2023 Perodua Axia 1.0L D-CVT full review – hugely improved but not perfect; we detail the good, the bad

Perhaps not to the degree of this weekend’s Premier League fixtures (my commiserations to United fans), but the new Perodua Axia is surprising car, a huge departure from the previous model. The surprises come in many boxes too – exterior design, nice cabin and a much better drive. And yes, price – “Malaysia’s cheapest car” now starts at the high thirties and tops out at nearly RM50k.

In this full video review, Hafriz Shah takes you thorough the new Axia, pointing out the good and the bad of P2’s latest model. There’s plenty of good – and some aspects have seen night and day improvement – but it’s not the perfect budget car, as you’ll find out. Both our jaws dropped at the media preview, but with more seat time, this is a more balanced assessment.

Personally, I understand some of the decisions that P2 made. Indonesia’s new 1.2L engine would have made the gap between this and the Myvi, which is closer now, to uncomfortable levels – as things stand with the carryover 1.0L, we’re already putting both names in the same sentence, and there are murmurs about the higher RRP. By the way, our neighbours have scale for the 1.2L as it’s the LCGC default engine (also used in the Raize/Rocky), and the Rawang-made Sirion (Myvi) is an inconsequential niche product there.

But now I know that I can’t just swap my Ativa to the Axia and pocket the difference without any penalty, despite the early thoughts. Overall, the new Axia is a much improved car, and some aspects such as the stunning FC, shared DNGA cabin content and better performance with just a gearbox change are things that will delight owners daily.

We’ve covered the new Axia extensively since launch, so you can also check out our launch report, spec-by-spec comparison, downpayment/instalment schedule, maintenance schedule and cost, and size comparison post. Also, we have a fresh and full gallery of the Axia in two trims below.

GALLERY: 2023 Perodua Axia AV

GALLERY: 2023 Perodua Axia X with GearUp accessories

GALLERY: 2023 Perodua Axia AV vs X

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dulu RM49k dapat saja beli Kei Car 1.48m narrow Kenari 1.0 AT.
    Zaman sekarang dah ubah,

TNGA AXN is as good as TNGA Yaris JDM now, which comes with 3 choices:
    1000cc, 1.5L, 1.5EV.
    https://paultan.org/2019/10/16/2020-toyota-yaris-first-compact-tnga-based-model-dynamic-force-engines-advanced-park-debut/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • Harge haram jadah, dulu RM49k dapat Myvi full spec. Skarang dapat keta kecik poyo Axia. Msia dah habeslah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Sotong on Mar 07, 2023 at 5:03 pm

https://paultan.org/2011/09/15/perodua-myvi-se-1-5-and-extreme-launched-manual-and-auto-from-rm50900-to-rm61700-weve-driven-it-already/

Dulu smaller Myvi 1.5 Lagi Best Full Spec 2 airbags no VSC, RM61k.

• salman on May 18, 2023 at 8:53 am

baik beli Persona

• Tortilla on Mar 06, 2023 at 3:47 pm

Now you still can buy grey imported used Kei car,
      660cc turbo CVT, top speed 140km/h, at 2x the price, like Tanto and N-Box.

Japan still selling Kei car very well.
      Agile and Fuel saving.

• Bossku on Mar 06, 2023 at 1:48 pm

The fact is, it is still a 4-star crash rated vehicle after 8 years when the 1st gen was released. In what way can anything good come from this car, other than it is still one of the “cheapest” brand new cars, if not the “cheapest” brand new car in Malaysia?? I suppose given the predicament that some people have to face in Malaysia, one can look at this as a “glass half full” exercise. So, yeah..detail the good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Fellow Victorian on Mar 06, 2023 at 2:04 pm

The top spec Axia coupled with insurance n HP interest easily push it above 60 grand.
      For such a super duper compact car,perhaps one can look at the base Persona which has almost double the horse power,bigger interior seating,bigger boot space.
      The only setback is some people do not like Protons.
      Of course,the bigger Persona engine will drink more petrol.
      Hafriz is correct to say,the new Axia is not “cheap” anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • copy pasted on Mar 06, 2023 at 4:48 pm

https://paultan.org/2023/02/21/video-2023-perodua-axia-asean-ncap-test-4-stars-performed-exceptionally-well-in-crashworthiness/

5 star worthiness body, that’s why best handling vehicle of it’s segment now.

