Perodua Q1 2021 sales increase 29% to almost 58k – 4,345 units of the Ativa delivered in less than a month

Today is the first day of the second quarter of the year, and Perodua has wasted no time in announcing its Q1 2021 sales results. The market leader sold 57,911 vehicles in the Q1, 29% more than the first quarter of last year (44,977). Of course, this includes contribution from the new Ativa SUV, which was officially launched on March 3.

With the Ativa onboard, Perodua’s month-on-month registrations jumped by 47.3% to 24,433 units in March compared to February’s 16,583 units.

“March saw a jump in our sales numbers to an estimated 24,433 units, underpinned by strong demand, particularly for the Ativa, which has collected 14,574 bookings since we began order-taking on February 19,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad, who added that 4,345 units of the SUV were delivered in less than 30 days.

For context, the Proton X50 was launched in late October 2020, and by end March 2021 (five months), the company has delivered 11,654 units of the SUV. Of that total, 3,513 units were delivered in March.

“This makes the Ativa the best-selling compact SUV in the country in the month of March. We are glad that the Ativa has gotten off to such a strong start, and that we well surpassed our 3,000-unit monthly delivery target in the first month,” he added. The P2 chief said that at present, Ativa demand is skewed 67% towards the range-topping AV, which is within Perodua’s projections.

As for production, the Rawang carmaker rolled out 60,383 vehicles in Q1 2021, a 23% year-on-year increase. “For now, our biggest challenge is the semiconductor chip shortage, which is having varying impacts on carmakers on a global scale. We are working with our partners to find alternative supply while at the same time monitoring the situation on a daily basis to ensure continued operation of our production lines,” Zainal Abidin said.

Despite the global chip shortage issue, Perodua will still be able to meet its initial 2021 sales target of 240,000 units, the company said. Announced earlier this year, that sales target is a 9% increase from the 220,163 units P2 sold in 2020.

Perodua is also anticipating a record purchase of RM6.5 billion worth of locally-sourced components this year, as it targets production of 272,000 units (+23%) and 2.4 million service intakes (+20%) this year.

GALLERY: Perodua Ativa AV

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Golfer on Apr 01, 2021 at 4:12 pm

Well done P2. Great product planning with superb value proposition is their recipe of success. As for P1, despite some improvements still has a long way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 62
    • But if great product, why isnt here?
      paultan.org/2021/03/16/toyota-corolla-cross-compared-to-other-b-c-segment-suvs/

• GenY AEB on Apr 01, 2021 at 4:19 pm

Last year MCO started in Mid of March..
    Nothing special. But as long as Good, Fuel Economy cars, continue to be sustainable.

• jusknittin on Apr 01, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Are we going to get any new MPV this year?

• Lolwhut? on Apr 02, 2021 at 8:35 am

Proton MPV (Exora replacement?) is slated for this year but it could be end of the year with their backlog of orders to fulfill.
      https://paultan.org/2020/12/28/proton-in-2021-new-s50-sedan-v70-mpv-or-x90-suv/

• IKBAL on Apr 02, 2021 at 8:52 am

Nah. next year I reckoned.

• 4K delivered in less than a month. This is how people work. Not by blaming the virus for own failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • PlainBS on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:41 pm

Firstly, tell me what’s the ratio of sales vs delivery.

Then, we’ll see how efficient is Perodua.

• Women likes Ativa, hooray

• Francis Lim on Apr 01, 2021 at 5:11 pm

Why no news on your Raya special offers?

• M & B on Apr 01, 2021 at 5:32 pm

Tahniah P2

• Neymar on Apr 02, 2021 at 12:01 am

Wow become best selling now in 30 days?

Meanwhile X50 sold 8141 since launched late October 2020, took 4 months to sell 8141 X50 LOL! Ativa only 30 days sold 4345, then 60 days can sell 8k already. Wouldnt take long for Ativa to overtake X50 bad sales, just like lousy Aruz easily overtake X70. LOL!

Inb4: Butthurt P1 fans will say X50 and Ativa not same segment so cant compare bla bla bla. But nextime will pusing again say X50 beat Ativa and start to compare again. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • Lolwhut? on Apr 02, 2021 at 8:30 am

Lol. Why so butthurt fanboy?
        https://paultan.org/2021/03/25/malaysian-vehicle-sales-data-for-feb-2021-by-brand-proton-up-by-96-honda-rebounds-with-a-201-jump/

• LoLoLoL on Apr 02, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Kek. 1st quater of year p1 32k vs p2 58k. 2nd quater p2 reach 100k. While p1 need whole year to reach 100k(+exported unit oppsss)

• Lets See on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:31 pm

P1 is only 5k behind now. What happen to your 4X sales? P1 is catching up FAST!

• Copy Paste on Apr 02, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Copy paste: “Proton sells quality not quantity. A durian seller won’t compare him superior products with cheapo rambutans sales numbers.”

• haj.al.burj on Apr 02, 2021 at 12:32 pm

Both of which are not comparable. Aruz is more to MPV class while X70 is a proper SUV. Miles differences in features offering as well. Same goes to Ativa vs X50.. Furthermore, there were no indication of which variant got sold the most. For Aruz and Ativa though, their pricing average is 70k. While X70 and X50, the pricing average is 100k.. 30k more than P2. Judging from that, of course P2 can sell more volume.

