VIDEO: Porsche Macan 2.0 in-depth walk-around tour

Next on our video walk-around series is the most affordable – though not exactly cheap – Porsche around, the new Macan 2.0. This compact SUV opens up the Porsche brand to a much bigger audience – it being fairly attainable to some, while staying practical enough for everyday/family use.

Just how practical is it, though? Let Gregory Sze walk you through the base Macan’s interior and exterior, pointing out the good and the bad. Your opinion may vary, but up close and personal, it’s hard not to agree that this Audi Q5-based and VW-engined Porsche SUV is more than the sum of its parts.

At RM420,000, the 237 hp/350 Nm Porsche Macan 2.0 tees up against the equally new 245 hp/350 Nm BMW X4 xDrive28i at RM438,800 and the evergreen 237 hp/340 Nm Range Rover Evoque Coupe, which goes for RM419,888. But you’d be mistaken to think that that’s all you’d be paying for a Macan, as you’ll learn in the video above.

Prefer to see static pictures instead? You can check out the accompanying gallery below or a much bigger selection here, which includes photos of a lower-spec Macan, a Macan Diesel S and a Macan S. We also have pics of the range-topping Macan Turbo if you so fancy. Don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel, and thanks for watching!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:34 pm

That’s gonna cost you!

LOL.

Personally, the colour and rim combo on this is a bit off for me, but again, I feel they could have dropped by 20k for the base price. Imagine the possibilities of wiping the compact SUV floor.

• AVH (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Being Porsche, yes, they’ve could easily have… but some specs will be lost and those will appear on the options list costlier.

I’ve never been privilege enough to shop for cars at that kind of price range, nor have a lenghty discussion to those who do but does RM20k really matter that much to potential buyers?

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Well I’ve been lucky to know people who shopped around in this segment of price more than once, pretty much once you pass the 200k aka Toyota Camry level, you either would be looking at one of the following:

sub-250k level (aka VW CC, VW GTI, base 3 series level)
        sub-300k level (aka 3 series level)
        sub-350k level (aka base 5 series/E class level)
        sub-400k level (aka range topping 5 series/E class level – for us)
        from then on, the price bracket is about 100k from what I have seen.

Why is the 350-400k the most sensitive price bracket? Many high level execs shop around in that level. Plus, if I am not mistaken, once you pass that mark, the taxation you get from the IRB or some interesting things along that line (I’m an engineer, I play with science not accounts, so if there are any accountants here, please correct me on this), get higher. And many companies also limit the high exec’s price range to about 400k, which is reasonable as that’s what a 5 series/E class would cost. The thing is, I personally feel, Porsche could have still kept the base spec, what we are seeing here and shaven off the starting price by at least 10-20k. Why? I actually was in contact with Porsche Malaysia as I myself was interested (seriously) in a Macan 2.0T, scouting for a friend. This was WAY before the 2.0T was even launched globally or even unveiled, SDAP actually had pre ordered the 2.0T and had the price list for the options but not the base price. Once we tacked on the options to make it like a Porsche came in nearly about 60-70k. (Well equipped ones came in at about 110k of options, bare empty ones were about 29k of options). Assuming that the base price was 380k, with 60k of options, it would come to about 440k OTR, just about 20k above a comparable Evoque, X4 and likes. At 440k OTR, since a range topper 528i is already 420k OTR, a range topping X4 28i was also about 438k, at that price point, people would not mind the slight extra of 20k over a top of the line E class or 5 series for a Porsche, cause, ITS A PORSCHE!

But then, when you see the price today, 400 + 60k, that makes it 20k more than the X4 28i. And about 60k more than the Evoque. Suddenly the thought of having to spend nearly 40k over an E class for a Macan dwindles a bit. Sure there will be buyers, just that SDAP could have killed the X4 and the Evoque in one go if they priced it a bit lower, cause hey, Porsche > BMW (although in some cases, this may not be true, i.e. some find that the Panamera looks like a beached whale, a GT done wrong, while BMW did the 6 GC so very right).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • sudonano (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:21 pm

***UPDATE***

I have checked and it seems the IRB thing is wrong. My bad.

