JPJ reminds public of dress code – no shorts, slippers

The road transport department (JPJ) has reminded its customers to follow the dress code when at its premises. In a Facebook post yesterday, JPJ listed down and illustrated the don’ts when it comes to dressing. “Customers must dress modestly and appropriately, in line with the fifth Rukun Negara principle, which is courtesy and morality (kesopanan dan kesusilaan),” the caption read.

The five examples of what not to wear were listed/illustrated as torn pants (a pair of torn jeans shown), short pants (a man in running shorts shown), skirts or shorts above the knee level/mini skirts or shorts (this is for ladies), slippers, and sleeveless shirts (man in singlet pictured). Keep this in mind if you’re paying a visit to the JPJ, or other government departments for that matter.

For states under the movement control order (MCO), JPJ offices will be open from 9am to 4pm (1pm to 2pm lunch break), but with services limited to road tax for commercial vehicles and the renewal of driving license and vocational licenses (GDL, PSV) for commercial vehicles, including taxis and e-hailing.

One can also head to JPJ to obtain a vehicle ownership certificate (VOC) and to get a public ID for access to the MySikap online system. All services involving private individuals can be done online, via MySikap or partner platforms. No changes to opening hours or services rendered in states under the conditional MCO (CMCO) and recovery MCO (RMCO).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:04 pm

hello jpj, we are paying you guys and not attending some military school

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 79
    • Mei Li on Jan 15, 2021 at 5:19 pm

What a rude statement! It is their premises, they have right to implement the dress-code. So do you, for your house(s). Don’t you mind people come visiting your house(s) naked, showing their “ding-a-ling” to your face? To your wife, son(s), daughter(s)? They have so many things to protect in their premises.
      I’ve seen similar statement coming from one of my students, and now I can imagine the parents are somewhat like you! What a shame, and you expect to receive likes from the other readers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 129
      • Melania Rosmah on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Mei Li,what about a beautiful voluptious girl like you with 2 buttons on your blouse becoming loose?
        I reckon before,JPJ also make a big issue out of this.
        Do you recall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
        • Ghani on Jan 16, 2021 at 12:35 pm

Totally agreed. We’d rather accepted some YB wanna-be pakai kereta besor Conti luxury and their bini2 dangling Birkin kulit ostrich handbag… But at last kene angkut..pasal makan rasuah, pecah amanah, daging haram, menyeleweng songlap. Ini semua cume luaran Ok, gua rilek aje.

Pasal clothing …. abang-abang hard to control our feeling, so we abang-abang ekceli so suffer sengsara xboleh tahan when we see 2 buttons becoming loose. This is very true, so ini semua salah si pemakai itu. bukan salah reaksi abang-abang langsung,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Rude? When you enter someone else’s house, you enter from the front door or from the backdoor? Do you even know the definition of rude?

And why on earth should we even respect people who do not even know, or care, how to respect themselves? Respect is earned, not demanded. Don’t teach what you know nothing of. And if you are in fact a teacher, or some keyboard for hire, then it is crystal clear what kind of education standard, or lack thereof, that we have in this backwater state.

And what exactly are you protecting that may be lost if others are minding their own business, paying their hard earned money renewing road tax to use roads that are full of potholes? We don’t owe you jack. And if possible, i would even prefer to pay online and have my road tax sticker sent to a given address so that i don’t have to trouble myself dressing up like a doll just to see the faces of some self entitled, loutish, arrogant officer with a pompous attitude and pay them money.

Shame? What do you know about shame? Malu apa bossku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • Mei Hwa Wong on Jan 17, 2021 at 12:45 am

It’s 2021, be result oriented. If you on what that does not matter. How is your student going to think outside the box?
        JPJ should solve their inefficiency issue first before trying to install these restriction. Some jobs such as the aquatic industry is better off wearing shorts or your plants get wet. The world is too big to set restrictions

• newme on Jan 18, 2021 at 11:31 am

It’s a public service building. It belongs to the people. Not their house, not my house and certainly not your house.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:08 pm

Good move jpj…this is not pasar malam…have some respect…only no culture people will dress inappropriately…show some manners when you frequent places that involve official matters…even the runners dress decently…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 85
    • republic of Ibanesia on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:38 pm

sad to see public servant bold and arrogant becomes little napoleons interfering communities customary daily attires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 34
      • Avenger on Jan 15, 2021 at 9:47 pm

If you don’t want to respect other people is alrite but at least respect yourself & your parents. Your parents laboured so hard in giving birth to you, feed you, clothed you, educate you, but still dressed to shame your poor parents. I feel sorry for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
        • Sarong Fashionista on Jan 16, 2021 at 12:09 pm

you must be a poor son shamed by parents for not dressing up accordingly to their taste and preference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • hondaman on Jan 18, 2021 at 11:35 am

Your community customary daily attires is a short and a slipper meh?

