Satria Replacement Model Showroom Spyshot

I was digging through my hard drive when I found these. These pictures have been circulating around the internet for quite some time already but I have no idea why I did not blog them. Anyway here are two shots of the Satria Replacement Model or codename SRM24.

Personally I don’t like the front headlamps very much. I find the way the bottom curves up in the middle a bit strange. It’s like half of the Mercedes Benz C class’s peanut headlamps at the bottom and normal headlamp design on the top. I don’t know how to explain it but you should be able to get what I mean.

Bumper design has a common theme with the Waja, Gen2, and Savvy. There seems to be diffuser-style front skirts on the bumper.

Exhaust in the middle again. Brakelights look pretty decent. However I don’t see a keyhole to open the rear tailgate to access the boot anywhere. Is it going to be operated via the remote control or only openable via a button on the dashboard somewhere?

These are better pictures compared to the other spyshots as they are undisguised, allowing you to check the fine design details without them being obscured by black tape like how Proton usually disguises their cars.

Sorry, but there’s no side profile photos at the moment though. But you can check out the disguised side profile photos in my other SRM spyshot posts below.

Rumours are going around that the launch for this car has been postponed to early 2006. It was originally planned to be launched this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 24, 2005 at 9:52 am

Arrgh…The pipe in the center!!

Yeahoo 1st Comment~! ^-^ Looks good , but the Pipe ….@#$@# =.="

Lets see about how its priced.. And finally my Friends's old Saga broke down. Got a knock from an Iswara and the engine died. Followed by Central Locking Mechanism Malfunction and Power window Failure.. And now the paint's drop off.. He's in for some heavy maintainance…

• deutsche volks on Jun 24, 2005 at 3:12 pm

hmm quite nice..my first impression..

about the keyhole, maybe its electronic controlled beneath the plate number, or to be access by pulling the proton emblem up- just like all vw cars..

• Accord Kia on Jun 24, 2005 at 5:21 pm

it should be launch by this year. i dont know why proton like to keep their new model in their store for so long then only launch. is it they are not confidence with their design???

launch this year before other brand car coming in.

• P2 salesman on Jun 24, 2005 at 7:00 pm

look like a satria with bumper, light and cover change…. wait to see it launch,

but probably will not have much effect on market as MyVi probably complete deliver over 50,000 units. already booking over 39,000 units !!

• Cute little exhaust in the middle.If the SRM model make 4 doors,i think its look much better and nice to family ride..but anyway SRM its for Satria Replacement Model..

• this is old spy pictures, no more new spy pictures?

• Mango on Jun 24, 2005 at 8:13 pm

Yesterday i saw it at the Kelana Jaya highway. The total car is BLACK in color and the whole body is not smoth (like those spy car). The best part is, the SRM is infront of a Satria GTI which is just infront of me, and i can alot of look-a-like and different.

The body of car is similar with GTI but wider and the hight is shorter (maybe is the suspention and tyre effect).

Overall, nice outlook.

• SAKIT HATI on Jun 24, 2005 at 8:39 pm

CUBALAH CARI BENTUK LAIN SKIT.XKREATIF LANSUNG..SAMA MCM SATRIA JE..KNP LAH DGN PROTON HOLDING NIE…TIADA YANG MENARIK….

• akari on Jun 24, 2005 at 10:30 pm

wow this looks much more better then savvy

• Looks good.. if they take the good stuff they put in savvy, we may found the best car ever come out from proton (not including Perdana V6). Hopefully they learn much and dun repeat mistake like Gen2

• jonas on Jun 25, 2005 at 12:37 am

wtf!!!!this is what we call:"satria replacement model"?urghhhh, ugly!!!! potong always design those ugly f**king new model of car, ooiii!potong design team, what r u doing!!!!receiving gaji buta ker?try to think creative!!!!my newly bought proton satria S.E 1.3 (just bought in the month of march 2005) now starting to come out those stupid sound already, just a few months time, got a lot of sound, try to imagine that u have spend over 40k sumthing and the product that u bought is that f**king poor in quality!!!! what i can say is nothing but WTF!!!!!

ps:this is my second car, i promise that my third car wouldnt be local made car anymore, at least toyota vios or honda city!!!!!worth!

• BiAwaK GorenG on Jun 25, 2005 at 1:01 am

if you have money… buy the vios or city la…

otherwise please drink a tall glass of shut the f##k up!

• it just looks like shadow of GEN2, GEN2 head & savvy back ass… it do not attract my interest & just look very very like GEN2. They should come out few prototypes then lets customer vote & make the best outlook in production then it may helps to boost the sale! Since then the outlook of a car contribute to the major factor of sales figures regardless its performance (minor factors)but quality count in major. 'potong' put your money come out better wira replacement that is more wise to do. Sedan cars get more sales isn't?

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 25, 2005 at 2:12 am

Hmm.. I think it wouldn't have a Keyhole at the Trunk. Coz like the Savvy , It's Boot have to be opened from inside.. Safety measures..Or so it seems.

