2023 Toyota Vios Malaysian review, priced from RM90k

The fourth-generation Toyota Vios was launched in Malaysia in March this year, and here’s our video review of the redesigned B-segment sedan – you can find our written review here. This is the range-topping G variant of the Vios that is priced at RM95,500 on-the-road without insurance, which is one of just two options offered, with the other being the E at RM89,600.

Built on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, the all-new Vios is larger than its predecessor at 4,425 mm long (+5 mm), 1,740 mm (+10 mm) wide, 1,480 mm tall (+5 mm) and with a wheelbase of 2,620 mm (+70 mm).

Power comes from a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 106 PS (104 hp) at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, with drive sent to the front wheels via a CVT.

In the video, Hafriz Shah takes you on a tour of the Vios’ exterior design, pointing out the bits he deems attractive and some that are debatable. The interior also sees several improvements like a nine-inch Display Audio touchscreen head unit that supports wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay as well as nicer materials in most areas. Of course, there are some downsides pointed out, including the headroom available to rear passengers and the lack of a folding rear bench.

To find out more about the Vios, watch the whole video review and check out our comprehensive launch report that details what each variant gets. Would you choose the Vios over its closest rival, the Honda City? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lambchop on May 09, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Waiting Mitsubishi Attrage to catch up.
    If Proton rebadge, can be cheaper

Like Inspira is cheaper than Lancer
    Perdana cheaper than Civic and Accord

• You’re better off buying other car than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Celup King on May 10, 2023 at 12:28 am

Sales so bad still wanna up price, Toyota dunno the word “die” is it? Want customers upcar then only they wakeup ka?

• Curious on May 09, 2023 at 5:02 pm

Comparison to Myvi will be very informative. What are consumer paying extra for other than the T badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • nene besar on May 09, 2023 at 5:10 pm

those who cant afford toyota but die die want toyota, this is the car for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on May 09, 2023 at 5:22 pm

a not safe car and buy at your own risk.

• Ben Yap on May 09, 2023 at 5:28 pm

VIOS = Very Inferior Overall Safety.

• Review what ler. Before this, they already have ready stock. Now with test rigging, You will see discount very soon.

• Sharing multiple part included low grade DCVT with Perodua but paid with T Pricing. Luckily I
    cancelled the booking otherwise ppl look us like carrot kenal potong.

• Ajibkor Madani on May 09, 2023 at 8:37 pm

To those HP buyers,the top specs Vios will cost u close to Rm110K( factoring interest) after a 10% down payment for a 9 year loan.
    So do your research.
    It is a 120 grand car.
    Is it value for money? Or u just want nothing else but a Toyota?
    Can u take a Proton sedan like the Persona?The price gap is 30-35K,if u need to spend on other big items like rent or house purchase.
    15% of fresh bankrupts are due to car loans and personal loans.So dont buy semi blind just because u qualify now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Sate Dapor on May 11, 2023 at 10:42 am

a lot of people take the MAX hire purchase they can qualify. FOR A CAR. bodoh. CARS are depreciating liabilities. wake up, malaysians.

• Lavourn a/l Marima on May 10, 2023 at 5:10 am

This latest red colour 2023 Toyota Vios looks like a car that just came out of the replica workshop somewhere in Thailand to me. Fugly body design just like Honda City. The front grill, the whole frontal part infact looks cheap. In Malaysia, the steering wheel, the door knob.for example, why very similar to Perodua Myvi? Rear seat cannot be folded and not spare tyre..seriously? For that price, I rather buy Nissan Almera Turbo!

• Toyodran on May 10, 2023 at 8:27 am

Design well build but the pricing not that friendly consider same set of engine parts as the much cheaper perodua.
    Vios E spec around rm90k must well take the more worthy city v, psst..now got very “big discount”.

• @NotBruceWayne on May 10, 2023 at 8:46 am

Better (value) option > Next Bezza, which will be sharing the same platform. I bet it;ll look awesome than the current ongoing model.

• DNGA Don’t Need Geely Anymore did not heard anymore kan

• Perodua steering wheel and carkey?