But there are still a fair number of companies that set the high exec’s allowance to about 400k or so, for corporate buyers.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:52 am

…and I thought the new Evoque price was already sky high but boy does Porsche know how to ‘price’ its models at stratosphere levels…possibly to offset that ‘free’ 4 years free service thingy.

Guess we all gotta work harder then *sigh*

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Oh yes, mind you, the Evoque price increased, but some of the equipment got moved about. No more Oxford leather on the dash and seats (which I tell you, the Germans should learn from the Brits on how to work with leather). But you do gain things like KESSY (about time!) and Park Assist MK2, which is the one that allows you to do a reverse perpendicular park and get out of a parallel or perpendicular park. And the 3 year service, though if you buy during the festive season, you can push to get a 5 year plan instead for free…

Haih, what to do. Guess that’s motivation for working on Monday mornings?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:29 am

Wow, the world of executive car shopping. I probably will never enter that world but that’s no loss to me.

As an aside, I like the Panamera. Seen a couple in person and while it is long for a Porsche, it’s still quite a sight on the road.

• silwn on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:14 pm

AVH,

To answer the question of whether RM20K matters to buyers at the 400k range; it doesn’t. The road tax doesn’t matter either, unless it’s that 5.0L RC-F wherein tax is about RM11.5K a year (I think).

Also, the cost of fuel consumption doesn’t matter either. It is however, fun to know how much one can get and that one is ‘saving gas money’; but really, rm 2k more a year in fuel is less than spare change to this purchasing class.

When shopping around for a car, I have noticed that the more prudent people who buy set the budget a little lower than what they are willing to spend because the prudent amongst them will take into account the cost of running the car. eg. on a 300K luxury sedan, it’s about 50k over 5-8 years.

But let me clarify, I say 20K doesn’t matter- but this applies only to the group that buys a 400K car new, who uses it for 7 years (tax reasons) then sells it; and they buy cash.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:23 am

I see you want your windscreen wipers to wipe faster than intermediate. It’s gonna cost you, though.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:49 pm

It should be made into a song!

I guess Jonathan’s No No No for one of the Driven episodes ( think it was the one with the Camry), and Gregory’s “That’s gonna cost you” will make a pretty good blooper reel. Just like Harve’s dancing in the last Driven blooper reel!

• AVH (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

A real nice walkaround video of an otherwise rather inaccesable car to the large majority of the population. I do like how PaulTan tries to mimick something like CarBuyer.UKs walkaround. Overall its a vthe video does detail the Macan nicely.

Back when I was at Porsche Center Damansara few months back to shoot some pics of an ultra rare and old Porsche race car, parked outside was a silver Macan S, the only Macan than in Malaysia or so I’ve been told. At first, I immedately mistake it for a Cayenne. From the front there is no immediate sense that you’ll be thinking its a Macan, everything looks very similar. Its only when you venture too the back where the diffenece becomes more obvious. The placement of the Number plate holder is on the bumper rather than the bootlid, for those whho spotting cars isn’t really a specialty.

Haven’t sat in the interior, but if its anything like the Cayenne, than its the same usual German fanfare. Good quality in almost everything you touch and switch and buttons tune to ultimate German perfection. The steering design is one of the best I’ve seen, Porsche always makes the nicest steering wheel in the automotive world, and personally, steering wheel design is what automakers should place ultra emphasis on, its what the buyer would be stearing at most of the time; The Lamborghini Aventador for example, great looking car, awesome interior, steering? ermmm.

Overall, with looks only the Evoque could beat, but triumps iin all other respects, be it performance, handling and practicality, the Macan is I believe the winning game, the mid-premium compact SUV that’s scecond to none….. except the price. Having peek at it during my visit at PCD, Like the video said, Porsche’s is infamous for having option list long enough to fill the Encyclopedia Britannica, and almost all of it….charged, and you thought UMW Toyota was picky with its option. Want coloured logo on the wheel, Macan or Porsche badging at the rear, bluetooth and if I do believe, navigation….you can end up with a car about 25-40% more expensive than the competitors. Stomach the high cost, and I believe Porsche is the ultimate offering in its segment.