The SRM really looks not very diffrent from the Current Satria. And I hope Proton can improve build quality rather than new models all the time , although we really need new models.

• Bamboo on Jun 25, 2005 at 2:33 am

wow..it looks good.hope to see more pictures.i heard that the launching will be soon,maybe la..as ussual..

• Leong on Jun 25, 2005 at 4:29 am

I don't know about u guys. I think it looks good.

• bangau on Jun 25, 2005 at 5:45 am

Dude, some of yuor comments are rather stupid, thus it shows your level of thinking. Pity your family.

Of course la they did their surveys. Don't la be sooo bangang. They wanted to retain some SAtria look because they want it to relate to the old one. Its a modern intepretation of the current Satria.

Susah la, some of you are buta kereta. Actually la, we should open up a new discussion about HOW MALAYSIANS SUDDENLY BECOME SO PANDAI ABOUT KERETA WHENEVER PROTON LAUNCHES A CAR.

I still see many of Malaysians ketuk ketuk body kereta to see how tough it is. My God, no wonder the mat saleh still thinks Malaysians duduk atas pokok. Memang bodoh pun some of us.

Please do not kutuk membuta tuli. You want to kutuk, give valid comments. Design? Why? You think hyundai accent lawa sangat? You think the nwe Innova cantik? Hah, kutuk laa those cars pulak.

Malaysians turn into idiots whenever the word proton is mentioned.

• SRM24 on the car's plate is actually the 24th SRM test car available. There are also SRM1 – SRM23.SRM1 the 1st trial, the 24 is the 24th trial model. I think the headlamp taking the last generation of BMW 3 series. Noted that the front hud design is actually the same as the BMW X5. The centre muffler? Design by Lotus. Hahaha.I would consider buying this car. Same specs as GEN 2, same platform, same engine. Maybe 1.8litre will soon coming after 1.6l launching. Or even the GTi version and for sure the R3 version. For all Proton bashing persons, I also don't like Proton's quality, but the price of the car after protection by the government make almost 4 out of 10 people who bought cars in Malaysia buying Proton. No wonder.

• sekot on Jun 25, 2005 at 10:14 pm

OMG! R you nuts? nama pon Satria Replacement Model, takkan nak rupa mcm Perdana kot? 4dr large sedan with long wheelbase? stupid buggers! if im not mistaken the 24 stands for the two doors hatch, the 44 stands for 4 dr hatch, 41 for 4 dr saloon and 27 for 2 dr pickup… so ur gen 2 is wrm 44, waja is gx 41, savvy is trm 44 and this new car is srm 24…

• Paul Tan on Jun 25, 2005 at 10:17 pm

sekot: that gives us a new perspective on what the new proton codenames mean…

• takdengki on Jun 26, 2005 at 12:13 am

komen la lagi.. reti komen aje..

proton dapat cover dari government ke idak ke, peduli apa, proton saja satu satunya company malaysia yg original bikin kereta, mana ada company lain, so protect la lagi bagus buat apa nak hapuskan.

sometimes orang2 malaysia yang bodoh reti mengutuk aje. Prinsip of design kena ada identiti, kalau proton keluar design yang totally different from their identity.. orang ketawa la bai. Nanti ada pulak kutuk kata proton tak ada konsep.

Orang yang buta design je kata buruk… SRM

good design to me, dah kereta nie lalu depan mata

aku.. smooth and smart ape.

• john doe on Jun 26, 2005 at 2:02 am

Bangau, ur really stupid. some people "ketuk-ketuk" body kereta b'coz they want to know whether the body is high quality or not…."baru tergesel sikit dah hancur remuk"…u think all malaysian are rich…

• Leong on Jun 26, 2005 at 6:08 am

Nice words all of you using. Now let's try to be sensible and talk like a gentlemen shall we?

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 6:44 am

Dear Tak Dengki,

Kau sedar ke apa yang taip? kau lagi laa bengapnya. Kalau kau nak kereta keras, aku suggest kau beli KREN TADANO!

Hahahaha…

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 7:43 am

aaah…mistake mistake…sorry tak dengki. I was referring to John Doe's comment. Aiyaaah…my bad.

• Randal on Jun 27, 2005 at 2:29 am

Yo i think we should not be critising our own national car, due to the reason, that we are not all "autocad specialist" or "automobile-outer-decoraters" neither does anyone here hold a high rank in PROTON, after reading these comments by 'weird names', looks like very less respect is giving to the team that build these vehicles for our nation, its f@#!$ up, dont you think.

Then Proton engineer will be thinking "sh@!#$t man, we try to produce something and look at the response!"..

If your so good to judge PROTON, try making your own car company and start selling it,if you can, perhap you'll open a blog like this and start cursing your own design, kick your own ass with your own feet, and licking your own spit after spitting, see how you feel.

by the way, i love my proton, done nothing wrong me, i love the design, far more affordable then any other, who cars about design, its all about the money and specs for the car, and whether its usefull to you="weird names"

Mr. Paul tan has made this place for us to share our opinions, be more positive why dont ya?!!!!

