2021 Proton Suprima S, Gen2 rendered as a hatchback

Many people were fans of the original Proton Suprima S. The car was easy on the eyes, had the right proportions, and drove reasonably well, too. Wouldn’t it be nice, then, for a successor come along? Well, these renderings by Theophilus Chin ought to give us a taste.

We’re not sure if you could tell, but the donor car appears to be the Ford Focus Mk4. One could tell from the window surrounds and wing mirrors, as well as the front apron and rear bumper design. Certain elements of the front fascia are clearly borrowed from the X50, such as the headlights, Infinite Weave grille design, and the Proton roundel. Even the SUV’s 18-inch dual-tone wheels and red brake calipers are featured here.

At the back, the LED tail lights are clearly inspired by the X50, and the Proton script on the satinated chrome trim harks back to the original Suprima S. Further down you’ll find a chunky diffuser (this one is similar to the Focus Mk4 in design) with quad exhaust tips.

Other features seen here include LED DRLs in the front bumper, gloss black-painted roof with panoramic sunroof, shark fin antenna, rear spoiler with integrated third brake light, and eight parking sensors – four behind, four up front. This is quite a departure from the Suprima S renderings we saw just last year, no?

As for the likelihood of the Suprima heading to production, let’s just say that it won’t happen, for now at least. Theo calls this the H50, but before you get all excited about its prospects, Geely doesn’t have a hatchback quite like this in its portfolio. The onus is on Proton, one might say.

The national automaker is currently focused on the growth of its domestic sales, strengthening its product line-up by launching new SUVs and updating existing models. But tell us, what do you think of this Proton ‘H50’? Fancy the way it looks? Comment, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Anulaki on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:00 am

This is by far the best rendering from Teohsifu! Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Haidi on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:07 am

Oh! This is handsome, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • John Gagal on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:17 am

Make sure the Proton chief designer not ruin it.

• st3wp1d on Jan 11, 2021 at 3:05 pm

not designer, but rather parts manufacturing facility can create base on complexity vs cost..
      design hebat juga guna if cost to produce is unreasonable.. rugi bos..

• Hantu Raya on Jan 12, 2021 at 3:44 pm

Typical Malaysians- want wagyu beef at daging kotak prices.

• x50 already a suprima replacement,
    But more compact interior now..

• Zhahid Khan on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:37 am

I could see there is potential and market for this model. Please go ahead for production, Make sure the car is mampu-milik please.

• Hyundai Ioniq is the cheapest C segment hatchback right now, cost RM99,888.00

National car always RM30k cheaper than the famous imported car, so the price of local C segment hatchback starts from RM69k.

• err … why want to waste time on this when MyVi 2.0 rules the road in this segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • Anonymous Coward on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:49 am

I am one of the owners of the original Suprima… this looks killer. But honestly, I’ve had so many QC issues with it that I’m very hesitant to buy another one.

The only way to tempt me is to take this design, downsize it and make it a B-segment hatchback to compete against the City hatchback with a MUCH cheaper pricing. But maybe this is my own personal preference as I’d rather downsize and keep the amenities rather than the space as it’s been under-utilized the past 6 years I’ve owned this car.

• ex VGM staff on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:08 pm

proton already has a B segment hatch and its name is Iriz

• Anonymous Coward on Jan 14, 2021 at 10:39 pm

Yeah, but the Iriz doesn’t look all that nice; it’s a bit too Japanese kei car for my liking. If they could try to ape the Volvo V40, that’d be really nice.

• too myvi. theo just tarnish suprima s cred

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • P2 owner on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:34 pm

Totally different mate! Curvy vs Squarish. Even myself really wish the Myvi change their grill and headlight design as awesome as this rendering of X50

• kereta_lembu on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:16 pm

Superb rendering and it looks awesome! This would be arguably the most handsome PROTON ever if its true but sadly, it is just a rendering and should be very far from reality. Good Job again Theophilus, you hardly fail to impress me.

• RadnaQsi Run on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:16 pm

My god…manisnya rendering ni…

• Dong gor on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:20 pm

Nice! But rendering vs actual always has a big gap due to feasibility of manufacturing and the cost associated. So as much as you can draw, it’s just wallpaper

• komarad on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:35 pm

make it manual version only! for auto can go to x50…

• Missleading title, I thought it wuz rebirth of my Gen2. Best P1 eva! Why not take that fastback bodyline, change front & rear, update the interior and bump up the safety stuff. Will be hot seller like ori Gen2. That fact that its still being produced for export market shows it still has demand but that car just needs some TLC to modernise it.

• suresh on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:41 pm

I could say this is REALLY stunning & looks like another sure fire winner for Proton..i love it ..just hope they produce it with a fabulous engine to match & i would definately have one…Niceeeeee…

• Bob Maa on Jan 11, 2021 at 12:45 pm

The entire thing from the front, side and back is copied from the X50 but ride much lower which is nice. They should call this the Satria Pro.

• Ahmad on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:05 pm

I want to buy a new version of Gen2 CPS, this hatch looks awesome. 2010 Gen2 CPS has issue to parts, mine extractor broke and cant simply change due to its angle profile. Using custom made extractor of RM180 makes the car kreng kreng instead of vroom vroom, and i hate that sound.

It would be better to have manual for future hatch, bonus point if it is RWD!!!

• Ksatria on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:30 pm

My money is yours if this comes to realization!