• that one... on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Stop using that phrase and you’ll be good to go. Try “that” in its place.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:45 am

Lol English teacher spotted! Agree on this though, omit ‘that one’ and it sounds more professional. Keep it up guys.

• Maseratits on Oct 21, 2014 at 7:17 pm

I like this guy. He’s natural! Good job and great walkaround video!

• Drzack on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Guys look out for Macan plate WWW 1981 in trengganu… First in east coast hopefully…

• BLT_Club on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:22 pm

jelo to hundred lol…

• BLT_Club on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:41 pm

zelo to hundred…lol

• Porsche guy on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm

This car is hot… Love it… Would have bought it if it come out sooner but im stuck with my 911

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • BLT_Club on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:50 pm

zelo to hundred lol…

• nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:47 pm

most reviews online keep drooling over this ,
    its a porsche ofcourse its not gonna be cheap , it commands premium value…..the image it offers is almost unrivaled…
    the closest to porsche ive been is the Cayenne and holy smoke , its so fast and savage in its acceleration , and it feels so solid that the whole car is one unit of big block….awesome….
    porsche is really a different league to other cars i feel….germany at its best….

• techart on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Absolutely Macan over Evoque, it is genuine Porsche breed. Sport car performance on SUV body. More practical and space, solid build quality, very class interior and exterior design plus you got Golf GTi performance even for Macan based model.A good all rounder SUV.

• Macromedia on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:43 am

Haters gonna hate, and I absolutely hate the looks of the Macan. But at this price range, with this badge, comparing it to evoque… But a smart buyer should also look into the cost of maintenance. An ugly looking suv, in any gen model.

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Many people who ‘play cars’ do not keep their vehicles for long enough to need heavy maintainence.
      A gearbox 30k is soup-soup water for many people.

• Ah beng. on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:11 am

My iriz will smoke this… Lagi onz….

• Macromedia on Oct 22, 2014 at 8:38 am

An suv, not like it. A sports car, not really. I really do not know what it wants to be. A very confused design

• Can Do on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:08 am

I see it as a sports SUV. Look at AutoCar UK in Youtube Porsche Macan vs Evoque. Steve Sutcliffe says the Macan is sports car first and SUV second. Hope this helps you. These are German cars with great design and solid reputation. And you call this a confused design?

• macromedia on Oct 22, 2014 at 9:45 am

Am sure I will jizz my pants when I am behind the wheel and working he engine and be very impressed by its handling. My view is purely on the outlooks. On hindsight, I notice guys ages 50+ love this. This is an observation, not trying to say it’s an uncle’s car. The design doesn’t work for me really. I will pick the Evoque, without comparing price first, in terms of looks and presence.

• To me this is marketing at its best. The Macan in reality doesn’t make sense. With the options you end up spending close to 500K. It’s not as practical as a real SUV and it is not as fast and brutal as a real sports car ala the 911. However because it wears the Porsche badge it is unavoidable that the new owner expects it to feel and drive like a “real” Porsche. And that is what Porsche hopes for. As we all know almost everyone thinks brutal performance and street cred when we think Porsche. So this first time Porsche owner buys the Macan after having made it, buys the car of his dreams, loves it for the first few months because of the novelty of the new car, joins the Porsche Malaysia Club, goes for one of the durian drives, realizes all the 911s, Caymans, Boxsters, Panameras and even Cayennes are smoking him like he’s standing still. Gets to the durian stalls when everyone’s done eating. Talks to the other drivers and realizes that most of them have a non-Porsche practical car that they drive around on other days. From the RRs and Cayennes to the X3s and Q5s to even the CX5s and CRVs.

He still loves the Macan and it’s unimaginable once you’ve bought and owned a Porsche to not want to continue to have one. So, he decides that he’s going to scrap the Macan for a 911/Cayman and buy a cheaper daily driver. Depending on his tolerance level for the loss that will surely come in selling the Macan, he either does it after another few months to maybe a few more years. But eventually, he works harder and saves up for the 600K or 900K Cayman/911.