• john doe on Jun 27, 2005 at 2:38 am

aku tau lar ko kaya Bangau…orang lain kat Malaysia ni bukannya kaya sangat…nak beli kereta dlm RM50k pun hutang sampai 10 tahun…br jer beli dah problem, tingkap x mau buka lah, pintu stuck lah…mnr boleh thn….ko ni bangau mesti kerja ngan pr#### nie…kalo x masakan ko backing diorang…design? design tue hak individu….yg penting skang nie kualiti…pikir skit En. Bangau, kalo ko org miskin/sederhana beli kereta pastu asyik rosak jer…ko bengang x?

• so many people try to ketuk the new savvy coz they were influence by the advertisement in the TV. whats wrong?? why must say they r stupid?? i think nearly 80% of the visitors in showroom will do tat. i dun think they r stupid. respect others ok while give ur opinion. no point we just to argue bout the proton car's design. the most important is the car quality. no one can guaranty savvy's quality oso. time will prove it. i oso hope tat our national car can success but until now i think it still make many car users disappointed.

• I have use two protons before (saga, iswara) and my Wira auto is my third….. got no problems after 4 years. I like the savvy…

• batman on Jun 28, 2005 at 6:44 pm

lawa macam ni pun kena kutuk…

dah sah la….buat lawa macam mana pun kalau

bubuh logo proton tentu kena kutuk punya…..

tak usah layan la…dorang ni…buat menyemak aje….

aku nak sangat tahu kereta apa yg dorang pakai terutama sekali si RPH tu….

• jonas on Jun 28, 2005 at 7:55 pm

Dear BiAwaK GorenG:

dear fren, calm down, if u r local made car supporter, then, it's good, cause i was a supporter once upon a time ago….but the problem is, 20years already……i emphasize again, 20 years….it's not a short period….have u seen any obvious improvement interms of quality of our local made car (i mean potong, not perodua)?only design is ok, that's not sufficient….and even the design oso not so ok….nothing much creativity the potong design team have implemented into the design concept.and the worst thing is, potong still selling it's old and totally out-dated design of potong iswara in the market……and oways like to add some ugly sporting features and sell it as special edition….actually i dun mean to curse potong, just that i have spend 40k over and get the low quality product, that's why i felt dissapointed. i am not a rich guy, and if the imported car's tax reduced to a competitive price with potong, i am sure that i afford to get at least one japan made car.dun ask what u can contribute to potong, but ask our potong, WHAT POTONG CAN GIVE TO MALAYSIA CITIZEN!

p/s: try to compare the quality of local sold potong made car and exported potong made car, i was wondering why the exported potong made car's quality is better that local sold one?of cos my relative has one wira in uk, and when i was in uk last year, i have experienced all this by myself at the test drive session.

• Jonas, my friend, you said Proton dah 20 tahun. Kindly refer to below list for Famous Car Manufacturer in Malaysia compared to Proton:

1) Honda – 65 yrs

2) Toyota – 70 years

3) Hyundai – 30 years

4) BMW – 92 years

5) Mercedes Benz – 111 years from their first car

6) Kia – 60 years!

So Jonas, Proton can be considered junior in producing cars. For argument sake, yes the quality is not up to Malaysian's High standard but they're improving and that is the most important thing.(refer to the TUV agreement)

At one time in our live, when we first get our job, the first car which will come to mind will be either a Perodua Kancil or Proton Iswara due to the budget constrain. So if you're one rich forker or daddy can come up with the RMs, pegilah beli the Japanese, Korean or European equivalent, sod off and don't kutuk Proton.

For if not for Proton, in 1985, most of Malaysians will be on kapcais or the Mini bus..think before mau condemn..Anyway I like the new SRM and for those who don't, don't be a hypocrite and start booking when the car is in the market.

• hei si batman, wat is the car u use leh?? i use motorbike only for one year working oledy, becoz for me, the car price in m'sia are too high even proton oso like tat. i didnt say tat proton not good, i just dun like our gov's policy to protect proton. becoz the policy, people with middle income also cant afford to buy a car.

• maestro on Jul 12, 2005 at 9:33 pm

…hiya.. whenever i read comments like "why proton keep hangin on their new designs… …blah blah…confidence in design…" .. i feel like … it feels like most proton critics are a bit… low on the IQ…

… proton choose to hold back the release because there are some unfinished technical issues to solve… they want to minimise the kind of feedback they get on the cars they churn out every year… so.. imagine if proton choose to ignore this fact.. and launch cars that still need some fine tuning… wouldn't the problems be overwhelming…???

think for two seconds… then maybe the critics might say something right…

but swords aside… i think the satria is nice … it apparently is supposed to be as powerful as the satria GTI… or maybe more powerful… and if proton is going to go the direction and make the GTI version of the new satria… think of the power available … on a small car like that…

… if the design of bodyshell is similar to savvy – meaning a rigid shell… then this car is going to be a legend…. frankly.. i cant wait to get it…

korean cars are … korean cars… the design is … horrendous… i'd stay with proton for the moment…

• December on Jul 12, 2005 at 11:54 pm

damn man, whats wrong with center piping?