• https://paultan.org/2021/04/02/proton-sold-14989-cars-in-march-2021/
        I don’t see P2 selling 14,989 x 4 = 59,956 in this quarter much less in March. Does it tell us people are abandoning P2?

• Celup King on Apr 02, 2021 at 2:33 pm

P2 fanboys will need lotsa vaseline. A LOT.
        https://paultan.org/2021/04/02/proton-sold-14989-cars-in-march-2021

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Why butthurt? Did P2 sold less than 14989 units in March?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
          • Lets See on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:36 pm

According to u gaiz, P2 always sell 4X more than P1. So anything less than 59,000 in March alone is a failure from P2. Geddit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • george on Apr 01, 2021 at 5:36 pm

So how many booking numbers for Ativa till today then?

• Perodua fanboys big talk 80k bookings in 1st day launch, in fact only 6k bookings in 1st day launch. Now accumulated 14k bookings, much less than they expected.

• Axxx Kataxxx on Apr 02, 2021 at 2:05 pm

Sound like p1 fanboi toking that 80k X50 booking number on 1st day launching. 80k booking X50 but only 11k delivered? pity p1 fanboi always kena tipu by booking number. While ariva 4345 delivered on 1st month, in less than 5 month will easily overtake X50 sales, mark my words haha!
        So u katAxxx dont just talk shit like kataxxx bawah tempurung. U makan ur musang king durian inside longkang only kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • jusknittin on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:25 pm

Funny, I don’t recall any car called Ariva.. new ah? But in all seriousness, why does your comment sounds desperate?

Wait!! .. is Ariva = Ativa?? oooohhhhh gituuu

• msia driver on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:14 pm
          perodua target it will get 70-80k booking for the fist day of launch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 2

Ya, I always monitor what you say.

• By the end of 2020, there are 30k bookings for X50. So 3 months have gone since then.

• YB Albert on Apr 01, 2021 at 5:40 pm

Ativa…the brutal blockbuster compact SUV…kipidap P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • find other context on Apr 01, 2021 at 5:53 pm

Danny : “For context, the Proton X50 was launched in late October 2020, and by end February 2021 (four months), the company had delivered 8,141 units of the SUV. Of that total, 3,345 units were delivered in February”
    Why the urges to keep the comparison with x50?
    Crisscrossing category. Could you stick to the black or white not grey.
    so now trolling become official as it’s now coming from you,the author journalist.
    Kinda embarrassing for x50 to have anything to do with an under Industry standard & rushing product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Casual reader on Apr 02, 2021 at 12:45 pm

They are consistent at being inconsistent. When anything that makes ativa looks good, they roll out that apples to oranges comparison. When time to compare amongst B & C segment suvs, ativa is well hidden from poor results. Like a spoiled child it and the brand gets preferential treatment for some reasons.

• P2 ativa nvr did not intend to be compare with x50 in the first place, but still p1 fanboys r picking a fight at p2, when results came in, they acted like sore loser, very communist indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Lets See on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:33 pm

Look at who the sore losers communist around here comparing ativa to superior X50. Such sore losers.

Neymar on Apr 02, 2021 at 12:01 am
        Wow become best selling now in 30 days? Meanwhile X50 sold 8141 since launched late October 2020

Axxx Kataxxx on Apr 02, 2021 at 2:05 pm
        Sound like p1 fanboi toking that 80k X50 booking number on 1st day launching.

• jusknittin on Apr 02, 2021 at 4:43 pm

Huh? Where’s your proof that any fanboys started the whole Ativa vs X50 comparison? I always thought myself as on the fence and whenever I read comments, I found most of them are hostile towards P1. Don’t know why is that.. and I’m not surprise if I’m being labelled as P1 fanboy after this despite never bought any P1; and instead having two P2 cars in real life.

• Best P2 > P1 on Apr 01, 2021 at 6:00 pm

This is what we call Malaysia Japan standard.

• Celup King on Apr 01, 2021 at 6:22 pm

Best selling A segment suv only. X50 still rules the B segment.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2021 at 6:33 pm

meanwhile at proton….

• Zhafri on Apr 02, 2021 at 2:28 am

Good job P2…not like P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Lolwhut? on Apr 02, 2021 at 8:31 am

Lol!
      https://paultan.org/2021/03/25/malaysian-vehicle-sales-data-for-feb-2021-by-brand-proton-up-by-96-honda-rebounds-with-a-201-jump/

• Ya, good job Perodua selling RM72k for 140Nm, not like Proton selling RM42k for 150Nm.

• Copy Paste on Apr 02, 2021 at 8:03 am

Copy paste: “Just remove the tax and excise duty a civic can be around 60k also…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Hahaha.its funny because in Japan (its domestic market) Honda civic cost around 2,948,000 yen = RM110k. good luck with that copy paste things.

• Copy Paste on Apr 02, 2021 at 10:33 am

Copy paste: “Someone once claimed Mesia had the most expensive car prices in the world. I wonder where that troll is now?”

• For 14,754 bookings number, at 4,345 deliveries rate at half month it lokks like P2 plant have to stop production after one and half month since all Ativas have been delivered!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Paultan, do you have the accurate number of how many bookings does the Perodua Ativa have received?
    If you know, please email me.
    Thank you