New Perodua Alza D27A expected to launch by end-2021, says vendor – next-gen to have DNGA, turbo?

Artist’s impression – click to enlarge

The next-generation Perodua Alza has long been rumoured to be coming soon, and now a Perodua vendor has said that the new MPV, codenamed D27A, is expected to surface by the end of this year. The company, Sapura Industrial Berhad (SIB), says that it is currently developing parts for the D27A.

“We are currently in the development phase of parts awarded for the Alza replacement model (D27A) expected to be launched by end 2021. We have also been awarded the supply of Case Differential Assembly by Akashi Kikai Industry Malaysia, a Tier-1 vendor for Perodua’s transmission module, forecasted for mass production in December 2021,” SIB said in its 2021 annual report.

There you go, the D27A Alza replacement model scheduled for a late 2021 debut. Of course, that might be the initial timeline and the target given by P2 to suppliers, and things might change in the era of Covid-19 and lockdowns, but based on trend, the market leader usually sticks to the masterplan.

Artist’s impression – click to enlarge

The Daihatsu concept cars we saw a couple of years ago are starting to become reality. The DN Trec from the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show has become the production Daihatsu Rocky/Toyota Raize/Perodua Ativa. Next to the DN Trec in Tokyo was the DN Multisix concept, first seen at Indonesia’s GIIAS show earlier that year. We thought then that it previewed the new Daihatsu Xenia/Toyota Avanza.

Perodua’s current Alza, which will be 12 years old later this year, is based on a JDM model, the Daihatsu Boon Luminas a.k.a. Toyota Passo Sette. It’s unique in ASEAN, as the default Toyota/Daihatsu budget MPV for our region is the Avanza (also sold as the Daihatsu Xenia in Indonesia). Things are set to be streamlined, with the Alza joining the fray as a Malaysian version of the regional model. This makes sense for economies of scale.

In late 2019, Perodua was caught testing a Mitsubishi Xpander, a Suzuki Ertiga and a suspect-looking “Toyota Avanza” with a Genting Highlands climb. That was when we started speculating that an all-new Alza would share a platform with the next Avanza, as Daihatsu in Indonesia and Perodua in Malaysia are all part of the greater Toyota family. Indeed, Perodua produces certain T-badged models, and the NR engine it produces is supplied to Toyota as well.

Perodua was caught testing a funny-looking Avanza with budget MPV rivals in 2019

It’s pretty much the same arrangement in Indonesia, where Astra Daihatsu Motor (ADM) takes the development lead in joint Daihatsu-Toyota models such as the Ayla-Agya, Sigra-Calya, TeriosRush and most recently, the Rocky and Raize. ADM also manufactures the Toyota twin models.

Last year, there were reports from Japan saying that the new Avanza will be based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, and will feature 1.0 litre turbo power as well as a 1.2 litre hybrid option.

DNGA for the next Alza/Avanza fits nicely into the Perodua picture as well – the Rawang-based carmaker has invested heavily into DNGA production for the Ativa, which will surely not be a one-off, but a start of a new era. Ditto the turbo engine. Hybrid? Perodua did tease hybrid tech at KLIMS 2018, so electrification remains a possibility. Perhaps a basic NA version as well to keep the entry price low for budget family motoring? We’ll see.

GALLERY: Daihatsu DN Multisix at Tokyo 2017

GALLERY: Daihatsu DN Multisix at GIIAS 2017

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Donno on May 27, 2021 at 12:37 pm

In the segment, differences between 7 seater MPV and SUV is really blurred now.

The Xpander for instance, is more of a MPV than a SUV.

Right now Perodua already have the Aruz in its lineup, which is a Rush/Avanza underneath.

Hopefully the new D27A is a unibody, better if it is actually built on a stretched Ativa platform.

I am sure that the new D27A will be much more closer in concept to the Xpander than to the current Alza. But the question is, if the D27A is launched at the end of 2021, what would happen to the Aruz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Manifesto Dicapati on May 28, 2021 at 3:56 pm

I hope this is not another “tukar emblem” exercise made famous by P2 many many times, many many years ago.

Anyway, since it will be “Buatan Malaysia”, I hope it will be affordable, and not harga cekik darah ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • YB Sam Look on Jun 06, 2021 at 10:58 pm

I hope this is not another “tukar emblem and bumper” exercise made famous by BrukDua many many times, many many donkey years ago.

Anyway, since it will be “Buatan Malaysia”, apart from being affordable and not harga cekik darah with standardised 6 airbags and VSC with ASA 3.0 for higher trim level, please also remember to put in a bloooody engine temperature gauge ya.

• Passbyer on Jun 17, 2021 at 5:08 pm

Improve the ppl earning or lower down the price?

• this is what the b40 will say when they want to buy a car. work harder and earn more lah dey

• anonymous_c on Jun 02, 2021 at 9:35 am

Unlike our neighbor Indonesia which have a category for these smaller MPV models which is Low-MPV / LMPV which make sense since these are smaller people mover.

