Mitsubishi Outlander now in M’sia – CBU, 2.4, RM167k

Mitsu Outlander Preview

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has unveiled the new Mitsubishi Outlander to the media in a preview session. The SUV, which has seven seats in three rows, is available for public viewing at Bangsar Shopping Centre this weekend. With that, order books are now open ahead of the official launch in April.

The Outlander arrives here in third-generation facelift form, which first surfaced at the New York show in April last year. It wears MMC’s latest “Dynamic Shield” face, which is characterised by a chrome element that “links” the headlamps to the foglamps and “mouth”.

The new look is also seen on the firm’s concept cars like the XR-PHEV and the latest Pajero Sport, which should be coming in the near future. Like the Triton-based SUV, the Outlander’s grille is dominated by thick chrome bars. It’s a bold, distinctive face on a relatively upright, squarish body.

Outlander_Ext_27

The Outlander measures 4,695 mm long, which makes it 55 mm longer than the Nissan X-Trail and 105 mm longer than the Honda CR-V. The Mitsu’s 1,810 mm width is marginally (10 mm) less than both its rivals. Its 2,670 mm wheelbase sits in the middle of the CR-V’s 2,620 mm and the X-Trail’s 2,705 mm. But as the CR-V’s generous interior volume proves, wheelbase length is only a guide and packaging matters as well.

MMM claims best in class cargo volume of 1,608 litres with second and third row seats folded. The Outlander can take up to four golf bags or a single-bed mattress, MMM says.

The Outlander is available here in a single variant, powered by a 2.4 litre four-cylinder MIVEC engine to tackle the bigger-engined CR-V (2.4L), X-Trail (2.5L) and Mazda CX-5 (2.5L). The naturally-aspirated unit makes 167 PS at 6,000 rpm and 222 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm.

Outlander_Int_19

It’s paired to an INVECS-III CVT automatic gearbox with Sports Mode and the brand’s regular long magnesium paddle shifters. MMC’s Multi-Select 4WD system has three modes – 4WD Eco (FWD as default, channels drive to rear axle when needed), 4WD Auto (auto splits torque to both axles, rear will always have some drive) and 4WD Lock for tough conditions. In 4WD Eco, MMM’s in-house testing averaged 12.8 km/l.

Under the skin, it’s pretty much par for the course with front MacPherson struts, rear multi-links, all round disc brakes (front ventilated) and EPS steering with a good turning radius of 5.3 metres.

The Outlander is very well equipped. Standard kit includes LED headlamps and LED daytime running lights, 18-inch dual-tone alloys with 225/55 rubber, sunroof, electric tailgate, keyless entry with push start, dual-zone auto air con, cruise control, auto headlamps/wipers, 2DIN factory touchscreen head unit, leather seats and heated front seats, among other things.

Click to enlarge brochure

On the safety front, the Mitsu is class leading with seven airbags (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee), Active Stability Control (ASC), and Hill Start Assist to go along with the expected ABS, EBD and Brake Assist. Two Isofix child seat mounts are available in the middle row.

Imported CBU from Japan, the Mitsubishi Outlander is very competitively priced at RM166,720 on-the-road excluding insurance. This introductory price (for units booked and registered before May 31) is in between the RM159,164 X-Trail 2.5 and the RM167,620 CR-V 2.4, but both Nissan and Honda are locally assembled.

Three colours are available – this hero red metallic, pearl white and grey metallic. The warranty period is five years or 100,000 km. Strong value, don’t you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• policeman on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Mitsu should learn how to build a proper interior. Interior panel gaps are huge and mismatched on many of their models – A-Pillar trims especially.

Oh, and good luck with the CVT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • I want your proton on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Pakcik sam you can give your 1990 Lexus to your son And your son proton give to me lah please.

• OMG…they put the slogan (outclass,outsmart,outshine) i think it should be (outdated,outsohai,outdull)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Apart from cars, Mitsubishi makes rockets and airplanes. Don’t be surprise if MAS , airasia or malindo uses MRJ planes for domestic routes soon.

