2021 Proton Exora Black Edition launched – RM67,800

Proton’s salvo of four special edition models today rounds off with the 2021 Exora Black Edition, which joins the Saga R3 Limited Edition, Iriz R3 Limited Edition and Persona Black Edition in making their debut via a virtual launch.

Like the others, the Exora Black Edition is a limited production run, with only 500 examples available. The edition, which is based on the Exora RC that was launched in 2019, is priced at RM67,800 on-the-road without insurance, but with sales tax exemption until June 30, which makes it RM3,000 more than the Premium variant (RM64,800). The price will increase by RM2k to RM69,800 when the tax is reintroduced on July 1.

The MPV adopts the darkened route first seen on the Saga Anniversary Edition – as its moniker suggests, the Exora comes dressed with a metallic Quartz Black exterior, with gold providing contrast, the latter shade being found on the 16-inch alloy wheels and through matte dark gold accents on the bumper as well as a decal line on the lower sides.

Inside, the Exora Black Edition comes with black leatherette upholstery and door trim, complete with contrast stitching. The surrounds of the AC/infotainment console panel and gear lever gaiter is finished in dark gold, while the gear lever bezel is now done in gloss black for the edition.

No changes mechanically, the Exora continuing on with the familiar 1.6 litre Campro turbocharged engine, which offers 140 PS and 205 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm, the mill being paired with a CVT.

Aside from the introduction of a new rear overhead monitor (which is actually an old accessory that was dropped when the RC was announced), there are also no revisions to the interior kit. The 2019 update added a seven-inch touchscreen head unit based on Geely’s Global Key User Interface (GKUI), with “Hi Proton” voice commands and 4G internet connection via an embedded eSIM card, with 1GB of free data per month for five years).

GALLERY: 2021 Proton Exora Black Edition

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• (Like) Honda BR-V RM89,900.
    (Dislike) Proton Exora Black Edition RM67,800

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Feb 18, 2021 at 12:02 pm

Good RV maa..

• Lychee Pie on Feb 18, 2021 at 12:10 pm

disappointed… In 2021, at least keyless remote / push start button… maybe you just trying to clear stock… haiz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Wow so many old junk stock ploton exora and iriz cannot be sell? So just touch up make it limited edition and black edition? See still can sell well or not this year. Whole year of 2019 and 2020 exora and iriz sold less than 8k.
    Dinasour from gua alza still sell well almost 15k every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Aura89 on Feb 18, 2021 at 3:08 pm

It is still selling well despite being old model so I don’t get where ur coming from.

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 18, 2021 at 4:19 pm

Precisely. It outsold its direct competitor the Toyota Innova (MPV C-segment) in 2020 by 5,900 to 1,500 units…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • Compare 70k exora to over 100k innova? Kek! Which cave u coming from?
          Exora vs alza can compare la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Celup King on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:16 am

Want to compare Musang King with rambutan? Jauh lah tu. Which cave u coming from?

• Alive & Kicking on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:27 pm

That’s because Innova costs RM40k-50k more.

• Come on on Feb 18, 2021 at 10:41 pm

Because Proton has government protection via taxes … did you think before commenting bro

• Celup King on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:21 am

Proton did not force the NN to price their Camrys, their Accords & their Sonatas close to 200k today. Certainly it is nothing to do with taxes but sheer greed. So it applies all the way down. Think before commenting bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Alza bestest on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:29 pm

Both exora and alza since 2009. Alza outsold exora every year. Exora more problematic than alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Celup King on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:18 am

Dinosaur cars certainly has less problems than a modern day car, certainly a horse has less mechanical problems. So why not get a horse?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • car jockey on Feb 19, 2021 at 6:30 pm

How can a horse get less mechanical problems compared to a car when a horse is an animal, not a machine like a car?

• Exora User on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:10 pm

This Black Edition still has the same OCH problem like exora bold. Lol they cant even solve that problem. Just rename and make it limited edition to clear stock.

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:29 pm

Copy paste: “It is a working formula. The last I checked, Proton is in the business of making money. So if it works, why not”.

• Value is up on Feb 18, 2021 at 12:25 pm

Wow the centre console head unit surrounding plate really like a night & day if you compare with pre facelifted 2019 model or Bold era. All the plain & dull looking front passenger cabin is gone now. Brave decision on ‘Gold’ by the underated designers, other brands wont dare to venture this route in this value price point category

• The Swede on Feb 18, 2021 at 12:28 pm

My wallet is ready

• Paint It Black on Feb 18, 2021 at 12:39 pm

I see a red door
    And I want it painted black
    No colors anymore
    I want them to turn black
    I see the girls walk by
    Dressed in their summer clothes
    I have to turn my head
    Until my darkness goes
    I see a line of cars
    And they’re all painted black
    With flowers and my love
    Both never to come back
    I’ve seen people turn their heads
    And quickly look away
    Like a newborn baby
    It just happens everyday
    I look inside myself
    And see my heart is black
    I see my red door
    I must have it painted black
    Maybe then, I’ll fade away
    And not have to face the facts
    It’s not easy facing up
    When your whole world is black
    No more will my green sea
    Go turn a deeper blue
    I could not foresee this thing
    Happening to you
    If I look hard enough
    Into the setting sun
    My love will laugh with me
    Before the…

• Dr Strange on Feb 18, 2021 at 3:01 pm

The last of local ingenious homegrown P1 car model. Rare klasik lejenn , rugi besor klu tak ambik. Tengkiu gomen harge tolak SST, terbest!

• Kancil Hybrid on Feb 18, 2021 at 1:06 pm

Adoi Proton. Sampai bila nak update Exora ni?

• Jinggo on Feb 18, 2021 at 1:19 pm

its already a 12 year old model.. WTH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • sugabeb on Feb 18, 2021 at 4:14 pm

every richman preferred new , younger , fresher ones.. a 12 year old model.. hmmm just wokayy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Raja Kamarul on Feb 18, 2021 at 4:21 pm

The P2 Alza was launched in Nov 2009… also still selling la…

• should stop buying both with only 2 airbags n no vsc mpv… both need new replacement model.

• Celup King on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:22 am

But Exora does have VSC and TC so the one you should stop buying is just Alza.

• Everyman on Feb 18, 2021 at 5:31 pm

P2 is probably waiting for P1 to replace the old model 1st…

• David on Feb 18, 2021 at 2:40 pm

Junky

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 18, 2021 at 3:11 pm

clear stock kaa… what do you expect with paint cosmetic?

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2021 at 3:44 pm

Still no rear ISOFIX?

• Old wine, new bottle.

• Marhani Nordin on Feb 18, 2021 at 6:26 pm

My auntie is waiting for the “pink edition”….

• Raymond on Feb 18, 2021 at 6:32 pm

Proton has run out of ideas. Living in the past! Hello Proton, the year is 2021 and not 1984. In the past, you have used the same marketing concept! When you monopolize the market you can do what you are trying doing now. Wake Up!!!
    Better launch new models, if not you will find yourselves in the history book.

• Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:14 am

No captain seats and no increase in airbags. the price increase is not justified. it is cheaper to put a video player at local car accessories shop. so this black edition exora is not going to sell.

• Dylan on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:32 pm

I feel like my original comment did not get approved. So let me try again. I hope that the roof mounted monitor does not use an FM transmitter to connect the audio output to the car’s speakers.

• Jenjen on Feb 24, 2021 at 7:34 am

Good when we had a car Cheaper price than D55L and X50 with turbo and bigger engine.