That to me is the intent of Porsche. This person who only had 500K to spend would not have considered a Porsche if the Macan didn’t exist (assuming he is not into grey imports and reconds). The Macan is Porsche thinking ahead. Baiting future owners with a cheaper entry point so you get them before they could otherwise be able to buy a Porsche. Line, hook, sinker!

That is why they are not looking at pricing it to the X3/X4/Evoques. Stealing one of those customers is a bonus but not the main objective.

That is why Porsche is the most profitable car company in the world.

For those of you old enough, in the late 70’s there was a very popular Porsche black and white ad that you tend to find in most car magazines in Malaysia. It was a pic of a 911 parked in a garage and the captions at the bottom says (I’m paraphrasing) “your may not be able to park this in your garage today but park this in the garage of your mind”. That is what a lot of us back then grew up with, that I will one day get this parked in my garage. The power of that ad is palpable. At lot of the 911 owners I know remembers that ad vividly and some of us actually took it to heart :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:30 am

Well said. Cayenne and Macan are not a way to enjoy Porsches Unfortunately, they’re necessary evil for Porsche to pay the bills. For a true Porsche, it’s gotta be the 911.

If people want a really good baby SUV, it’s gotta be the Volvo XC60. Well priced, powerful, fuel efficient, very classy, practical, well equipped, safe, comfortable, best after sales 5+5+5 package.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:53 am

Don’t forget the Cayman. Its the most bang for the buck Porsche. Cayman’s handling is actually more neutral than the 911, and at a lower price. Just that Porsche has to give it less power so as not to overshadow the 911.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 12:06 pm

True that. But competition is tough now even for Porsche – they need the Macan to survive. BMW & Audi are coming out with really capable cars which are almost or already encroaching on Porsche teritory and these cars already have a large and loyal fanbase ready to climb the BMW & Audi ladder. Cars with the the M & RS prefixes. Maserati also wants Porsche’s market and have gone mainstream – just no SUV yet. And now that Luca di Montezemolo is gone from Ferrari, the new boss wants to sell as many Ferrari as possible. I will not be surprised if a Ferrari SUV comes out in the next few years. Should be an interesting future.

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Too simplified and self-centered.

• Not every Macan buyer can only afford 500k. How about an S class for yourself, macan for your wife, Range rover for fun, alphard for everyday mpv, Lexus RX for everyday SUV, GTI, v40s, Megane RSes, A class, 1 series for your kids. Poor guys giving poor comments

• Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:36 am

The center dash looks too busy with buttons…too dangers if suddenly touched and that button is controlling critical system…

• screwu (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 1:47 am

Usually if a button is controlling a critical function eg traction control, u wud hv to press n hold for a least 3-5seconds to de-activate it. So no need to worry is u accidentally press on of these buttons…have u driven lately?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:50 am

Good video by Gregory (hope spelled that right). But need to work on matching body language and verbal language. At one point Gregory shrugged his shoulder (which usually denotes a negative response), but verbally said yes. Anyways, that’s just a minor comment in an otherwise good presentation. Plus, its his first video for Paultan, so it can only get better from now.

About the car. Its not just the base Macan that is tin kosong. Even the Macan S & Macan Turbo as well. Things like clock, cruise control, bluetooth, etc which even in some B segment car is standard, comes as a cost option. I can’t imagine how much it will cost for the Burmester hifi and carbon ceramic brakes. Could buy an Iriz perhaps.

By the way, I still prefer the Cayenne’s design over the Macan. Not that the Macan is ugly. Just that the Cayenne, being a longer car which is not much taller, has more blank canvas for the designers to work on. So the Cayenne’s ratio of wheelbase against height is higher, which translates to a sleek sporty look.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 23, 2014 at 9:26 am

It’s Gregory’s second video, actually. His first video was for the Iriz walk-around.

• Agree. Best value for money baby SUV for what you want an SUV to be ie safe, practical, reliable and convenient it’s hard to beat the XC60. Only other contender is the new Discovery Sport but that’s going to be expensive to maintain.