Lower spec Axia – 4 star result,
      Got VSC, HillStop Control, missing BSM, AEB, so less points to get 5 star.

If test AV spec, can get 5 star.
      But Perodua choose to show the lowest result from the cheaper variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Li Peng on Mar 06, 2023 at 5:32 pm

The Saga from 1985 still has a “5 star wothiness body”. That’s nothing to be proud of in 2023.

• https://youtu.be/qBDyeWofcLY

Yeap, Comparable to older Volvo 940 classic large sedan vs a newer Renault Modus compact Hatchback.

Finally the boxy tin crushed like Milo Tin.

• Li Peng on Mar 06, 2023 at 9:05 pm

Still the Axia has 4 stars ONLY. That’s pathetic.

• https://paultan.org/2022/12/19/2022-hyundai-creta-scores-five-stars-2022-stargazer-scores-four-stars-in-asean-ncap-crash-testing/

2021-2025 Asean NCAP updated Protocol Testing Result:

Hyundai Creta 5 stars @ 75.78points
            Perodua AXIA 4 stars @ 73.55 points, short of 2 points to 5 star
            Hyundai Stargazer MPV 4 stars @ 66.48 points

Elsewhere, BMW i4 EV sedan also 4 stars Euro NCAP.

Semua pun Total lost after crash @ only 64km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • “Perodua AXIA 4 stars @ 73.55 points, short of 2 points to 5 star”
            Not able to get 5 stars. Pathetic.

• Why did you guys film while tailgating each other? Isn’t that dangerous?

• Perodua haters on Mar 06, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Kereta lembu belakang rumah aku jauh berkualiti dari semua kereta perodua. Chit. Poorah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Raja Kamarul on Mar 06, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Here I am, a senior manager at a multinational corporation. I am blessed to have a 5 year old Accordana that has not had any major issues, and in a few months, it will be paid for. It is maintained accurately, and I expect it to serve me well for at least 5 more years. After that, I will look at a Japanese keeper, perhaps from the recond contingent for a new d-segment. Maybe the Toyota Athlete or something.

The wife chose a b-segment City recently, which she maintains religiously as she did her previous 15 year old Myvi. It is really her drive to the work and back car, and the occasional trips with the one kid we have without me. Other times, my Accordana is the main servant.

But I am buying the Axia. Yes, as some say, I can get an entry level Myvi with the same dough, or base Persona. But we are looking for a small run-around for our weekend runs, which can be to a meal, to the park, to the mosque, grocery run and the like. The Axia to me will serve a purpose for the family.

Having tested the car, the size, build quality (always a P2 high point) and the equipment level is great for my purpose. The only setback is the wait list LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Li Peng on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:19 pm

Beeing “a senior manager at a multinational corporation” does not mean that this person is automatically competent to judge cars. I guess that your not even able to change the light bulbs by yourself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • Raja Kamarul on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Ah Peng, my point was, I can afford other cars if I wanted la… but I will buy what fit my needs. I think the second gen Aia is a great buy for my purposes… itu aja.

Not every comment is intended to burn, and neither should replies be abusing others. Plus, even if I can’t change light bulbs, it won’t affect you maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
        • Datok on Mar 06, 2023 at 7:25 pm

Don’t need further justify.
          It is already a better AXN compared to many others.

