Driver seen fuelling up Singapore-registered car with RON 95 claims to be Malaysian – still against the rule

It is a rule that foreign-registered vehicles are not allowed to fuel up on RON 95 in Malaysia. However, as we’ve seen on numerous occasions, there are still individuals that disobey this rule and continue to fuel up on the subsidised fuel.

Recently, another incident of this was captured in a video posted on the SG Road Vigilante YouTube page. In a video dated March 25, 2023, a driver of a Honda Odyssey with a Singapore registration plate just finished fuelling up and was called out by the person behind the camera telling him that he wasn’t allowed to pump RON 95 into his vehicle.

In response, the man claimed he was Malaysian and was “entitled” to fuel up on RON 95, but this is wrong. The rule is simple: if a vehicle has a foreign registration plate and not a Malaysian one, it can only be fuelled up with RON 97 and not the subsidised RON 95.

It doesn’t matter if you’re Malaysian – where the vehicle is registered is the focus, not the individual. The purchase of diesel foreign-registered vehicles also has an attached rule as they are limited to 20 litres per day at petrol stations within 25 km of the Malaysia-Singapore border gate.

Some fuel stations have even placed notices on fuel pumps to make sure owners of foreign-registered vehicles are made aware. Of course, there are still those who simply choose to ignore this rule altogether and proceed to fuel up on RON 95 – some even get help from the locals.

If you happen to come across such a situation, confront the individual and tell them that they are not allowed to do so and inform the employees of the fuel station. Do not act as a vigilante and hit the emergency stop button on the fuel pump because certain stations may have different failsafes and protocols, and it may even take some time for fuel flow to be restarted.

You can also file a complaint with the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) via its e-complaint platform or WhatsApp them at 019-2794317. Whatever you do, don’t resort to violence.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bruce on Mar 27, 2023 at 9:48 am

Please implement automatic number-plate recognition at least at the petrol station near boarder. Don’t rely on manual human control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:29 am

After getting caught automatically he claims hes a Malaysian…so pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Next time make sure changed to MY number plate first..

• Singaporean Malay on Mar 27, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Pak cik, dia org SG PR lah… He is your fellow countryman. Malaysians with SG PR can only drive SG registered cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
        • Amriji on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:20 pm

So? Still wrong to fill up RON 95 on foreign registered vehicles. No matter Malaysian ka, PR ka etc.

• Then fill-up with RON 97 and don’t give excuses.

• Casual reader on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:59 am

Malaysian kah? Pls show Mykad when refuel

• The petrol dealer is to answer the ministry…

• RON95 (Ab)user on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:50 am

I’m a foreigner that bought a car in Malaysia and pump 95 all the time, but that’s because my car is registered in Malaysia. If this guy is Malaysian, then surely, he must’ve seen the signs in every pump stating only Malaysian cars can pump it.

I wonder why the people who observe this just sit and video tape them rather than smashing the Emergency Stop button and calling the attendants for help. It’s not like the Singaporean is going to fight you, especially given the nature of tribal vigilantism in this country.

• R95 is for Malaysian on Mar 27, 2023 at 9:53 am

Kerajaan Madani/Perpaduan,
    Please do something. This thing has become so rampant and nobody is afraid to continue doing this. The operator for sure should be charged. In this case, the malaysian helper also should be charged as well for plain ignorance & become “keldai petrol” to our cheapo neighbor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Carpro on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:06 am

to minimise abuse from singapore, can make it mandatory to slot in MyKad into the payment device or authenticator machine for RON95 petrol. Make this mandatory in all towns bordering sgpore and thailand. Cannot eliminate but can minimise abuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • Can’t you see? the driver claim malaysian, got MyKad. Just remove the bulk subsidy, implement targeted fuel subsidy. No need huha control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • R95 for Malaysian on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:44 am

In this incidence, swiping IC is not gonna stop locals to help the stingy relatives. However, good suggestion since the IC record is captured for audit purpose which will take ages to saman & make sure no promo discount for payment.

• buyer on Mar 27, 2023 at 11:13 am

Then soon our petrol stations are full of boys who “rent” their MyKad to foreigners for RM10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Remove bulk fuel subsidy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • MassivelyAnnoyed on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:34 am

Very simple solution to this. Plate number recognition technology. All this can be bundled together into the digital plate implementation and then from there targeted fuel subsidy also can be implemented. Anthony Loke I know you can do it!

• Johnny on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:39 am

Malaysian ? Earning SGD, driving sgd160k honda odyssey and paying singapore taxes, but contribute telor to Malaysia, but want to get subsidy from malaysia meh?

Moreover sgd1 is rm3.3 so even if pump ron97, not much hit to the wallet lah. Small difference compared to Now become famous all over singapore and malaysia?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Ben Yap on Mar 27, 2023 at 1:28 pm

they want to save money to pay to their rising rental market.

• macam babi!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
  • Just fine this fellow tiap tiap lah ..

