Proton Savvy and Perodua Myvi Handling

Autoworld reports on the R3 Street Shootout at Batu Kawan, Penang. The highlight of the day for the average Malaysian car enthusiast would be the shoot-out between the Proton Savvy and the Perodua Myvi in the “Pre-viagra” leg of the competition.

Modified Perodua Myvi

Ian Khong trashed a stock 1.0 Perodua Myvi and a race-prepared Perodua Myvi 1.3 in his stock-standard Proton Savvy, with only alignment and minimal weight reduction done.

Results with best time (for the Savvy and Myvis only)

1. Ian Khong – Proton Savvy – 82.03 seconds
2. Khairol Sham Mohd Razali – Perodua Myvi – 82.31 seconds
3. Hasrol Hisham – Perodua Myvi – 82.89 seconds
4. Teng Poh Soon – Perodua Myvi – 90.65 seconds

For full results, download this PDF here. Credits to Verne who also participated in the event as an R3 sponsored driver. Congrats man! His blog has first hand experiences as a participant in the event. Head on to read his posts if you are interested to find out what it’s like.

Perodua Myvi Track Car – Source

Teng drove the stock 1.0 Myvi while Khairol and Hasrol drove the track-prepared Myvi. Their modified Myvi was extensively modified including a roll-cage, a stripped down interior, bodykits and spoilers and semi-slick tyres. There are also talk of engine and suspension modifications.

Weight reduction to the Savvy only consisted of taking out the spare tyre and jack and removing the headrests from the seats. Suspension and tyres were stock. If you check out the photos properly (click thumbnail to enlarge), you will see it’s the same car in the Autocar UK Proton Savvy review by Denis Wong! A clearer photo of the numberplate available at Autoworld’s article.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hfrshah on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:02 am

'my first Lotus' indeed!!

• Savvy is better in terms of handling and pickup. But for most malaysian, we need something that suit our needs. Large space, economical…

• gen2ROCKS on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:22 am

dont talk rubbish. savvy is loads better than myvi. admit it

• Inevitable on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:24 am

I actually scanned a mod MyVi and Savvy from a local mag and put it in my site.

Not sure if I should put the address here but Paul, you can delete my comment if you feel it is inappropriate

http://unforseeable.blogspot.com/2005/08/proton-s… http://unforseeable.blogspot.com/2005/08/perodua-…

• Verne on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:48 am

The Savvy and MyVI are different machines, satisfying different ends of the market. Proton has a distinction of emphasising on ride and handling, while Perodua, value and quality.

The Savyy no doubt will handle better than the MyVI – a sportier, tauter ride overall. Call it a 'driver's car'. The MyVi is an easy drive, for mass market.

• cloudz on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:54 am

ok ok..dun do the comparison like this..we shud as the same driver to do the same lap then compare the time..

is like a mic on a normal person and a mic on a singer..who can do better?

i mean driving needs skill..if u call me to drive even a lambo or something,i think i can beat other lower class too..even kancil..i'm just a L licience >

• awok2k on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:59 am

Agree with Verne totally.

MyVi is built for drive comfort. That's why it is being fitted with a 1.3 L engine to drive a chasis as heavy as 980KG.

For Savvy, it is being built for more sporty looks and handlings.

The bottomline is not who is better or worse.

It is what u want from the car.

Who knows, down the years, the "Tiara" incident may re-happen or MyVi might end up with tonnes of problems ?

Only times will tell.

And frankly, the favourable results are not at P1 side.

• Stingray on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:38 am

cloudz: u have a point. But then it's just a race and races are for fun. Why the obsession with which one is better than the ohter?

I think is really sad that Malaysian public seems to want P1 and P2 to fight to the death like some sick gladiator match. If either one dies, who loses? Only Malaysia. Foreign car brands will be laughing all the way to the bank.

• savvy- nicer interior better handling and meant for the young at heart.

myvi- practical and for those who find driving a hassle.

• Marmitecrab on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:00 am

I was at the Proton dealer one day enquiring about the Gen.2 when the salesperson commented to me that if I wanted a better handling car, I should go for the Waja. I think they were trying to sell the Waja on handling basis alone. I wanted to ask the salesperson if he knew who makes up the Waja customers. Is it ppl who want a spotrty handling car or families/businesspersons? I'm sure the demographics would point towards the above. So what does this say? Proton salespeople don't know who their customers are! Savvy is for the young/just starting out whereas Waja is for more of a matured customer.

