ACO teases new Android 9 update for Proton GKUI?

Back in July this year, ACO Tech hinted at an update for the GKUI (Global Key User Interface) software that powers the infotainment systems found in Proton models like the X70, X50, Iriz and Persona. At the time, the company did not provide a launch date, but a new post on its Facebook page appears to suggest that it is coming very soon.

We have confirmed with ACO Tech that the current GKUI software is based on Android 8 (also known as Oreo), but the latest teaser indicates that the new version will make the shift to Android 9, which is referred to as Pie, hence the pie in the post.

Further details about what’s new with the Android 9-based GKUI remain unknown for now, but based on the video clip of question-and-answer excerpts from a few months ago, we could see the Spotify app being included, although another possibility is the Syok by Astro.

The company also said, in regards to possibility of adding Google Maps and Waze, that “these [navigation] apps are not open for any new collaboration with any carmakers in the world.” As such, we can expect both to be left out of the upcoming update.

As for Android Auto and/or Apple CarPlay support, which is something we deemed to be advantageous, ACO Tech did not provide any confirmation, merely saying that these systems are adapted “from the mobile phone ecosystem,” and it believes it is “already in the next [stage] of entertainment and lifestyle,” and hopes that users will enjoy a new experience once the upgraded software has been rolled out.

If you’re unaware, ACO Tech is a joint venture involving Proton, Altel Communications and ECarX (Hubei) Technology that is responsible for supporting as well refining and increasing localised content within the GKUI for Proton. Beyond Malaysia, the company is also developing a version of the GKUI system for the Thailand market in in preparation for the future export of the X70 and X50 to the neighbouring country.

Ahead of a new GKUI version being launched, what features or changes are you hoping will be implemented for quality of life improvements? If you happen to own a Proton with a GKUI system, share your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• half hearted upgrade on Sep 15, 2021 at 8:02 pm

Meh.. nothing to shout about. Still no android auto nor apple carplay connectivity is a deal breaker.

• Avenger on Sep 17, 2021 at 8:29 am

No point supporting a function that is not officially supported in Malaysia. Its kinda like rooting for pirated software here and that is bad u know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • what do you even mean by pirated software? if it is officially provided by the car manufacturer then it is original laa. So you say Toyota also provided pirated software to everyone larr?

• Why yes. Android Auto is not officially supported by Google in the region (maybe except for Sgpore)

• Nurzhafri Bin Haji Zakaria on Sep 15, 2021 at 8:06 pm

Hopefully more compatible to android and apple

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 15, 2021 at 8:16 pm

no android auto, no point

• why laa proton did not support Apple Carplay and Android Auto? All other car manufacturers (except perodua) have this as standard why cant proton do the same? what is the purpose doing extensive R&D but you miss the only thing that people will actually use in the car. sigh..

• Silthice on Sep 15, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Exora excluded?

• Anderson on Sep 16, 2021 at 12:53 am

Please please please android auto / apple car play

• The ability to switch off voice wake up on the x50. It’s present on the x70 but not on the x50 which is a shame.

Also the ability to install 3rd party apps such as Google maps or waze.

• normal_user on Sep 16, 2021 at 6:11 pm

No android auto / apple carplay, no Proton for me. It’s the standard among carmakers now. Mirroring just won’t able to deliver the same experience.

• total recall on Sep 17, 2021 at 10:37 am

The infotainment unit is not the essential part part of the vehicle that makes it possible to transport you from point A to point B.

• People tend to forget that a car is just a car, if they want entertainment, drive to a mall.

• People tend to forget a phone is just a phone, want do anything, use a TV, Playstation, go Cinema, etc…

See that flaw in your argument? If a car is just a car then everyone should just get a Saga/Axia and call it a day, why even spend 3 times the price? It’s not like you can put 3 times the people on it or drives 3 times faster anyway.

• Better maps and more frequent map version updates. I quite like the interface, but alot of the maps are out of date. The original Here maps are much better.

• I want apple carplay / android auto better than upgrading GKUI system. Seen this is one of the important features to select the new car in future.