Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Wagon

Subaru has the WRX Wagon. Mitsubishi counters with the ultimate in practicality and performance - an Evolution Wagon! Speed demon wagons have been around for quite some time in the Mitsubishi stable. I remember there was this Mitsubishi Libero GSR wagon which had a GSR 4G93 1.8 turbocharged engine in it.

Only 2500 units of the Evo IX Wagon (or Evo IX Estate as some countries call wagons) will be made and it will come with the same turbocharged Mivec 2 liter engine that comes in the sedan mated to a 6-speed manual gearbox. The wagon is based on the same chassis but is 100kg heavier.

Photos Source

16 Comments »

1. edw said,

August 13, 2005 @ 11:03 am

i feel funny,

why drive a sport car wagon ?!

If I want a sport car, I will just go for the normal saloon evoXI… not a wagon.

well…. someone will buy.

2. narrowband said,

August 13, 2005 @ 11:32 am

Maybe the Americans.

3. J said,

August 13, 2005 @ 11:36 am

Wei paul… got typos in your posts. You typed Evo IX as Evo XI.

4. gen2 gang said,

August 13, 2005 @ 11:56 am

special for gasket & undertaker car.feeling better for die people…

5. HANG JEBAT said,

August 13, 2005 @ 1:07 pm

hmm funny looking design… Volvo’s T5 is the best sport wagon…

6. 8555 said,

August 13, 2005 @ 7:29 pm

IT…..LOOKS…..TOO…..WEIRD….

7. hokkien lang. said,

August 13, 2005 @ 11:28 pm

what’s the name…… if this car entered proton company?

can any 1 give the answer……..

8. neurra said,

August 14, 2005 @ 2:39 am

i- can’t- comprehend-

9. eric said,

August 15, 2005 @ 12:06 am

wtf? any avid evo enthusiast would be scorning at this.. this is SIN!

10. Wiraone said,

August 15, 2005 @ 7:16 am

Estate/Wagon variants are quite popular here in Europe .. the target market for EVO Wagon will be the European market no doubt…!

11. December said,

August 19, 2005 @ 4:43 pm

proton estet - hokkien lang this is for you

12. Robert M. said,

August 24, 2005 @ 10:58 am

actually i would say if they made it look better it be a hit in the states here. alot of guys have the wrx wagons love wagons more than the sedans, and there more out there than you think out running sedans. i know a guy who would buy one if it didnt look like a volvo with mitsu frontend.

13. oldman said,

August 28, 2005 @ 10:17 pm

I love it. I don’t care. love it very much.

14. Ezmil said,

September 8, 2005 @ 12:57 pm

Finally, a successor for the Libero Turbo!

15. dumbshitcar said,

December 22, 2005 @ 7:02 am

wagons are for old people getting groceries at the supermarket.

16. Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Concept said,

January 17, 2007 @ 7:17 pm

[...] Related: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Wagon Mitsubishi Concept-X [...]

previous post: Proton Savvy Accident
next post: Nissan Skyline R34 GT-R Z-tune

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!