• JuiCed on Jul 14, 2005 at 2:21 am

i totally agree wit mr bangau abt his comments on june 24…..why malaysians like to kutuk proton…..we r lucky enuff to have a local made vehicle company…..kalau nak sgt proton punya design lagi cantik then lukis sendiri and submit to them….maybe you all dont know how hard automobile business is…u hv to think abt the budget too….karang if proton come up with an excellent design and performance to match car,obviously it'll have a high price tag….pastu ya'll start complaining pulak kenapa mahal sangat,betul tak???

eventho i hv nothing to do with the trnsportation field,i believe that proton is doing what they possibly can to come up with a new improved and affordable model of local cars…..

• STOOI on Jul 15, 2005 at 9:15 pm

As a current proton user, my next car will not be a proton. Let say we have proton,produa,toyota, honda or any other manufac line up with their own car selling at 50 k net price on the same class, see how the public will react. The rakyat r not rich, threfore when they spend they wanted the best value for their money. If proton have no protection from goverment, i guess car prices for other model will be almost the same price as proton. Thus everyone will have more choices to choose from other than proton. is good that proton make improvement on new model n engine or design. i hope with even more pressure from public n competitor, they will actually come up with a car that makes us proud. up to now, proton have not PROVED anything yet. soo we will have to wait for 20 years later (2025) then only our national dream car may actually realise. for those who believe in proton, keep believing in it as i stop due to its bad image and high maintain cost. as for those who dislike proton, just accept the fact and the cost we have to bear :(

• Think outside the bo on Jul 16, 2005 at 9:50 pm

I agree with Stooi… my experience is the same… some of us want to support Proton,but instead the products disappoints. Family bought a Gen2… alarms goes off randomly when left in the sun, 3x power window problems etc.

But let's only criticise Proton constructively for the future. For the SRM, design wise OK… but not great… and summing up all the views above, it's all about the level of QUALITY and consistency in maintaining them, only this will help Proton to survive… assuming no more needing protection later in the years.

Everyone will know without tax/tariff imposed on foreign cars(protections for Proton (who benefits most from this…)), Jap & foreign cars can cost as little as 30-35k for Picanto class, 45-50k for Getz/Aveo etc, may be 60k for City/Vioses etc, and 70-80k for Corolla, Civics etc.

So to Adan, who said that if not for Proton, we all still be in Kapcai, Bas Mini etc… think again. Wouldnt you want to be in better quality car at lower prices?

Judging by the our country growth and improved standards of earnings over the years , we all could be driving Civics, Corollas, Getz, Mazda3, Focuses, Golfs etc..

The creation of Proton is a very smart move AS BECAUSE of the existence of Proton, come the excuse to protect national interest through tax tariff etc. These tariffs increase the price of all the competitions. And if we all cannot put up with the quality issues, either shut up or fork out more money to buy foreign makes (indirectly pay more taxes… these taxes goes to Govt to fund our development projects to our beloved Malaysia.. these development projects goes to selected groups… and only these groups can buy the top end market for any products… be it cars and other things)

We have been convinced throughout the years, to pay more for better quality when in actual fact it should be at the same price level as the local cars.. due to the tax/tariff/protection etc.

For the future, personally, I believe all of us here should be entitled to more choices at a given level of price be it 30k, 40k, 60k or 80k not just 1, 2 or 3 brand of cars at 'certain' price.

• STOOI on Jul 17, 2005 at 8:25 am

wow… Gen 2 power window pulak still got problem like my old Wira 1996 ka? ai… i tot Gen 2 power window problem solve lioa via TUV certified which i saw on the news paper advertisment where German Expert pretend to inspect Gen 2 power window. Guess wut, i m fed up with my power window failure of my wira. I just make sure that the driving power window is working only. the rest leave it to rot. i don care anymore in spending on useless power window keep breaking down. i will rather put my money on servicing my aircon. btw, a lot of pll mention that Proton aircon is really good. mine so far is working fine as it should be.

• Jonas on Jul 21, 2005 at 7:39 pm

STOOI, i agree with u, my brother's newly bought waja power window really sucks!only one week then got problem already………errrrrg! so, the best solution is buy those special edition with manual window, like my satria s.e 1.3, ha ha ha……try to think, now era milennium already, newly produced car still using manual window……..come on!!!my satria just bought in march 2005, no power window, but they put in cassete holder which cost me about RM100 sumthing according to salesman and the holder is under standard spec, means that must have it whether u like it or not……..i dun know wat is the exact price for power window, but at least invest the money in the correct way, dun use it for those useless accesories lah…please…..

p/s: by buying proton s.e edition with manual window, then u wont have any problem with ur power window! ha ha ha ha ha aha aha!

