SPYSHOTS: Perodua Ativa spotted undisguised ahead of March 3 debut – different from the Daihatsu Rocky

The Perodua Ativa (or D55L) has been spotted completely undisguised ahead of its official launch on March 3 thanks to RiderAth, who spotted several units of the compact B-segment SUV being transported on a trailer recently.

These images give us a good look at the design of the Ativa (unlike previous camouflaged units), which isn’t a direct copy of the Daihatsu Rocky it is based on. While the overall profile is pretty much identical, the Perodua SUV gets distinctive front and rear sections.

Starting with the former, the grille on the Ativa is stretched out to link the headlamps, with the Perodua logo framed by chrome slats. There’s also a different bumper with triangular fog lamp enclosures that are accentuated by L-shaped trim pieces.

The rear also gets a different bumper to the Rocky, with fog lamp/reflector sections that trail to the edges. Elsewhere, contrasting silver trim underlines the number plate holder, while the bridge that links the taillights, which is also where the tailgate release is located, is finished in chrome. Bringing the Toyota Raize into the picture, the differences are even more obvious at the front, no so much at the rear.

No shots of the interior for now, but from early impressions, the DNGA-based Ativa will have a cabin similar to the Rocky, but with an air-conditioning control panel that is specific to the Perodua model, with a memory function like in the Myvi.

The other pieces of the Ativa puzzle are pretty well known at this point, as all three variants – X, H and AV – will be powered by the Rocky’s 1KR-VET 1.0 litre turbo three-cylinder engine making 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm.

Drive will be sent to the front wheels through a new D-CVT that promises increased transmission efficiency and quietness over a conventional CVT. The transmission will also feature a new sequential shift mode with seven virtual ratios, while a Power button on the steering wheel remaps the engine and gearbox for quicker response. If you’re curious how this setup feels on the move, Danny Tan’s got you covered.

Daihatsu Rocky (left), Toyota Raize (right)

In terms of safety and driver assist systems, the Ativa will break new ground by offering six airbags, stability control, autonomous emergency braking, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam as standard across the range. The range-topping AV adds a few more Perodua firsts, including adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and plus matrix LED headlights.

Estimated pricing for the Ativa starts at RM62,500 on-the-road without insurance, and goes all the way up to RM73,400. That places it in close proximity with the larger Aruz that comes with seven seats, although the equipment advantage does make it a compelling case.

Now that you know about the technology that the Ativa will come with, as well as how it looks thanks to this latest sighting, are you impressed? Have you already placed a booking? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Our coverage of the 2021 Perodua Ativa D55L SUV

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky in Japan

GALLERY: Toyota Raize in Japan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Avenger on Feb 27, 2021 at 12:38 pm

Congrats on the bumper changer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
    • Curious on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:42 pm

How many booking already so far?

• This Ativa only serving a tiny customer market, 1st time car buyers age 20-30 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Kim Jong Din on Feb 28, 2021 at 2:04 pm

Dont talk garbage.I m buying 2 units,one for my wife 65 years old,the other one for my son 45 years old.Sales advisor giving more discounts and freebees for 2 units.
          What tiny customer market?
          Already P1,X50 booking s are cancelled in the hundreds , due to 6 months wait.
          Ativa will partly canabalise X50,even its own older brother Aruz sales.
          Make no mistake,it is the Blockbuster launching of affordable SUV for 2021.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
          • Abecow on Feb 28, 2021 at 2:47 pm

You made the right choice Kim! Inikaliah!

• lie detector on Feb 28, 2021 at 4:30 pm

So have a receipt to proof you’re buuing two? Can show it to us? Thats right, you talk only no proof. Anyone can talk. I just say I book 10 X50 today, how many believe? Nobody! Same with many cancel booking X50, how many believe? Only you believe.

• suomynona on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:46 pm

You buy car for your 45 year old son?

• Nice story bro. If your 45 yo son needs you to buy him a car, I wonder how much more can he rely on Daddykasi. I would die in shame if that were me.

• Walao Wei on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:34 pm

How come you got discount & freebies? Btw what freebies did you get? My sales man didn’t even offer me a bottled water & you got discount & freebies!