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:58 am

Sing Swine Sickness (SSS)

• panda on Mar 27, 2023 at 11:03 am

I wonder why a Malaysian would buy a singaporean car (even if he works there) when the COE and car price alone is extravagant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • P.kumar on Mar 27, 2023 at 11:12 am

Everyone is a Malaysian when in Malaysia but different registration of vehicle’s so it is better to have this vehicle surcharge when exciting into their country. Mslaysian custom can charge them minimum amount of RM 500 if found thier Tanks exceeds the amount or been reported without buying proof of petrol type and payment done as all have receipts

• Just pay the petrol tax based on Mileage @ the border checkout,

Keep the petrol station simple.

• Ben Yap on Mar 27, 2023 at 11:20 am

Looking from the nerdy and ah beng look, this is not a Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Claiming Malaysian! He is a disgrace for his country hahhaa! Probably someone went to national service and pledge will die for the country but ended giving up for petrol . Singaporean for on you all! Which part of rule you’ll don’t understand, No means NO! Don’t use 95, that’s for Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Don’t be stupid. Plenty of Malaysians living in Singapore drive Singapore cars. Stingy Malaysians wanting the best of both worlds.

• Fixie on Mar 29, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Malaysians buy cars in Singapore that “arent subsidized”. Singaporeans buys fuel in Malaysia that are subsidized and it is subsidized for Malaysians not for Singaporeans who never pay taxes in Malaysia. Don’t be stupid

• Don’t be stupid. Plenty of Malaysian living in Singapore driving Singapore cars. Blame your fellow countrymen for being an embarrassment.

• Chong lee Chua on Mar 27, 2023 at 12:01 pm

This so called Malaysian can only filled up himself but not the Singapore registered vehicle. Yah!

• Bieight8 on Mar 27, 2023 at 12:02 pm

In the end is the station boss being fined 40k…

• Lu Kiasi kiasu limpeh bo song on Mar 27, 2023 at 12:07 pm

From the way he answered the lady already sounds typical Singaporean…. Anyway, the government don’t care whether you are Malaysian or Singaporean, what the government want to know is your car Malaysian or Singaporean regn. Plate number…. So, don’t try to act smart and pretend don’t know the rules like kiasi kiasu kinda people….

• Piplup on Mar 27, 2023 at 12:58 pm

Cheapskate fake Singaporean, even we malaysian also dunwan to claim him. So he left the country, earns Sgd, buys car there, not paying tax here but wants to enjoy our subsidies, cheapskate. Sometimes i feel the real Singaporean not like this, (i have real Singaporean born relatives and friends) those who act like this are the malaysian born singapore PR who thought sendiri so atas that they are ‘Singaporean’ now

• Not all Malaysians are bad, and not all Singaporeans are lousy either. We are unsure of who this person true identity is, but i do agree with you that Singaporeans are not sombong as what most people in Malaysia is stereo-typing them as. They will always be black sheeps amongst the good that tarnish their reputation.
      People can complain about Singaporean being cheap by going over to buy stuffs coz its cheaper and all, but i think it boosts the economy and businesses in JB by leaps and bounds. Covid period was a excellent example where shopping malls were ghost towns, small to medium enterprises closed down due to drastic drop in revenue contributed from Sg travellers.
      I agree that Malaysia should implement proper laws and fine system to penalise anyone who breaches the system, irregardless who they are, Malaysians and Singaporeans alike. This is fair.

• Lol. Another idiot. Plenty of Malaysians drive Sg cars. Blame your own countrymen for being cheapskates instead of hiding your head in the sand.

• fuxking singaporeans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • azlee on Mar 27, 2023 at 1:35 pm

jgn bagi keta2 luar masuk malaysia… apa susah??? tu pun nak kena ajar ke. malaysian fuel for malaysian

• Terfikir on Mar 27, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Then? Let the crony run car rental business after the border?

• Paul. on Mar 27, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Singaporen n foreigner should be fine rm 1k for abusing the law..they come here to enjoy cheap food..throw rubbish drive like gangster .implement 1k as compound ..block them at causeway.

• 1k sgd to b precise..

• NottiMikey on Apr 09, 2023 at 3:17 pm

Malaysia bole..hahaha..bole jahanam ..dng rasuah..dng Rohinya taking over most bumiputra business..hahaha..wat can your top govrnment people can do about it..look at your own dirty country first b4 you can comment on ppl country..all those PATI, we we wandering how come govn..never do any action and WILL NEVER DO ANYTHING..trust me..recent visit to KL…dammed dammed foreigner are getting rich n richer than bumiputra bcoz..BUMIPUTRA DA TAK ADE TELOR nak terjah ni anak haram semua…BAGUS LA..GOOD FOR MALAYSIA soon its gona be Rohinya and many other PATI Will take over Malaysia bumiRoninya

• Last time… The shop can control which pump to be used.. say pump no 1.. either hijau or merah.. then the system can control to release the petrol… Why not using the same system to allow release petrol bcoz from inside shop can see which car coming n park n identify.. all falls bck to the shop whether want to do or not.