• veedubrubbadubdub on Jul 22, 2005 at 5:13 am

Hmm…I'm split in half here, as with regards to whether or not Proton's as a whole should be loved or hated. My sister drives a GEN 2, and I personally think that while the looks of the car may prove to be not that bad at all, the performance and build-quality leaves a lot to be desired. The doors slam shut alright, but the trunk shuts with a tinny sound. The bonnet's OK, coz it's heavy enough. Let's proceed to the interior. Too plasticky, from the dash to the instrument stalks, in short, not worth the money. And not having a glovebox? What's up with that?

Savvy? Proton shouldn't have launched such a model. Enough said.For the quality and the pricing, I would suggest the MyVi as a more wholesome buy. More space, more class, more pizzazz!

I'm pretty much looking forward to the SRM. I've seen the car up close. Good build quality, same plasticky interior. However, the car looks fresh, and menacing in sight from the rearview mirror.

Hmm… wonder what Proton and VW are coming up with….with regards to the Perdana replacement model. Hope it'll be Passat/A4/Octavia based, coz then the chassis would be really good. the VAG are renowned for their quality and engineering. Hope it works out well for the collaboration. (VAG just bought into Proton!My favorite carmaker!)

Guys, hate it or love it….Proton's here to stay. No point in slagging them off, coz at the end of the day, we're better off buying Proton's for the sake of the economy! BTW, haven't U guys noticed how expensive Perodua parts are? :)

• hoo hum!…can't never satisfied everybody…That SRM…phew!..cool!…kalau tak nak nampak plasticky itu interior..letak karpet la!…and for those who bought any new protons..3 years warranty maa…power windows tak naik?..etc..send to them laa..apa susah!

• to hazu:

woi, r u nuts?u willing to spend 40-50 k sumthing just to buy one vehicle that need a lot of repairing eventhough the vehicle is still under warranty period?if u r rich enough, then go for it….if not, then keep ur stp mouth shuT!!!!!!!

• "kalau tak nak nampak plasticky itu interior..letak karpet la! " how stupid this statement are!!!! this statement just like a person who has suffered critical illness but in the way to pretend to be a healthy man, he tidy up his physical look just to present his good appearance without taking any medicine to cure up his illness….understand!!!!!!! just think lah brother…..be a sharp thinker!!!!!!!! pity guy

• Jamir-o-quai on Aug 26, 2005 at 3:55 pm

I feel Proton doesn't have it's own personality when it comes to designing a new look for a car. For example, the SRM has the same bumper & front grill design like Gen2 & this does appeal to me as a buyer. Furthermore, the price probably would cost a BOM for something Malaysian Made.

Well, as we all know Proton has a reputation called "Chop-shop" because they seem to have run out of design ideas & decides to launch a new model, for example the "Iswara" model with similiar enhanced body face lifts.What I'm trying to reteriate is that the design mould is the same but the interior & out look went thru some ehancement to make it look like a new launch…but I'm not fooled!!… This, I am not proud to say its a new design.

The other issue I have, "Airbags" should be compulsory in all models as a safety accessory & NOT charging the so call "Rakyat" for the additional option.

I feel, Proton can do better!!

• Sassy on Sep 16, 2005 at 1:13 am

Hi Frenz,(need ur advice)

Just want to ask all of your opinion. I decide to buy a SATRIA (this is my first car).

once go to the salesman he sugest me to wait another 2 month for this new model (SRM 24). I willing to wait but I'm not sure which is good looking.

Since most of you has seen this SRM on the road, please advise me which one looks better. SATRIA / SRM?

• JUST THINK OF HOW MUCH DIRTY MONEY SOMEONES IN THIS FACTORY ARE GETTING .

IT"S OPEN SECRET FOR ALL THE SUPPLIERS.

THINK–> How foreign car makers or the other local maker are making quality cars yet driving down the cost to stay competitive with our Malaysia new born (10years ++baby) Proton ??? which their price is not cheap consider tax exemption they "deserved". THIS IS A TOTAL B**L SH*T

WORTH to WAIT for 2 months? I DON"T THINK SO.

I will never support this kind of manufacturer who never strive or dunno how to be better.

• Well better wait and do a comparison between the existing Satria and SRM. At least then you can see it, feel it and end up buy it. Its your money afterall. 2 months is nothing. Pejam celik..dah raya…New car, new design sound good to me.

As currently proton sales lower compared to their previous glorious day, proton tend to give a promotional package which is good enough. Its good cause in order to secure the order, the salesman tend to satisfy the market to the extend thinning their own profit margin.

About the quality, I believe Proton is doing all they can including using TUV specialist and this shown in their Savvy. The build quality, the gap, is good, but interior cheap plastic is not 'perfekt'. Hopefully SRM24 will be built in Tg. Malim and inspected by the wofgang and co.

I myself cannot wait to see it in flesh.

