Perdana Replacement Model Photoshop

A pretty good Photoshop showing how the Proton Perdana replacement model based on an extended Volkswagen Passat platform could look like. This artist’s impression was done by a talented guy named Theophilus.

The grill follows the same wau concept which Proton has been using for the Gen2 and the Savvy.

The base car is a Skoda Superb which is also based on an extended Passat platform. Pleasing to the eye for people who drool over the Audi A4 but can’t afford one.

It’s not known whether the Perdana replacement model would be using a higher displacement Campro engine or a Volkswagen engine.

Looking at the way Proton is introducing their new models, Proton has been focusing on replacements instead of improvements. What does this imply? The previous model was not good so they had to junk it and replace it?

I think it’s a good idea to continue with the Proton Perdana name as the name still carries a bit of prestige unlike the other Proton model names which have been tarnished by horrible QC. However, Proton seems to want to use English names instead for the ease of exporting.

Related Links:

Perdana Replacement Model to be a Volkswagen Passat
Perdana Replacement Model Photoshop

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• suanie on Jul 17, 2005 at 1:13 pm

i love u, buy one for me thanks

• bumboy on Jul 17, 2005 at 5:52 pm

crap, this is so old tech. the skoda superb chassis is based on the PREVIOUS generation passat! proton has to stop using old tech…

anyway to build brand consciousness, proton should use unique designation instead of names for individual model. like proton W-2, P-2, G-2. S-2 etc etc. Or find some creative ways around numbers and alphabets. It lets people recognise the brand, is universal and easier to remember.

• cbljkkj on Jul 17, 2005 at 6:34 pm

Proton has to stop the "wau" designs on their cars.It just looks ridiculous.The Waja was bearable but the rear design of the Savvy just screams absurd.

Come up with proper designs and do you homework Proton.Two finger space between your head and the ceiling in a Savvy?? Come on…Jesus

• auyongtc on Jul 17, 2005 at 10:01 pm

bumboy,

apparently proton doesn't bother to think long term, they come up with a car (or what's left of a car) and slap on a name that they think it's uber-cool like Gen2 (wtf?!) and Savvy (remember the story of the girl who won the name contest? WTF?!) and then throw in some comic-book marketing approach, some Godzilla crap quality TV ads, some lousy crap accented radio ads with stupid scenarios on how to crash the car and kill everyone but the car and the driver.

the way i look at it, i think they're just waiting to be bought over and goyang kaki. Now who in the right mind would buy such a company? Who's gonna be the next hp like when it bought compaq? we'll see… lol

• i need a Kembara/Kenari/Kelisa Replacement Model rather than the plotongs….

• i think all people in proton who all there r type of people?. where come all this design, front leap not mach whit the body n the look overall. i wonder how it look like back of it this car!.

how this people can do a car business industry! there only dream a gimmick n come out whit thing that 1 of the kind like how them self look like. just a wested our country have people like this work on this company.

is a fact there not born to be!

• bumboy: proton's already doing that with the Waja in Australia. it's known as Proton 160GX… no more Waja.

• bumboy on Jul 17, 2005 at 11:31 pm

goodness.. DAN you need to go for proper english lessons.. see what malaysian education do to u… poor thing..

paul.. i didnt know that.. thought it was called impian like in UK. last i check it is still called waja here. X, GX are just spec code.

again, like I said, people are willing to buy proton to get lotus. Read this.

• bumboy, i got the 160gx news from the source in this blog post.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 18, 2005 at 12:35 am

that car is cut from other dot com site or old magazine… and touch up by computer… then they say is our original make 1 no tiru-tiru…

• bumboy on Jul 18, 2005 at 4:08 am

Paul… got it.

