Naza Group to focus on CBU auto business, but says there is potential for CKD Suzuki models in the future

By relinquishing the Malaysian distributorship of the Kia and Peugeot brands, and upon being appointed as the franchise holder for Suzuki, the Naza Group has completed its automotive business transformation into an import-focused outfit.

Naza Group automotive CEO, Datuk Nik Hamdam Nik Hassan told The Edge: “Basically, we are remodelling our business strategy, to improve operational and cost efficiencies across all operations, create value and eliminate redundancies. We also want to become leaner and more robust in our operations.”

The company is optimistic about a better performance this year, with sales expected to grow in line with the industry’s forecast of 8% year-on-year growth. Nik Hamdam said that translates to a 16% growth in revenue to RM700 million and a 35% increase in gross profit. Revenue growth is expected to come from Suzuki, along with other brands as new models get introduced over the coming months.

Last year, Naza’s auto division reportedly made RM600 million in revenue (unaudited). Nik Hamdam revealed that the group sold approximately 40 units of Ferraris, 30 Maseratis, 260 Ducati motorcycles, 700 units of Mercedes-Benz, and 250 reconditioned cars. Currently, in Malaysia, it officially represents Ferrari, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, Suzuki and Ducati.

Naza is in the belief that its CBU-only business is now balanced, since the investments required are not as big as running local assembly operations. “CBU will allow you to bring in more models to the market. It can be more expensive, but it doesn’t stop you from bringing in more models,” Nik Hamdam explained.

“For CKD, you have to be a bit selective, because you need volume consistency for production. So that is why we have to look carefully at what models we can bring in as CKD, and what models we should maintain as CBU,” he added. “But again, if you look at the brands that we have, to do any kind of assembly operations would entail a lot more volume before you can start CKD.”

However, he did not explicitly rule out the possibility of CKD Suzuki models in the future. “It is not an impossibility for at least one model to be locally assembled,” he said. “In the long run, maybe after two to three years, CKD operations may need to be looked at because Suzuki is something that we can grow, and by having more models in the market, I think CKD will be an option.” Note that Suzuki has assembly facilities in Thailand and Indonesia, where the ASEAN Free Trade Agreement allows for very low import duties.

Nik Hamdam is optimistic about the Suzuki brand in Malaysia, saying that it has big potential for growth. It may be odd for a mass-market brand like Suzuki to be part of a portfolio that comprises mostly of luxury makes, but Naza is positioning the Japanese brand as a lifestyle brand, hence its decision to introduce the Swift Sport as its first offering.

“If you look at the Swift Sport, it is already the high-end variant of the Swift. So that also fits into the high-end premium of the Suzuki range. So as you go into the next phase, of course you want to introduce more models in the market. The next phase, after Raya, we will bring in another model, which is a very popular model within the Suzuki range,” he noted. No specifics were revealed in the interview, but the “very popular model” will likely be the latest fourth-generation Jimny.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Crony on May 17, 2021 at 1:28 pm

Naza Group should stick to CBU trading and Car insurance their forte… Going into aftersales, CKD manufacturing, parts warehousing extremely pening & very low returns. Naza kipidap!

• ADINKOR on May 17, 2021 at 6:51 pm

Have you heard the saying” Once bitten twice shy ? ”
      How many Kia,peugeot,Chevy car buyers have been left on the lurch ?
      Since there are a abundance of choices,I dont see why rakyat wants to support a car distributor who treats the distributorship like a stock market.
      Good luck to those Suzuki hardcore fanboys.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 17, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Big impact to those grey-importers slashing big discounts on their 4-5 years old SSS and Jimny already

• abahdin on May 18, 2021 at 12:00 am

we sapot proton, we sapot NAZA #SapotLokal

• the driver on May 17, 2021 at 2:13 pm

Yeah, go back to the days as a car importer – before Naza grabbed the lion’s share of APs , ripping off other car traders and Naza was just one of many AP holder car importer.

• telur dadar sambal on May 17, 2021 at 4:35 pm

Bravo Naza back to glorious roots being a Car trader… when you buy in bulk 100bungkus Nasi lemak from Makcik kiah for 50¢ each ….then you sell 1 bungkus Nasi lemak for RM2 each to those office workers in the city. Syukur Naza hebat, Msia makmur..

• Celup King on May 17, 2021 at 2:36 pm

Suzuki is not niche enuff to be CBU special

• BAHAHAHAHA on May 17, 2021 at 3:03 pm

anyone can do CBU.
    obviously they flunked their CKD “consistency”.

• macampondan on May 17, 2021 at 3:24 pm

please don’t kill the brand… pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaassssssssseeeeeeeeeeeee

• sofamerah on May 17, 2021 at 3:41 pm

before we introduce the jimny officially, we need to make sure all the car dealers that buy NAZA AP can finish their grey import jimny stocks first.

• nak tapi malu on May 17, 2021 at 5:56 pm

Naza macam tak confident jer…..
    Like that, no customers will be buying your cars.

• papajahatt on May 17, 2021 at 8:39 pm

yup, saw many units when i go back to kota bharu.

• Stanley on May 18, 2021 at 8:45 pm

Any business that Naza involved will go to sunset….. due to their poor after sales support mentality….Peugeot owner

• Reduce prices by 50%

• Azzahari hamid on May 20, 2021 at 8:16 am

Penipu, naza group penipu, says Salah sorang pemilik Chevrolet yg tertipu, beli kereta tetapi tak boleh claim warranty. Penipu punya naza group