2023 Subaru WRX in Malaysia – sedan, wagon body styles; 275 PS 2.4T flat-four; 6MT, CVT; from RM285k

The fifth-generation Subaru WRX (second if count from the WRX without ‘Impreza’ attached) has made landfall in Malaysia, with this red example currently on display at Motor Image Malaysia’s showroom in Petaling Jaya.

First revealed globally last September, the latest WRX is now built on the Subaru Global Platform (SGP) and powered by a FA24F 2.4 litre turbocharged flat-four petrol engine rated at 275 PS (271 hp or 202 kW) at 5,600 rpm and 375 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,200 rpm.

For context, the previous WRX’s FA20F 2.0 litre mill made 272 PS (268 hp or 202 kW) and 350 Nm. As such, the improvements are marginal, accompanied by a broader torque curve on the newer model. Don’t expect an STI version to be coming because Subaru has already made it clear that’s not happening.

Subaru’s Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive and Active Torque Vectoring systems are standard pairings for the FA24F, along with a six-speed manual transmission which you see here. The WRX can also be had with a revised CVT marketed as the Subaru Performance Transmission, which is claimed to offer 30% faster upshifts and 50% faster downshifts between the second and third virtual gears.

In terms of design, the WRX is clearly influenced by the Viziv Performance Concept from 2017, with key cues being black body cladding that appears SUV-like but actually serves an aerodynamic purpose – note the vents that help evacuate air from the wheel well.

Other highlights include a hexagonal-shaped grille, an aggressive front bumper, sharper headlamps, C-shaped taillights, a bonnet scoop and a prominent diffuser-like element that is part of the rear lower apron. As for the interior, the WRX follows in the footsteps of the Outback by featuring a large 11.6-inch touchscreen for the Starlink infotainment system with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

The dashboard is also simpler than before, without the layered tiers to accommodate a second screen at the topmost area for a vehicle status display. There’s also fewer physical controls, with those for the dual-zone climate control being integrated into the infotainment display.

In terms of equipment, this particular car comes with 18-inch wheels, steering responsive LED headlamps, LED daytime running lights that double as indicators, LED taillights, LED fog lamps, a 4.2-inch multi-info display, seven airbags, an array of passive safety systems, keyless entry and engine start, manual front seats as well as a leather-wrapped sport steering wheel.

Pricing-wise, the WRX with a manual transmission goes for RM286,245 on-the-road without insurance, which also includes a five-year/100,000-km warranty. There are two other versions of the WRX that are also available but not photographed by us yet, and they are the WRX with a CVT and the WRX wagon – the latter is also known as the WRX Sportswagon and is essentially the latest Levorg with the WRX’s powertrain.

The WRX with a CVT is priced higher at RM296,245 and gains some notable features over the manual, including an electronic parking brake with auto hold, a 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, SI-Drive (Sport Sharp, Sport and Intelligent drive modes) and rear air vents.

This variant also comes with the EyeSight suite, with included systems being autonomous emergency braking, autonomous emergency steering, reverse automatic braking, high beam assist as well as blind spot monitoring.

The most affordable of the bunch is the Sportwagon at RM285,245 that gets the same kit and powertrain as the WRX with a CVT, with the addition of an eight-way power-adjustable front passenger seat, reclining rear seats and more boot space thanks to the wagon body style. Of the three WRX options being offered, which one is the most appealing to you? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• elewmartha on Dec 07, 2022 at 10:43 am

nice bezza rear lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 07, 2022 at 2:29 pm

Aiyoh..yoh..the centre touch screen looks like Iron Man’s Mask.
      So damn hideous,outrageously ugly,and out of proportions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • Urchin on Dec 08, 2022 at 11:10 am

Subaru Terbaik

• Good pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • For a poor fag who cannot afford it, I would say i like the wagon style with manual. But then, wagon more to family car among 3 of it, which make it more logical to come with a CVT. Nice car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • I will choose the wagon with MT but looks like it only comes with CVT? Sigh…

I wonder how many Type R buyers will consider this WRX as an alternative. Personally, I will still get the MT BRZ and beef it up with HKS supercharger when it’s ready. My friend is still waiting for his car after 9 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • Lolwhut? on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:13 pm

inb4 this car already outdated
    https://paultan.org/2022/11/21/2024-subaru-impreza-debuts-at-la-auto-show/

• Thanks to gomen policy, we only get cars nobody else wants..these are probably unsold subarus from singspore, which gets the new model.
      And hie much 9f tgst RM280k 0lus is tge cost of AP. Consumers need to know. Distributors need to inform.

