Proton Gen2 R3

Looks beautiful doesn’t it? Of course, that’s just an artists’s impression. Meaning: Photoshop. This is what the Race Rally Research division of Proton has in store for us next. Not counting the stage upgrades for the Satria R3 of course.

The artist’s impression above came from an Australian car magazine. For the original article, click here.

They already have a Gen2 race car using a souped up 4G93P, the same 1.8 DOHC used in the Putra/SGTi/R3. I suppose this is the result of that development?

The interior will be enhanced using easy bolt-ons like the usual stuff, MOMO wheels, pedals, gear knobs, better trim, colour changes here and there. Something like how the Satria R3 was enhanced. Of course, there will be an exterior bodykit with more sporty looks and different sports rims. This will be a welcome change from the Alfa rip-offs that the Gen2 currently comes with.

The Gen2 R3 won’t be using Campro engines with cam-profiling though. It will be a souped up version of the 1.6 DOHC Campro engine without cam-profiling that’s already in the current R3s. Standard performance upgrades are going to be used to achieve this, intake, exhaust and a more aggresive camshaft profile. This supposedly brings a 13% performance improvement to 124hp (93kW) instead of the 109hp (82 kW) that the Campro makes in stock form.

Campro engines with real variable camshaft profile will be introduced later and is supposed to make more than 135hp (100kW)

Well, we’ve seen how R3 can make wonders with the Mitsubishi platform Satria. Now let’s see what it can do with a car from Proton’s own platform.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Actually, I think the Gen.2 is 50% good-looking and 50% butt-ugly; The front looks good, but its butt is ugly. I doubt it will change even with R3 doing something to it.

• i doubt anyone would buy an R3 car focusing on it's looks… main points are it's excellent handling thanks to it's specially seam-welded chassis

• Im seriously considering of buying a proton gen2 but after reading this article i think i'll wait some more….for prices under 60K, i think gen 2 is the only natural choice for a car that has looks and decent performance to boot.

• Gerald on May 31, 2005 at 12:30 am

i vote the gen2 as the best looking proton to be in production thus far.

• ujang on May 31, 2005 at 8:30 am

I think Gen2 is a good car. Suitable for its class and power. But there's still room, for some improvement. I have the same problem as well as other Gen2 owners have. But I had to admit that Gen2 proves malaysian industrial quality is improving. After all, this is just the 2nd generation.

• Kevin Yap on Jun 01, 2005 at 8:58 am

some improvement? SOME??? a lot lah, last week my Gen2 header just collapse, was driving on fed highway, then cling!! cling!! black smoke comeout from engine bay, stop the car, open my hood.. was shocked, my header was loose, like dangling!! and i just bought it 3 months ago!!

• James Hatsfield on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:55 am

I'll really doubt the engine of Gen2 even by R3 and even being stated that different engine is being replaced. Dare not bet with my RM70+k..

• wanridzuan on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:38 am

i think its have quality same import car, but have a little bit problem of interior item like locking door.

the gen2 r3 is a nice car………i also want than car.

• anuar on Oct 23, 2005 at 5:42 pm

I think proton just achive a lot in this field, but the quality still at the same level. And cannot compare with Mitsubishi, because when accident, proton car like build from plastic. For Gen 2 R3, the performance is impressive, but we must remember that if the body can't protect us from injured when accident its nothing can be proud of proton car. malaysian people need a car that though, value with RM, quality,save, economic in maintainance, & impressive. when this people want to realize all this. for Savvy, Why they design like that, seem bigger but smaller inside. why they use Renault engine… why. the spare part are costly.

• andrew tan on Jan 07, 2006 at 7:36 pm

i think GEN2 is the best Proton has ever produced !! Why ? It is best handling Proton, fuel economizing (over long distance), good looking rear end (reminds me of LOTUS Elise) and good equipment. Too bad the color offered though is distasteful!!! I also do not why old management never bothers to incorporate LOTUS into PROTONs afterall Lotus is 100% owned by Proton. The new management perhaps should come up with a new LOTUS-PROTON range – Lotus Gen2, Lotus Waja, even a Lotus Savy as an alternative. Add in LOTUS features like Lotus badges, sport rims, etc and priced them a few thousand Ringgit more, I am sure we will snap them up like hot cakes!!!

• proton putra still the best then others proton cars…

• kereta lembu amacam? cantik jugak..naik pun sedap