2021 Perodua Ativa SUV – spec-by-spec comparison

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you would’ve known about the biggest launch of the year, the Perodua Ativa. The compact SUV debuted yesterday to much (virtual) fanfare and sets new standards for the national carmaker in terms of technology and safety.

Perodua has made it easier for customers to pick the car they want, with just three variants and one engine and gearbox option. Still, it’s important to know what you get at each price point, and that’s where our spec-by-spec comparison comes in.

First, let’s talk about pricing, which starts at RM61,500 for the base X model and rises up to RM66,100 for the mid-range H and RM71,200 for the top-spec AV. These figures are on-the-road without insurance or the sales and service tax (SST), inclusive of a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

As you can expect for a full-fledged SUV priced just over RM60,000, the X variant looks fairly bare-bones, with small wheels, no fog lights, a plain black interior, a button-less steering wheel, fabric seats and a basic head unit. Even so, you do get most of what you need for your money, such as LED head- and taillights, keyless entry, Bluetooth connectivity and a digital air-conditioning control panel with memory buttons.

Better yet, Perodua isn’t skimping on safety. Even the base model comes with six airbags and stability control, plus a new version of the carmaker’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) system. This includes autonomous emergency braking (now with cyclist detection and a higher operating speed of up to 120 km/h), lane keeping assist, lane departure warning and automatic high beam.

It’s with the H variant where the company piles on the tech. Aside from the larger 17-inch wheels, the car also gets matrix LED headlights, which turns off parts of the high beam to avoid dazzling other road users. Inside, the biggest differences are the nine-inch infotainment touchscreen and a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, replete with multiple themes and novel birthday and anniversary reminders.

But if it’s tech you want, you really have to spring for the AV. This one adds Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capability, roping in adaptive cruise control and lane centring assist. You also get blind spot monitoring and rear cross traffic alert as part of the package. Visually, the AV is set apart by flashy faux leather and suede upholstery, with lots of red trim.

No matter which one you go for, the powertrain is unchanged – a new 1.0 litre 1KR-VET turbocharged three-cylinder engine making 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm. All that is sent to the front wheels through a D-CVT (another Perodua first) with seven virtual ratios.

For more details on the new Perodua Ativa, check out our full launch report and our first impressions review. You can also browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my. Without further ado, let’s get straight to the variant breakdown in detail.

2021 Perodua Ativa 1.0T X – RM61,500

2021 Perodua Ativa SUV – spec-by-spec comparison

Gets as standard:

Mechanicals

• 1.0 litre 1KR-VET VVT-i DOHC engine
  • 998 cc turbocharged three-cylinder petrol
  • 98 PS at 6,000 rpm, 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm
  • D-CVT with seven virtual ratios
  • Front-wheel drive
  • Automatic engine stop/start
  • 18.9 km per litre fuel consumption
  • Ventilated discs brakes (front), drums (rear)
  • MacPherson strut suspension (front), torsion beam (rear)

Exterior

• LED reflector headlights with automatic high beam
  • Silver upper grille bar, chrome lower bar
  • 16-inch silver alloy wheels with Goodyear Assurance Triplemax 2 205/65-section tyres
  • Power-adjustable black door mirrors with manual fold
  • Body-coloured door handles
  • Black A- and B-pillars
  • LED taillights
  • Shark fin antenna
  • Silver tailgate garnish
  • Glittering Silver, Granite Grey and Cobalt Blue colour options

Interior

• Keyless entry
  • Push-button start
  • Urethane steering wheel with Power button
  • Silver centre air vent trim
  • Black door pulls and grab handles
  • Digital air-conditioning controls with memory buttons
  • Centre door lock/unlock buttons
  • Fabric upholstery
  • Analogue instrument cluster with multi-info display
  • Radio with Bluetooth connectivity
  • Four speakers
  • Two front USB ports
  • 60:40 split-folding and reclining rear seats
  • Two-step boot floor (303 to 369 litres)
  • Full-sized spare tyre

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side, front and rear curtain)
  • ABS with EBD and brake assist
  • Stability control
  • Autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian and cyclist detection (now up to 120 km/h)
  • Lane Departure Warning and Protection
  • Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC)
  • Front Departure Alert (FDA)
  • Front and rear seat belt reminders
  • Rear ISOFIX child seat anchors
  • Rear parking sensors
  • Five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating

2021 Perodua Ativa 1.0T H – RM66,100

Adds on:

