MBPJ introduces two-hour parking limit in Section 52

The Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) has introduced a two-hour parking limit in the commercial area of Section 52 (commonly known as PJ State or PJ New Town) to free up more parking bays for visitors. This echoes what the Subang Jaya City Council (MBSJ) has done at six areas under its jurisdiction.

“When I drive past, I rarely see any available parking bays in Section 52,” said Petaling Jaya mayor Mohamad Azhan Md Amir in a report by The Star. “It is fully occupied most of the time by those who work here. This might deter others from visiting restaurants. I want this area to be more accessible to the public, and for businesses to benefit from the two-hour [parking] limit,” he added.

Payment of parking fees for the two-hour parking bays (outlined in orange) can be done via the Smart Selangor and Flexi Parking apps. Along Jalan 52/2 and Jalan 52/4, 50 parking bays have been reserved for this, so motorists who want to park for longer can do so at Kompleks A, which has 422 bays. Alternatively, there’s also Kompleks C with 398 bays located near the Sultan roundabout.

Mohamad Azhan also said that by the end of May this year, MBPJ would extend the two-hour parking limit to the Section 14 and SS21 Damansara Utama commercial areas. The PJ mayor also said Mohamad MBPJ had collected RM15.4 million in parking revenue last year, the highest amount among local councils in Selangor.

Meanwhile, Bukit Gasing assemblyman Rajiv Rishyakaran welcomed the move and said MBPJ should consider adding more two-hour parking bays. “We welcome public feedback on this implementation. I feel it should be introduced in Petaling Jaya Old Town and Section 17 too” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dominic on Mar 23, 2023 at 1:20 pm

Is it really effective as in will the people come down and remove their vehicles and go park elsewhere? Most of those who parked are workers in the vicinity. better come up with a solution for them as opposed to this 2 hour limit. In line with typical Malaysian style, would be good if mbpj engage mbsj to conduct a study if the 2 hour implemented in subang is effective. Each time i visit subang still same – no parking, and some cars continue to be parked at 2 hour lot the whole day

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2023 at 1:41 pm

if you want to park for a long duration, you are supposed to park at kompleks A and C in the first place, not park for 2 hours and then move.

the 2 hour implementation can only be effective if there is enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • dominic on Mar 23, 2023 at 2:28 pm

Agree with you, Paul but typical malaysian motorists, all want to park as near as possible to office and end up abusing the 2 hour limit and deprived genuine visitors like us. Therefore, as you said, only effective if there is strict enforcement . I hope mbpj has think through the process

• Alfred on Mar 23, 2023 at 1:44 pm

Ada enforcement ka?

• seatux on Mar 23, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Can ask them if MBPJ monthly parking pass users have to pay for this 2 hour separately or its included in the pass?

• Ben Yap on Mar 23, 2023 at 4:37 pm

park for 2 hours, reverse the car and drive in again immediately to park for another 2 hours. or park at the adjacent parking lot for another 2 hours. technically the car did move to leave the parking lot except that i returned to the same parking spot.

• Brian Ong on Mar 24, 2023 at 9:57 am

Doesn’t work that way. For MBSJ, there’s a one hour cooling off period before you can re-park in another 2 hour lot. You won’t be able to make payment during the 1 hour cooling off period

• ben 10 on Mar 24, 2023 at 10:46 am

sound smart but not so smart,typical malaysia boleh user

• longjaafar on Mar 24, 2023 at 11:20 am

DBKL should not be shy ….follow what is happening in PJ. Many major cities in the world practice this system.

• But, why not those who are visiting commercial areas or restaurants park at the Complex instead of the office workers that need to park?