Center dashes on the new Porsches do look overly complicated but when you actually start living with one you will realize how intuitive they are to a point you know what buttons to push without even looking. I believe a lot of thought has been given to the design. I love it. Helps you keep your eyes on the road. And where they are placed makes it near impossible to accidentally hit anything unless you’re trying to do yoga whilst driving or you are trying to do something naughty with your front passenger ;)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:54 pm

the rear seats are too tight

• shawal on Oct 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

the dude is so stiff..
    whos manning the camera..? medusa?

• rakyat kito on Oct 22, 2014 at 6:03 pm

The base MACAN price in the US is $49K (RM150K). In Malaysia it starts at RM420K, When you buy it, upfront you have paid about RM270K tax. And you can’t even use subsidised fuel. RON95 will be too low. Without tax and interest for 7 years, we would pay RM4K less a month for 7 years. Without tax you would pay only RM2K monthly installment. With tax, RM6K monthly installment for 7 years ! Rakyat didahulukan when it comes to paying tax.

• VWfanboi on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:20 pm

ohh so if i don’t have the extra money to add some options it will just gonna be like axia E manual ? :P

• poor petrol head on Oct 22, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Paultan car review is getting better along the way that i see. Just my opinion that automotive review doesn’t included actual driving experience and verdict might sounds too sales talk. I think our local commentator will have to sharpen their driving skill and senses and perhaps a bit technical to venture further into high performance car range review. Drive it (as the car intended) and make your hands on comment. i might ask for too much but definitely hope to see our local car review on par with the best.

• Reality Check on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:33 am

By the way, it is quite obvious why this is a walk around tour instead of a driving review. It is because Sime Darby is not providing the car to Paultan to test. They have to go to Porsche’s showroom to do this video of the Macan. This is not uncommon. Even on US motoring websites you often see walk around tours.

Not the fault of the Paultan but rather we need to be realistic when it comes to access to cars in Malaysia vs countries like US or UK. Autocar/Evo/Drive/Motor Trend, all these other more established international automotive websites/videos get easier access to cars because they get them directly from the car manufacturers. They go to Porsche directly to get cars for test. Porsche is NOT in Malaysia. Only their local distributor is here – Sime Darby. So the situation is very different and it is not incumbent on the distributor to provide cars to the car journalists to test them. It’s nice to hope that one day we get to see Paultan doing a shootout between the 911 vs the 458 vs the Huracan on track in Sepang but let’s also not forget what the reality is. We are a small market for these big boys and it will be a looooooong time (if it even happens) for the likes of Porsche/Ferrari to physically show up here.

• Hopefully there will be walk in tour for bmw X4 and lexus NX

• No interested with this kind of Porsche SUV no matter what it cost whether new or used.

Just have no interest at all.

So I do not brag either is any good or bad

Cheers and will stay away

• hellhole on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Pointless car. Might as well get a used 911 Carrera MkII with a PDK gearbox at 40% lesser and use the difference to get a small audi a3 for a daily drive.

• SUVLUVER on Dec 20, 2014 at 10:28 pm

i am quite impressed by the level of English that most readers of this site write in. Some go to great lengths to share their knowledge and know-how. Anyways I am here to say that I was one the few who really wanted to get the macan because it was the cheapest Porsche one can get if you discount the recond units. However, I was put off by the basic equipment of the vehicle. To make it half decent I have to spend another rm50k! Not that I can’t afford it, just that it’s not worth it as we are entering into cayenne territory plus I am only buying it out of personal self enjoyment rather than being some corporate company car perks so no macan purchase for me for the time being.

• porschelover on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:42 pm

the macan has 237bhp 4 cylinder 2.0L PDK Volkwagen engine
    the bosxster has 265bhp 6 cylinder 2.7L PDK porsche engine

did you just said that the macan goes 0-100 in 6.9, which is faster than a boxster’s 2.7 of 5.5seconds?
    your facts are wrong!
    no offense here, but the macan is infact a volkswagen in disguise.

• porschelover on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:44 pm

dude a boxster goes 0-100 in 5.5 and a macan 6.9seconds.
    how is the macan faster?
    its cheaper, bigger, and less powerful