Proton X90 maintenance costs vs X70, Honda CR-V – is the mild hybrid SUV more expensive to service?

Launched in May this year, the Proton X90 is the national carmaker’s new three-row SUV that is powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder GDI engine, with the latter being similar to the X50 Flagship as well as newer X70 models. However, the X90 differs from those SUVs as it also comes with a 48-volt mild hybrid system, which is a first for the national brand.

Components that are part of the mild hybrid system include a belt-starter generator (BSG), DC-DC converter, lithium-ion battery, battery management system, brake recuperation system and hybrid module control system. Altogether, the setup pushes out 190 PS and 300 Nm of torque, while also providing better claimed acceleration and lower CO2 emissions.

With the mild hybrid system, how does the X90 compare to the X70 in terms of maintenance cost over five years or 100,000 km? Well, that’s what we’re going to find out in this post as we list out the maintenance schedules for both SUVs. This comparison also includes the X70’s direct competitor, the Honda CR-V, and all details are lifted directly from the official websites of the car brands.

Based on the figures, the X90 is more costly to maintain over five years when compared to the X70, with the difference being about RM351.97. Looking at the itemised lists, both Proton SUVs are very similar in terms of how frequent service items are carried out.

For instance, the X90 and X70 require air, fuel and cabin filter changes every 20,000 km, while the spark plugs and brake fluid are replaced every 40,000 km. Additionally, engine coolant service is performed at 60,000 km and the dual-clutch transmission oil is changed at 90,000 km. Going beyond 100,000 km, a timing belt change (RM195.16 for the part) is performed at 120,000 km on both SUVs as well.

However, you’ll notice that the cost of the filters (except the engine oil filter) for the X90 is higher than the X70, and the larger SUV has windscreen cleaner listed as a service item. The X90’s BSG drive belt also needs to be replaced at 100,000 km at a cost of RM141.10, which isn’t required for the non-mild hybrid X70.

Proton X90 maintenance schedule (top), X70 (bottom); click to enlarge

What about the CR-V then? Honda’s maintenance schedule for its C-segment SUV is different as it mentions that engine oil changes (RM139.56 each time) are carried out depending on an interval of not over six months or referring to the engine oil monitoring indicator. This is also true of the engine oil filter (RM34.68 each time), although the interval for this is longer at 12 months.

If we apply those intervals, the CR-V is cheaper to maintain than the X90 and X70 by at least RM1,300. That seems like a huge margin, but labour charges for the oil changes aren’t factored into the official maintenance schedule, and it’s mentioned in the small print that prices listed are inclusive of a 15% discount. So while the difference may appear rather large on paper, realistically it will be far smaller.

Furthermore, while the CR-V requires less air and cabin filter changes over 100,000 km, there are certain big-ticket service items not mentioned like the fuel filter (RM411.30 at 180,000 km) and engine coolant (RM219.96 at 200,000 km) that done at a much later. The cost to replace spark plugs and CVT fluid for the CR-V is also higher in total compared to the Proton SUVs.

Honda CR-V maintenance schedule; click to enlarge

Of course, there’s more to running costs besides scheduled service visits, as consumables such as brakes and tyres are dependent on how the car is used. Wheel sizes for the X90 range from 18 to 19 inches, while it is between is between 17 and 19 inches for the X70 and 17 to 18 inches for the CR-V – typically larger wheels need larger tyres that cost more. Specific to the X90 is a 48-volt lithium-ion battery that is part of the mild hybrid system, which isn’t listed as a serviceable item in its official schedule. The second battery is covered by a five-year warranty and is said to be “maintenance-free and lasts the lifetime of the vehicle.”

The three SUVs mentioned here have the same engine capacity of 1.5 litres, so road tax is identical, but motor insurance differs based on the insured amount, insurance provider and chosen add-ons (flood coverage, windscreen coverage, etc.).