• I bought a new satria special edition 2004 recently. It's brand new. I wanted the car colour to be change but proton said if i choose to do so they won't give the one year warranty :(

• felix on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:57 am

I do not know why Proton continues to produces cars that are catering for the ame market. In my opinion, the Waja, Gen2 and Satria are all the same. just less doors and less lugage space. What I don't understand is why Proton does not see that the market segment for that is not growing as fast as the SUV market? Why are they not producing anything other than family sedans and hatchback? If Proton ever wants to grow their export market, SUV is the way to go. The world just can't have too many of them and I for one will never buy a proton unless they come out with a decent SUV! (Even one that borrows heavily from a Pajero will be good :))

• syllybilly on Sep 28, 2005 at 8:12 pm

i think the SRM looks good enough. well, at least to me it is. Considering that proton is our national car manufacturer and only with over 20 years of experience, i think its not bad at all. Yes, proton has a negative reputation for their bad quality and build. But to me, they are working on it. That's where TUV comes in. I respect all post in here whether it is good and bad. They all said what they wanted say. It's what they think of this matter and how it feels.

However, i would suggest a few upgrade for upcoming proton models:

1. Offer more variety in paint-color. (What are Malaysian favourites?)

2. Make the plastic looks less plastic. (like some japs car)

3. Safety features. Standard ABS for instance, not optional.

Anyway thats what i think of it.

• Johan on Oct 04, 2005 at 2:37 am

Proton… its like feels a little like your 1st love, too good to be true.

after owning 2 alfa romeos – alfettas, the price prove too much of a deciding factor to drop the romancing with alfa and optd for a mega-valve saga back in the late 90's. my experience with the saga? lots of mid-nite drives on the ipoh roads and an accident which cost my dad 2k in repairs. But i have to say the relationship wasnt too bad, considering it was my 1st love with a proton. my dad kept the car for a while till my mum couldnt resist the cute little suzuki swift. i was a little sad considering my parents choose to keep the suzuki mini-van (those which look like a loaf of bread) and sell the proton. didnt understand back then but later i begin to realize that if the decision was on me, i would have done the same.

Proton… its like feels a little like your 1st love, it seem better kept as memories.

fast forward to present time, i was in a fix for 12 months deciding which proton to bet my money on after driving the Corolla XL – the sedan version of AE86 around for 5 years, if its not petrol price and the spares is getting harder to locate, i would have kept it longer. during CNY, i gave it a new paint job, recarpeted some interior parts and voila! a car good enough to stay committed to her and stay away from proton show room. well, it lasted another 6 months.

eventually i gave in, due to long distant travel along the coastline, the Corolla prove it can only serve me thus far. Bare in mind a 20-odd years car, driving from Alor Setar to Mersing in 10 hours and no break-down in all those years. by the time Myvi came around, the temptation proves to hard to resist. still, being a malaysia and a kid who use to dream driving a Satria GTI, i gave my benefit of the doubt for proton. numerous showroom visit, countless online research, and even a test drive on my friend Gen-2, one incident made the decision easy for me. i was walking into the proton showroom in Cyberjaya, within the Limkokwing University premise, i pass my ic, my driving licence, the saleman walkaway to make copies, i turn around and admire my future love, a black Gen-2. Sexiness just oozing from those curvy bodylines, that high and arching rear, whoosa! then i did something and spoil it all, i wanted to take a seat in the cabin. 1 pull, perhaps i skipped lunch, 2nd pull, maybe the door was lock, 3rd pull, "i want my IC back!!!". in the end i have to put my hand againts the rear door panel, took a firm stance and lunged my body backward for one last pull. i almost fell to the floor (well, you know how new proton showrooms are, white slippery tiles). i didnt proceed to seat in the car, 10 sec later i told the baffled saleman, i decided not to place my bookings. 2 months later…. im driving a gold colored Toyota Avanza, Auto 1.3.

Proton… its like feels a little like your 1st love, it never meant to last a lifetime.

lets all recall the last time we went shopping in a mall, doesnt retailers put thier best and newest product in front, where its most visible? doesnt retailers make sure thier window displays is the best to attract the customers? have you guys log-on to proton website, they even have a corporate video to explain thier interior design brief and concept. after 20 years, they still cant put a better car in a show room. by the way the Gen-2 i mentioned, was actually sold and waiting for delivery. all the best to the owners.

i have to agree to all posted comments, simply because everyone would have their own unique feel and experience with their beloved or disgusted protons. just like 1st love, some are with sweet and some are with bitter ending. some might want to go through it all over again, while others will be happily settled with their wife. but one glaring fact, 8 out of 10 relationship with proton seems to be an ex you dont want to meet again, thats depressing.

fact-it only took proton 20 years to have their own R&D center, auto city, university(soon). it took the korean longer to make anything you can associate with the word beautiful, let alone sexy (that doesnt include the latest Sonata, beware Hondas)

fact-korean and japan, even China have much more economical scale to allow a totally new platform design for a new model every 10 year cycle. basically proton dont sell enough cars.

fact-Buatan M'sia, does anyone know, samsung produce a re-badge sentra? korean still do re-badge car, similar to Myvi. so there is nothing to shout about Myvi. even the redesign kancil is a more of a significant m'sian product.

