2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro makes Malaysian debut – 7-seater SUV, 2.0T with 250 hp/390 Nm, June launch

As reported, Chery is making its public debut at the Malaysia Autoshow 2023 event this week. Held at MAEPS Serdang, the show is open to the public from May 4-7. We’re here at the press day today and the returning brand has two cars on display – the Omoda 5 and the Tiggo 8 Pro. The SUV duo is kickstarting the brand’s return to Malaysia, and will be launching in June/July.

UPDATE: The Chery Tiggo 8 Pro has been launched in Malaysia, priced at RM160k.

We’ve already detailed the Omoda 5 B-segment SUV, so here’s the Tiggo 8 Pro in right-hand drive form, as per the CKD locally assembled final customer version. As revealed earlier, we’re getting the latest improved version of the model, which is badged Tiggo 8 Pro Max in China, although the ‘Max’ suffix is dropped for Malaysia to simplify things.

This is essentially the same car as the one we previewed in Wuhu, Chery’s hometown, last month, but in RHD form. Under the hood is a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 250 hp and 390 Nm of torque. Power from the GDI engine goes to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and there are three drive modes – Eco, Normal and Sport.

This car differs from the Tiggo 8 Pro that was previewed in Malaysia last year. The SUV gets an updated look that features a new “galaxy” grille and the rear end sports a full-width LED bar and fancy T-shaped third brake lights. The wheels are now 19-inch items, an inch up.

It’s nicer outside now, but it’s inside that the Tiggo 8 Pro Max shines. The big SUV gets a contemporary and horizontal dash design featuring must-haves such as co-joined screens (24.6 inches in total, Chery says), inline AC vents and a high centre console. It’s all much neater now, and there are places where you’ll find Mercedes-esque details – think switches, open-pore wood trim and Burmester-styled speaker grilles.

The steering wheel is also new, with Chery spelled out instead of the logo. Speaking of logos, there are Tiggo emblems on the side of the central screen and the rear AC vent area. Kit wise, the airbag count maxes out at nine now, and there are a total of eight Sony speakers.

As for the rest of the kit, the list includes an electronic parking brake with auto hold, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, welcome lights and multi-colour ambient lighting, electric front seats with ventilation/heating, driver’s seat memory, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, powered tailgate, electronic panoramic sunroof, wireless phone charger and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility.

That very long list of kit is bolstered by a full ADAS suite that includes functions such as lane departure warning/keeping, blind spot detection, door open warning, rear cross traffic alert, adaptive cruise control, and front collision warning and auto braking (AEB). By the way, the camera system isn’t advertised as 360 degrees but 540. Before you scratch your head, the extra degrees are contributed by the underfloor camera.

So, how much would you pay for a handsome seven-seater SUV (check out the outdoor shots below) with such an extensive kit list? Expect to shell out around RM160k, with the final RRP to be announced at the official launch in June/July. What do you think of this Chery, in isolation and versus fellow Chinese SUV Proton X90?

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro, Malaysia spec

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro Max, China spec

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• anonymous on May 03, 2023 at 3:19 pm

it’s insane how far chery has come for being a car company that is a lot newer than proton or perodua. while both our national brands rely on rebadging other marques, chery is leaps and bounds ahead with their design and tech. best part of this is that chery is perhaps actually affordable to the general Chinese population whereas in Malaysia we are paying RM50,000 for a damn axia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
    • Pocoyo on May 04, 2023 at 11:28 am

That is all blings and bouje just to show off until then it will break down alot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Sigh... on May 06, 2023 at 7:18 am

What do you expect from such liabilities? To use till judgement day?

Care to elaborate more? If quality you said, you can refer to their index, improve by thousand miles.

• thats why today you still buying Sony phone?

• tricycle on May 03, 2023 at 3:51 pm

What? No AWD for this big and tall size SUV?

Everything else is perfect, except no AWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Cubey on May 06, 2023 at 7:14 pm

The one shown in Wuhu, China got AWD wor

• Outalingam Crap on May 07, 2023 at 10:51 am

BIG and TALL? What’s this car compared to the more superior space than the HIGHLY-favored Toyota Innova Zenix )2850mm wheelbase) or even Proton X90? The Tiggo 8 Pro is FAR MORE WORTH being a SUPERWAGON/5=2 carrier which is far less favored by Malaysians in general, and I ain’t gonna apologize at all for this statement

• Slumber on May 08, 2023 at 12:00 pm

I think it can support Apple Carplay and Android Auto is a big deciding factor for a lot of buyers to pick this over X90. Just my opinion.

• Bob Mal on May 03, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Wow and that 2.0L TGDi Chery engine managed to churns out 250hp & 390Nm which itself is higher than VW-GTI of 245hp & 370Nm and sold for RM250k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Conti Power on May 07, 2023 at 10:28 pm

We all know VW is lying as the mk8 GTi is known to churn out ~250hp,400nm in stock tune ON WHEEL than what is claimed on paper. BMW does that too.

• Bieight8 on May 03, 2023 at 5:34 pm

Poorly done rhd conversion…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • Pemodalan on May 03, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Looks very similar with the coming zenix on the outside. On paper looks specs looks good. On the road I’m not sure. Hardly read any comment from user of chery car.

• From many car youtuber in Indonesia it looks good. You can try to search in youtube

• Take my money if below 200k

• Kalau ikut specs yang ditawarkan mmg berbaloi berbanding X90, kalau la harga just beza 10k, better lagi yg ni dengan kuasa yg mantap 250hp, sony speaker, with apple carplay dan android auto, build quality die nampak mengagumkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Right? on May 06, 2023 at 7:21 am

Yup, setuju tuan. Specs dia mantap plus jika kualiti dia on par atau lebih tu merupakan nilai tambah (value added) pd kereta ini.

• Pudinga on May 04, 2023 at 7:33 am

Looks way better than the x90

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on May 04, 2023 at 10:27 am

If I, I choose Chery Tiggo 8 than Proton X90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • The tyres are thin, they should come with a slightly bigger tyres

• Cubey on May 06, 2023 at 7:11 pm

Are we getting the AWD version that shown in Wuhu, China or the fwd version?

• Outalingam Crap on May 07, 2023 at 10:53 am

Haihhhh – this car surely NOT KIASU ENOUGH to be the KING because of its internal space and dimensions in the first place :P :P Even our Alza/Veloz 3rd row passenger space TRUMPS and CHOMPS this BIG TIGGO anytime lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6