When split across five years, the X90 costs about RM70 more per year to service compared to the X70. At the price the X90 starts from – RM123,800 on-the-road without insurance – that extra amount paid yearly for maintenance wouldn’t be that much of a concern for car buyers with the means and are considering Proton’s first three-row SUV with a mild hybrid system.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This is a fine example of “Menang membeli, alah memakai”.
    You haven’t factor in battery died in just 3 months of usage to it. The lost of use, time wasted waiting for tow truck, battery needs to be charge bc SC refuse to replace a new one and more importantly the anxiety and embarrassment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 42
    • Why So Serious on May 31, 2023 at 7:46 am

Battery died within 3 months can claim warranty lah beb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • It used to be claimable easily. Now too many cases. Actually it’s not the fault of the battery. It just that the cars are drawing too much power for whatever reasons. The whole thing is causing inconvenient to customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Wow! This means that Proton is more premium than Honda CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Why So Serious on May 31, 2023 at 7:47 am

Have to factor in that CRV is priced RM 16,000 over the X90 so overall cost CRV is still premium but inside is a cheaper built car.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on May 30, 2023 at 1:27 pm

problem is not the costs, problem is the aftersales quality and lack of any spare parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 39
    • This is absolute true as I am the ex owner of X70. After so many frustration of x70 spare parts availibility, I decided to sell off this stupid car after 2 1/2 years use. Better get rid of your X70 before the gear box problem comes in !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 34
      • seancorr on May 30, 2023 at 9:10 pm

Sold mine too. Peace of mind now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Ajibkor Madani on May 30, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Sir,u didnt read my comments on P1.I have posted countless warnings on P1 cars..spare parts n QC issues.
        Anyway,not too late.I guess u bought a Japanese marque as replacement.

• YB Kinte Kunta on May 30, 2023 at 9:30 pm

I just fixed a state of the art audio system in my SUV.
      Being a neutral party,I asked my car accessory dealer ,any feedbacks from his X70 customers.
      He said..stay far far away from P1 SUVs.All his customers have complaints on spare parts issue n QC of the China derived SUVs.
      He is not badmouthing P1.He is just echoing the feedbacks from his audio freaks who regret buying x70.
      When SA needs your downpayment,he becomes the top sales person u ever met.Once the SUV is in your garage..u wish u never been to the P1 showroom that fateful day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • Sure or not Honda service RM200++ only. They use what…. mineral oil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Ben Yap on May 30, 2023 at 2:18 pm

Honda 1.5 turbo engine oil change has catch there. even though Honda claims that 10,000km service or 6 months which ever comes first, in actual fact the engine service indicator will appear once it reaches about 5,000km (depending on the way you drive). There is a high possibility that the car will need to send back to honda for service every 5,000km or 3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Yup you are right, on paper honda seems cheap but actual servicing in SC totally different and 3 months reminder will pop out and ask you send for serviving

• todak on May 30, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Based on these calculations, the total maintenance cost after 5 years for each of the 2 models of a local national brand is higher than that for a model from a foreign non-national brand. Isn’t there suppose to be an advantage for the local buyer when buying the national brand model?

• Nasrool Md on May 30, 2023 at 3:01 pm

My x70 with a broken rear lamp. Ordered 5 months ago, and still waiting today. Proton is no longer a “local” car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Ex Proton Fanboi on May 30, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Just order spare parts from Shopee. Faster and reliable than Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • You may consider lucky if you get your parts. You look at accident X70 cars, waiting for 6 months still no parts arrive !!!!

• Gaido timing chain on May 30, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Most of the proton sc will urge u to change timing belt when 80,000km else putus tengah jalan kang few thousands to repair. Saga with labour rm650++, how about this 2023’s x90? really RM195.16? the plastic belt only?

• Kimchi on May 30, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Buy any car that uses a timing chain. Even after 300,000 km, the vehicle is still going strong without the need for any part changes. I spoke based on my experience.

• garaja on May 30, 2023 at 4:22 pm

The timing chain can last as long as the engine’s life as long as the oil change schedule is being followed as closely as possible.

• Beater Car on May 30, 2023 at 3:57 pm

Where tf you got RM650++? My persona timing belt change RM400++ only

• bizikot on May 31, 2023 at 9:08 am

I was told that during the timing belt replacement for the Campro engine, it is also recommended to replace the timing belt tensioner pulley, the oil seals for the crankshaft and both intake & exhaust camshaft timing belt pulleys, the water pump, and the fan/auxiliary belt that drives the alternator, water pump, power steering pump & aircon compressor. Part of the water pump housing is located behind the timing belt & thus might as well replace the water pump while the old timing belt is being removed. Therefore, the car owner may have the option replace all the recommended items at one go for better overall preventive measures, or just replace the timing belt & the related parts, and this can make the cost vary.