• I can see some people are in denial…

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:54 am

Wei, Batu Kawan in Penang la……….Paul, teruk la u.

• omfg sorry. edited. autoworld said it was kedah. i had no idea where batu kawan was.

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:00 am

Walau, last time Sukma at penang, the Stadium was called Stadium Batu Kawan. Anyways, suppose it was Autoworld's fault

• Lee Wye Jon on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:06 am

Savvy rocks… but it's too small for me.

• Mimie on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:10 am

Paul , we love you . you are a very reasonable writer unlike the crazy baskit cocky smart ass michaellooi dick head, who lives in his own island.

• akari on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:56 am

1. Ian Khong – Proton Savvy – 82.03 seconds

2. Khairol Sham Mohd Razali – Perodua Myvi – 82.31 seconds

not really big different for me, for a comfort car vs handing highlight car

• Shape Shifter on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

30/100 seconds 1 lap times 50 laps? its 1.30 minutes or might be 2 minutes, dude..no big different?..jokes on you..

• Maver on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:03 am

Ahakz… Savvy handling by Lotus ma… No wonder larh..

• akari babe, as paul stated 'a race-prepared Perodua Myvi 1.3' vs stock-standard Proton Savvy!

come onlah…

anyway we all know this before hand….but this is really nice although we also know myvi and savvy different oriented

hope to hear more news on savvy from the circuit and also rally….myvi tak sesuailah, p2 better upgrade kelisa instead!

;-)

• AlexC on Aug 24, 2005 at 3:14 pm

What do you guys see in Myvi and Savvy anyway??? no matter how you push it or modify it, it will still be a compact car… wira would be a better deal for a mod… but this, its possible but what you'd expect to get out of this even with higher displacement engine??? compact car would always be one, even if there is a turbo engine for it; like kancil… But its a very nice bumper from TRD for the myvi there…

btw paul: batu kawan is just less than 30mins drive from penang island… popular for nice and cheap seafood there… :)

• gogochaiyo on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:43 pm

Hey guys… how about testing savvy 'tough' body built?

P1 claimed that they are though…

P2 does not say anything about theirs…

What say you?

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:59 pm

Why all this extreme driving? Its just promote unsafe driving in public roads. How come no demo on safety features or defensive driving on these cars?

• Paul, hv u seen the HulmeF1Champion car…..???

• cloudz on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:23 pm

they mention about Myvi is mod right? but din say how heavily is it mod..

maybe just some bodykit,accessory,muffler,extrator,air intake those normally done stuff..

about engine..maybe just some slight low cost mod that dun increase much performance? not even a turbo yet..

• maniam on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:53 pm

is it true, fren of mine have a new Myvi told that the Myvi is under power???

• The Savvy would probably outpace a Jazz iDSI.

So this proves nothing, other than that the Savvy is nippier. It certainly doesn't tell you which is the better car.

• cyder300, the Streetshootout autocross that the savvy and myvvi entered does not promoting dangerous driving. All the cars entered are mainly privately owned vehicles, many of them stock standard. The event is catered for people who enjoy driving, and wish to test their car's and their own ability in a safe and controlled environment. In place are safety marshals, crowd control barriers, doctor and ambulance, including all the relevant permits from the munincipal, and police. Please do some research next time before making comments.

• only one on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:58 pm

probably that is the ONLY thing Savvy win against MyVi.

MyVi order win , at 55,000 unit booked and delivered. Savvy ? 000,55 units

he he ha ha :)

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:17 pm

Handling is important but equipement quality level also important. I wish to have a married of Myvi equipement level and Savvy handling become……"MYViSAVVY -> MUMMY eat SAWI" will be the best! CAN OR NOT?

• only one,

Pls get your facts correct b4 commenting

• toritori on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:20 pm

Dear Mimie:

I'M FULLY AGREED WITH YOU ! YOU ARE RIGHT !!!

It is sad to see people bashing as they like without knowing the facts and their emotional words really hurt Malaysia's automobile industry and indirectly putting our own Malaysian people out of their jobs.

