Will we get a Proton badged Lotus Europa?

John Oxley of Wheels24 says that a source inside Lotus told him that the Lotus Europa will be sold in Malaysia as a Proton.

He also reveals that the car will get an Opel/Vauxhall turbocharged 2 litre putting out 197hp and an Opel OPC engine putting out 240hp. Nice!

The car is supposedly set to be manufactured in Malaysia. Then again with Proton nothing is ever certain. Just google for Proton press releases and read then you’ll know. Never trust anything that the Proton PR department puts out. Apparently they don’t communicate with the rest of the company.

For more information, check out his article at Wheels24.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 04, 2005 at 3:24 am

I hope the price is around RM80000. I will buy this!

• zongtwi on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:06 am

Heh…RM80000? More like RM180000!

• izudeen on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:19 am

you wanna get 200hp beast for RM80k??

u must bekidding… the perdana 150hp is already RM100k+

• Philip on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:34 am

Autocar mag mentioned some time back that it will be priced in the region of RM150k

• so much like a proton…. the headlights, the rims….

• AlexC on Aug 04, 2005 at 2:55 pm

Izudeen: Perdana have a 150hp engine???

Anyway, wonder if with this upcoming model sold locally, would they increase the taxes for competing cars within this range, as they do with other proton models… i'd rather go for Honda DC5 (integra) for this price range… guaranteed performance… and it looks cooler to me too than this… front's fine with me, but the ass is weird…

• like Paul say…. with Proton… do not beleive everything u hear.

WAIT…. wait until the launch (if any) before comment

:)

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:15 pm

RM180000??? Kidding kah?

Better beli BM or MB second hand one still better, more pratical and bergayalah. Betulkah?

Macam Paul kata (sorrylah edw copi yours sikit) Jangan percaya POTONG CAKAP, Tunggu and Lihat, STOP LOOK AND GO!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:31 pm

something that we all can argue..

no matter how you say proton is BAD..

now proton has their own Personality, Own look..

like someone mentioned..

This car look very proton :p yes exspecially the EYE lamp..

arent ya?

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:32 pm

missspeling CAN .. actually CANT

• chewbacca on Aug 04, 2005 at 10:53 pm

typical malaysian mentality…want good goods but pay less…want 200bhp car but want to pay RM80 k onli…build ur own car la lit gat

• Chedi on Aug 05, 2005 at 5:02 am

Since when perdana got 150HP?

• izudeen on Aug 05, 2005 at 6:01 am

more or less 150hp…. standard v6

i.e 110 kW max power @ 7000rpm = 148hp

• pomen_kete on Aug 06, 2005 at 9:47 am

hell yeah..

typically sucks malaysian..

wanna a sportcar with price like a bicyle.. hahaha..

wanna black pepper steak price like sate? wanna

and that's the we they go..

dont ya all know.. that till now, untill now.. british still proud in the name of LOTUS.. and they still thinking in their mind that the lotus is british!.. They never accept lotus is under proton.. never!

if u want lotus europa.. goo get the enough money!.. be a millionare..

dont ever think that working as KULI to buy sportcar.. and DONT EVER WISH the price is cheap like nasi lemak laaa.. huh!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:39 pm

Hei Pomen_kette,

Whats a problem? A KULI still can buy sportcars when he kena Empat Ekor (Lotery) rights. Give them a chance.

I agreed with you Nasi lamak price will not goes as high as car price. Your comment is too extreme!!!

• MrKoment on Aug 06, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Please lah Proton. Dont even clean up the mess, now introducing sportscar?? Dont fool us again, Proton. Stop wasting money on developing cars that people dont like. And stop wasting money on stupid quality advertisment. EPF money are part of Khazanah equities in Proton – stop wasting public money. Proton – Dare To Change or Dare To Fool Us?? Proton such a cocksucker!!!!

• neurra on Aug 07, 2005 at 1:12 pm

u guys bashing proton like a plush toy.. i totally agree with pomen_kete’s comments.. it’s a national brand for god’s sake.. go other countries if u don’t like it that badly.. go japan or even nearer singapore if u want integra.. but i don’t think proton should label it as supercar though.. “the car will get an Opel/Vauxhall turbocharged 2 liter putting out 197hp and an Opel OPC engine putting out 240hp” with just that kinda performance even audi a4 could compare to it.. just label it high-end sudah lee..

• neurra on Aug 07, 2005 at 9:13 pm

any info on the acceleration, torque, weight and power-to-weight ratio paul?

• drizzt on Aug 22, 2005 at 5:52 am

MRkomment if u dont like proton dont buy unless ur really poor or sumthin dont need to diss proton. If u wanna talk like dat about ur countries car brand like dat SHUDDUP lah!

• Way to go proton….