Bangkok 2023: Honda Civic Type R FL5 open for booking in Thailand tomorrow, RM520k hot hatch!

A Honda Civic for over RM500k? You better believe it! The latest Honda Civic Type R is present at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show and the official price of the FL5 has been revealed as 3,990,000 baht, which is equivalent to RM520k.

Who does crazy things like this, some might ask. I don’t know, but let’s watch it fly off the shelves, figuratively, tomorrow morning. Limited units will be available for the Thailand market, and interested parties have to put their names down at Honda Thailand’s official website at 10am tomorrow, March 22. I’m guessing that demand will greatly outstrip supply, even at 4m baht a pop, so it’ll be something like a ballot.

Like its predecessor, the FK8, the FL5 model uses a KC20C1 2.0 litre turbo-four mated to a six-speed manual driving the front wheels. Output is slightly higher – the Japan market model puts out 330 PS at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque from 2,600 to 4,000 rpm; this is 10 PS and 20 Nm more than before.

The higher figures are due to a redesigned turbocharger where the size, shape and number of the turbine wheel blades have been optimised along with the flow path of the intake charge. Other changes include an increased air intake flow rate as well as a more efficient exhaust system. The latter features a straight through design and an active exhaust valve. They’ve improved the Active Sound Control.

Powertrain aside, the effective opening area of the radiator has been increased by 48% thanks to an enlarged grille opening. There’s also a lighter flywheel, and the rev-match system has been revised to be more precise. The 6MT also gains a high-rigidity lever and an optimised shift gate pattern for more precise and direct shifts, accompanied by a helical-type LSD and aluminium shift knob.

We’ve already detailed the FL5 Civic Type R – click here for more. Is it coming to Malaysia? Well, Honda Malaysia said last week that it will set to introduce four new models in 2023, three of which will be all-new, and the fourth a facelift. HM has form when it comes to Type R models and the FL5 is highly likely to be one of the three – here’s why. The question now is, how much?

GALLERY: FL5 Honda Civic Type R

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gonna fly off the shelves in Malaysia all right .. the GR Corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Both Corolla GR and Civic Type R are one of my favorite cars

• KakiKelentong on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:55 am

If honda bring in civic fl1 hatchback, sure alot people mod become ciplak type r.

• HuglyTypoR on Mar 21, 2023 at 8:27 pm

These are ugly AF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Habislah Mercedes C Class

• Rango on Mar 21, 2023 at 9:34 pm

Better than any of Mercedes models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Katheryne Wong on Mar 21, 2023 at 11:32 pm

But Mercedes sells more than this civic type r. Go test drive a Mercedes and then you will know why people choose the Mercedes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Really? But Honda sells more overall than Mercedes. Even rich also willing to buy honda than unreliable Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Maidin Ali on Mar 22, 2023 at 11:52 am

Kih3. Sounds that you are nor rich enuf to buy mercedes. Go to a merc show room and do a test drive please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Holder on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:43 pm

Doesn’t matter. Mercedes have no resale value and poor quality. Already driven Mercedes before but no more buying Mercedes

• john is otak batu on Mar 22, 2023 at 8:39 am

true, rich ppl willing to pay for the name/brand for status, not the content.

• Doesn’t matter to Mercedes owners. If they like this, they just add it to their collection. Unlike the other fans, Mercedes owners typically own multiple brands. I know that cos in my AMG group, there are easily 30% who also have an M while i have no plans to replace my GTI. Can’t say that about the fans of München who will only buy 1 brand and won’t even consider this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Li Peng on Mar 22, 2023 at 11:04 am

CLA45S is RM70k cheaper(!), has 80PS more and is a lot faster. The Type R is “better” in what aspect in your opinion?

• alldisc on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:44 pm

CTR better in the bling bling segment and wow factor. for kids.

• Bob Mal on Mar 22, 2023 at 8:23 am

One really gotta admire Honda’s pricing for this car when FD2 was first released in Malaysia officially for RM200k, and the next FK8 – RM320k and now the FL5 – RM520k with just a few HP / NM increase?

• Squid on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:44 am

RM520k is the price in Thailand, not Malaysia. And price is not defined just by the HP.

• Kapchai on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:32 am

https://paultan.org/2007/08/03/honda-civic-type-r-launched-in-malaysia/

Dulu RM199k hardly any sales

• seancorr on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:45 am

This was supposed to compete with the A35 or M135i but it’s price level is the same as an A45S instead lmao

• RedKnight AHA on Mar 22, 2023 at 10:15 am

Cmon RM520k?!! For a Honda?!! Hahahah Bang for Buck.. GO for A45S AMG for RM420k lah..Stock 421 horsey…

• Holder on Mar 22, 2023 at 12:42 pm

A45S AMG is slower and not as reliable as Honda. Even Honda F1 also dominating so far unlike Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • J.Button on Mar 22, 2023 at 4:09 pm

Honda doesn’t build F1 cars.

• Yeah… I guess if you drive on the racetrack every day, then you’ll be very happy with the FL5.

Drive that through KL traffic and see how long you can last.

• Let me guess, RM385,800.

• Bangkok on Mar 23, 2023 at 7:17 am

Never judge a book by it’s cover the badge of a car is similar to the cover of a book