Below is a copy posted by this irresponsible guy "michaellooi from his own island – blog" poisoning the young minds or teenagers.

posted by: michaelooi at August 18, 2005 08:08 AM

"bob, you believe in gut feel ? That is, you feel bad about a certain thing even before you use it ? Take for example, those China made water heater which has an outlook that pretty much turns you off like a syphillis cunt with red spots ?

That's how I felt about Savvy. I don't even wanna test drive it. It's my consumer right, and this is a personal blog.

No sweat dude, there are people in this country think that it's a great car. Well, what can I say ? Good for them ! I'm not a celebrity and nobody needs to follow my direction…

I'm just another guy who is generous enough to share my point of view."

posted by: michaelooi at August 18, 2005 08:08 AM

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:28 pm

Of course as an organized event there are the relative safety issues addressed….However, have you not hear of copycats? Have you not hear the phrase "Monkey do what monkey see"? Like what was said earlier, promote defensive driving la.

• toritori on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:34 pm

Hi Rave,

Keep Up The Good Spirit ! :)

Take Care

To Only One,

Just in case you don't know how many Proton Savvy sold todate goto this link and read, please get the facts right before commenting, please listen to Rave

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_business.p…

• will you attend cyder? will there be much interest? racing's different, there's a sure market!

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:48 pm

Yep, sure market alright, all want to so faster and be like a rally or F1 driver, but problem is that the cars are not equip like rally or F1. At the end cannot stop in time. The End………..

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:53 pm

Yo Paul, how to find out about other local bloggers?

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:10 pm

that's it..

dont condemn savvy b4 u test drive it..

i tested.. and i know why!..

most of p2 fanatic lover didn't test drive.. test drive first lah!..

and if you a "DRIVER"…

u know which car is better..

eh.. i saw a NITRO DESIGN fully loaded P1 Savvy advertisement on paper..

what a great design!

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:26 pm

Yes, I have test drove the Savvy on a number of occasion. The engine and transmisson is good, gives a health dose of power when on needed. The ride and handling is sporty meaning is rigid and stiff but good for sporty performance. Which is better than Gen2.

However, it is the Savvy interior design and plastic quality is the let down. Further, the size could have been a little bigger, feels like a go-kart with a roof.

On the other hand, Myvi is a all rounder, a city car not a performance oriented like the Savvy. So, you have a Myvi mini MPV get-about and a Savvy go-kart speedster.

So, its really up to the buyer preference on which one to go for, aside the quality and maintenance issues that both cars may have in the long run.

• cyder, myvi's mini mpv, why choose it over avanza?

;-)

• uefa2k on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:46 pm

So wht sawi win? I knew tt since I've driven sawi 4 a test driv, performance r there. But who care's? It wont makes sawi glamour at all. Down de road… myvi cars was gathering everyones' attention. Can sawi have tt? Car look like tikus, tak lawa langsung. Myvi like a mini-mpv shall not be compared 2 sawi, but Jazz, Getz, Atos. Myvi 4 me!

Sawi owners will realise soon or later how regret they r buyin de sawi. They mayb young & daring owners but think twice in future; de whole family squeeze in2 de car like sardin where as myvi spacious enough. Malu tak? Thn got 2 source 4 bigger car. Waste $ twice. Myvi for sure has enough power for its enjin , spacious enough for de rational human being .

(Cpy from myvi forum)

• hfrshah on Aug 24, 2005 at 10:00 pm

might be bcoz of the slight price difference, and the levels of equipment on offer. the two cars share the same engine, but the Myvi is lighter and smaller. some might be put-off by the Avanza's awkward looks. while the Toyota can seat 7, to those who dont need them itll be a waste. multiple airbags and ABS is available as an option in the Myvi, but not on the Avanza.

overall what matters is the buyer's own likings.. the brand Toyota might be too hard to resist. but best of all, Malaysians are now given a choice when it comes to buying affordable family movers. no longer are we compelled to just one option.. thats the beauty of this matter, with Savvy, Myvi, Avanza and a few Korean cars being in the same(ish) pricerange

• sure myvi get attention la…. with a chicken run bontot, sorry arr… just pendapat only..

