VW Arteon R-Line facelift launching in Malaysia soon

It appears that the facelifted Volkswagen Arteon, unveiled back in June 2020, will be making its Malaysian debut soon. This is after a six-second teaser clip was seen uploaded to Facebook, followed by the caption “The new Arteon R-Line 4Motion coming soon.”

The Arteon is still relatively new here in Malaysia. In August last year, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia launched the locally-assembled R-Line with a 2.0 litre TSI turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, offering 190 PS and 320 Nm. The sleek D-segment fastback carries a price tag of RM221k.

The hotter Arteon R-Line 4Motion with 280 PS and 350 Nm of torque appeared shortly after, though that RM270k CBU unit was a one-off by Volkswagen PHS Autohaus.

What’s interesting is that the caption of the teaser clip mentioned 4Motion, indicating that the facelifted Arteon may arrive in a hotter state of tune. There is the full-fat R variant with the blown EA288 2.0 litre four-potter that dishes out 320 PS and 420 Nm, though it’s very likely we won’t be getting that.

Upgrades are fairly significant for a midlife update. The dashboard layout gets heavily revised, featuring redesigned air vents and the deletion of the analogue clock. This is good, for those who want a more distinct separation from the Passat, which it is clearly based on.

There is also a touch-based HVAC controls below the eight-inch infotainment screen (now with the new MIB3 system, with wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto) for a more modern look, while a new steering wheel design (also with touch controls) with a thicker centre boss greets the driver. The fully digital instrument cluster continues to be offered.

Other niceties include a fancier 30-colour ambient lighting system, a wireless smartphone charging tray, and even a 700-watt Harman Kardon premium audio system for range-topping models. Again, the specifications are market dependent, so don’t get your hopes up just yet.

On the outside, the design changes are fairly subtle. The huge front grille remains, but the LED daytime running lights are now connected by additional LED strips. Volkswagen’s IQ.Light matrix LED system is available as well, and the rear end gets a brand new LED tail light design.

The biggest, most obvious change is the addition of the Shooting Brake variant. It is essentially an estate version with a stretched roof, offering 565 litres of cargo capacity (fastback has a pretty cavernous 563-litre space). This expands up to 1,632 litres with the rear seats folded down (1,557 litres for the fastback). In both cases, the load space has a maximum length of 2,090 mm, which is plenty.

2020 Volkswagen Arteon R

2020 Volkswagen Arteon R-Line

2020 Volkswagen Arteon eHybrid Elegance

2020 Volkswagen Arteon Shooting Brake R

2020 Volkswagen Arteon Shooting Brake eHybrid R-Line

2020 Volkswagen Arteon Elegance

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Min Tye on May 07, 2021 at 5:48 pm

Korg tgk la, Lane Departure Alert pun korg jgn harap boleh dpt.

• Bieight on May 07, 2021 at 6:02 pm

Come on launch the 280hp so that can overtake Porsche macan on highway

• English Teacher on May 07, 2021 at 7:40 pm

RM221k is better to buy prereg G20 BMW 320i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Bryan on May 08, 2021 at 12:10 am

Vw, headache from top to toe owned 2 vw cars. Beetle and sharan. Beetle, never ending with the clutch and transmission. 2013 beetle still with delay lagging reverse or first gear although replaced the clutch. Bloody expensive spark plug easily burnt off, bloody pariah driver seat where sponge debris from the seat came off whenever we move the chair to the front to let passenger entering the rear seat. The bloody worenconnefting the brake fluid reservoir to the and always make error indicator even after replacing. This car mileage is only 87k.

Sharan, damn. 2013 car too mileage 180k. Roof lining dropped 2 times, anti roll bar replaced 3 times, front lower support arm replaced, dont know how many times. Intake manifold? Puke, 2 times replaced, maybe the use the plastic from spritzer bottle water to make . High pressure fuel pump and the fuel module , replaced and was told it is a how the pariah vw design this shit to make u spend money to replace at a high price. Pcv valve? Puke, cost me rm 900 to replace and it only happen to vw. My toyota clocked 300k km, I still dont know where they hide the pcv valve. Steering rack? No replace cause it cost me a used old myvi and it make a terrible German songs . Water pump? Niama, is worst then my fish pond pump where I also replaced. Gearbox replaced at the first year of ownership.

Even the etiqa road assistance team know my phone number after calling them moPukmore.i called my wife.

Pukiayam, there is still a long list of repair and replacement where I lazy to write.

U want to buy vw? Come ask me first. You buy you die. Want German car? Save more money to buy a proper human car like bmw or mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • ex VW on May 08, 2021 at 10:33 am

TBH i have alot of issues with my previous old VW but, 2013 is loong time ago ya know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • So scarry yaaa

• JOACHIM on May 08, 2021 at 3:10 pm

Funny that someone said Proton’s biggest regret is not partnering with VW then, but really it is Proton’s biggest relief that they’d NOT partner with VW.

• Ex VW passat cc owner on May 08, 2021 at 9:59 pm

VW service centres make me never buy a VW car again. In fact, I have stopped at least 10 people from buying VW car.

• Jonathan on May 09, 2021 at 3:30 am

How about wet clutch? Any issues?

• tricycle on May 08, 2021 at 10:28 am

This is really nice. But sadly i am not into sedan anymore.

R-line 4 motion is nice, hopefully VW malaysia put the Golf Gti engine in it with dual clutch gear box.

VW please also consider bring bare unit, with almost zero convenience features (but with 4motion and GTI engine) and bring the full specs unit also. So buyer with extra money can go for all the safety features, ie the full specs. Those who has less but want to enjoy the comfort/sporty driving of VW 4 motion with GTI engine can also have it.

Plus all these convenience features can be added little by little if you go to third party shop especially in Singapore. These shops bring in the Original VW parts from overseas. Because if the parts are not original, they cannot be activated. It is controlled by the VW Germans i guess.

• Those who have bought it? launch the facelift too fast after bring in it. How to support VW Malaysia? Just like the Jetta customers last time. Nice car with poor dealership!

• Can’t wait for this Arteon. Looks awesome and I am sure it drives great too.

I have bought 3 VW cars in the past 11 years – a Golf GTi Mk6, a Passat and currently my wife drives the VW Golf TSi – all from local dealers. Apart from the Passat which had gearbox issues (duly repaired by VW Service Centre under warranty and ran well after that), I have no problems with any of my VW cars. Its quite reliable, good fuel consumption and enjoyable to drive.

Am now considering to get the Golf R Mk7.5 (used) or maybe just wait for the Mk8 variant to reach Msian shores.

Sadly, some customers may have had issues with VW cars, and I am sorry for the bad experiences you guys had. But for me, I am quite happy with VW cars and service centres.