2010 Acura ZDX production car revealed!

Acura ZDX

Honda has released initial details on the new 2010 Acura ZDX, which is what Honda calls a four-door sports coupe. Honda will be positioning it between the MDX SUV and the RL sedan. The ZDX will be powered by Honda’s 3.7 litre SOHC i-VTEC V6 engine, producing 300 horsepower and 366Nm of torque, mated to a new 6-speed automatic transmission which will hopefully later trickle down the product range into the Accord. The ZDX also features SH-AWD or Super Handling All-Wheel Drive. Only 3 photos of the production car have been released so far, which you will find after the jump along with some videos and a full photo gallery of the concept version of the ZDX which Honda revealed at the New York show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft on Jul 21, 2009 at 2:37 pm

aside from the front grill, i would say that the car looks pretty cool.

cam.shaft

• farhitech on Jul 21, 2009 at 3:19 pm

hmmm .. ZDX ? mcm prnah dgr je . design pun mcm prnah tgok . kat mana ek ?

ada tiru2 dari Lotus ZPX / Proton MSX ke ? Sayang … Lotus n Proton tak nak bangunkan model tu , kan ?

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 21, 2009 at 3:43 pm

I would hate to look out through the rear windshield from the driver seat. Must be some camera for backing up. I don't like the current trend of new cars that have really poor rear visibility compared to those from the early 90s.

Honda has been all over the place design wise since the last TL.

Design looks more fitting for a Nissan given they always had more aggresive stying and could have easily passed as a AWD Z SUV/CUV.

• With this cool-looking car, what it missed is a small button …

called "Transformer". XD

Acura not doing that well in Msia, I guess.

• brutus on Jul 21, 2009 at 4:19 pm

are we running out of raw material for metals? why is Honda still producing SOHC for its high end cars??

• another concept turn commercial soon.

• MamilGT3 on Jul 21, 2009 at 4:38 pm

Proton already got the design..Gen.2

• James on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm

why is Honda using V6 sohc? well, Honda has not produce any new engine for years. Another words, they're not putting money into RnD anymore.

Honda had already pulled out from F1 racing and they announced that they will not come back.

The president of Honda had already said they don't need V8s or RWD for their future cars…

It is clear that Honda is going in a direction away from Sport cars and racing. Honda is heading in the direction of boring, fuel efficient, cheap cars. Better value for money… end of story. The heroic days of racing from Honda are extinct!

• well…. pretty

• lowprofile on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:11 pm

beautiful!

• droll on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:20 pm

whoa vthis is what a sports coupe should look like! looks way better than the 5 series gt and panamera.

• Mr Mat on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:31 pm

The look remind me of Lotus APX…

• hardrisk on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:35 pm

i'm 2nd

• Day deSIANG on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:40 pm

The grill!!!! It should at least replace with the new honda legend grill!!! and they can give it a sportier front bumper

• looking at the grille design…definitely only for the US market :D

looks ugly

• bmpower on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:07 pm

at least exora design are the leader..

see that front bumper curve?

isn't that exora bumper shape?

hahaha

• Aminbotak on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:16 pm

head to head… caldina..

• bobdbilder on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

I'm normally not in the comparison thing but this one is too compelling. Here goes; Looks amazingly like Lotus' APX Concept. Especially the front and the sportback.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Uh… I love this beef up Junk2! Is Junk2 design a trend now? BMW, Honda, etc are following the design cues indirectly.

• msian on Jul 21, 2009 at 7:13 pm

looks strikingly similar to proton/lotus apx

• NuruL on Jul 21, 2009 at 7:18 pm

the car is gorgeous.when it enters our market?or is it just a concept car?

• solarcar on Jul 21, 2009 at 7:36 pm

the design looks cheap and outdated to me and the name ZDX is difficult to pronounce. first look i thought can rival the nissan fairlady but not really.