Exterior

• Automatic LED headlights with sequential indicators, cornering lights and Adaptive Driving Beam (ADB)
  • LED front fog lights
  • Dual chrome grille bars
  • Silver front and rear skid plates
  • 17-inch dual-tone alloy wheels with Bridgestone Turanza T005A 205/60-section tyres
  • Automatic power-folding door mirrors
  • Chrome tailgate garnish
  • Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red colour options (RM500)

Interior

• Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Steering wheel audio controls
  • Silver corner air vent trim
  • Silver centre console trim
  • Silver door grab handles with red trim
  • Soft-touch centre armrest and door trim
  • Seven-inch digital instrument display
  • Nine-inch infotainment touchscreen with Smart Link screen mirroring
  • One front HDMI port
  • Two rear USB ports

Safety

• Front parking sensors
  • Reverse camera

2021 Perodua Ativa 1.0T AV – RM71,200

Adds on:

Exterior

• Chrome door handles
  • Black roof option for Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red (RM800)

Interior

• Red corner air vent highlights
  • Chrome door pulls
  • Chrome gearlever surround, silver gearknob trim
  • Chrome handbrake button
  • Red centre console storage compartments
  • Faux leather and suede upholstery with red highlights and headrest strip
  • Six speakers
  • Driving video recorder
  • Llumar security window tint

Safety

• Adaptive cruise control
  • Lane centring assist
  • Blind spot monitoring
  • Rear cross traffic alert

Our full coverage of the launch of the Perodua Ativa

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa AV

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa H

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa X

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa AV with GearUp accessories

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa official images

GALLERY: 2021 Perodua Ativa brochure

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Biar Betul? on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:16 pm

What car can you buy in Msia for rm60k only?
    – 6 airbags
    – Matrix LED headlights
    – VSC
    – AEB
    – LKAS
    – Lane departure warning
    – 17-inch wheels
    – Keyless entry
    – Digital air-conditioning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • Calvin on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:31 pm

It is like comparing which variant is more overpriced than the other.

• John Geli on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:58 pm

Still the best bang for bucks SUV of the year !!

That’s why we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Biar Stupid on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:15 am

Sorry, is 72k

• Curious on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:08 am

Can i get silver color for AV model?

• Mr. Produa on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:55 am

72k. 60k doesn’t get you all that, please.

• X50

• with that much of tech also no use when the driver is driving like an idiot.

• Are you sure? But with many tech including ADAS will make to attract for drivers and passengers.

• Jaskin on Mar 06, 2021 at 9:20 am

No, idiot driver is always an idiot. Especially those with bigger cars. Their cars are the same price as a semi-d but they don’t even know how to use their blinkers. I also found multiple times cars with blind spot monitoring but the driver doesn’t even use it!

• RM60k
      – AEB
      – VSC
      – LED Headlights
      – Lane Departure Warning
      – Keyless Entry
      – Digital Air Cond
      – 16 inch alloy wheels

RM71k
      – 17 inch alloy wheels (H and AV)
      – LKAS

• Ahmad on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:27 pm

For those who seen Ativa in showroom today. Really Amazing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Dong gor on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:00 pm

Seriously…
    We’ve talking about ativa from dawn till dusk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Dogbert on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:03 pm

Owning this JDM SUV… a dream come true for many Msian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Hasan on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:55 am

It’s because this happens once in a blue moon, the national car makers rarely comes out with a new car so when it does – of course Malaysian automotive scene will be in awe of it.

The government made it so that not only are their citizens still so poor, they also hit the people with insane taxes – so that these are the only cars they can afford. That 30 year hold white collar kid in the U.S. driving a Mercedes E-Class meanwhile the old 50 year old professional in Malaysia is stuck between X50 or Activa lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Nice

• I just love how despite all the high tech stuff they stayed with the old style mechanical handbrake lever. You just can’t get the convincing feeling from the good old handbrake lever rather than pushing a dinky little button. Kkkrreeekkkkkk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • YB Albert on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Let the sales figure of Ativa speak for itself.
    When we say lots of positive things about P2,some P1 fanboys will say we are like ‘pengkhianat politicians”,bashers etc.
    No point arguing till the cow comes home.
    By Raya..lets see whether this is the blockbuster suv launching of the year,or just plain rhetoric.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Calvin on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:37 pm

Ditto when you P2 fanboys say lots of negative things and P1, saying like ‘jual to China’, and whatnot.

In business it is not the sales numbers that count, but the profits. You can sell far much more, but if the profits are bad, you’re not doing it right.

• Melania Rosmah on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:50 pm

Why u so damn naive? You still perodua will sell at a loss? Development cost is rm 1.2 B ,they need volume sales,if not it is game over.
        They will get the volume numbers..but it takes months,not days.
        They are selling bread and butter mass volume suvs,not Phantom Rolls Royce,dude.