fact-proton lack of persona marketing. proton product line just lack of appeal, except Gen-2, but they marketed it as a classy, family based hatch and down play all the sex-appeal and sportiness. then they tried too hard with the fun factor with Savvy, which make it look ridiculous to be driven by a young exec or not know small car appeals to ladies market, and do you think you want a car that dont have a color to match their lip-color.

fact-proton dont learn or refuse to learn, or maybe to learning is beyond them. marketing 101, greatest sale force is driven by the consumer, not any ad campaign. except you are 111 years old Benz, then you can be snobbish and adopt Emperor marketing technique. otherwise, product loyalty is vital to ensure returning customers. means you get old customers + new customers = more car sales.

fact-jaguh kampung. korean car industry success is generated by the acceptance the biggest automobile consumer market in the world, US. proton keep saying how we have done well in Australia, one simple 3 year old question, how many cars does the Aussie drives?

fact-PERT is still driving a Mitsubishi Evo, i rest my case.

fact-consumer are getting wiser everyday. there is a evil force which caused proton 60%(then) to 40%(now) market share, the Internet. you cant control, stop or curb bad news these day, coupled with a not so effective PR department = ingridients for disaster. how can you say we are selling cars in UK when Autocar, one of the most established car mag in the world reviewed proton cars to be stayed away. worst still you are trying to sell an englishman a 20 yr old car-WIRA/PERSONA. duh! they make bently and rolls, you think they dont realize when you dont have a passenger air-bag written on the dash?

Proton… its like feels a little like your 1st love, it will never feel the same.

the fact there is more Avanza than Savvy on the road. proton it will take more gimmick than R3, your beloved special additions, TUV etc. to get back your fans base. after all. we are all malaysian, who is usually a romantic sentimental fool. my best wishes for SRM24 launch.

• aiyooooo…

rilek la..it ok wat this srm….look nice ma! dont compare malaysia car wit foreign manufacturer la…want more quality then invest more money la..right malaysian?ha!ha! live in malaysia then support malaysia la..i agree foreign car more quality,why?cos u have to lebur more money la….pls la dont use those rude word..it mirror we as malaysia citizen…conclusion:- that SRM is nice! i might consider to buy it….

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 29, 2005 at 8:23 am

Nothing's bad about this car, except for the exhaust. My sister said that having one exhaust in the middle will make the car fart (kentut). How silly her comment. As for me, the exhaust placement follows the 1999 model Lotus Elise, although it has one tailpipe…..

• Zul masscom on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:09 am

weh!!! cantik ar model tu, tapi ade jugak yang kurengnye di mata aku… pandangan depan keta nampak menarik,tapi sekali bila di pandang kat bahagian belakang nampak tak menarik…aku rase model srm24 ni akan nampak cambest lagi kalo dijadikan family car(4pintu) mungkin akan akan nampak lebih mewah n sporty,tapi bagi aku srm24 still nampak menarik dimata aku, lagi satu aku paling tak suke orang2 cni dok asik ngutuk keta model tempatan…macam bagos je, kalo duit banyak buleh ar cite…sesak2 pun nanti keta tempatan gak yang korang tumpang kalo keta IMPORT korang tu tersadai tepi jalan yang kita tahu sentiasa sesak ngan keta tempatan….

• Proton will always be Proton…wether it's already 20 years or the coming next 20 years. No one here has a say in the company of what they should do and what they shounldn't do…even if we wrote and protest or rally..they will never change..u know why?…because they are always and forever will be, taking care of their pockets instead of the countries well being. Just admit it lah. With that kind of attitude ah, nothing will change for any company, the only thing that will change, that the families involved, their futures will be guaranteed for the rest of their lives. No more worries for them. Because they can keep driving Japan/Europe made cars as lond as we keep buying local made cars. I don't think any CEO of Proton will have no imported cars in their garage. They might be driving a proton to work, that's because they are forced to, to jaga the image lah, but if given a choice, I don't think they would want to. Trust me lah….it's not Proton that is the problem, it's the people who work in it.

• someone on Nov 19, 2005 at 1:23 am

i wish proton produce a new model to compete with vios and city. but make sure it offers nearly the same quality but on lower price hehe.i think it is possible bcoz new city sold in thailand for around 46k to 62k only. but here in malaysia, 89k. so if proton can produce something like city and vios and sell it around 50k to 60k, it will most welcome.

thanx.

• burnmark on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:37 pm

aiyo soooo ugly one…alredi got savvy still wana produced a similiar type eh ?

• Au Tze hon on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:47 am

Wanna milk money mah

• movesitive on Dec 01, 2005 at 12:24 am

just nice. we'll wait and see for the performance. don't judge a book by its cover. :-)

• Malaysian car sucks on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:51 am

Damn..

I seriously wanna flip my finger to Proton.Burn in hell!

• bangau,tak dengki,and batman,bravo for your view.By the way,bangau ,are you working with NST's Cars,Bikes&Trucks team?

• Patut cadangkan kpd Proton supaya setiap model terbarunya diletakkan logo company lain dulu,like toyota or honda .Kita tengok apa reaksi orang ramai kutuk ke puji.