• acerman (Member) on Jul 21, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Why does this design reminds me of the LOTUS APX concept SUV?

• nightReader on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Wah..

Yeah..agree with cam.shaft.

If the grill like New Honda City..it very handsome car! (^_^)

• Khalid on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm

APALAH KERETA HONDA NI, MAKIN LAMA DESIGN NYA MAKIN TEROK

DAH HILANG MODAL KE NAK BUAT DESIGN YANG MENGANCAM SIKIT ?

• Khalid on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:43 pm

SO BAD LOOKING BY HONDA MANUF..

• amouse on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:55 pm

somehow i just dont like the grill.. i dont know why, you may call me old man but all this flying grill just not my cup of tea. the rest are AWESOME!

• lalala on Jul 21, 2009 at 10:08 pm

I think i saw this one before…… that Proton prototype Murano-like SUV that was showcase in UK or where,cant recall. Anyone can provide the link back?

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 21, 2009 at 10:45 pm

The badge should read "ACURA Design"_'inspired by PROTON' in small print just like 'Handling by Lotus' on proton's car.

• Chris Chong on Jul 21, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Don't see what's the problem with using SOHC ~ as long as it produces the desired level of performance, it doesn't matter what technology you use in an engine.

If – by good design – a Honda's SOHC engines are able to match the power output of a DOHC engine but with fewer parts (hence, reduced costs) then everybody benefits.

I think the ZDX is ugly. It seems like a market-driven design more than anything else ("Ooh… let's make something that looks like an X6").

The sloping rear roof robs the car of boot space and rear headroom. Plus (as others have mentioned), it gives the car horrible rearward visibility.

I'm also wondering, why did they cancel the new NSX project but kept this one?

• DjVaniLLa on Jul 21, 2009 at 11:57 pm

i tot a Lotus APX..but this is larger than;)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 22, 2009 at 2:48 am

Looks like everyone is going to make these kind of cars soon. A trend first started with BMW. Proton should make this as well. Make a bigger Gen2 and replace the current perdana.

• roti naan1 on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:04 am

Proton looks 10X better..hhuhuhu

• bmpower on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:07 am

SOHC somehow is better in fuel consumption. DOHC for more power and hi rev for performance.

NSX is exspensive and small market so they go to bigger market,

since recession… peoples think twice.

* Satria neo's turbine rim?

• bobdbilder on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:23 am

SOHC has better bottom end torque. That's what you need in a bulky SUV. That panoramic roof is glass. Heavier and denser than steel. The centre of gravity would be pretty high up. Plus its top heavy.

Wait for the test drive lah. Korang nak bentuk macam mana lagi? Dah sah Accura ni Honda US memang lah dibuat utk US market. Apekebenda lah…

• enlarged and enhanced version of Gen2

• Kamyongkai on Jul 22, 2009 at 9:33 am

lousy hondas.. blood sucking suckers

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm

Honda being bashed? Here?…WOW!

• Wak Rempit on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:23 pm

ford_ton said,

July 22, 2009 @

Honda being bashed? Here?…WOW!

Read more: http://paultan.org/?p=16007#ixzz0LxlCoySN

Dude, haven't you notice? These days malaysians are becoming more sophisticated in automotive knowledge already. Thanks to Proton, Mr Paul Tan other blog sites they don't look at other cars lightly anymore.

• Gajen on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:02 pm

not bad but looks weird too

• Kambing Laut on Jul 22, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Is it same class with caldina?

very bad..

• Bugatti on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:01 am

how hard can it be for proton to design cars like this???

• William on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:55 am

Just a question? Do you think they will produce a right hand drive model?

And if someone imports this into Malaysia, which service centres would be capable of servicing such a car?

• Ya, the grill totally spoil the look, its ''eyes'' look like ''droopy'' http://images.google.com.my/images?oe=utf-8&r…

And the grill looks like its smiling very unwillingly, so its an ''Unwillingly smiling Droopy'' design.