SPIED: Geely Haoyue VX11 spotted in Malaysia – 7-seat SUV hints at Proton’s future ‘X90’ flagship model?

What do we have here? According to reader Hazim Qa, who froze the shot above from his dashcam video, it’s the Geely Haoyue. It may not be very obvious, but there are signs that the taped-up SUV captured is the VX11, named the Haoyue in China and Okavango in the Philippines.

Launched in its home market in June 2020, the Geely Haoyue is the brand’s largest SUV. Sitting above the Boyue (Proton X70), it measures 4,835 mm long (316 mm longer than the X70), 1,900 mm wide (+69 mm) and 1,785 mm tall (+91 mm), with a 2,815 mm wheelbase (+145 mm).

Available as a five- or seven-seater, the second and third row seats can be folded flat to offer up to 2,370 litres of space. Geely says the seats can also fold to form a double-bed. All three rows of seats are adjustable, and the last row has eight-way adjustable backrests. Comfort is always a priority in China, and even a seven-seat SUV has expectations to meet.

There, the Haoyue is powered by a 1.8L turbo-four with 181 PS and 300 Nm. A seven-speed dual-clutch transmission sends drive to either the front axle or all four wheels for AWD variants. However the Okavango, launched in the Philippines in November last year, gets a 1.5L turbo-triple with a 48-volt mild hybrid system. The 190 hp/300 Nm engine is mated to a seven-speed DCT, and there’s no AWD option.

As Geely’s flagship SUV, the VX11 comes with the latest Level 2 autonomous driving system, comprising 24 sensors to facilitate up to 17 intelligent drive features. The army of sensors oversee functions such as adaptive cruise control with stop-go function, as well as lane centring function with cornering assist (like Volvo’s Pilot Assist) at up to 150 km/h. Parking assist with 360-degree views should be helpful for a big car.

So, why is the VX11 in Malaysia? Could it be Proton preparing its flagship SUV to sit above the X50 and X70? If so, we could be the first right-hand-drive market for the model, which might be called “Proton X90”, to follow the existing naming convention. Of course, there have been no word or hint from Proton so far regarding a new SUV, and this could well turn out to be “just a test” – we’ll see.

What do you think of the Geely Haoyue?

GALLERY: Geely Haoyue

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Henry on May 07, 2021 at 1:27 pm

I would like to buy one, but it depends on the pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • I’d expect it would have a tidy margin above X70 Premium X so a good price range would be RM 133-149k.

• Jonn Dol on May 07, 2021 at 11:22 pm

Geely better bring in their flagship Xingyue KX11 SUV rm140k instead of this Third world VX11 car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • What did you meant by “Third world VX11 car” which part of this car indicates to you this is 3rd world levels?

• John the Doll on May 09, 2021 at 11:48 pm

More like you want nice stuffs but only willing to pay the third world price. poor guy

• No spare part who wanna buy? LOL!
      Pakai buang can lar.
      Buy, pakai, rosak no spare part, buang n sell to kilang besi buruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
      • Perodua’s katak bawah tempurung jealous Proton sells too well because Proton uses spare parts inventory in production.

• X90 2.0 turbo Suv with 7 seater option sound just wonderful. Make sure price not above CRV. Jika boleh Proton Malaysia Boleh tukar kereta I ni. This launch might just make Proton leader in new SUVs market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Calvin on May 07, 2021 at 4:18 pm

Erm Proton is already the leader in new SUV market. Hard to see Haoyue will change that.

• Launch it pls……… X90 2.0 turbo with 7 seater option. Price not above CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • X50 max 102k 1.5t wait 6 month
      X70 max 122k 1.8t wait 3 month
      X90 max 142k 2.0t? Wait?

• YB Albert on May 07, 2021 at 9:17 pm

CRV is no longer the benchmark.If it is that good,P1 fanboys will buy .Of course,the pricing won’t be above Hyundai SimeDarby.

• business man on May 07, 2021 at 2:29 pm

the price at PHI still below than corolla cross but using 1.5 hybrid. Hopefully we can get 2.0t here

• question of the day:

how long to wait for spareparts ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Calvin on May 07, 2021 at 4:19 pm

As soon as vendors can spare some capacity after prioritising another 30,000 backlog orders i guess.

• U want to buy all the parts n assemble yourself?

• jusknittin on May 10, 2021 at 3:42 pm

Why? You expect the car will be in need of spare part that quickly? Are you anticipating that the car will break down as soon as you bought them? If you have that kind premonition, isn’t it best to stay away from buying this car? Like that, you don’t have to worry about spare parts.

