2023 Hyundai Creta launched in Malaysia – B-SUV with 1.5L NA CVT, SmartSense, wireless AACP; RM149,888

The B-SUV market, one of the most competitive in Malaysia, welcomes a new player today. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has officially launched the 2023 Hyundai Creta. A CBU import from Indonesia, the Creta facelift is powered by a 1.5 litre naturally aspirated engine and is priced at RM149,888 on the road excluding insurance.

What do you get for the money? Let’s inspect. At 4,315 mm long and 1,790 mm wide, the Creta has a similar sized footprint to the Honda HR-V (which is 70 mm longer), and its 2,610 mm wheelbase matches Honda’s popular benchmark. Having a ‘conventional B-SUV’ size means that the Creta is larger than stablemate Kona, which is more of a Euro-flavoured crossover.

The Creta’s boot is sizeable at 416 litres, which is a fair bit larger than the Proton X50‘s 330L and the Perodua Ativa‘s 380L. With the 60:40 rear seats folded, capacity jumps to 1,384 litres. The wheels are 17-inch items (rare to see a single-tone wheel these days) with 215/60 Kumho Solus rubber and there’s a full-sized steel spare wheel under the boot floor.

The Creta’s design is far from generic, offering something for those who want to be different. The Korean firm currently has two corporate faces in rotation – one is the ‘Staria-style’ with the full-width LED signature and square mouth (also used on sedans), and the other is the Parametric Jewel look as seen on the Tucson SUV and Santa Cruz truck. The Creta wears the latter, with LED daytime running lights that concealed within the grille. The split tail lamps and silver rear pillars are unique.

“The Hyundai Creta targets those who desire individuality, who wish to stand out and break free from the norm. Its Sensuous Sportiness design language endows it with unmistakable presence and style. At the same time, it is equipped with all the technology and convenience features to perfectly complement active daily lifestyles,” said Jeffrey Gan, Sime Darby Motors’ MD of retail and distribution for Malaysia.

Under the hood is a Smartstream G 1.5 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder engine with 115 PS and 144 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm. Torque goes to the front wheels through an Intelligent Variable Transmission (IVT, Hyundai’s term for CVT) with steering paddles. There are four selectable drive modes at the driver’s disposal – Eco, Normal, Sport and Smart. 0-100 km/h is done in 12 seconds and top speed is 170 km/h.

There’s just a single spec called Plus, and it comes with goodies such as a 10.25-inch digital instrument panel; an 8.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with wireless Android Auto/Apple CarPlay and voice recognition; single-zone auto air-con with rear vents; keyless entry and push start; and an electronic parking brake with auto hold.

Safety wise, the Creta comes with six airbags and Hyundai’s SmartSense suite of active safety features. The pack includes Forward and Blind Spot Collision-Avoidance Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, Lane Following Assist, Leading Vehicle Departure Alert, Rear Cross Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist, Safe Exit Warning and High Beam Assist. This SUV has five stars in the ASEAN NCAP crash test. There are also two Isofix child seat mounts.

Once again, the 2023 Hyundai Creta is priced at RM149,888, and HSDM is including a free extended warranty package of five years or 300,000 km, as well as three years/50,000 km free service for the first 150 buyers. Colours options include Galaxy Blue Pearl, Titan Grey Metallic, Midnight Black Pearl, Creamy White Pearl and the signature Dragon Red Pearl you see here. What do you think of the Creta’s looks and package?

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• davenport on Apr 28, 2023 at 10:41 am

Will follow the footsteps of the Kona.

In fact, will probably fail even harder than Kona.

Even CHR which carries the Toyota badge was a hard sell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Polla on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:49 pm

with AFTA, pricing shud be rm80k only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • dong gor on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:17 pm

I don’t like the price, but I admire the courage of Hyundai sales/ marketing team to price it like this in Malaysia. and the feeling shoot up even more when i see the ‘louya’ interior … hats off to you Hyundai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Unimaginable Insanity on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:54 pm

150K can buy you a base Ativa ,King Myvi n base Axia.
      All brand new.
      One for u,wife and college anak.
      Make your covidian dollar count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • who in their right mind would buy this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
    • Sime Darby’s sub con.