We'll see if proton survive till september. hahahaha…

• cbljkkj on Jul 18, 2005 at 2:33 pm

bumboy

The reason they call the Proton Waja "160GX" in Australia is because it is easier to determine engine capacity which in this case is 1,600 ccs.For example the Nissan S14 has been called 200sx because the engine is 2000ccs

• AlexC on Jul 18, 2005 at 6:35 pm

Whatever name that is, they created a bad taste for themselves… Look at all the responses when you mentioned Proton…

bumboy: its degrading to know our english competency now… i'm working at a american corporate company, and its a shame they are conducting english for conversation… crap, its more like primary class for tenses and verbs… sorry Dan but you're reflecting on this… (no harm intended)

• napps on Jul 18, 2005 at 7:19 pm

the perdana replacement will not be a rebadged passat, because the car is already under development, and is expected in 2007. the earliest model from joint development with vw is expected in 2008 (more probably 2009). either an suv or mpv is also expected in 2007. the suv is code-named msx.

• December on Jul 18, 2005 at 7:32 pm

the car indeed looks old, but then im sick of people commenting over efforts of proton, if the design is new, there surely will be flaws, if the adapt and old design, there will be flaws still, taste on design is very subjective over individuals, rather than giving shallow, personalized comments, we should at least appreciate their (proton) effort on always trying to make something new, personal opinions on designs is surely a neverending issue, so i suggest we stop 'kutuk'ing in a very unprofessional manner, now coming to my personal opinion on the car, i think it looks fine, it reflects the prestige, if this car wouldve adapted an aerodynamic design, it wouldnt reflect the classy facade of perdana, enough said…good day

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2005 at 8:57 pm

napps: but there was a news article on the perdana to be a passat. it's to be based on one of the previous generation passats… not the latest one.

• napps on Jul 18, 2005 at 10:31 pm

well, proton said that the carmaker will not be rebadging any existing vw models as protons. futhermore, they already have their own platform for a full-sized sedan and the project already started pre-vw. as the reports says, there could be assistance from vw to develop the new model. the passat to be assembled in tg malim will be badged as vw's in m'sia and asean.

• napps on Jul 18, 2005 at 10:32 pm

december: well said, sir!

• AlexC on Jul 18, 2005 at 11:38 pm

Dear December,

I'm sure there are critics everywhere, for every automotive around us… look on the brighter side, critics are good in terms of their view to better improve on quality, performance, etc… even the luxurious cars in the european shores are being criticized in various elements… but in case of proton, i'm sure there is definitely a pang of distaste in many aspects… in terms of outlook, the taste of individuals of course varies, but just take a simple honda accord and how many would criticize on its design… does it prove japanese are better in the industry or they have better technology? I'm sure they have both over the years but creativity is something abstract and any team with the right blueprint should be able to capture the mind of the majority… that is, if proton would accept/reject the right design…

• bumboy on Jul 18, 2005 at 11:44 pm

cbljkkj : erm yah that's kinda obvious. my point is that they shouldnt use name, so that the brand proton is more recognisable.. since proton doesnt have noteworthy models, at least the brandname can be somewhat protected.

on another note, design isnt the issue here. granted i think gen2 looks fine, attractive in this segment in fact, but proton have to build fundamentally functional and reliable cars. the passat should be mechanically sound, though it is the previous generation. but the issue here should be, can proton make it work? imagine a passat-based perdana with panels that fall off and windows that wont wind? what is the point in the end?

• December on Jul 19, 2005 at 1:08 am

Dear AlexC,

note taken :), no offence

• evoskylancer on Jul 19, 2005 at 1:23 am

Apparently, VW intends to assemble the so-called "Asean Passat" model in the Tg. Malim plant…tentative launch date – sometime in 1Q 2006…this model will be slightly different from the European version of Passat…

• Bumboy. do u think this is a English lesions class? . if u don't understand other will, we r free to talk mind my language's!. if u understand , we r in blog… blog, oh malaysia blog remember that!.

u same like proton don't understand all the consumer overall!.

