Perodua hints at electrification plans for future models

So here we are, right after the launch of the Perodua Ativa. The SUV is the automaker’s first ever car with a turbocharged engine, and it’s also the first car to be based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA).

We know what you’re thinking. Does this mean more Perodua models in the future will be turbocharged? It’s likely, but Perodua also admitted to conducting feasibility studies on electrification, or hybrid technology.

In terms of future technology, company president and CEO, Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said: “I do not deny that we are in discussion with our partner Daihatsu regarding electrification.” There are various concerns and ideas with regards to electrifying Perodua cars.

“This is because you have to look at the real objective and intention with electrification, whether it is for the benefit of the environment or for technology. If we want to pursue full electrification for the betterment of the environment, then the entire chain of energy – including the car – should be green,” Zainal explained.

In order to do that, we have to reduce our dependency on the burning of coal as the primary source of electricity and look at alternatives such as hydroelectricity, he added. Conversely, if the intent is to increase the level of technology in the auto industry as a whole, then the supporting infrastructure (i.e. charging network) must be developed as well. “It must go together,” Zainal said.

Once again, the P2 chief said these discussions do exist and they are real, but Perodua cannot reveal when or what type of electrification technology it plans to adopt in the near future. One thing is for sure, full electric Perodua cars are still far away into the distant future, so perhaps some form of simple hybrid solution could be the key.

“However, we’ve done our research and found that based on the current planning, infrastructure and energy resources we have in the country, the best option for us is hybrid. This is where we can balance between environmental impact and fuel savings. We are studying this option, and when the time comes, we will make the official announcement,” he noted.

Remember, the modularity of the DNGA platform allows for the accommodation of a hybrid powertrain. Currently, Daihatsu and Toyota are co-developing a hybrid version of the Rocky for the Japanese Domestic Market, but it is unclear at this moment if Perodua intends to introduce a hybrid version of the Ativa.

P2’s mantra has always been about maximisation. For example, it prides itself with very fuel efficient cars that can can travel up to 22.5 kilometres on a single litre of fuel. With hybrid technology, they can push the envelope further. “Whichever technology that will help us achieve that level of maximisation, we will consider it,” said Zainal.

Our full coverage of the launch of the Perodua Ativa

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• hazri on Mar 04, 2021 at 12:39 am

Tahniah Datuk Zainal… keep up the good work! Maybe Ativa Turbo hybrid is next, based on the gamechanging Daihatsu Rocky hybrid SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Copy Paste on Mar 04, 2021 at 10:06 am

Copy paste: “Good luck selling this in developing nations. Even Australia isn’t on the EV bandwagon yet”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Mel Ayu Tanah Serendah Sekebun Bunga on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:15 am

Tak payah fikir2, taknak pening. Beli aje Perodua Ativa Turbo petrol dulu. Sabar kejap, 2025 nanti… boleh la ambik Perodua Ativa EV yek. Ahaksss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Amran on Mar 04, 2021 at 2:12 pm

Maakkk Oiii!! Lu ingt kitorang kaya ke bleh tukak keta setiap 4 taun. Mau beli belilah yg elok dan cukup bsar utk kegunaan masa depan, ativa ni terllu kecik klau dibanding dgn x50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Celup King on Mar 04, 2021 at 1:38 am

Same story that they told us in 2003. Dei! This is getting old ady! My son born then is now sitting for SPM and still no Perodua electricwhatsoeverfication. Cakap kosong as usual, just like your fanboys. All talk no substance. Come out with an electified Perodua car first then come back and talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 72
    • Copy Paste on Mar 04, 2021 at 10:08 am

Copy paste: “Wiser to buy petrol car now and change to Volvo EV in 2030..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
    • Dude where is your proton electric car on Mar 05, 2021 at 12:51 am

Even Proton couldn’t put it’s EVE hybrid into production and its agreement with Detroit Electric to make electric cars had not turned into reality…

• M & B on Mar 04, 2021 at 7:57 am

Nice

• Green Dog on Mar 04, 2021 at 9:06 am

Make go greener

• This is basically for future perodua cars. While proton (proton-geely) are also doing for future proton cars but manufacturing hybrid category cars

• Silthice on Mar 04, 2021 at 10:17 am

. “Whichever technology that will help us achieve that level of maximisation, we will consider it,” said Zainal… Sounds like the auto on-off engine just to achieve EEV certification so that can receive tax incentives but barely usable in Malaysia hot climate.

• Jeremy on Mar 04, 2021 at 12:40 pm

Sounds like another scam job from P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • He is not. He just making good points

• Jon Bon Jovee on Mar 04, 2021 at 3:41 pm

yeahh. Most P2 car driver will turn this function off. Imagine in a regular hot day traffic jam, your engine stopped along with the air cond. Sweat like a fish…

• Amran on Mar 04, 2021 at 6:00 pm

That and the battery change every yearly. Car is cheap but the maintenance is not.

• Beruang Panda on Mar 04, 2021 at 11:20 am

How much CO2 do PHEVs emit?
    Laboratory tests for PHEVs found that they emit, on average, around 44g of CO2 per kilometre. However, T&E analysed fuel efficiency data from 20,000 PHEV vehicles around the world and found that the ‘real world’ value is 117g of CO2 per kilometre.

For comparison, a conventional hybrid – or ‘self-charging’ hybrid, which draws electric power from the brakes – emits only slightly more, at 135g of CO2 per kilometre. A new ICE car emits between 164 and 167g of CO2 per kilometre.

• It is too late already
    All Jepunis brands will become like Sony.
    Used to be No 1 in CRT tv. But now lower quality brand than Chineses Smart TV becos couldn’t follow the world trend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Not all Japan quality are low. But at least Toyota/Dahaitsu have better quality brand too. Anyway, but at least some Japanese car had started to produce hybrid/ev cars earlier

• Haidi on Mar 04, 2021 at 12:03 pm

Glad to hear that. Hybrid sounds a lot better than full EV.

• the driver on Mar 04, 2021 at 12:18 pm

Read, ‘when Toyota has the EV kits to sell to Perodua, then we will start building EV Perodua’. No road map to get there on their own but hanging on to other company’s coat tails, dream on (yawn)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Venza on Mar 04, 2021 at 3:03 pm

Impressive

• panjang on Mar 04, 2021 at 4:12 pm

P2 is not much different with P1.
    They are building whatever they are allow to build or should i say rebadged?

• Celup King on Mar 04, 2021 at 10:11 pm

Quite a world of difference if you consider the former is a direct rebadge and the latter having to do some massive engineering effort to covert from LHD to RHD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Green Malaysia on Mar 05, 2021 at 2:31 pm

Have a definite plan to go for electrication first eg in 5-10 years.. Thailand Indonesia etc already have plan for their electrification. It involve the policy maker as well. As a national car company must look for opportunity to go with the trend which is EV car. Currently so boring with ice engine. EV is far cheaper to maintain and current battery tech already can go further than But the price is more because of battery. In long run, EV is cheaper in term of cost. Already have journals proven. EV of course more greener than ice cars la datuk.