Indonesia categorize Terios/Rush as Small SUV.

Weirdly best selling is Suzuki Ertiga sport. Another miss opportunity for Proton for now, as they should have plan to release a new Geely collaborate MPV.

• Taknak pening, taknak boros… Beli je perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Very fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Safety First on May 28, 2021 at 1:01 am

Can Alza or any Perodua for that matter, survive a 150kmph crash? This is very important here as car fatalities are very high in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • otakmana on May 28, 2021 at 9:30 am

Then don’t drive so fast la bodoh, why 150kmph, here got autobahn isit

Safety First konon, how about you go to school first belajar guna otak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
        • Dont understand kah? If a car is proven survivable at 150kmph then any speeds below it has higher chance of surviving. U think NCAP crash test is means safe? NCAP only test up to 65kmph crash brother. Anything higher they dont gerenti ur life. U want to trust ur soul with such loophole kah brother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • tepat bruhh …bila orang tegur sje nak bagitau. Dia plak pekik takboleh terima, “Where you from

• YB Sam Look on Jun 06, 2021 at 11:12 pm

150 km/h.

Dey, expressway speed limit is 110 km/h, if they crash at 150 km/h and mati macam katak also i don’t care at all, the thing is when these idiots crash and killed and seriously injured others.

And my point of view is simple, whether you drive Brukdua or BMW also (yes i drove both of them sometimes) road users are bounded by governed traffic rules. Speed does kills, but stupidity kills you faster.

• jusknittin on May 27, 2021 at 3:27 pm

This intrigues me! I don’t want to put my hopes high but judging from Perodua recent models, I think the new Alza (or any MPV name) will have a lot of new functions and features compared to its predecessor. If the design is anywhere like the Multisix concept, it’s going to be an eye-candy personally for me. Hopefully the price is going to be a bit lower than Aruz.

• SientaMK2 on May 27, 2021 at 3:39 pm

Toyota Raize Extended, possible like Kia Sonet 7 seater Indonesia, but longer this one.

• Proton new MPV says; welcome new challenger, prepared to be slayed just like your predecessor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • There is no news about Ertiga replacement, so it is not a direct competitor.

• Alza was trying to compete with Exora but failed miserably. Best sales still goes to Proton MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Amran on May 28, 2021 at 5:17 pm

I think Alza sales more than Exora..

• Exora is class leader MPV sales every month bro

• Alza sells about 2x of Exora.
          Aruz sells 3.5x of Exora.

Exora sales despite low, about 700 only, sells > Civic kosong AEB.

• Ah Chong on May 27, 2021 at 5:34 pm

I hope they make one based on the Daihatsu Thor. It should have same/similar drivetrain as the Ativa, 1L turbo CVT.

Most importantly, sliding doors. Many older 80’s millenials now have either aging parents or kids, or both. Sliding door would be great.

A competitor to the Sienta or the Freed, even though I think both of those no longer available.

• jusknittin on May 28, 2021 at 3:09 pm

Umm.. no .. 1.0 Turbo is not gonna cut it for me.. at least 1.5 with or without turbo is fine. But it’s a dream come true for me IF they can get Peugeot 1.2 PureTech with Turbo..

• Sliding doors have wind noise issue once aging, thats why Honda Freed not selling much in Malaysia.

Toyota Sienta have less issue due to Electronic Sliding Door. It’s not a premium ride if required to bang the sliding door.

However, both Freed and Sienta is not a desirable design concept. Malaysian prefer SUV with larger wheels. Kosong spec Honda BR-V sells more than the kosong spec Freed too.

• Company is good,but not perfect design

• Atiliyah on May 28, 2021 at 11:49 pm

But overall msian choose perodua cars thats why perodua still no 1 the car maker in msia salute!!!

• Exora should be better isn’t it

• Highly anticipated for an average working class like me with a small family and aged parents.

I’ve got nothing to complain on the current ALZA, affordable service, cheap tyres, zero headache, start and go and superb AC. Its low enough for the elderly to get in and out of the car unlike the ARUZ or any other SUV/MPV.

If the price is affordable like the latter, will upgrade with this new ALZA.

• Affordable price with less than average just started working class like me with a small family and aged parents

• Malaysia Boleh on Aug 18, 2021 at 6:00 pm

It’s time for the new Perodua Alza to earn less and contribute more to Malaysian who earn below average working class with a small family and aged parents.

• i think we would all agree to have a replacement to the kenari too

• Mic on Jun 22, 2021 at 8:55 am
    It’s what it’s; rubbish!

• Perodua on Jun 30, 2021 at 3:35 pm

Tunggu kemunculan New Alza

• hazri on Jul 21, 2021 at 11:29 pm

why the front look like an old estima

• After seen ur comments, I’ll guessing u not hv an otak actually…hw dared u can sembang like nothing happens while u just showed up an ugly attitude of urself??? #noOTAKalso