Kleemann APs

The government says that the number of Franchise APs given to recipients are only as much as car makes of the car franchise they can sell.

I quote Kleemann Motorsport’s press releases.

From ScandAsia.com

On the local front, Kleemann Motorsport’s chief executive officer, Rosli Said, said that based on the limited edition factor, the company hoped to register sales of 30 to 40 units in the first month of introduction. “For the first year, we expect the company to chalk up sales of RM200 million,” he said. It is understood that the four models of Kleemann’s car would be priced from RM500,000.

Let’s calculate two possible values. I will choose a best-case calculation scenario which produce the most sales in each case.

40 units a month multiplied by 12 months = 480 cars sold.

RM200,000,000 sales divided by RM500,000 (cheapest Kleemann) = 400 cars sold.

From The Star

According to newspaper reports last month, the companys chairman, Tan Sri Adzmi Wahab, said 10 completely built-up Kleemann-tuned cars would be brought into the country in the first month of operation with a first year sales target of 250 units.

Hmm. So we have three different sales estimates for the first year of operation now. 400, 480 and 250 units.

How come Emeritus Equities Sdn Bhd obtained 850 APs in 2004 then, when estimated sales figures did not even go over 500 units?

In case you do not know the significance of the Kleemann franchise AP recipient, read this. There is also an interesting theory here.

I really don’t know why there was an overage of APs given. Do franchise APs hold more value than we think they do?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Good bit of math and observation!!

These $%$^^^&$%2345 politicians and their ilk always think they can sprout out garbage and expect to skim over the issues.

Paul, would you email a shorter version of this calculation to The Star?
    http://thestar.com.my/info/write2us.asp

• Bigjoe on Jul 29, 2005 at 4:05 pm

Power to the bloggers. This is why we need participatory democracy. Brains of many will always beat the orwellian pigs who think the are sooo…. special..

• AlexC on Jul 29, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Problem in our society is, we as citizens do not have the power to voice our concern… how much information is 'sterilized' in our media locally… what can we say as an individuals… and if the opposition to raise issue, what is their first reaction??? REBUTTAL!!! and what if its one of the ruling party??? BREANKING RANK!!! so, any possibility of improvement??? i agree with aw3, is there anything that you could do to publicize your website paul??? or make the info that you published known to the general public???

• Eh, paul.. i am not trying to "throw you cold water" but carefully you read that statement, it means Klemann hope to sell 30 to 40 car in first month, and expect to decline in foloowing month, hence in a year they hope to sell 250 which include 30 car in first month and the rest in following month. About the Rm500 k, it means it cost minimum Rm500k, so some may cost few milion, hence it also give out a some number if you consider all the model that cost differently.

• Neon: I know lah. I was purposedly being very optimistic with the calculation so that the maximum number of possible AP in a perfect world is obtained to compare it with the 850 APs given.

If we use your train of thought, the predicted sales is even less!

I said:

I will choose a best-case calculation scenario which produce the most sales in each case.

• You got your point, i agrree with you

• Why Rafida's brother getting angry when he was picked on that his daughter got APs? Scare further story to be 'digged' out? or his daughter has a 'previledges' getting the AP from the 'Aunties'? or 'Auntie' has a share on the bzness? perhaps he has not pile up his pillow to think that if he is not Rafida's brother…would he be granting the APs to his daughter (who?)

Hmm…I think the One-Eye-Guy liang teh wouldnt be enough for him now

• Sure lah, if people dig in further ah.. all smelly shit also come out, then how to cover..haha

• Thats the time u muz use your "TAK APE LAH" broom…to sweet it under under "Time pass by case get forgotten" Carpet.

2 Famous products by Malaysian Government. Has been "effektive" since 70's

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 29, 2005 at 9:08 pm

DOG THE WAN,

I think we don't need to talk too much. Just Ask this FAT WOMEN to resign and get lost. F****King FAT PARASITE Liar, now I know why she is FAT and the mouth is big. Dr M is correct! PEOPLE should know the real story behind. Now Everyone knew it!! GOOD!

I think the God "KNOWS WHAT SHE DID LAST TIME (Not Summer)", new scary movie title. Insyah Allah she will be punish soon.

• I've noticed one disparity in the APs and real observation. You will agree that one of the most popular imports is the Toyota Harrier (and the police/insurance companies will agree it is the most stolen). We see it more often than Mercs and Beemers, yet UMW is given only 107 based on 2004 performance. Where do the rest come from? All from open AP's? or is there some horse trading going on.

• DOG THE WAN said,

July 29, 2005 @ 1:08 pm

DOG THE WAN,

I think we don’t need to talk too much. Just Ask this FAT WOMEN to resign and get lost. F****King FAT PARASITE Liar,

– I dont think this will solve the problem. The next one who is gonna replace her will be another big fat and f***king liar if he/she can still make a huge wealth out of all this hanky panky. Thats another Malaysia/Bolehland culture: "Blackbox operation"

• Michael Lee on Jul 29, 2005 at 10:33 pm

Damned good observation KP ! – just passed Bangsar, and there must have been at least 50 Harriers parked all over the place ( Friday lah ) – maybe some readers from the trade can help ? One is Open AP – that one we know. But the other one – boleh later apply for conversion kah ?

• dando on Jul 29, 2005 at 10:39 pm

if lexus also distributed by UMW ka?? i think some of the harriers were tuned up… i don't think it was brought by UMW…. especially the black ones with tinted glass…

• Cyder300 on Jul 30, 2005 at 12:52 am

Dun need to explain much….here is a formula…..AP = Dirty Money! So, fellow Malaysians still want to support and buy APed vehicles?

Better buy local assembled Toyota, Honda, Perodua…..and if you are really got no choice, buy Modenas, Suzuki or Yamaha…..if really really desparate, maybe can consider a Proton la but dun buy APed related vehicle.

Some more fuel prices going up and up….no need luxury cars….makan too much fuel, burn your wallet and pollute the air….die faster la.

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 30, 2005 at 3:50 am

Hei abu,

Why not? DOn't you forgot we have PM to do it. I trust him only of cause if they want me to do the job, I am willing to do so. Okay!