• Cyder300, so what exactly is your point?

the streetshootout is a competitive grassroots motorsports event. It is not a safety driving course, or a defensive driving course and does not pretend to be. it is an event held for the sole purpose of promoting grassroots motorsports in a safe and controlled environment.

If what you say is true, maybe the govt. should ban all forms of competitive motorsports in the country, close down our racetracks, stop tv programmes on racing and ban printed material? Maybe that will solve the problem of illegal racing in the country?

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 10:56 pm

Nope, like what we are all here to do, ranting and raving, just what it says in the title. Yep, the gov't should do more in road safety, why ppl in some western country can be well behave while we in Asialand are all maniacs on the road?

(I've stay in overseas for a long duration, so it is a well informed opinion.)

Lack of education? maybe….lack of enforcement? could be….poor road systems? possible….politics? who knows…..thats what we are here to rant and rave about, dave.

• Tension on Aug 24, 2005 at 11:17 pm

Cyder300,

Don't be a vigilante or some damn NGO that so concern about safetylah, itulah. People like you that made the gov stick to the stupid 110km/h speed limit. The Australian Road Department (similar to JPJ) came to Malaysia and did a research which stated that our highways are very safe for a top speed of RM120km/h, however those NGO's said no – nanti ramai mati. Pussies, kalau mati, tengah mandi pun boleh mati.

Same goes for any form of racing or illegal racing for that matter, this is an universal problem which exist and will not die. Rather than they do it illegally, might as well make it as a competition. Aparah, if you can't beat them, join them.

Regarding Savvy, what else to say when a STOCK/OE standard form can beat a competition readiness car (see list of upgrades by Paul) . Yes, driver plays a part however for autocross such as this, handling sharpness, braking and engine performance plays a big part as well. Savvy, a true driver's car – end of argument.

• akari on Aug 24, 2005 at 11:21 pm

Jake : yea i know, so let's say if same mod savvy n the myvi, n his time beat myvi 1 or 2 seconds, that's still comfort car vs handing car. that's not really big different for a so called "My First Lotus" as i imagine, also means perodua never highlight myvi's handing but also does not mean it worse.

• akari on Aug 24, 2005 at 11:24 pm

n also, driver also is the point, if u read the full result, lan khong drive also WRX

• I think you guys are just going overboard with the "size" of the Myvvi. Firstly, it is a compact car, no matter how you look at it. It is not a mini-mpv.

2nd, it is not as large as you think it is, (no pun intended) but still larger than a Savvy, but only marginally. It looks a lot bigger thanks to the extra height and wheelbase.

Myvvi:

Width: 1665mm

Height: 1550mm

Wheelbase: 2440mm

Savvy:

Width: 1643mm

Height: 1480mm

Wheelbase: 2395mm

• akari, if you have driven the savvy, you will find it is still a very comfortable car on the road. Easily on par with the myvvi.

the fact here is, at the streetshootout, the savvy is road standard, whereas the myvvi is race prepared. its got racing suspension, semi slick tyres, and a full rollcage plus stripped out interior. there is nothing comfortable about that at all.

The driver is a perodua test driver. a professional fulltime driver.

I still say give credit where its due.

• Ben Cox on Aug 25, 2005 at 12:21 am

Hi. I am a Third Year Product Design student studying in the UK for my final year dissertation. As part of my project I am looking to gauge opinions of the interior of the new Proton Savvy from Malaysians who have test-driven it. If you could please follow this link and complete the series of short questions it would be greatly appreciated. http://www.my3q.com/home2/73/bmdcox/17919.phtml I will post the results ASAP to dispel the myths once and for all!

• pinkbunny on Aug 25, 2005 at 12:49 am

Hi, there, why are there sooo much debate over a car demo?

• hfrshah on Aug 25, 2005 at 12:50 am

additional information:-

Myvi:

Curb Weight: 955kg

Length: 3720mm

Savvy:

Curb Weight: 953kg

Length: 3710mm

• cameljoe on Aug 25, 2005 at 12:55 am

Yo, savvy will make a good rally car, why not have a local rally series using small cars like savvy or some kind of track events for cars like savvy where owners can run their moded cars on track! Just like wat they do in UK.