• the driver on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:32 pm

Sekali imbas rupa macam Ford Focus baru- tak ori lah

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 11, 2021 at 2:09 pm

Gaya nih

• yapyw on Jan 11, 2021 at 2:50 pm

Subaru raised up the WRX to turn it into an XV? So Proton can lower the X50 and turn it into a Suprima S? Boleh kut?

• Dayum, this looks HAWT.

• Walley on Jan 11, 2021 at 3:35 pm

A class or Audi A3 if without Proton logo. I would suggest Proton register new logo for selling high end model just like toyota ->Lexus. So the high end proton cars can sell premium price example X50 can sell 130k.

• troll on Jan 11, 2021 at 3:42 pm

the china ppl dont like this, so u malaysian wont get this

• wow…this is good looking…conservative yet elegant…i want to see a hothatch version…please dont put in too much flamboyance

• sweet love

• Abdullah Bin Abd Muhid on Jan 11, 2021 at 6:39 pm

Model proton nie akan merosakkan pasaran pembuatan kenderaan lain seperti Mazda, Toyota, Honda dan jenama Eropah lain

• Daniel on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:25 pm

6 speed manual please

• Laku Keras on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:30 pm

If same platform as X50 then just do it n extend it into sedan and coupe versions as new Suprima, Waja, Satria and Putra models with below Rm65k pricings. Surely big volume sales and huge export potentials too.

And yes keep away Azlano from messing up the designs ya!

• Ashruf Bin Abdullah on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:48 pm

Great look

• Kudos. Proton should consider eye-catching hatchback like those days i.e tge GTi.

• Syed Shahir Bin Syed Mokhtarruddin on Jan 11, 2021 at 8:37 pm

I will go for it without hesitation seriously. Bring it on

• FrankC on Jan 11, 2021 at 10:07 pm

After reading article on Nio, kinda wondering why our automotive industry still toying around with ice automobile. Its time to seriously look into next technology… Infrastructure is needed for ev and autinomous vehicles

• That Guy on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:43 pm

All moot, because Geely isn’t interested in Proton developing cars anymore, not that they ever were. They bought Proton for Lotus, let’s be real here.

One of Proton’s biggest failures was repeatedly stretching into unfeasible markets, with this c-segment hatch being one of them. Repeatedly trying to challenge the compact king, Perodua. And wasting time in pick-ups, microvans, d-segment/executive sedans (to be fair they had initial success with this last one in the first 3 generations of Perdana, but should’ve given up by the time Honda and Toyota started dominating).

So unlikely Li Chunrong will waste resources trying to enter/reenter market space that is either already dominated or negligible. When they can easily stay and grow in the segments that they have stronger footings in, like premium SUVs, b/c-segment sedans, and maybe MPVs. The next car out of Proton (after the Jiaji) will likely be another GEELY SUV or sedan replacement. For either the Persona or Preve which they have shut down production. Proton’s design house will not see work (outside Infinity Weaving Geely designs) for a long time.

• Gregory molykee Kaling on Jan 12, 2021 at 12:41 am

That new version of GEN2 should have a powerful engine. At least it has 182horsepower or 200hp.you know in Sabah most of the road are hilly and very steep. That’s the kind we want in Sabah.

• The external design looks pretty neat and has the look of the new Honda City hatchback. But the skirting looks more sportier than many hatchback models. I will give a 5 stars for the appearance, very current and definitely sells if Geely engine being used. It doesn’t matter if the H50 is fitted with 4,5,6 AT or DGS with 4 cylinder or 3 cylinder turbo aspirated engine. And should be fitted with at least 16 inches rim.

• This is what I personally find poor in Proton marketing ,Proton should practice creating new designs and inspiration rather than just copying back the ideas right from their old cars. I bet if proton change their car designs and names they should be able to coop and reach further heights

• Satriabajahitam on Jan 12, 2021 at 10:03 pm

Pls also bring back satria

• royal_flush_85 on Jan 13, 2021 at 1:08 am

already jatuh cinta

• Richard Gomez on Jan 13, 2021 at 7:24 pm

I think the idea to bring back a Suprima category of can would be a nice though. But suffice to say that it may not be in Proton current best interests looking at Geely’s focus of more comfort handling.

Let Proton establish itself as a viable option against competition then bring back names like Satria GTI or Suprima S as examples. The Iriz itself is far form being considered even a VW Polo or base spec Golf option.

Recalling that the Surprima and Satria are fun cars for enthusiasts so should be done properly.

What ever reincarnation the handling must be Lotus derived, the focus shouldn’t be on comfort but proper driving. It shouldn’t carry a little 3 cylinder turbo but a proper Direct- Injected 4 pot that gives smooth and manageable delivery.

The Jazz and Yaris are everyday options that are already losing traction to the MYVI, Proton should not compete but instead establish benchmarks before going to “Weekend runners”

There isn’t even a decent replacement for the Perdana that would be respectable to compare to an Accord let alone fight against Focus. Go for the mass market first then hone in so by such time R3 should have its hands and familiarise with the Geeky derived technology and mix with proper Lotus attributes.

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:06 pm

Very lovely… Still utilizes Proton P2 platform!

• Rahman Wahid on Jul 20, 2023 at 9:01 pm

Bringing back hatchback model like Suprima is a good idea, not Iriz (sorry, nothing personal). More pleasing to the eyes!

• Lately I always don’t like proton front grills. Proton should be more creative.