• King of the road : The Myvi on Apr 28, 2023 at 2:59 pm

U kidding,Sime Darby? 150 grand for 115Ps of horsepower?
      I can use my 1.5 Myvi ,go car spa,modify sikit ..beat this overpriced SUV flat.
      Any price above 100K is just pure FANTASY for this small suv.
      Anyway,since it is not EV…it will mainly be at showrooms as demo car.U can bet,one can count more houseflies than walk in buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • konspilasi on Apr 28, 2023 at 8:42 pm

150k with a TURBO engine, might consider it…

mcm HSDM purposely offering ridiculous price to POTEK P1, P2 & to relli make profit frm “thrifty” buyers

• kon-spi-la-si on Apr 28, 2023 at 8:49 pm

150k with a TURBO engine, might consider it…

it seems HSDM on purpose offer such ridiculous price to POTEK P1 & P2 while making good profit from thrifty” buyers…

• Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:32 am

those who desire individuality, who wish to stand out and break free from the norm

• Ajibkor madani on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:53 pm

Hyundai Creta….add Ex to Creta…u get “excreta” oh my ..Hyundai…chose lah another more acceptable name,mah.

• Eddie65 on Apr 28, 2023 at 10:47 am

How much will Tucson cost when it launches here?
    200k??
    Another failed Hyundai model because of pricing in Malaysia. It should be priced at the HRV range.
    No second hand value pulak.
    How do they come up with these prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • tkling on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:26 pm

should be priced slightly lower than HRV or little bit more than Proton X50, otherwise sure can’t sale….

• Boy Racer on Apr 28, 2023 at 10:49 am

Definitely breaking free from the norm with this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • wahaha on Apr 28, 2023 at 10:52 am

oh dear……what rubbish..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Tonghoi on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:06 am

Priceless

• Who are they kidding with this pricing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Bob Mal on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:08 am

WOW just WOW at the ridiculous pricing plus it is imported from Indonesia unlike the Elantra or Sonata etc. all the way from Korea and even those gets you a bigger size engine.

I seriously wonder how they come up with the pricing or they assume Malaysian are so rich since previous article mentioning “Creta sells for between 291.3 and 408.3 million rupiah (about RM86k and RM120k) in Indonesia, while in Thailand it is listed from 949k to 999k baht (about RM122k to RM129k)”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:24 am

Very forceful launch. Likely under pressure by Hyundai Korea.

• I guess being a CBU import is jacking up prices but I just cannot see how this is expected to sell when the segment default, the HR-V basically trumps this in every objective criteria in both price and value. Sounds like the Kia Seltos all over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Yeahsure on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:15 am

Godness me that price and that engine choice!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • The driver on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:23 am

Really, where did they get that name? From the Malay word ‘kereta’? Or an abbreviation of ex-creta? Think they need to try harder to get a catchy name

• Idaho on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:52 am

Sometimes i wonder how they hired these hyundai sime darby management team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Might as well dont launch if doesnt make sense with the price..But what do i know about business i guess

• Dunno how many Miracle that CRETA can create ?

Let say sell 1 car = 1 Miracle ……..

Consumer not stupid , they will choose same segment among of this.

CRETA pricing how to amaze X50, HRV , CHR, CX30 ?? DOUBT if some 1 buy this.

Marketing strategy team really no study market, can fire them all already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • ROTI CANAI on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:12 pm

sime darby mabuk gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Billie Dharmajaya on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:01 pm

well if u see the hyundai creta price maybe seems to be very shock a same thing here in indonesia when we see the price for kia sportage and citroen c5 aircross both are c segment suv but their price almost as premium as mercedes benz glc here so that was the pricing strategy call different country different pricing and also different units sold in every country

• crazy price
    i hope this wont give this crazy idea to toyota n honda to jackup the all new innova & crv price to rm200k

• Mr Fakta on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:24 pm

It’s a 3 letters car…DOA

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:36 pm

Buy toyota cross gr better.