• Young on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:29 pm

What do you mean 20-30 only ?? I’m only 18 without a job & am getting the Ativa AV 2Tone LOL

• Lolwhut? on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:57 pm

Bumper lawa citarasa lokals #sapotlokal

• PEJUANG on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:12 pm

Perodua played in the development of this car.

• Copy Paste on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:49 am

Copy paste: ““If you’re talking about the model(Rocky) we saw just now, we didn’t have a lot of input in terms of spec or architecture. Because the platform is actually the new DNGA. I don’t know if you can see it tomorrow (we’re paying a visit to Daihatsu’s Kyushu plant), but this car will be produced at Kyushu if I’m not mistaken,” Zainal(Perodua CEO) revealed.”

• Nice bumper and badge development.

• Roti john on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:45 pm

I hope Proton can learn from Perodua. Although it is just a rebadge, at least Perodua did restyled some parts of the cars and it looks good. This is unlike Proton that is only capable of changing grille and logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • PEJUANG on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:31 am

i miss you bro RJ, you’re a good funny dude. ❤️

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Feb 28, 2021 at 12:49 pm

Buy this Perodua Rocky, is like we only pay daging kotak Price. but we get daging Wagyu from P2.

• Bro. Nobody layan you so you layan yrself? Ewww!

• PEJUANG on Feb 28, 2021 at 9:11 pm

The mods here can confirm that im not roti john.

• crossx on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:41 am

If like that we have x50 x70 LHD here

• Melania Rosmah on Feb 28, 2021 at 1:54 pm

Protong just have the last ventilator tube unplugged.They left the ICU ward ,like some covid patients.
        I dont expect much from a recovering patient.
        The only danger is when the DRB faction starts the politiking,then Dr.Li might call it a day.
        Then u can see them asking for “R and D” funds..which they did not do any research ,but instead use to pay the incompetent suppliers,who will lobby for payment ,with croc tears.

• Bro. You can read right bro?
          paultan.org/2021/02/02/national-brands-have-62-share-of-malaysian-market-highest-since-2003-proton-up-not-at-p2s-expense/

paultan.org/2021/02/25/drb-hicom-records-rm540-1-million-profit-in-2020-boosted-by-proton-auto-business-sst-exemption/

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 01, 2021 at 10:05 am

Well done our national auto bumper changer!

• front doesn’t look nice bro, expecting Mini Rav4 replica looks…

• Raja Celup on Feb 27, 2021 at 3:51 pm

Alamak all X50 owners sure trade-in buy this Ativa trendiest Suv of the year !! Say bye bye to Proton !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • p2macai on Feb 27, 2021 at 6:41 pm

Pickup slow from idle , underpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Minah Rempit on Feb 27, 2021 at 8:48 pm

Ativa’s front end is nicer than the Raize’s and the Rocky’s.

• longjaafar on Feb 27, 2021 at 12:52 pm

Credits to RiderAth, top local auto youtuber… Syabass P2 Team too, amazing enhancements inside out. This made the Ativa looks like a RM93,000 car, instead of cheap selling price rm62.5k … Memang mantap abes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
    • Edwin L on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:20 pm

When you get into the car if feels like a RM 40k car. See its Rocky father you will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • John Geli on Feb 27, 2021 at 3:46 pm

Yes really superb looking suv, finally We Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

• weare on Feb 27, 2021 at 6:42 pm

Should be 50k instead

• Interior looks like RM40,000 car, exterior looks like RM30,000 car. Fortunately features a lot, the car able to priced at RM73,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Kevin on Mar 01, 2021 at 8:42 pm

Agree. Great design by P2. The previous Rocky design really spoils the car. Now there is no more weakness in the car.

• Zarinah Sugababe on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:11 pm

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • M & B on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:29 pm

Nice

• Jia Ren on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Bring it on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:46 pm

Front end looks good TBH. Another game changer coming to showrooms near you.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2021 at 1:52 pm

Better than Proton who only changed the emblem and the grill of their Chinese counterpart. So much for their head designer saying local styling will be significant.

19 Sep 2018 — However, according to Proton’s head of design, Mr Azlan Othman, substantial visual changes will be seen in the X70 CKD version.