• bumboy on Jul 19, 2005 at 8:36 am

i wonder what overalls proton consumers wear :p hmmm…. i only know the mechanics wear blue…

• The 'wau' grill looks like the new Batman emblem from Batman Begins

• Accord Kia on Jul 20, 2005 at 1:27 am

Dear AlexC

Honda accord is the best!!!

• happiesdog on Jul 20, 2005 at 9:51 am

proton nv change…tis is volkswagen…they onli change the front design… wel…even if u dun change much but plz change nicely k…u see the same car with the same platform like passat,a6,skoda all have a much better design than proton… n proton plz la… change ur design style..ur logo not like tiger u noe..its like cat…

• it's only Å¡koda superb with little different front grill

• maestro on Jul 20, 2005 at 7:53 pm

dan… nama orang putih… style bertutur macam orang putih.. kurang sopan… tapi.. cakap orang putih… macam orang bukit…

perhaps we should remember… understanding consumers is not an easy task… when you get on that does not try to explain himself clearly… then you get retarded feedback…

so. Dan… dont get all tied up over honest opinion … the lession should be that… not any other lession for now…

• maestro, name like astronomy but talk like u know your own mannerisms ,but only u don't burn other people temple that batter! if u so manner why u lick my ass bother much. still old same type of people never change used hand type of mind.

o my b u r same type people from proton, don't get tied on it when people comments .up to other only not on u tied up.

• no perdana replacement . confirmed on this one .

• 1997 perdana on Oct 05, 2005 at 11:02 pm

proton will continue the same existing perdana (mitsubishi eterna 1993) model for the next 20 years as same as saga & wira

• 1997 perdana on Oct 05, 2005 at 11:06 pm

why should i buy a brand new perdana v6 for RM 106K when it is actually the same 1995 model (TEN YEARS ALREADY) with new lamp & bumper

• Proton could put in a campro 2.0 and the latest diesel engine from VW.

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:37 am

Dear cbljkkj I would like to add more info about the cars that has the same design using a different name like what you gave, if you dont mind.

The S13, the S14 and the S15 Silvia (a.k.a. Silvia sisters) used the same name, the 200SX. These three cars used the 2.0 litre (2000cc) turbo engine named the SR20DET. As for Proton Waja in Malaysia and Proton 160GX in Australia, both used the 1.6 litre (1600cc) engine. The term '160GX' makes the Australians know that the car is a 1600cc car.

• Inspir3 on Dec 16, 2005 at 6:50 am

Proton always launching lousy car n always copy other car company.Even the spare part also no good enough.How much it wil cost?

• zoriyama on Dec 20, 2005 at 1:23 am

better create ur own design and national identity, pls dont make it like a crap!!! users need quality on the product!!! QUALITY!!!!

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Good day Paul…

nothing to say, i don't like this perdana…

should rename it as Waja Replacement Model, bcoz it got same trademark with waja chasis…

better maintain the perdana trademark before built somethin…don't mix with anything okay..

but Paul, can u give me the info for status Proton Putra Waja GTi, since 3years ago i heard it..but no news..

i like this car verymuch, hope to be the first buyer…

u can refer this url http://xxx-team.org/jimmy/?p=8

let me know anything okay, tq…

[email protected]

• are5th (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 12:48 pm

Walla… pergh eh Mr. Paul Tan. I also discover a replacement model for WIRA. see here :::

[URL=http://www.shareapic.net/content.php?id=4793179&owner=are5th][IMG]http://www.shareapic.net/preview2/004793179.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

so is it real?

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:31 pm

no real lah

• anj97 (Member) on Feb 09, 2008 at 12:10 pm

so called new perdana replacement.why proton designers dont have the brains to design their own.oh ya..that reminds me that looking at shapes of savvy,juara,new saga,gen2 and gen 2 extension its no point to design yet another ugly car.proton can go to hell.cheap parts but sell expensive.just to feed the bumis.former PM conned the raykat of luxury life.

• car_lose (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:31 pm

it that a car?

• bawang on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:12 am

picture like skoda octavia