• trevor on Mar 05, 2021 at 4:14 pm

Calvin said “if the profits are bad”. Doesn’t mean “loss”. I guess what you mean by “loss” is selling the car below it’s cost, right? Yeah, no one in their right mind would open a business and sell below cost. But what I can interpret from Calvin’s comment is something like this; if a margin of profit for each car is 20%, each 70K will earn 14K profits. Naturally, bigger selling price means bigger profits, so based on that 20% margin 100K get 20K profits. If a 70K car sold 1000 units, it would get 14M profit. For a 100K to reach that much profit, they only need to sell 700 units. If you multiply that numbers by a thousand, it means if 70K car sold 10,000 units, a 100K car only need to sell 7,000 units to get the same profits. So 100K cars sells 3000 less but it still gain the same profits. If sales ratio is 10:8? Ok bye

• Kim Jong Din on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Please tell Paultan readers,the last 10 years in a row,which year did Perodua record losses ?
        P2 is averaging 200,000 units yearly in sales.They have the volume sales with a good mixture of products.
        It is only last year DRB,with Geely’s help,Proton showed profits,but remember Honda also brought in profits for DRB.
        Eat your own words,dude.

• Apples and oranges. Whatever profits Proton made from sales point goes into development cost for new cars. Perodua has lesser encumbrance since they do direct rebadge so the cost per model is far far lower. It is like creating your own cake recipe from scratch vs using premix ingredients. Cannot compare.

In terms of profits you can compare and in that something interesting pops out, DRBH revenue for automotive is Rm8Bil on the total Rm13Bil (or 61%), extrapolate that segmentation to declared profits and that sum becomes Rm340mil (or 61% of Rm540mil). From DRBH financial statement, we know the main automotive revenue comes from Proton so assuming AT LEAST 51% of profits are due to Proton that meant Proton brought in AT LEAST Rm 173mil. That in comparison with Perodua’s own financial statement declaration of RM 100mil profits, this clearly indicates Proton clean profits has surpassed Perodua.

Time for your humble pie dinner dude.

• Senate Minority Leader on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:21 am

It’s basically common sense to know that this car will be a success, low income + high vehicle taxation basically gives Malaysians a handful of choice in buying a new car. This is one of them – they will sell like hot cakes.

• question for a balik kampung car …

how many ppl can you fit in this car for showoff?

• azrai on Mar 04, 2021 at 8:35 pm

Do you know why Ativa come with all sort of fancy things including digital AC and LED lamps? P2 have economies of scale. The engine use mass made at Sendayan which also use by Bezza and Axia. The cost to custom each variant of Ativa if using halogen, LED, 4 airbags, 6 airbags doesn’t make sense at all in term of time and complexity of the production line.
    Furthermore, the RM10k gap between the base and top model translated into less than RM100 more monthly installment. Potential buyer will go for the highest spec then.
    They are streamlining their shared parts as much as possible. Remember when Ford model T came in all colours you want as long it is black?
    Last but not least, it is a matter of time before we can see Ativa based Myvi replacement. Maybe Theopilus can came out with 2024 Myvi rendering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Calvin on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:39 pm

They had to do that because Japan did not get the chance to dumb down and cheapen the car before handing it to Perodua for rebadging. Why? Bcos they were desperate to stop the onslaught of X50 so they went into panic mode and quickly shoved this car into Perodua’s hands.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 05, 2021 at 10:09 am

Myvi replacement could be the current Yaris. since Ativa = Raize, Aruz = Rush… economies of scale after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Ex-Proton Fan on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:41 pm

Ativa. Cantik molek, mampu-milik, good spec, good safety features. Easy maintenance.

Barang confirm baek.

• Amran on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:09 pm

No android auto, no buy!

• Wont buy car warriors on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:57 am

Got, you also won’t buy

X50 don’t have, also you won’t buy

Vios got, you also won’t buy

BMW got, you also won’t buy

• Excuse me, may I know where is Android Auto and Apple CarPlay?

• Senate Minority Leader on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:19 am

Currently, Malaysian median income RM5873 (household).

Here in the U.S. – median income is $5275 or RM21,400 (household)

It is a shame that income is still horrendously low in Malaysia, one of the most peaceful/friendly nations in the world with a an abundance of natural resources and tons of potential. Fun fact, in 1960 – South Korea’s economy was double the size of Malaysia (~4 USD billion for SK to ~2 USD billion for MY). Now? South Korea’s GDP is 1.67 TRILLION whole Malaysia is still around $364 billion. That’s a massive gap.

