their factory in N9.

When/If this pandemic end, we can push all we want again.

• YB Albert on Dec 02, 2020 at 9:01 pm

1756 units X50 flew off the proton shelf.Congrats DR.Li.
    But one wonder how many months will it take to fulfill the 28000 orders.
    If P1 can produce 2000 units monthly..omg..14 months..until 2022 Jan/Feb!!! The tax holiday expires in less than a month.

• 2021 no AEB? on Dec 03, 2020 at 8:00 am

https://paultan.org/2020/11/19/new-honda-city-bookings-close-to-9k-2-4k-delivered/

Meanwhile
      Honda City 1.5 NA already 2.4k delivered 2 weeks ago.

• 1. Aruz 2617
    2. X70 2157
    3. X50 1756
    4. ?

Congratulations to Proton and Perodua
    Topping November

• Congrats Proton! Just ignore all the haters. Keep moving forward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Yup, keep re-badging and re-badging, and make taxes on foreign cars expensive so rakyat thinks Proton & Perodua is cheap in comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Spin Too Much on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:16 pm

Civic is roughly the same prices in Indonesia and Thailand as it is here. What taxes on foreign cars do they levied on non-nationals since they have no national car? Lame and outdated excuses for Japanese brands uncompetitiveness and stingy to give us better specs. Just look at how condescending was Mitsubishi Motor boss referencing that our regional market deserves nothing better than 2 airbags. Compared to a far better Chinese rebadge, what has Japanese brands been giving us other than shit cars?

• Lawson on Dec 03, 2020 at 7:32 am

Any driver of this car must understand that she or he must not use the accelerator pedal to hold this DCT equipped car on a slight slope, say at a junction, while waiting for traffic to clear. (Good if Proton can clarify on this issue) . If she or he does drive this car exactly like the other automatic torque convertor transmission car then the life span of clutch in the transmission can be shorten drastically. DCT type of transmission have this distinctive disadvantages vs a torque convertor automatic transmission.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:24 pm

Umm, that’s what the brake hold is for as part of X50 electronic brake function. You no longer need to resort to such crude method anymore. That’s what technology in a new Proton car gives you.

• newme on Dec 03, 2020 at 9:24 am

Admittedly, deliveries of the Proton X50 have not ramped up to maximum capacity, but we are being deliberate in our approach to ensure our customers get the best product that meets their expectations.”

Betul ke deliberate? Atau parts dari China tak sampai-sampai? due to quality issue? Mengaku je lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • dumbyou 3 strikes out on Dec 03, 2020 at 5:41 pm

Betul ke baru keluar dari gua newme ni? Dia mcm tak tau skrg ni dunia tgh alami covid-19. Kencang sebut pasal ‘quality issue’ di sini tapi dia diam2 je kat comment section Denso fuel pump. Biasalah, pemuja Jepun no 1 lah katakan…

• newme on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:12 pm

Honda boleh je deliver lebih 5000 city. Jangan bagi alasan la. Takyah tegakkan benang basah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Dr Strange on Dec 04, 2020 at 9:15 am

https://paultan.org/2020/10/19/proton-49-more-employees-test-positive-for-covid-19/

Proton had to deal with a Covid outbreak in case you didn’t know… or do you prefer them not to care and push for output disregarding everything else like Top Glove? Oh sure, I bet you would slam them too if they did that.

• newme on Dec 04, 2020 at 11:56 am

Yang kena Covid tu R&D department in Shah Alam. What is it going to do with production in Tanjung Malim?

Kerja R&D dah habis dengan siapnya design grille tu.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 06, 2020 at 10:55 am

Newme. Dude are you seriously that dumb as some pointed out?
            Proton HQ where R&D resides is just beside the Shah Alam plant and they would have staff going from plant to plant before CMCO. If restrictions happened is thru the whole organisation. Can see from example, Top Glove similarly have various plants located near each other and their Covid spread is happen across most of their plants not just any particular one. If you had taken time to understand how their operate instead of blindly hating them, you would realise this fact.