All talk but no walking the talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • winrar on Feb 28, 2021 at 12:03 pm

Proton’s engineering done the amazing feat converting LHD to RHD, Syabas our local boys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Kim Jong Din on Feb 28, 2021 at 2:09 pm

DRB just announced half a billion Rm profits,last year.
      You are right..they goyang kaki while Dr.Li is doing all the running around from X70 bumper spare parts to still problematic power windows(from the same suppliers).

• Time to go to halfcut shop! At least for the badge.

• dick c on Feb 27, 2021 at 2:10 pm

rebadge King, Bumper change and replace logo only.
    Easy job…..

• Perodua Aruz Junior.

• Perotiga on Feb 27, 2021 at 3:26 pm

ok lah can buy one for daily commuting….small and easy to park..save me money too

• Made the right choice to book this car! Can’t wait to get it soon.

• https://pictr.com/image/7KwSUP
    https://pictr.com/image/7Kwluj

• Ok la on Feb 27, 2021 at 4:22 pm

Similar to Haval H2?
    Good alternative for ppl who want taller cheap car

• Nice

• DonkeyKong on Feb 27, 2021 at 8:26 pm

In terms of safety features, don’t forget to mention that this is the first offering from Perodua with a passenger cell made of gigapascal-class advanced/ultra high-strength steel.

The AHSS used in the D55L comprises the entire A and B pillars together with the roof and floor members that link up these two pillars to the C-pillar, together with a cross-member linking the left and right B-pillars. This should give it excellent crash safety performance for side impacts, rollovers and offset frontal collissions.

This puts it on par with all modern vehicles today. Proton can still boast about its 1.47-gigapascal HPF steel but these HPF members do not enclose the entire passenger cell. They only use it for the T-section that are the B-pillars and the roof members left and right of the B-pillars that connect to the A and C pillars.

• Safety First on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:49 am

Good komen bro DK. Strong carbody, safety first

• unsung heroes here on Feb 28, 2021 at 1:25 pm

Thank to all of you esteemed readers here:
      contributed their piece of advice and give a wakeup call to each of Daihatsu’s vehicles structure integrity since the early day.
      Your past critic, negative, overlyconcern and overkill comments on each Daihatsu’s associated articles and youtube videos had major influenced on them. Slurs such ”soft body’ ‘cheap steel’ ‘zerofeel’ ‘fying’ ‘easy to skid’ ‘handle like a boat’ ‘unrefined’, ‘vibrate too much’ ‘sore’ ‘too light’ ‘cheap build’ ‘loose’ ‘ too noisy’ ‘high injury’ ‘deathly or deathtrap’ ‘accident prone’ nonstop tagged to the Daihatsu’s brand image.
      Big praise to Proton Engineering div by offerring higher safety standard, pressured Daihatsu’s seriously to copy, follow and upgrade on their next generation vehiclel

• X50..ptui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • So tiny

• Makes me more excited and it’s coming soon. But Front bumper looks good

• Booked one

• Jenjen on Feb 28, 2021 at 9:21 am

Look like kelisa upgrade version in suv type.

• newme on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:15 am

This design is so much better than the stupid Rocky.

• at that orice, should put 1.3 turbo

• Ativa is quute longer, higher than Myvi.
    Myvi is a little it wider than Ativa.
    Can you visualize the scale?
    It is a small crossover.
    K-car category.

• Abdul Salam on Feb 28, 2021 at 6:49 pm

Selling my P1, for this P2 Ativa. Driving to office has never been so gaya-ful.

Holiday driving with girlfriend has never been so nice with Ativa.

• Does the Activa come in AWD or 4WD?

• Does the Ativa come in 4WD or AWD?

• Guest on Feb 28, 2021 at 11:39 pm

Does Ativa offer a AWD or 4WD?

• Wowwww wowwww wowwww…. Impressive indeed.cant wait for the launch. Hopefully the price is not what is it said… Lower perhaps

• Angeleyes on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:45 am

Front end looks freaking ugly with the weirdly styled fog lamp housing. Looks cheap. Rear end also looks a bit mismatch for the car, esp that reflector housing. I would prefer either rocky or raize bumper design for its clean look. And for the gear up bodykit, makes the car uglier