Tun Mahathir takes delivery of his new Perodua Ativa

The Perodua Ativa is certainly one of the most talked about cars of 2021, and since its launch in March this year, the compact SUV has been delivered to over 4,345 customers. Joining the many Malaysians that have welcomed an Ativa is none other than Tun Dr Mahathir, who recently posted a video of him taking delivery of Perodua’s latest model.

On hand to pass the former prime minister the keys to “VBX 2020” (quite a special number plate, no?) were Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad and Perodua chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, who also walked Mahathir through the many features of the Ativa, of which there are plenty as this is the range-topping AV variant. Aside from a distinctive black roof, the AV also boasts a suite of active safety systems like adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, blind spot monitoring and rear cross traffic alert.

So, what does Mahathir think of the new Ativa? “I am glad that Perodua is now producing cars using Malaysian engineers more and more, both in the production of the car as well as the engine. This is progress. Now Malaysians are involved in the design and engineering of the car,” said Mahathir.

Zainal Abidin previously said that over 50 Perodua staff are currently living and working at Daihatsu in Japan, and they’re in the design and engineering divisions. So, even through the Ativa shares its DNGA platform with the Daihatsu Rocky, Perodua has had a hand in the development of this shared model.

“The car that they have produced is of very good quality and the price is quite good, quite low. I think it will find a ready market in Malaysia. That is what we are aiming for. Of course, eventually we would like to see a totally Malaysian car that is produced by Perodua. They are making progress. I am glad to see. But of course, much more needs to be done so that the car becomes totally Malaysian,” added Mahathir.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• drMpower on Apr 15, 2021 at 10:46 am

this is the reason i like this man as the one to run the government. because u listen to him, u can tell that he knows what he wants and he know what he wants is what we need as a country.

old people know which comes first, well most of them. listening to the clip, he clearly said about what malaysians need to do. not this race that race this party not that party. too many bad tastes nowadays sorry

i longed for him to turn younger and lead malaysia again. and turned us back into the good old days again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 261 Thumb down 161
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 15, 2021 at 2:09 pm

Before him, our country was on par with SG.
      After him, our country is behind Thai & Indo.
      Because of Him we lost decades of development as we only can play catch up.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 183 Thumb down 282
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 15, 2021 at 2:38 pm

Proton dream broken…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Sick & Tired on Apr 15, 2021 at 2:51 pm

Wake me up when something really interesting to read about.
      Yawn, don’t hold your breath until then.

• Turn M on Apr 16, 2021 at 11:34 am

First question he would ask: “Have they replace the fuel pump yet, or do I have to do it myself?”

• R J Loo on Apr 18, 2021 at 7:33 pm

Another question he would ask is: “Where’s the engine temperature gauge in my Ativa?, all Proton have it, but why my Ativa doesn’t have”

• YB Albert on Apr 15, 2021 at 10:56 am

Blockbuster SUV with blockbuster vvip purchase.Kipidap Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • John Geli on Apr 15, 2021 at 4:36 pm

A vote of confidence by the No.1 salesman Tun Dr.M himself will surely spur Ativa sales to the roof !

Once again we reminded that we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
      • Troll Hunter on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:12 pm

With fuel pump failure on the get go it certainly Does Not Go Anymore (DNGA) !!!

• Copy Paste on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:01 am

Copy paste: “So, even through the Ativa shares its DNGA platform with the Daihatsu Rocky, Perodua has had a hand in the development of this shared model.”

Copy paste: ““If you’re talking about the model(Rocky) we saw just now, we didn’t have a lot of input in terms of spec or architecture. Because the platform is actually the new DNGA. I don’t know if you can see it tomorrow (we’re paying a visit to Daihatsu’s Kyushu plant), but this car will be produced at Kyushu if I’m not mistaken,” Zainal(Perodua CEO) revealed.”

Copy paste: “it is solely advertisement only, only idiot will believe.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
  • personian on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:14 am

My next car. Initial wait to buy a x50 but timing belt engine has minus out my 70% interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
  • Congratulations Tun M for a New Cheap but Outstanding Ride

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Why put 2020 on his plate to remind him of the pain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Jom Global on Apr 15, 2021 at 4:25 pm

We are successful now

We have KL tower, KLCC, TRX, 118.
      Alot LRT 1,2,3,
      MRT 1,2,3
      Rakyat Harmoni

Yes, we always want better, but I don’t see any failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 93
      • 2020cancer on Apr 16, 2021 at 2:01 am

really? 2020? wheres our flying car lol

• jusknittin on Apr 16, 2021 at 12:00 pm

You seriously want a flying car? Are you even Malaysian? Flying cars will not be cheap.. Malaysian wants cheap

• How is it successful? All that u mentioned are in KL only.. how about other states? What they have? Its more like KL 2020

• oohh cancel my order…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
  • Redzuan Yusof lol on Apr 15, 2021 at 1:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 200
  • Raja Kamarul on Apr 15, 2021 at 2:06 pm

Perodua becoming “totally Malaysian” is a pipe dream. It will always be a clone of Toyota Corp’s budget brand, Daihatsu. It will never develop its own chassis, platform, engine and full design. It will never spend anything north of RM500m for a true-blue P2. Perodua will also never be a mass exporter of its products.