• Knightrider on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Insane price…Sure this will become rare at our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • This price suitable for affordable premium sport car, just like this. It is not insane price. And also cheaper than Golf R. While same price range as Yaris GR, despite Yaris GR is 2 doors hatch while Impreza is 4 doors car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Kariayam on Dec 09, 2022 at 12:40 am

Golf r is miles ahead of the WRX in straight line speed. Also most buyers won’t be choosing this over a bmw 330 which matches the performance, is more luxurious and probably drives just as well if not better than the WRX. The WRX is not the value driven sports car for the average Joe anymore. It’s ridiculous they think someone would pay close to 300k for that awful exterior and nasty interior. All I can say is good luck Subaru.

• Theanswer on Dec 11, 2022 at 4:37 pm

Sembang performance..tpi straight line . Straight line semua boleh laju bang. Yelah kariayam..sembang mesti kari

• Same price range as arteon and xc40. Both with awd like impreza but more premium.

• SaynotoMI_CBU on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Beware especially booking with MI or TC Subaru.They may not honor the booking terms / price. Make sure all terms written carefully.

See the actual delivery car. Stay as far possible if they will special intend for you. Or just buy whatever ckd. MI cannot manage CBU gentlemanly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Linda on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:40 pm

Missing Adaptive Cruise Control for daily and highway use,
    Only has the low spec Passive Cruise Control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Seribu on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:41 pm

Nice

• Audio system more like mini tesla

• Touch screen system is more like mini tesla

• Love performance car

• Would love to get the wagon MT

• Smokey on Dec 07, 2022 at 2:29 pm

My pick is manual wagon, if it exists

• The front look like puffer fish

• Layerman on Dec 07, 2022 at 4:23 pm

My dream car. I will own Impreza sedan but not wagon for me, one day

• Ground europe passenger on Dec 07, 2022 at 5:07 pm

2.4l engine lagi turbo charged?? If i drive this 6mt car from house to work federal highway maybe used 1st and 2nd gear only all the way. Masuk gear 3 kena saman speeding.

• Theanswer on Dec 11, 2022 at 4:39 pm

With peak torque at 2000rpm…tak payah tarik pun. Bwk mcm biasa jer. Unless kene racun turbo tu la

• Apala..family car BMW 330i at 400Nm below 2k rpm can drive like turtle too. Jgn ingat ni roket la. Proce so close to 330i, just get the facelift la, branded, macho, speed, space. This shld proce at 230 max.

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 07, 2022 at 6:14 pm

wagon mt please

• Pomen subaru on Dec 07, 2022 at 7:06 pm

Still the wagon levorg they refuse to give manual version

• Ewww..so ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • Better looking than Civic Type R FL5

• KingoftheRoad on Dec 08, 2022 at 12:45 am

My myvi twin turbo can smoke this bezza wannabe anyday. Come kesas and look for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Junkies otr on Dec 08, 2022 at 7:11 am

Wtf is wrong with subaru? Another ketam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Urchin on Dec 08, 2022 at 11:10 am

Subaru Terbaik

• Dream on Dec 08, 2022 at 1:53 pm

My dream wagon car

• I think this car will not survive malaysian market. Expensive but come with old skool tech.

• Kareem on Dec 09, 2022 at 9:17 am

So cheap, good price

• A WRX without it’s Recaro & Brembo brakes? Come on Subaru..

• Kentuckylover on Jan 11, 2023 at 11:00 pm

Powerful engine but cheap and weak CVT?American consumer already ban this problematic gearbox car,my 06′ Nissan old skool 4-AT gearbox still powerful enough to pull out other SUV stuck in mud.Remember no Germany car use this stupid and cheap gearbox.

• Deejay on Feb 16, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Just saw the TikTok review of this car by Harfiz
    Just want to highlight the comments by him on the manual car that doesn’t come with ADAS.
    Manual transmission car cannot regulate speed and gearing thus there is no possibility of installing the ADAS this remark was the one that got me ticked off from a respectable car journalist like you making a mistake. Do improve on this. Thank you
    From a avid follower to Paultan.Org

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:00 pm

There are quite a few other manufacturers offering at least AEB on their manual cars. That’s all I’m asking for.

In fact, Subaru itself has just announced that it’s working on ADAS for its manual BRZ and WRX.

• capulet on Feb 28, 2023 at 3:04 pm

why u copy brand H design..!!? why why why subaru..? did you employed H brand x staff..? this is the worse ever subaru design..!! #evox