• David on May 30, 2023 at 3:23 pm

Buying proton is a very affordable choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • DonkeyKong on May 30, 2023 at 3:30 pm

Once you’ve tasted Proton’s amazing aftersales performance, even at the CoSE (supposed to be Centers of Excellence??), you will regret buying a Proton and that will be your last Proton ever. Under chingchong ownership it has just accelerated downhill, as if it wasn’t bad enough previously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
  • why a review of the cost of Proton X90 so soon after its launch ? could it be due to flagging sales ? a big vehicle with a puny 15 litre engine ? I can imagine poor fuel consumption ….prove me wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Yeahsure on May 30, 2023 at 6:32 pm

Theres always that guy on PT with a comment so freaking stupid it surely kills brain cells… You my friend, are the one…

• Halim on May 30, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Honda CR-V MAINTENANCE OLD COST 2022 , SHOW NEW MAINTENANCE COST 2023

• Paul Tan, you forget to add in the common problem on X70. The main problem is proton SC technical knowledge failure and the spare parts availibility on proton X70 even for a common parts takes more than 2 months waiting period. Proton HQ wont keep any stock proton x70 spare parts unless order from SC. Go and ask the owners of X70 !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Yee Sun on May 30, 2023 at 4:07 pm

spare parts already waited for 5 months still cant get. I wonder if I bought a Mazda sparepart also already arrived earlier! How can a LOCAL car have this problem? answer, because its not a local car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • sama sahaja on May 31, 2023 at 4:00 pm

my x70 also same. got hit by a motor many months ago. Still waiting spare part from Proton. take more longer than buying continental car.

• I was the owner of H (not CRV) and also was the owner of P (not X70) and I can say that H is seriouslyyyyyy not cheap compared to P. I prefer T or P over H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • KTKOH on May 30, 2023 at 5:19 pm

Why dont compare with BYD service?

• Nazlan on May 30, 2023 at 5:26 pm

Pls show the real color of honda’s servicing charges. Why comparing D segment with C segment? Compare X90 with mazda CX8, Kia Sorento, etc. Compare by price range won’t show the truth about servicing cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • X90 is the best on May 30, 2023 at 8:31 pm

Hello, X90 is the rebadged Proton Jiaji that selling cheaper then Geely Boyue (X70) in China! D segment suv? This is just a mpv budget platform la bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Itek Mengelembu on May 30, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Semua kena scam, yang rugi rakyat. No thank you DrM

• Owner of CR-V 1.5T 2WD on May 30, 2023 at 6:21 pm

Are you sure Honda CR-V maintenance is that low. I am paying RM800+ for every 6 month service. They recommend fuel injector cleaner, aircond cleaning, etc on top of what is mandatory. In my 2 year ownership, I have paid more than 2500+ , not that cheap though.

• all car brand owner on Jun 01, 2023 at 10:09 am

thats because u r stupid
      all SC brand H, P, T etc will try upsell with unnecessary service
      shud have use some brain and stick with mandatory only

• You kena tipu from the honda service centre.A lot of unnessary like fuel injector cleaner, air con cleaning, are others are not considered sop in the car service. You just have to tell the SC, you need a normal standard service as according to the service box. This usually happen in most of the honda service centre whereby those service advisor get extra commission from these extra unneeded parts. So usually when I go to service my honda car, I told them dont add any extra on my service.

• Bing Bong on May 30, 2023 at 10:26 pm

Of course the maintenance fees will be higher. Thanks to Proton’s bing bong engine. After five years, X90 users need to change status from M40 to b40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • I tought the batt warranty is under 3years warranty coverage which is the same as warranty for engine n tranny.

• Afrojoe on May 31, 2023 at 7:39 am

Hahah to much disinformation on the comments section

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Reading tgrough the commemts from x70 owners.. Looks like proton is employing a lot of keyboard warriors to dislike/thumbs down on the negative comments on their product

• Paul Tan, you miss you a very important compare issue. Did you compare the spare parts availability between proton X70 or X90 against honda cars ? Ezample proton x70 has thousands of cars running on the road but they did not keep any single parts like engine rubber mounting on stock.My x70 has the engine mounting defect but I need to order from SC, waiting time 6 to 8 weeks for 1 pc single mounting. After 2 months part arrive but wrong mounting order by SC. So need to wait for another 6 weeks again !!! What type of proton service is this ?