Proton Gen2 in South Africa

The Proton Gen2 has landed in South Africa. It will be distributed by Pearl Automotive, a subsidiary of Imperial’s Associated Motor Holdings group. Pearl Automotive also imports Lotus sports cars and Bentley luxury cars.

Source: Wheels24.co.za

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• littlemin on Aug 21, 2005 at 12:49 am

OMG….

"Proton is Malaysia's biggest motor manufacturer, with a wide range of cars from economical hatchbacks through to luxury models.

It holds around 60% of the Malaysian market, and the Malaysian Government is its major shareholder.

WTF IS TIS???

i think onli the state tat says the malaysian gov is its major shareholder is true…

LOL~

• sinleong on Aug 21, 2005 at 2:42 am

Obviously, Malaysian will tell the whole world that they have export cars to whole worldwide.. I fail to see that Proton goes global!!! Anyone agree with me?

• Hzshah on Aug 21, 2005 at 2:54 am

I never thought I'd see the day when Proton and Bentley share the same distributor…..

Oh well, live and learn.

• Bigjoe99 on Aug 21, 2005 at 3:44 am

Learn from the Korean? Fat Chance… I mean Hyundai is beating the Japanese at their game. I mean thinks like continous improvement and flexible design and manufacturing? Its not a science. Its an art. The Koreans are the toughest people in Asia. Their determination is infamous.

Look what they are talking about now, no import cars below 1800cc? Can you believe they want to ban things now and stuff shit down our throat. Don't even have to compete, don't even have to improve.

• In fact, I read thru the Taiwan chinese auto magazine sometime ago, Proton Arena and Proton Satria GTi (1st generation ) have entered the Taiwan market, don't know their sales figure as it never been diclosed.

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 21, 2005 at 7:24 am

Well, Proton going global? Sure, after 2050 i suppose

• Going global???? I am sure. Proton is on the right way with the Gen2, Savvy,Impian and the Jumbuck. For all not believers, lets talk again in about 1 year.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 21, 2005 at 9:32 am

proton never will go global………

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 21, 2005 at 4:40 pm

Welcome to Africa!

Okay this is the last chance to Potong, if this market failed again. The next possible market is MARs. Mission impossible team members will be the new Advertiser for Potong at MARs. Distributed by Aliens or X-mens. Kuak…kuak..kuak

• AlexC on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:12 pm

Well, to make it global, proton just need to send a few into south america anyway… they've got a few junks into european shore, some into aussie, some asian market and now africa… since it cant compete with its quality or its price in the states, try in 3rd world country like cuba, make some deals and sell a few… that should make it a global company…

• I agree PROTON still lacking, & need to learn from other car maker; but we don't need to talk bad about it.

• after 15 yrs manafacturing EOL japanese model; in 5 yrs time PROTON launched WAJA, GEN2 & SAVVY. this can consider as a good achievement.

no matter how, WAJA is much better & reliable than WIRA, ISWARA or SATRIA

GEN2 still a good looking car, but not suitable as family car

SAVVY seem like better quality than GEN2,

PROTON only need to understand the people's need; to improve the quality & better relibility.

remark : also to design a car for six footer.

• Nadjmi on Aug 25, 2005 at 8:13 pm

well done babeh…..

• chewbacca on Aug 26, 2005 at 2:16 am

go proton go..prove the basher wrong

• ruffryder on Oct 09, 2005 at 6:39 am

1st up proton own lotous one of the biggest and best sports car manufactures in the world so that gives them credit. The gen2 was developed in lotus racing work shop so that has to give it some credit. Infact i have just bought a proton gen 2 and it is an awsome vechile well rounded on every front for a 1600.

Futher to that proton also have 73% share in mv agusta (the motor bike company) so as far as being a world wide entity proton definatly is so to all the critics out their i ask how can this (SMALL) company say they are an internationall company? The answer is simple with lotus mv agusta t-bike under their belt and a stunning range of new cars they are and will continue to be.

As a matter of fact proton S.A is reported to be upping all their pricing on their cars by approx R35000 to R50000 with in the next few weeks.

So again i ask you if you havent been in one or owend one then really you cant comment except on reading a review and most reviews in the UK and US and S.A so far all seem to be better that avarage.

• nuzzary on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:29 pm

proton still learning.. 5 years and 3 cars under their name, that is considered good..

P2 is already 12 years but still rebadging daihatsu / toyota cars and i just can't see them making their own..

So proton is the only "national" car maker.. give them some support

• waja is the best car, comfort & handling. Gen2 good looking car

proton doing lot of improvement. Proton "BOLEH"

• Mowill on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:32 pm

What is needed fom the manufacturer's is a good strategy of introducing the vehicles they produce. The markert is infact really saturated but with a bit of a game plan they can attract buyers by having incentives that will be lucrative in terms of features and financing plans.

Its very imperative to make proton affordable yet sexy and tough at the same time, to be able to withstand South African conditions and roads. I personally think that th Gen-2 is slick enough to make people envy you. With regard to the politics of automotive industry, one thing that need to be said is that each product on the market needs to perform and the rest can e left to the motor bugs.