• Hose bocor on May 07, 2021 at 2:49 pm

Bring spare part first woi…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • When sales unit go up, I hope demand for spare part not alot. If alot of spare part demand could be because the quality not so good that why so early already need to change part.
      However dont rob people with spare part expensive. Sell car cheap but service and spare part expensive. Be reasonable and fair

• To resolve waiting list, all the parts used in production.

• Not sure what the pricing different between this Hoeyue compare to Xinyue L. The Xinyue L is definitely looks more premium and better looking.

• X50 1.5t max 102k wait 6 mths
      X70 1.8t max 122k wait 3 mths
      X90 2.0t max 142k? Wait?

• Xingyue L is the premium line for Geely. CMA platform (co-develop by Geely and Volvo, engine from Volvo (T4, T5) transmission from Aisin (high power output version), multi linked rear suspension, Borg Warner 4WD system, 20″ rims, L2.5 ADAS with newest self parking system (still under development). Pricing est. 17w to 22w RMB (107k-139k MYR, don’t forget to jack up the price to 130-160% for CKD to wear Proton badge and licensing)

Haoyue is Bread & Butter (B&B) line for Geely. In PRC high spec Haoyue is using current Proton X70 1.8T engine pair with co-develop Geely & Volvo 7DCT (wet) transmission. Torsion beam rear suspension, 18″ rims L2 ADAS. High spec selling at 13.96w RMB (88022 MYR, the price should be bumped up 130%-160% after CKD and allow to wear Proton badge)

• It could also possibly be their own Geely model for export. Remember that part of the production capacity at Proton City Tanjung Malim, is for their own RHD models for export to Australia and other export markets.

• Hopefully, kiasu government will not force other close competitor to increase the selling price, such as VW Tiguan Allspace. They did before. Honda HRV is forced to mark up RM10k to give way to Proton X70 that time. Just make it to offer us cheaper and better car and NOT forcing us buy same car at higher price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Oh my where the logic went to. Proton had no car competing in the RM160k D-segment and yet Toyota, Honda, & Mazda are pricing their D-segments at RM200k today. You sure this is Proton fault? Wah they so powderful kah?

• DriveNewWays on May 09, 2021 at 6:58 pm

you got proof for that accusation? that Honda was forced to priced HRV 10K higher? lol…

• Call me by your name on May 07, 2021 at 6:44 pm

Woi if cannot deliver even the x50 at reasonable time why bother launching new model ‍♂️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Syaiful Nizam Hassan on May 07, 2021 at 8:56 pm

Geely Xingyue L is far better than Geely Haoyue! Strongly recommended for Proton choose Xingyue L, not Haoyue!!!

• aiyo, even paul tan also make the same rookie mistake? Haoyue is a cheaper car based on a way cheaper platform and all round cheaper with hard plastic. At best its a X75 or X70L. The X90 is reserved for Xingyue L.

• Baharum Mohd Amin on May 08, 2021 at 6:08 am

Proton would be better off if they replace the old Proton EXORA to complete their model range offering.
    As it is , the SUV market is already competitive.

• if price is right on May 10, 2021 at 8:41 am

Exora in competitive SUV market? Isn’t Exora a MPV model?

• jusknittin on May 10, 2021 at 3:50 pm

I think what he meant is that since Proton already have X50 & X70 as their SUV choices; which are already capable to compete in the SUV market, they should focus on replacing the Exora to update their MPV line offering and shake up the MPV market instead.

• Demand&supply. on May 12, 2021 at 4:56 am

Unlikely. MPV sales are dying. Exora currently top sales C-segmen mpv. Monthly sales less than 900 only enough to make it no. 1. Personal opinion, there is already a so-called exora replacement, due to low demand they just delayed it.

• Mervin on May 08, 2021 at 10:12 pm

Dont put high hope,we are not sure whether we will still alive to buy new car,covid is on hunting ground

• Hisham Ariiffin on May 09, 2021 at 7:29 am

If this is to replace the EXORA, it is a bad bad idea…it just a poor choice against Alphard andvequivalents…also wasting all the RnD knowhow on making a MPV

• Hisham on May 09, 2021 at 7:30 am

If this is to replace the EXORA, it is a bad bad idea…it just a poor choice against Alphard andvequivalents…also wasting all the RnD knowhow on making a MPV

• I would say… its time to say good bye to Exora… thank you for your service and journey.

• SYAIFUL NIZAM BIN HASSAN on Sep 15, 2021 at 2:51 pm

If Proton still wants Haoyue as its 3rd SUV model, please change the rear license plate holder from rear bumper to rear tailgate door to differentiate it with original model! Take Proton Satria (1st generation) and Perodua Viva as examples!