• ThePolygon on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:37 pm

They are not serious in selling this thing.

• msia driver on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Good luck rm150k lulz..I rather buy current CRV…

• Dogbert on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:19 pm

Or even CX5. How can it be priced above Kona with 2 liter engine?

• Proton oh Proton on Apr 28, 2023 at 12:56 pm

Hyundai – Time to exit Malaysia.

• SALang on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Dead on arrival. Good luck..

• Bieight8 on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:13 pm

Might be rarer than a lamborghini…

• Vedder on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:28 pm

Which psychopath would buy this?

• Curious on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:47 pm

Maybe sime Darby shld consider selling it at harga Mardani for those interested in tis car.

• kckfen on Apr 28, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Chery Omado 5 will eat this for breakfast….. RIP Hyundai in Malaysia…

• tricycle on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Too expensive, too slow and too boring. Turbo at least Hayundei.

• tayar man on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:10 pm

“there’s a full-sized steel spare wheel under the boot floor.”
    That’s completely obsolent. The new Vios has a tyre repair kit instead.

• lengzai on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:10 pm

what a complete nonsense pricing. maybe only their dealer will drive… haha

• klguy on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:28 pm

looks like something from Ssang Yong in the 90s….

• Orang Korea on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:34 pm

As I am a Korean staying in Malaysia, I’d rather go for Proton X50/X70 or Honda HRV rather than a manufacturer from my home country, since pricing Ativa size car like this. What a shameful pricing. Even Pelisade which is popular SUV in Korea is almost double price in Malaysia than South Korea.

• King of the road : The Myvi on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:47 pm

Mr.Low Yuan Lung of Hyundai Sime Darby ..hello…take note what Mr.Kimchi is saying.
      Seems the pricing has been “Rolls Royce” upmarket pricing for a biasa je underpower NA 1.5 suv.

• mmm.. on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:01 am

Car price is mainly affected by Gov policy & low. And also volume, market, competitors, tax and so many. In Korea, government doesn’t approve car price. But here it is. This is suitable for growing and protacting own car maker in the past. (But actually in the consequnce, it disturbed to reach world standard quility).

So Sime-Darby could sell it around HR-V price, but can’t sell it with Ativa price. Because goverment never approve that price.

If one comapny increase some segment car price. Then other follow increase that segment cars. The car price is high standardized. Then the government wouldn’t approve the price below after that. This is win-win for companies and goverment.

So without free competition for car price, you can’t buy Huydai and Kia cars in Proton’s and Perodua’s. And you must know that these 2Ps are not national car manufacturers.

• Orang Korea on May 06, 2023 at 11:12 am

If this Creta is manufactured and sold in Korea, I might understand the price but this is made in Indonesia which is one of Asean country and not even sold in Korea.

• Gary B on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:43 pm

160k ! that’s a smart move Hyundai to push sales to Honda… Well done Hyundai, I hardly see one newly register Hyundai nowadays Why?

• alldisc on Apr 28, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Honda. The Power of Dream.

Hyundai. The Power of Sime Darby.

• Better buy subaru XV GT edition….. Better at everywhere compared to creta which ever way you look at it…

• what the on Apr 28, 2023 at 4:16 pm

What kind of price is this? It makes 0 sense

• King of the road : The Myvi on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:49 pm

After 5 years…resale value 20-30 grand.Thats the stark reality.

• Jon G on Apr 28, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Omg! Sooo ugly, tak da power, blardy expensive pulak… How to sell and who wants to buy lah

• Phuddi sung lee on Apr 28, 2023 at 4:53 pm

Guaranteed fail

• good choice creta owner on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Let’s walk up to creta owner if you see any on the road, just greet them, “nice ride, good choice sir”

*secretly laughing inside hahaha

but seriously, why this price tho? this should be priced around ativa price,given the spec.