Yes, you can place Malaysian engineers in Japan but to claim they designed the car is a bit rich la.

Is Proton any better? Well, it is a true-blue manufacturer. It has its own chasis and platform, engines and 4 out of its 6 current models are proof of that. So it is the more Malaysian car if you want to be pedantic about it.

Sure they are not as profitable as Perodua, but if the argument is a Malaysian carmaker, then Proton wins that hands down; P2 is a DNQ for that category.

Once again, you will NEVER see a true-blue MALAYSIAN Perodua because it is Japanese to its core. But fairly it makes fairly good cars, priced well. It is a budget brand after all, as is the Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • Ertiga Celup on Apr 15, 2021 at 4:40 pm

I hope Berjaya Suzuki will allow existing Ertiga by Proton to be serviced by them (exclude the warranty) and also sourced the spare parts too.

• Car making also needs to make profit on Apr 16, 2021 at 10:48 am

In the history of the automotive, it has been proven again & again that being a true-blue manufacturer who has its own engines, chassis and platform, does not guarantee sustainability & survival because the business has to be profitable first i.e. higher sales, or else, get taken over, merged, absorbed or simply bankrupt & closed down. Even in recent events, true blue manufacturers Chrysler, Fiat & Peugeot had to merge into a larger group for survival, knowing that remaining purely as American, Italian or French will not save either one of them in the long run.

• ujintan on Apr 15, 2021 at 2:57 pm

Latest P2 Myvi is TOTALLY MALAYSIAN I think, Tun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Celup King on Apr 15, 2021 at 5:11 pm

You think means it is no certainty laa

• Ruslan Bahari on Apr 15, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Really? Engine is Malaysian? Chassis? Apart from being made in Malaysia, the rest is all Japan, bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Do ur research la bro…design is fully by malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Ruslan Bahari on Apr 16, 2021 at 3:59 pm

Don’t kid yourself la. Even if it is, it is at heart a Japanese car. Engine, everything is Japanese. Which isn’t a bad thing. The argument here is about a Malaysian car. As Raja Kamarul said, 4/6 of P1 cars are fully Malaysian. P2 can’t claim that.

P2 are good cars for sure, but the car is no way Malaysian.

• Sick & Tired on Apr 16, 2021 at 4:58 pm

Only bumpers & badges are fully by Malaysian and you are so proud of that???

• Still living in his vision 2020 dream.. Its gone dreadfully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • stick on Apr 15, 2021 at 3:48 pm

why no mask? oii pdrm

• Alive and kicking on Apr 15, 2021 at 4:09 pm

He allowed the setting up of Perodua when Proton could not keep their new car prices down, back in the early 1990s.

• Calvin on Apr 15, 2021 at 7:05 pm

He allowed setting up Pelodua cuz they were only about small cars and other niches, during his rule they never dare ventured further than that. After he step down the first time, Pelodua were given the chance to spread out into Bsegment where Saga resides. If he hadn’t step down, Pelodua won’t be this successful today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • if the price is right on Apr 16, 2021 at 2:07 pm

To date (April 2021), new Axia OTR w/o insurance price starts at RM 23,367, where as new Saga OTR w/o insurance price starts at RM 32,800. Of course, Saga & Axia are not in the same segment, but surely true blue manufacturer Proton should be able to come out with a model that is in the same segment as Axia & offer it at possibly lower price. Come on, Proton, try to reclaim status as the people’s car…

• Calvin on Apr 16, 2021 at 4:55 pm

Both are Asegment lah. Picanto @50k is also Asegment dispite the Myvi price lah.

• if the price is right on Apr 17, 2021 at 12:44 am

Both Axia & Saga are in same A segment? But you earlier mentioned that B segment is where Saga resides.

• Calvin on Apr 17, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Cars increase in size over time bro. What is City size today was Civic 10 years ago. Saga was Bsegment but over the years became Asegment. Understand?

• He’s saying the price is “quite low”, but let’s not forget he’s the reason Malaysian car prices are out of control!

• Car can fly on Apr 16, 2021 at 9:14 am

Where are the flying cars and his P3???
    Sorry, but we had enough of him.

• Meanwhile his sons owned Bugatti Veyron & Pagani Zonda.

• Lolwhut? on Apr 17, 2021 at 10:47 pm

And he owns… well… you know. Certainly not a national branded one.

• Simon Munang on Apr 20, 2021 at 9:18 am

I love this car the design very nice.

• This car only for shopping cart, design not nice, i won’t go to see that car and ignore always.