To tie that into the automotive market, it is a disheartening to see cars like these, which are released once in a blue moon, be fawned over and be called “game-changer” and such. At the end of the day, it’s just another subcompact value orientated car that is rebadged and slightly modified by Perodua. Don’t get me wrong, it is definitely a fantastic car and definitely not tin kosong as it is feature packed.

Nevertheless, the automotive market is very restricted for Malaysians as they don’t have much choice – they either get a Perodua or Proton. Even those who do have slightly higher salaries can’t afford slightly better cars like Toyota Camry and VW Passat (which are economy mid sized cars in other countries) due to the insane taxes put into place by the government. If they really want to, they have to squeeze their budget and go for a 9 year loan.

The government is basically giving Proton and Perodua market share on a silver platter, the only reason why non-national car markers aren’t basically non-existent is due to 9 year loans. Yes you can CKD but really how much do you save? Having your car CKD doesn’t mean it’s as cheap as if there weren’t these taxes in the first place.

We need a new NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Dear sifu out there, does anyone knows the exact specification of the “Llumar security window tint” for this car? Can some of the Paultan editor helps on this question? Many thanks in advance.

• Idiot At Work on Mar 05, 2021 at 11:41 pm

You’re going to base a car purchase decision on the specs of window tint?

• Inspiron 13 on Mar 05, 2021 at 9:21 am

Wonderful specs

• komarad on Mar 05, 2021 at 9:31 am

this the vehicle to be driven from dusk to dawn!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Drinker on Mar 05, 2021 at 9:31 am

Handsome looker

• M & B on Mar 05, 2021 at 10:32 am

Nice

• msia driver big talk on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:14 pm
    perodua target it will get 70-80k booking for the fist day of launch…

So, how many units booking?

• @SnakeBabu on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:16 pm

Great! more value for money options for Msians. X50 or D55, pick ur fav cup of tea; no wrongs here.

• King of GTi on Mar 05, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Still using rear drum brake from the 80s era….masuk corner brake, sure spin out.

• amboi on Mar 05, 2021 at 2:04 pm

under power. with turbo charged only140Nm.

• Not good enough on Mar 05, 2021 at 2:23 pm

so called p2 engineers involved from beginning, 1st – rear aircond? Super Hot weather in msia, not in japan. 2nd – The tilt telescopic, front to back steering adjustment? Are you sure abt local input?
    Stay there only for site visit or training?

• Jaskin on Mar 06, 2021 at 9:26 am

Only go to Maid Cafes or Hentai shops.. Oppss! I’ve said it! I didn’t mean to but I’ve said it!

• Lolwhut? on Mar 06, 2021 at 9:53 am

Bayaq rege daging kotak rm5.. nak merasa juicy daging Wagyu A5. Hahahahah pii laa

• Teh tarik hook and antivsnatch hook also missing.

• Hydrangea on Mar 05, 2021 at 3:58 pm

Yesterday, I did go to a Perodua showroom near my office and get a closer look on this Ativa. I can see that it does look bigger. I wasn’t parked side by side with Aruz or any of its siblings though so its hard to measure bye eye on how big it is. I’m actually impressed by it and I have bring 1 pamphlet to show around my colleagues. It’s funny that I’m actually like promoting the Ativa to them but the general reply I got is “just 1.0 only?”.. I tried to bring out “turbo” but to no avail. I even mentioned “RM20” road tax but they don’t seem to think it’s a huge benefit.

There are two, well-known, almost-vertical road here in Sabah; which is Kimanis and Kundasang (inc. Mesilou) and these two roads is always being associated with their reply like “1.0 only? how to go up Kimanis like that?”. I guess I can understand that because I had a 2014 Alza and one of the first question I’ve been asked was “is it powerful enough to drive up to Kundasang?”. So even with a 1.5 engine, they already doubt it. Truthfully, my hometown requires me to go through the Kundasang road and although I can say Alza has no big issue going up there, it’s not entirely smooth sailing either. The same can’t be said about Kimanis road though; I found the Alza have struggles in some areas of the road.

The car is undoubtedly attractive to city folks but clearly it’s not in the minds of most locals here in Sabah (who prefers 4WD pickup trucks or at least bigger engine). Me, on the other hand would hold my verdict until I got a first hand experience from my side and from others. I’m willing to give the 1.0 turbo a chance even if most here wouldn’t consider it.

• Wonder woman on Apr 05, 2021 at 1:35 pm

Everyone is an automotive expert a.k.a arguing the best talker ,, yet industrial corporate making tons of profit