• Jason on Apr 28, 2023 at 6:28 pm

That price I will rather get the Corolla cross hybrid. More valuable if want to sell

• VW golf R line: Bro, you are not alone…come join me syiok sendiri launch & then exit showroom in less than a year!

• max matteo on May 04, 2023 at 8:42 pm

btw why does vw golf discontinue ckd in malaysia i thought many young rich people will spend their cash for the golf

• Cx-30 looks so cheap now…lol…what Sime Darby is smoking?

• dead arrival unit on Apr 28, 2023 at 7:17 pm

When people hope stargazer or verna[aka] old accent to come malaysia with competitive price, but now this funny price…
    Just wait Xpander facelift arrive and go that one better.
    Those higher management don’t know what rakyat want.

• HAHAHAHAHAHA

• Matt Carrick on Apr 28, 2023 at 7:51 pm

Hahaha jilake punya harga

• Perodua Quality is Top Rank on Apr 28, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Dude, with that price you can get 2 Activas, one for you and another for your wife. Screw SimeD for being unreasonable with the K-brand pricing. I am driving X-Trail so my advice is neutral.

• Many still don’t understand the difference between CKD and CBU and why the price. Too bad they are not making it CKD. How I wish the 2024 Kona can be a CKD model here selling with competitive price. With the design and the quality of Korean car, it should sell well again.

• davenport on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:50 am

First of all, buyers look at the final price tag. If you’re gonna launch it here at this price because it is CBU then why bother to launch here at all?

Secondly, this is CBU INDONESIA, not Korea. This is almost same price as a Mazda3 2.0 that is CBU from JAPAN.

No matter how one spins it, SD still can’t justify the price.

• Well, not sure what is the strategy for SD but it’s consumer choice father all and regardless Indonesia, Korea, Japan, Thailand it’s still CBU and whatever taxes applies.

• Hahahaa..hardly see any new hyundai on the road lately.this one however,will never be seen at all…

• max matteo on May 04, 2023 at 8:46 pm

hardly to see the creta in malaysia and hardly to see volkswagen t cross in indonesia just because of the crazy price of that cars here in the country

• Enoch "Nucky" Thompson on Apr 28, 2023 at 10:42 pm

This is why GLCs must not sell cars, because not that they can’t compete, but they simply don’t compete.

• Too expensive for a none national brand. Should match honda hrv pricing. Should be better pricing strategy and make use of AFTA incentives.

• Wahaha on Apr 29, 2023 at 4:20 am

Upon further inspection at Hyundai cars. Might as well get the Kona.

• Gary Bat on Apr 29, 2023 at 9:21 am

New CRV which is larger and more powerful, starting rm160k, coming in Q3 this year. Whoever pened the hire purchase agreement on this joke, sure will regret for the rest of their life.

• Creta Lembu on Apr 30, 2023 at 12:18 am

Superbly ugly design inside and out. Does not look like a Hyundai at all. Plus the lousy powertrain choice with 150k price tag whoever came up with this idea and those who approved it should be banned from automotive industry.

• Outalingam Crap on Apr 30, 2023 at 1:07 pm

Dunia MarChowHigh specs for DewCow LandChart HIGH PRICE? PODAHPUNDAH lah!

• @Snakebabu on May 03, 2023 at 11:04 pm

Very disappointing product

• Chris on May 04, 2023 at 11:19 am

They really think Malaysian are water fishes.. how is that specs even passed through for this kind of pricing?

• An overpriced SUV due to 75% excise duty. Engine lacks power. At 150K, i would rather buy BYD atto 3 anytime as EV cars are exempted from duty in malaysia. You pay for the true value of the car

• abcdef on Jun 06, 2023 at 5:59 pm

power – HRV turbo
    luxury – mazda cx-30
    reliable – toyota Corolla Cross
    retarded – hyundai creta

• Hello can I trade in my hyundai grand i10 2021 model for hyundai creta 1.5 2023 model