• AutonomousMan on Dec 03, 2020 at 11:14 am

Apakah isu yang sebenar? Booking banyak [30k] tetapi production volume terlalu perlahan?
    1. Adakah kilang Proton tidak beroperasi secara efisen?
    2. Adakah vendor local tidak bersedia dengan kapasiti? tidak mahu melabur dengan mesin kerana projek terdahulu yang gagal.
    3. Adakah CKD parts dari China ada masalah penghantaran? Kenapa? Covic-19, logistic atau duit [hutang lapok mother company pada vendor vendor di China].

Permasalahan ini menampakkan seolah-olah Proton tidak berseedia dengan pengeluaran model X50 ini. Apakah strategi yang akan diambil sebelum kehilangan pelanggannya.

• Dr Strange on Dec 04, 2020 at 9:15 am

Masalah ini
      https://paultan.org/2020/10/19/proton-49-more-employees-test-positive-for-covid-19/

• newme on Dec 04, 2020 at 12:44 pm

Masalahnya Covid kat Shah Alam. Production kat Tanjung Malim.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 06, 2020 at 10:56 am

Proton HQ where R&D resides is just beside the Shah Alam plant and they would have staff going from plant to plant before CMCO. If restrictions happened is thru the whole organisation. Can see from example, Top Glove similarly have various plants located near each other and their Covid spread is happen across most of their plants not just any particular one. If you had taken time to understand how their operate instead of blindly hating them, you would realise this fact.

• newme on Dec 07, 2020 at 9:24 am

Kena 2 kali. See my level, see my level.

https://paultan.org/2020/10/20/proton-x50-suv-production-not-affected-by-covid-19-outbreak-launch-to-happen-virtually-report/

• Henry on Dec 03, 2020 at 11:36 am

Impressive.

I may buy one when the fever over this model subsides.

• Careful buyer on Dec 04, 2020 at 5:31 am

Yes. Seems like a good car. Better to buy facelift and when there is a discount after 2-3 years. They would have fix many technical issues and atleast we would know if the car worth to buy that time.

• Truth on Dec 03, 2020 at 4:34 pm

a proton? what a shame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Daniel on Dec 03, 2020 at 11:46 pm

Proton will always be Proton, and the behaviour will never change. The Proton car dealer now informed that in order to get car allocation, I need to buy the optional accessories of 3.5k. if not priority of getting car will be given to those who added these accessories. I was the top 3 to place a booking for the car but not giving the first come first serve treatment.

• Avenger on Dec 04, 2020 at 10:49 am

Ye lah tu, if such underhanded practice was real Hafriz would have kena too.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 04, 2020 at 11:18 am

The packaged wasn’t forced on me. I chose it anyway, but I’m still waiting for my car. So yeah

• Spin Too Much on Dec 06, 2020 at 11:11 am

That’s the thing isn’t it? People who were not genuinely inquiring but only listen to hearsay from somewhere else and repeat the same story here.

Are there bad apples, sure there is! To those who were forced, just take your business to another Proton showroom.

But even with Hafriz taking the Urban package (voluntarily!), he still haven’t got his car yet so there is no truth whatsoever that bundling with the accessories would help get the car faster. Are they wrong to push for it? Nope, you can insist not to take.

• not x50 fan on Dec 05, 2020 at 10:23 pm

went for test drive. the price is a bit expensive for the small suv. the material inside do not feel premium. if you have 20k more to spare and like proton, get x70

• Ghani on Dec 06, 2020 at 6:43 pm

But really if you don’t have and extra 20k to top up, what else within the price range that is more “feel premium”?

• newme on Dec 07, 2020 at 9:20 am

What a name calling….it does not make you any smart.

X50 are built in Tajung Malim. R&D is in Shah Alam. Despite that, Proton only shuts down the R&D dept and not the entire COE, let alone Shah Alam plant.

And the best part is we have this article.
    https://paultan.org/2020/10/20/proton-x50-suv-production-not-affected-by-covid-19-outbreak-launch-to-happen-virtually-report/

Ha, kang dah kena. See my level, see my level.