• shawal on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:38 pm

good looks and kit count, ita cbu sumore from japan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:11 am

Mitsubishi is dead in Malaysia. It is on its way to be the next Suzuki. It will soon be in the same boat as the Alfa Romeo, Fiat and Citroen.

How to lawan Mazda CX5 at RM126k and Nissan X-Trail at RM128k? Mazda CX5, use 2 years also can sell over RM100k. This Mitsubishi use 3 years, RV become RM70k

Mitsubishi, better close shop in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • Bodoh macam songlap on Feb 27, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Can you read? This is the 2.4L variants, and you quote the CX5 and X-Trail prices of 2.0L.

126k and 2years later >100k? Please show where you got this RV of depreciation less than 20%; I really want to trade in my car for such good RV.

Are you even a Mitsu owner in the 1st place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • MMM Cybertrooper on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:44 pm

All the failures from MMM angry at Songlap. Pity them, got ZERO sales, no wonder they are so angry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Rajat on Oct 27, 2017 at 7:04 am

I sold ASX after 4 years in 80k. Mileage 85k

• Sampah Car on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:48 pm

I check mudah and I see all the CX5 all sell for RM100k plus. Take your Mitsubishi and dump into tong sampah lah blader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Really on Feb 27, 2016 at 8:55 pm

LOL, comparing CKD 2.0 CX-5 and X-Trail to a CBU 2.4 Outlander? You sure are very convincing there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Bodoh macam songlap2 on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Only someone with a true retardness equal to sam loo can make this kind of comments! Go back to ur cave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • policeman on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:45 pm

CBU Japan but many accessories removed, look at the steering buttons and some buttons missing pron right dash panel.

But WTF the 3rd row headrests. Macam hantu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
  • Outlander Outdated! on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:56 pm

The interior seems outdated, plus its spec. Not woth the money. 120k maybe some vil buy. For 167k…. Dunno who is that sacrificer… Huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
    • Facepalm on Feb 27, 2016 at 5:05 pm

120k for 2.4 variant? You’re a joke. Get your facts right first before even talking; CRV, XTrail and CX5 2.4/2.5 are all around 170k.

Mitsu should price this 120k? Wow..

• johnconnor on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Totally agree with you. Some people always like to complain bla bla bla. Want a 120K with a Merc AMG quality. haha

• Bodoh macam songlap2 on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:29 pm

I guess u r the kind of guy who can only afford a car @ 120k price range but wants a merc amg quality…i pitty you

• Cikgu selamat on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Cars are more and more affordable these days…
    I feel like changing cars everyday!!

Syukur ada BN Govt yang best sangat!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
  • ecstar on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Ade duit bli…xde dok diam..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • U r correct & if anybody like xtrail @ cx5 pls buy it but pls don’t buy fortuner @ rushbish toyota

• So gud price for CBU. But its not like those RBA bashers gonna praise BN, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:01 am

Price is not cheap. Raja Nazrin said according to EPF statistics, 78% of Malaysians earn RM1200 and below.

So who really can afford RM168k? Government is still cheating majority of Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Minimum wage is RM1000. Nepals & Banglas cum here do 3D work get RM2~4k. So whose fault is it if most Malaysians dun wanna try but just know how to complain only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Nice car, but I think the upcoming pajero sport will hit outlander quite hard time as it is more durable, fuel efficient, hard 4X4, bigger interior and suitable for every work.

• prosss on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Outdated. I rather get xtrail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Bodoh macam songlap2 on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Nissan you got 1 more xtrail buyer right here…come get his details

• FaizalMisman on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:17 pm

New contender for Myvi at LDP after Pajero sport smash out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • inspirasi on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:41 pm

My Lancer got rebadged to Inspierasi. Sold it overnight. No more Misumisi for me.

• shawal on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:53 pm

U guys mentioned it has rear aircond vents… but, there are no pictures of it….

heated front seats is a lil odd tho…..probably either that or only manual seats

• Tin Kosong on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:33 pm

The aircond vents for the 3rd row seat are mounted at the side. The driver’s seat is electrically-powered. The heating function for the front seats may seem useless in our climate, but will be comfortable nonetheless for those rainy, chilly nights.

