Bangkok 2023: Fifth-gen Toyota Prius makes ASEAN debut in Thailand – should this be sold in Malaysia?

Following its world premiere in November last year, the fifth-generation Toyota Prius has now made an appearance at the ongoing Bangkok International Motor Show (BIMS). Now built on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the all-new model has been making waves with its striking new design, which you can clearly see here.

Thailand is where the latest Prius is making its ASEAN debut, but the model hasn’t gone on sale in the country and it wasn’t announced if this will happen. As such, this unit in a Mustard paint finish was brought in purely for display purposes and to represent Toyota’s multi-technology approach to achieve carbon neutrality.

Featuring the signature liftback profile of the original Prius, the fifth-generation model’s glow-up also sees it receive a hammerhead shark-like fascia with C-shaped daytime running lights sitting just above the slender headlamps linked via a narrow air intake.

The more upright rear sports a hatch opening and wide-width taillights, with the latter blending in nearly with sculpted sections of the bodywork. You’ll also see find black cladding around the wheel arches that house 19-inch alloys.

As for the interior, the new Prius takes inspiration from its all-electric sibling, the bZ4X, by adopting the same steering wheel and placement of the digital instrument panel well ahead of the driver. There’s also a more modern dashboard design with simpler lines, while the centre console adopts a more conventional gear lever instead of the previous stub sticking out horizontally.

It isn’t known precisely what powertrain is fitted to this Prius, but it is definitely a hybrid given the ‘HEV’ badging. In Japan, there are two hybrid systems available, with the first featuring a M20A-FXS 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 152 PS (150 hp or 112 kW) and 188 Nm of torque.

This is augmented by a 1VM front electric motor rated at 113 PS (111 hp or 83 kW) and 206 Nm, which contributes to a total system output of 196 PS (193 hp or 144 kW). An E-Four all-wheel drive system is optional and adds a second electric motor labelled the 1WM with 41 PS (40 hp or 30 kW) and 84 Nm is added, increasing the system output to 199 PS (196 hp or 146 kW).

The second option uses a 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre NA four-cylinder making 98 PS (97 hp or 72 kW) and 142 Nm. The 1VM electric motor accompanying this has lesser outputs of 95 PS (94 hp or 70 kW) and 185 Nm for a total system output of 140 PS (138 hp or 103 kW). Both hybrid powertrains come with an electronically controlled continuously variable transmission (eCVT) and use the same lithium-ion battery with an energy capacity of 4.08 Ah.

After looking at the live photos of the all-new Prius, are you even more enamoured and hopeful for the model to be made available in Malaysia? In Japan, hybrid versions of the Prius are priced between 2.75 and 3.7 million yen (RM92,412 and RM124,336). What would be a fair price if it was sold here?

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota Prius (Japan market)

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Altis should come with hybrid too

• jdmcarlover07 on Mar 22, 2023 at 6:35 pm

Shut up and take my money!

• RyanT on Mar 22, 2023 at 6:36 pm

Opppsss, just bought my 18yo son a civic ehev

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • (Prius are priced between 2.75 and 3.7 million yen (RM92,412 and RM124,336). What would be a fair price if it was sold here?)
    Should be same price as in japan. Gomen can tax but they cannot over tax. As its a hybrid and therefore taxed as same level as national cars.
    Plus price of camry has gone ballistic. I dunno why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2023 at 7:19 pm

hybrid tax incentives are only available for ckd. prius has historically been cbu.

• Well. The incentives ended in 2013. That’s 10 years ago. Only incentive now is the EEV which doesn’t offer much incentive for Hybrid. Furthermore now only BEV are having huge incentive but the price of a BEV is still far beyond reach for many M’sian.

• I guess is a good buy if around 150k range.

• anonymous on Mar 22, 2023 at 6:59 pm

should? is that even a question? it would be a missed opportunity if UMW Toyota doesn’t bring this in. am genuinely more interested in this compared to the bz4x.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • As a yellow Taxi ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Will be glad to book one to replace my prius c, if the price is right lah. Relatively hassle free car experience with toyota hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Justice on Mar 22, 2023 at 7:29 pm

Nice, best looking Prius ever, well done Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ThePolygon on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:06 pm

Where to signup for waiting list.

• Keyboard warrior on Mar 22, 2023 at 10:51 pm

The car design work so well with any types of powertrains. It can BEV without major design change

• Dont bother on Mar 23, 2023 at 7:58 am

don’t bother, price gonna be expensive for sure its CBU, RM250k – RM300k. T20 also garu kepala worth it or not to buy..
    just wait for bangsa “Baik Beli” suggestions..

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 23, 2023 at 8:26 am

Only if the price is right, I’ll take one to replace my Jazz hybrid. Damn its cool lookin

• shud bring it here, sole trim, highest spec, highest output, 180k

• Dreggy on Mar 23, 2023 at 11:19 am

They should definitely bring this in. The PHEV version will be the missing piece to our transition to full electric. i ll definitely put my money down for it. my Prius C has been fantastic with only the lack of external charging a sore point for me ( my commute is less then 60km round trip with some stops)

• stasta on Mar 28, 2023 at 8:27 pm

prius isn’t a phev, why the heck do you need to charge? caught u telling fake tales

• Li Peng on Mar 23, 2023 at 11:55 am

RM300k would be a price that Toyota fans here are willing to pay.

• Mr Bigx on Mar 23, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Toyota knows how to design good looking car but time and time again the Toyota in Malaysia looks basic and unattractive… why?

• Never buy UMW CBU on Mar 23, 2023 at 1:23 pm

We don’t really have Toyota in Malaysia, it’s all overpriced UMW with a Toyota branded models.
      With RM100K in Japan, even duty free, they’ll slap a price tag of RM220K without 2nd thought.

• klguy on Mar 23, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Finally a Toyota that I’d buy

• suresh on Mar 24, 2023 at 7:14 pm

i will take it if less then RM140k

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 26, 2023 at 1:57 am

pls do sell it here

• WhoCares on Apr 09, 2023 at 12:39 pm

Looks fantastic. However I bet it will be rm250k easily in malaysia. Even if its below 200k, the specs would be shitty. Because even proton are jacking up 150k. And in order to protect proton n make them cheaper than other genuine and more quality car makers, other car makers price must be higher than protons. Seriously, the only reason why cars in malaysia are expensive is protons existence. All the crazy taxes are just excuses to protect protons, so the gov can suck all our money, because the rakyat doesnt bother anyways and keep buying imported cars. Who would buy proton? They are just rebadged cars. proton has no passion whatsoever in developing, their existence is just pure political and gov strategy to keep taxing cars, especially imported ones. Whether proton sells or not, the gov still make money anyways from selling imported cars to us. Proton can sell zero cars and will never go bankrupt. Because their purpose of existence is not business, and i wonder what is their policy, moto, vision and goal. At times i wonder what the hell are we doing here in malaysia. Being scammed by our own gov.

• Rented one in Japan for 4 days.
    Absolutely loved it.
    Toyota Malaysia needs to bring this in.
    Full tank range 850km.