Malaysia’s New Automotive Policy Delayed

Why am I not suprised? :roll:

Government delays new automotive policy
Tuesday June 21, 2005

THE government has delayed its new automotive policy by two months to September from July, International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz said.

“The new tax and duty that has been promised, theres a slight delay,” she told reporters in Putrajaya yesterday.

”The Treasury will announce sometime in September.” She didnt give a reason.

Malaysia may end vehicle tax rebates benefiting local car manufacturers and offer other incentives such as research and development grants and tax breaks on investment for the countrys carmakers and assemblers under the policy.

Rafidah said in April the government was close to completing the new auto policy that will help “promote investment for the long-term viability of the automotive industry.”

She also said she was preparing a separate report on the auto industry to turn Malaysia into a regional automotive and auto-parts manufacturing hub.

“The paper will be submitted to the cabinet soon,” she said, declining to give a timeframe. – Bloomberg

I believe any chances of Malaysia turning into THE regional automotive manufacturing hub has been destroyed because of Proton. Everyone’s gone to Thailand. Toyota is only manufacturing the Avanza here.

Rafidah remains tight lipped
Government Commited to removing protection for Proton
Rafidah instructed to reply Dr. M
Misconceptions over Proton subsidy unfortunate
Proton vs. MITI Round 3
Mahaleel’s job safe for now
Tengku Mahaleel given 1 week to explain
Mahaleel’s job on the line
Rafidah’s cheap shots at Mahaleel
Malaysia’s new automotive policy delayed
Tengku Mahaleel critics government auto policies
AP holders told not to compete with Proton

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Leong on Jun 28, 2005 at 5:59 am

Not really. We still got Perodua and it will be the only pride of the Malaysian. Does that mean that our new car price won't be rised?

• bangau on Jun 28, 2005 at 6:33 am

PErodua is the pride of our country? Hehehe…obviously you have been blinded. Tak apa, not your parents fault.

• how cant some of our fren cant use better words while talking, not gentlemen at all.

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 28, 2005 at 8:44 am

Perodua as our Pride? I'd say YES. I mean , why not?

At least they are PROVEN to be better than Proton. I'm very much blinded for the last 17 yrs , But when I finally drove a Wira , the Facts reappear suddenly. Proton SUCKS.

• yeah, proton sucks… my wira aeroback special edition 1 1/2 years… dozen of sounds from front & back… shit car!! need sound system to cover it!!! never run without audio on, become more sad when hear the stupid sound from the car. Delay & delay… only care for their own pocket… shame on government auto policy to protect the big stupid baby (potong).

• jonas on Jun 28, 2005 at 8:05 pm

Dear Kody:

yeah, fren, i totally agree with u….cause i have experienced all this problem rite now….but seems like somebody disagree of this fact and pretend to be "Hero" or "saviour" of potong…dun know why this kind of ppl so narrow minded, need to go bk to secondary school to learn some history and moral…….

• auyongtc on Jun 28, 2005 at 10:14 pm

Yay… hopefully now my car comes out by Sept before the announcement :)

• akari on Jun 28, 2005 at 10:40 pm

kody give me 5! we are friend as victims of potong, my current 2yr+ wira aeroback also have sound from everywhere, but in fact the sound start within 1 month after purchase n now become very serious

• jonas on Jun 29, 2005 at 12:18 am

akari, give me tens, now three of us are fren as i also facing same problems with urs…infact, my car just three months…..got stupid sounds come out from the stupid hatch back!!shit……i really dun understand why still got a lot of bugglers support this stupid potong. even this small problem oso cant solved by potong, nearly every aeroback and hatch back have the same problem….got sound everywhere……..sigh….shame to potong!!!!20 years experience, konon!!

• Leong on Jun 29, 2005 at 2:57 am

Perodua might still far away but they take initiative. They not there yet but on their way.

• jonahdiary on Jun 29, 2005 at 5:20 am

according to my engineer fren who work in toyota, he said he's so impress with "potong 2"(the way to pronounce by 1 old auntie)'s myvi. coz it's quality not far behind toyota car…."potong sawi"?no way….

• akari u r lucky & get sound after 1 month, mine one within 1 week the front side of the car already gave me stupid sound . The stupid service center unble to solve permanent even told them every time went to service. they just spray grease then temporaly ok. No more service to proton service center after 10kkm free labour service. high labour charge, no quality labours (majority), any outside foreman get better & more experience. auto policy fxxk & shame to protect the stupid ass.

• delay and more delay, what's new… it is almost become a malaysian way of life to delay. What happen to the black box on buses ?? delay !!

• jonahdiary on Jun 30, 2005 at 2:52 am

now TMC is planning to establish a new plant in ASEAN region, either in indonesia, philppines or malaysia.so if delay n delay, i afraid the car maker will loose their patient n go another country, then die lah.

• Proton bankkrup on Jun 30, 2005 at 4:50 pm

To my view , another failure to proton no matter how hard to improve it with take advantage of government company bringing 20 yrs of overpriced and protection to proton , out of dated , low ,low quality materials . there is no value for your money to get a price of any potong . Think twice to choose proton potong car . tired of using my current suck car ( NO STD of car ). Never ending problems seems in proton after you have it. It will mostly be a failure with poor sales and its associated spare parts problems and bad resale value. Poor workmanship and bad materials quality associated hardship to malaysian public. Proton cheated malaysian money in the past 20 yrs just government to protect potong and raised foreign car price . It is unfair to our hard earn money

• Dear kody ,

it work, your advice work.

"need sound system to cover it!!! never run without audio on"

I replace my current audio system to a better unit (a CD unit) yesterday, increase the volumn, and like magic….. all the stupid sound cannot be hear anymore.

SSSSssssshhhhhh…… do not let ppl in proton know, they will install a cheap cheap system, so call 10 speaker audio system and charge RM10,000 to make over 500% clean profit, and increase the car's price by RM10,000 to claim they solve all the stupid sound problem.

he he ha ha

• that kind of Malaysia standard of it own way!, when people say there r stupid there don't like but there like to do a stupid way!. see who there all r?? who?? is there the same all fork who u all protect n volt for???! that the person who play a fool on our national income to buy n do a R&d that not to improve but to improve how for them to play our money that we r paying INCOME TEX n do a thing that wested not for Malaysians people to enjoy the same thing but only for minority s only to get more volt for there own minority's. see our nabors a sample like Indonesia. if don't no do a thing give to other who can do batter don't become like our nabors at the end.

• i need help . my wira aeroback SE – the seats all 'sengek' even after they fix it

• Kelvin_Tan on Nov 07, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Hi dude,

I had bought a 2nd hand i year old Wira SE, and there is a stupid Nyek Nyek sound keep coming out from, most probably under the seat or some way else, Proton product really cannot be trusted, if i got money next time, definitely i won't buy proton anymore… shitzzz…

By the way, any recommedation to solved the stupid sound?

Regards,

Kelvin