• Tin Kosong on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:02 pm

I know this may not sound interesting to most people, the Outlander is actually quite capable off-road for a SUV with no low-range ‘box. But I afraid the new Pajero Sport will be more desirable once it is here. Diesel power and economy, 8AT, equally well-equipped (this is up to MMM, BTW) and a nicer, modern cabin.

• Tanker on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:19 am

Danny, any idea on how much it weighs?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Mitsubishi Australia quotes 1,535 kg kerb weight for an almost similar 7-seat spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • WickedSwicket on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:50 am

What’s the difference with the pajero sport?
    I thought outlander is the new name pajero sport.
    Which one is bigger?

• Very attractive price with 2.4 engine and 7 airbags! And for the price you get 7 seaters! CRV Nissan X Trails are not 7 seaters…hmmm nice package MM :)

• konichiwa on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:32 pm

nissan x trail is a 5 plus 2 seater. And the 2nd row is spacious can fit 3 six feet tall persons..the third row only kids aged below 12 can sit comfortably ..but yeah..it is still 5 plus 2

• Head Hunter on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:23 am

Looks good, interior is ok, not what you call gorgeous but pretty well positioned. The overall look it’s like a poor man’s X3 or X1, less desirable than what you would say a Mazda CX5 or X Trail but the engine is decent. Since it is a partial AWD and I have seen videos of it going light offroading and I can tell you it can handle the terrain pretty well. Pity the color of the interior is very bland. A two tone black on brown would be nice.

Well specced car, I can go with this for my growing family. Yes please!

• Atleast safety is not compromized. Good job on that. Design is very subjective. But atleast this may kill the X-trail (2 airbags only). But wait what did I read heated seats? Are you sure heated seat for malaysian variant ? But im happy as consumers got more to choose from rather then the previously market dominated by CRV.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Good price let’s hope the price listed isn’t ‘promotional’ price during the launch period…

• Aku baru dapat harga sebenar
    1. Nett selling price rm 158516.04 tapi kena plus gst maka jadinya
    2. Nett selling price + gst rm 168027 tapi kena plus road tax n insurans (pun ada gst dlm insurans) maka jadilah final harga.. on the road
    3. OTR Final Price rm 172374.40…
    Demmm nk sama dengan harga pajero sport VGT..
    Dh la kereta dikenaka cukai eksais.. apa perlu lagi gst pun ditibai sama.. insurans pun ada gst.. sebijik kereta 3 cukai kena byr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Really on Feb 28, 2016 at 1:06 pm

The government is ‘kering’ nowadays and looking for more ways to squeeze revenue from its main benefactors, the rakyat. Just hope that the GST won’t go up again before the next general election. Vote wisely because we can’t afford to be ‘mudah lupa’ and ‘dah takdir’ anymore!

• i came in for lydia, the show girl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • This car has alot going for it.
    Proper 4WD, good spec, CBU, and managed to keep the price under check.
    Granted, it is not a natural choice like the CRV, but the CBU quality should be enough to win some fans.
    I was the owner of the current CRV model (pre-facelift), but didn’t feel impress with the fitting quality.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:17 pm

you will be impress with the RV later on

• The RV is pretty OK here in Sabah.
        Pajero sport, Triton all very sort after.
        This should be ok too.

• Nowadays, European suv’s all come with turbo engine. And their body feel more solid. Soo dunno why jap cars got no turbo. Previously, jap cars all turbo and euro cars all big engines. Now it’s the reverse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • johnconnor on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:50 pm

well done mitsu.. at least we as malaysian have plenty of choice to choose for a SUV. Honda CRV, Mazda CX5, Ford Kuga, Outlander

• Fajar on Apr 18, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Only in Malaysia something that’s is accepted worldwide will fail and something rejected elsewhere in the world will be accepted… Weird nation…