• Autobahn on Jan 16, 2021 at 9:37 am

Go for graduation, wear a robe and hats, go to wedding party wear a tux and dress, go worship house wear proper attire, i think it is not too much to ask when going to official govt builing wear a decent clothes. Eventho we are still 3rd world country, atleast dont look like a third world country ok edi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
  • pomen on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:32 pm

for wearing shorts ok la acceptable, not appropriate. But wearing slippers is too much laaa. we are not coming for interview..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 16
  • Choong Khim Fen on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:39 pm

Aiyoyo sandal also cannot now. Face reality now see what ordinary ppl wear in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
    • AJibkor on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:33 pm

Sandals…aiyah yah..cannot lah..jatuh standard.
      But bring your wife along…bring Birkin handbag..sure boleh.No restrictions.Dont tell me handbags prohibited.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • sugarhill on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:45 pm

government servants having too much time at hand! come up with all sort of stupid ideas! go fix potholes lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 19
    • malayAlam on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:41 pm

correction. they are public servants sole purpose to serve the public should not becomes little napoleons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • Avenger on Jan 15, 2021 at 9:48 pm

JPJ mandate is not to look after road condition. Your complains are misplaced.

• Rational thinking on Jan 15, 2021 at 9:51 pm

Jpj is not the moral police. What people wear is their personal business. They should be serving the public, not the other round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • panjang on Jan 15, 2021 at 4:52 pm

Does the traditional ‘capal’ falls under selipar jepun/flip flop category?

• newme on Jan 15, 2021 at 5:14 pm

Just do your damn job instead of nosy-ing into other people’s attire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
  • Why it has to be so formal? As long as our clothes are clean and neat, what is the problem? I wear T shirts, shorts and slipper to shopping mall, why I can not do that to JPJ? Why not just set the rules, everyone has to wear uniform like in the school?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 21
  • Bobby Chin on Jan 15, 2021 at 6:29 pm

Capal means selipar jepun/toilet selipar? Is wearing Groc consider wearing capal??

• Gomorrah on Jan 15, 2021 at 7:41 pm

Did all the JPJ offices suddenly transport themselves to a more temperate country? Is Malaysia the only tropical country in the world not experiencing tropical weather? Have these government servants not seen that the average Malaysian who does not have to work in an office is not wearing shoes because it is so hot? The other parts of the dress code no issue but slippers? Really? Why not focus on the actual job at hand?

• TakNakP1 on Jan 15, 2021 at 9:33 pm

Safest is just to “bungkus” going to any gov office.

• Fariz on Jan 15, 2021 at 11:28 pm

What’s wrong with slippers though ………..

• komarad on Jan 18, 2021 at 9:20 am

driving or riding wearing slippers is an offence and dangerous though… maybe they thought those coming to JPJ was driving or riding…

• Don’t bend the knee. DON’T BEND THE KNEE.

• mooties on Jan 16, 2021 at 7:22 am

Why? Seriously why? Start focusing on the right things. We don’t need fashion polices. How does my shorts affect your work? Time to change the mindset, stop the rot and continue ‘Berkhidmat untuk Negara’!

• Taliban is back on Jan 16, 2021 at 9:33 am

Taliban

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Annoynimouse on Jan 16, 2021 at 11:01 am

Well, let’s see if JPJ staffs themselves uphold the 5th rukun when they deal with customers.

• anythinglah on Jan 16, 2021 at 1:35 pm

How about JPJ to speed up your services instead a very long queue line, and always close early because worry you cant finish the job before your off hour time?

• dreams125 on Jan 17, 2021 at 8:27 pm

In Sungai Petani JPJ works quite efficient now, no complains. They sped up the procedure a lot, no more queues and waiting. They shall keep that after the pandemic.

• hondaman on Jan 18, 2021 at 11:38 am

Mind telling us which JPJ office? From my experience last week, long Q because need to take number but when yo got your number, you will be attended to less than 15 mins. That was at 8am sharp and 90% of the counter were open at Wangsa Maju.

• Selipar x leh? Apa kena selipar dgn kesopanan & kesusilaan? Kalo pakai selipar tu x sopan & x susila baik ban kan terus selipar. Kesian org kg yg selalu pakai selipar, x leh la gi jpj camtu.

• Anonymous on Jan 17, 2021 at 10:16 am

Wear like first world but getting third world service, how ironic. Buck up JPJ, please look at your service levels instead of nosing on others dress code.

• Syafizan on Jan 17, 2021 at 11:34 am

Selipar pun tak boleh?

• Make sure air cond is working with comfortable temperature and allow all visitors to be serve in a timely manner. Only then JPJ talk about implementing this policy

• SK9927 on Jan 18, 2021 at 8:19 am

Little Napoleon mentality. a person wearing shorts and slippers is no different from someone in suit and tie. yidiots should be focusing on improving service and enforcement.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2021 at 12:32 pm

I agree with no slippers, but shorts and T-shirt are appropriate dressing for our hot and humid climate.

If others want to dress like Arabs it is their choice. They are free to do so.