• Pariapa on Mar 27, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Kerajaan Madani dan Polis Malaysia GERENTI TAKUT TANGKAP CINA DAN PARIA. Lainlah kalau Melayu yang pam. Gerenti cepat saja polis tangkap.

• Pariapa2 on Mar 27, 2023 at 7:33 pm

Melayu kan suka rogol anak, cucu… mestilah tangkap melayu dulu… haha

• Government should put rfid sticker to all sg car that come in. Cannot be taken out until leave msia or fine is imposed. Then the respective petrol station just implement simple rfid detection system to determine which pump to use

• Red&White on Mar 27, 2023 at 5:33 pm

10,000 usd fines for the petrol station and 5,000usd fines for foreign car owners. Just blocked all cars with foreign plates from filling Ron85. It is Petrol Station’s fault no matter how busy.

• Bossku (how come he got his passport back for good and I still in jail?) on Mar 27, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Typical Chinese Malaysian Sinkaporean..this is the product of Malaysian/Sinkaporean education system. If petrol is cheaper in Sinkapore, a Chinese Malaysian would have done the same thing. So, let’s not name calling this and that…he is one of our brothers, ok?

• Poltan on Mar 27, 2023 at 10:38 pm

Isi dalam tong lepas tu balik rumah dan tuang dalam kereta

• QuackMcGuffin on Mar 28, 2023 at 8:57 am

New rule: ask them to sing “Negaraku” to prove their citizenship.

• newme the 3rd on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:00 am

foreigners consuming every other subsidized items and nobody bats an eye….
    but foreigners consuming subsidized fuel and everybody loses their minds.

• MYBEST on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:54 am

Singaporean act as if their so great in Malaysia, but in fact all are cheapo people who can’t afford living expenses in Singapore , so can only enter Malaysia to comfort their “little heart “.Enter Malaysia to eat expensive food but at Singapore coffeeshop price , and still wanna comment so much on the food and services. Disrespect to others and disgrace to themselves.Simple rules they can’t follow and still wanna find lame excuses such as “I am Malaysian”.Driving a Vellfire but so low class, don’t even know how to respect another country’s rule .Grow up man! You respect others just as others will respect you too.

• Floyd Toh on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:55 am

It is a disgrace to all the genuine Singaporeans. I am not talking bad about PRs. Most of them are good, except a few like to do thing, (through experience) , tarnishing the image of Singapore. How much you gain by refilling the Ron 92 instead of 97. The most is only 10 Ringgit. Convert to S$, It is negligible $3. So for goodness sake, don’t be so cheapsake lah.

• Enough with Kiasu on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:40 pm

He works in Singapore earning SGD there and paying taxes there. He DOES NOT deserve our petrol subsidy as it is paid by Malaysian taxpayers. Enuff is enuff.

• Minah on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Bustard Person…Good job siss viral of this video…mybe they have BUTA WARNA.

• Just a fellow indon on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:03 am

Malaysian zerg rush to SG for jobs no one bats an eye, Singaporean trying to live and cut their daily cost by fueling cheaper option everybody loses their mind

• Paul Tan on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:09 am

The zerg rush to SG is legal.

Refuelling with RON95 for SG cars is illegal.

Maybe that’s why the difference in eye-batting?

• Fixie on Mar 29, 2023 at 7:16 pm

Malaysia rush to Singapore to work because we are providing services THAT SINGAPOREANS DON’T WANT TO DO. We do all your dirty works, we pay taxes, we provided services to millions of Singaporean. Somebody who has paid ZERO TAXES in Malaysia are not entitled to get subsidized fuel that are reserved for Malaysian people. Have some respect before you come to other country and abused their system. Plus, why should I give a sh*t if Singapore is experiencing hyper inflation? Singaporeans are one of the most rude people on the planet and they always looked down on us. If you want to look down on other country don’t come here and abused our system and expect people to be sympathetic.

• Fixie on Mar 29, 2023 at 7:27 pm

It’s funny that people who looked down on us, constantly saying Malaysians are low class, poor, badly managed country, dangerous, etc. Would regularly come to our country to abuse our welfare system. If Singapore is so rich why the hell would they come here & abuse our system? Go and fill up petrol on the land you said was so well managed. Don’t come here like a beggar to use subsidized fuel. It’s pathetic. You don’t see Americans doing this to Mexico. They don’t travel the border just to get cheap fuel, at least not many & certainly very few Americans will ever try to use subsidized goods. Only Singaporeans would do this.

• Maher on Mar 29, 2023 at 11:29 pm

This is normal for Malaysian to find fault about Singaporean and same thing Singaporean do with Malaysian…both side are just doing Tom and Jerry game…for me both or just piece of……..

• Klu mcm tu petrol station di jb patut buat satu @ Dua pump khas utk foreigner car ron 97 n diesel lain2 depa x leh pumping petrol easy to control…klu degil n biadap sgt nk tunjuk hero Dan Tak hormati undang2 negara orang lain sumbat je kedlm…