• dear burnmark,do you have long-sighted or myopic ?

• LocTech on Dec 14, 2005 at 5:18 pm

others HAD produced MUCH MUCH more uglier design than POTONG! If you guys hated Proton design then go buy yourself a Renault Kangoo, or Ssangyong Stavic, hey… maybe even get urself a 'nice' Fiat Panda (if you can afford it laaaa… pathetic)

I'm not into critic and throwing bull at others but the so called 'high-minded' ppl of Malaysia thinking in the same 'well of thoughts inside the toilet while shitting' need to know something… cars are beautiful and it'll worth to the eyes of beholder… if you think something's ugly then don't have to go and buy it. There are lots of other option out there to have, and if you're saying you don't have the money to buy those other average cars is just because you are too lazy to think of good money management, and you dont have patience. You are just too upset with your own failures in money management and you can't afford those like others did. Dey… in the end, u find something to blame at… POTONG! The scapegoat of my failure to afford meself a Toyota, Nissan, BMW and so other models… Miahahahahaha… pathetic crew.

(don't believe me? read carefully most of the critics parasentences…. :P)

• trm user on Dec 16, 2005 at 9:31 pm

'sakit hati'

kalau setakat nak kutuk baik tak payah…

kalau x cantik jangan beli duk diam jee..

comment x salah tapi yang pentingnya jaga ayat tu…

manusia reka tak ada yang sebaik tuhan yang reka….

oleh itu cubalah kita berdoa agar automobil negara kita maju….

p/s: mana ada budak lahir terus bley berjalan…(kecuali nabi)

• nice.x pe,keluar je kite test ok x ok!

• Khalid on Dec 30, 2005 at 9:28 am

True, we malaysian don't care much about design. That one can refer to kedai potong, or accessories. But quality wise, ini masalah yg Proton should look into.And I can't agree more with some yg kata export version is a lot better. Tak boleh ka Proton gives better quality cars to Malaysians?

• Protonier on Dec 30, 2005 at 9:38 am

Dogx, you're damn right. Wake up all the management staff/b.o.directors, give us something more worth 4 money

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 3:49 am

hahaha…very stupid comment frm all people who are backing proton…x pkir ke bler ckp…ade stengah bende tu korang ckp…ckp kosong…ckp cam org bodoh…okla…u guyz can surf at dis site.. .www.autozine.org…www.topgear.com….all of u can see the comments and verdict that all car journalist outside m'sia n PROFFESIONAL says about proton…pity proton…buat malu je…

• echun79 (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 9:04 pm

For my point of view, good or bad of this car is depend on its price.

RM40000, i rather buy a second hand Honda civic.

Proton technology is 15+ years behind Jap/Korean tech, 20+ years behind europ car!!

p/s: Mine 84 years old volvo is still running on the road, with powersteering and power windows. I never have problem on power windows since bought it 7 years ago when 1:1 trade-in with my lousy proton SAGA.

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:27 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• preence (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:02 pm

I see some fanatics here who would go to the grave for Proton — keep it up lozers!

There's one saying by a moron called Adan that got me into writing this… "for if not for Proton, in 1985, most of Malaysians will be on kapcais or the Mini bus".

That's an absolute misconception bro… if not for Proton, we wouldn't have had to pay a f**kin RM80k for a Vios, or RM115k for a Civic. Go look at the car prices in Thailand and Singapore (minus the COE). Proton is a daytime robber. Do you think these milo-tins worth so much. Gimme a break. If you village fellas don't know what what quality by all means go ahead and lick proton's bumper all day all night, but there's a big bunch of us Malaysians who expect a sense of value for wat we pay for. Malaysia boleh = Boleh Tiru, Boleh Tipu, Boleh Kalah, Boleh Action. %$#!@!

• old man (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:31 am

The fact is:

1. Before 1985, meaning before we have PROTON, one HONDA ACCORD costed RM 20,000. After PROTON SAGA was launched at RM 27,500 (1985), import tariff to protect PROTON SAGA made the HONDA ACCORD RM 45,000 (1985). For those who are old enough, I think they still remember the joy when they actually profitted from selling their second hand HONDA, at the price more than their purchased price.

Conclusion: the existence of PROTON really sucks our money, and many of us still happy with that.

2. In US, annual income less than USD 10,800 is below poverty line, meaning you are poor, you are entitled to get at least USD 200 government allowance/subsidies monthly. In US, average income is USD 30,000 annual, and one CAMRY costs less than USD 30,000; meaning by working one year, don't eat, don't go shopping, the CAMRY is yours. Here in Malaysia, those with annual income of RM 18,000, get a PROTON at RM 50,000 – RM 60,000 with nine years loan, still very proud of our national car?

Conclusion: Malaysians are happy go lucky, taking nine years loans to have a car still very happy (not own, because the purchase agreement states "the bank" own the car). Anyway, we are tough, the government keep sucking our money, we still alive, Malaysia Boleh!!!