Forwarded:
          ✅ more airbags than Toyota Camry 2.0L
          ☀️ 2x fuel saving 27km/l
          ✅ Autonomous Emergency Brake CLA 2014 tak ada
          ✅ blind spot monitor A250 2023 AMG tak ada
          ☀️ affordable premium compact with Digital Speedometer
          ☀️ 0-100 Sama VW Touareg 2.5 TDi 12.4sto100 Nissan Serena 2.0L CVT 14sto100,

not for racing, but can racing mod by enthusiasts @ Sepang Run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Li Peng on Mar 06, 2023 at 9:11 pm

4 stars NCAP too. I can’t remember when a new car got such a lousy result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Holofanboi on Mar 07, 2023 at 11:09 am

@Li Peng: In Kamarul’s defense, what you are doing is akin to how some T20-T1 accuse of B40s who can’t understand economics. We share our background in advance to preemptively address people (in a conversation) who immediately question why we don’t buy more expensive cars when we can easily afford it.
        The thing is, money is still money regardless of income. Not everyone looks at a car’s specs with the same weight. People who value perf will certainly be willing to pay a premium for it. Whilst the stereotypical ‘boring’ people (like me) look at stuff considered superficial by the typical car lover. (Comfort oriented suspension, soft touch, ergo, space etc…) Heck, the big boss of a certain hotpot in Malaysia daily drives an Axia to work.

@Raja Kamarul: I am envious at how durable a Myvi is. My wife’s 2nd hand 17 year old tahi katak myvi is still puttering daily to KL. Utterly neglected maintenance (oil,brakes, etc) and its still more reliable than my korean liability. (Paid off a long time ago, but indecisive on a new car).

• General Manager on Mar 07, 2023 at 7:14 pm

I’m a senior general manager of a multinational company.
      I can confirm that most managers in Malaysia want to get rid of their Velfire’s, Benz, Lexus, BMW’s and Porsches and that they want to buy Axia’s instead.
      One reason is the safety (the 75% 5 star rating = 4 stars).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • albag on Mar 06, 2023 at 5:34 pm

the rear really looks like it’s been hit with that huge dent design

• Justice on Mar 06, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Substandard perodua cars and lousy services

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Jan Vinegar of Hesselink on Mar 06, 2023 at 9:18 pm

Can’t wait for the manual version.

• Ex kelisa owner on Mar 07, 2023 at 12:33 pm

+Lower maintenance cost
    +Fuel efficiency
    +Easy drive, parking

-Less spaces
    -Unsafe to drive higher speed on highway
    -Higher pricetag with some not really useful features
    -CVT oil cannot change outside, shorter lifespan than 4AT

• First glance on Mar 07, 2023 at 1:07 pm

First glance on the road, does not look like a new car. 1990s design. Only dash board tip top. Hope retain 4AT for everyday driving.

• First glance on Mar 07, 2023 at 1:10 pm

First glance on the road, does not look like a new car. 1990 outlook. Dashboard tip top. Retain 4AT for everyday driving.

• CamPro on Mar 11, 2023 at 9:25 pm

This car suitable for those who wants to end their life in the most miserable way.

• Perodua Co on Mar 23, 2023 at 9:40 am

even the cheapest car are more expensive huhuhu

• Pakcik bakal pencen on May 18, 2023 at 9:20 am

The new Axia. Basically the whole new package is attractive. But the global industry standards which requires the safety features bumped the price to not attractive. Compare to 4AT against CVT i find the 4AT more relaxing to drive compare to CVT which can be tiring. The maintenance cost will deter people from buying as it is more expensive to service than 4AT. But what can we do when the Global Car Standards force manufacturers to use CVT to meet world emission and FC standards? Sadly this is the fact now. As for 4 stars safety, the industry also makes a new car to have crumple zones and ensure passenger shell to be more rigid for safety standards. Which means it cost more to repair in a major collision. But the ASA is meant to avoid cars from major collisions, right? So if they still have major collisions means the driver is the fault, not the car. Anyway, as much as i love the new Axia, the CVT is not something i prefer as i already have a Persona and though it is a nice drive the CVT cuts alot of fun in driving. Nuff said.

• Know your thing on May 18, 2023 at 9:57 am

Isn’t potong saga is cheaper?