JPJ launches Ops Covid, deploys 1,200 officers to assist police in enforcing MCO and CMCO SOPs

The road transport department (JPJ) has launched Ops Covid-19, which will see it collaborate with the police in enforcing movement control orders (MCO, CMCO and RMCO) from now till January 26 nationwide.

According to JPJ, Ops Covid’s main target is the compliance of the standard operating procedures (SOP) that have been laid out by the government’s national security council, as well as other offences under the Road Transport Act 1987 (Act 333), Land Public Transport Act (PAD) 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act (LPKP) 1987.

JPJ says that it has deployed 1,200 officers to assist the PDRM throughout the period of the MCO, CMCO and RMCO nationwide. The three strategies are patrols on main state roads and highways, roadblocks that focus on public vehicles, and inspection and monitoring at major bus terminals and the TBS.

The department says that this integrated approach has to be taken to halt the spread of the pandemic, which is worsening due to the local communities’ disregard of the SOPs. It is asking for full cooperation from the rakyat throughout the MCO/CMCO/RMCO enforcement period.

With JPJ in the picture, there’s more reason now to avoid the roads if you’re not heading out for essentials.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Albert on Jan 18, 2021 at 11:13 am

If the JPJ is helping the Police at roadblocks,may we suggest that more of the Police be assigned to supermarkets and wet markets and sundry shop where physical distancing is a myth.
    You can see workers wearing face masks below the nose and chin.
    No wonder we have those socalled untraceable clusters daily in Selangor n KL..300-500 cases in total.
    In Selangor,we have Giant Subang and Selayang NSK clusters.Isnt this a wake up call,for enforcement to be stepped up at these viral hotspots?
    Do u need rocket science or just plain common sense?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 18, 2021 at 1:47 pm

Kudos to our gomen & frontliners!
    #KitaJagaKita

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2021 at 1:58 pm

Roadblocks not the way to go la u need to do human blocks at all shopping malls and supermarkets. Hell I went out yesterday to restock and was shocked at the amount of people in the shops. Hell it looks like business as usual within the MCO areas.

• Vanguard on Jan 18, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Agree. MCO 2.0 is nothing. People are so free and carefree moving about….not worrying about COVID19.

Even kids and elderly are out jalan jalan. Either they have death wish, or they are COVID-immuned ppl.

Better be safe than sorry. When kena covid, cry-cry river oso no use…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 19, 2021 at 8:52 am

Need to implement MCO 1.0 then rakyat will forced to comply. If they don’t care about their lives, health and safety, at least we have a caring gomen that cares for them.

• ThePolygon on Jan 18, 2021 at 6:04 pm

I think in the car is less likely to get the virus if alone or with another family member. Now if I was asked to open the window however…