• Andrew on Aug 25, 2005 at 2:53 am

Personally I would get a MyVi for daily communting and a Savvy for Track Day. Savvy has the better platform (style-wise and engine) for modification, it's chassis and suspension systems are well tuned too. End of story.

• I think there is an error in the paultan report. He said that winning Savvy had its extra seats removed.

Actually only the headrests were removed (and spare tyre), not the entire seats as reported.

Why the bickering? Beauty is on the eye of the beholder, so buy whatever you think is good for you. I personally prefer Savvy, but that is my personal choice so what?

I prefer Pepsi and others prefer Coke, so????

• Correction:

He said that _the_ winning Savvy had its extra seats removed.

• Thanks CKS. I have corrected it.

• I HAVE TEST DRIVE BOTH,

engine smoothness— MYVI

rider comfort—-savvy

ride & handling—SAVVY

pickup—MYVI1.3(manual)

passenger comfort–MYVI

I suggest those want make comment or compare, pls read MYVI & SAVVY spec before speak out.

also visit PROTON showroom watch SAVVY technical highlight & video presentation.

this can help u to understand & LEARN.

also help u to understand the industry; after that, u have no suprise why SAVVY can win a modified MYVI.

this message espeacially for ONLY ONE, AKARI, MAVERcyder300………………..

• SAVVY is well developed by PROTON, we also can not deny that MYVI is a good car or comfort.

pls correct our attitude toward our national car or industry. (to help ourself).

JUST WANT TO SHARE WITH CAR LOVER, i support P1 more than P2; (don't get angry)

because :

1) P2 is control by TOYOTA & DAIHATSU; they didn't really transfer their technologi to help us to grow this industries. they hold controling stake in P2 mafg plant & engineering plant.

they didn't set up latest engine manufacturing plant in MALAYSIA. THEY JUST WANT TO MAKE FAST MONEY FROM WE MALAYSIAN.

2) their investment in MALAYSIA is low,

3) they lauch outdated ( or END OF LIFE) model like KELISA & KENARI in MALAYSIA, except MYVI.

4)PROTON is more than a brand; it’s a national identity… HAPPY MERDEKA DAY

pls visit PROTON website to understand more.

• akari on Aug 25, 2005 at 4:54 am

why for me? hmm i know savvy can win myvi since they launch, thanks for purposely drop me a message, i dun get what u mean, i're visit both showroom for many times, i bet i'm clearly know both car spec than u, i'm one of ppl who decide to buy 1 from both, have test drive myvi but not savvy yet, no chance, the proton ppl only give me key allow to start engine, n he insert a heavy bassed CD with high volume on, i wonder what he wanna show me, so i leave in next minute.

for me i dont think savvy is comfort is because the space is really limited, so the feeling if drive continuing for few hours, not the seat. if u ask me choose either 1 seat of them to sit infront TV, i will choose the savvy 1.

• hfrshah on Aug 25, 2005 at 5:01 am

im sorry, but didn't Toyota invest RM29-30million to upgrade the Perodua factory just a few months back? the K3-VE DVVT and EJ-DE engines are the exact same engines Daihatsu is using for their current models, showing theyre not really out of date. just my two cents..

• E for the MA on Aug 25, 2005 at 5:04 am

Buyer: hello I am here to check out the new Savvy

Seller: Sure sir… here have a look

Buyer: WOW! It looks great.

Seller: Yes, and it comes with a very storng body

Buyer: Does it come with airbags?

Seller: No

Buyer: Does it come with ABS?

Buyer: Does it come with rear seatbelt?

Buyer: Is the engine Locally made?

Buyer: Is the Engine Japanese?

Seller: No, its european… from the renault Clio

Buyer: so let me get this straight? If I buy this car it may be chaep but the maintenence is gonna kill me after the waranty ends, and to make things worse when i get into an acident the car will still look good but me and everybody else in the car will probably be dead coz you guys didnt think of making safety a priority?!

Seller: Yes

MORAL: Buy a Perodua….

PROTON…. same old shit but better wraping

• E for the MA on Aug 25, 2005 at 5:11 am

People should wake up and smell the shit in Proton wraping.

they want us to be proud… with shitty products

they say they invest alot……but give tons to cronies

they say its for "the people" … but saftey is not top priority

wake up and smell the SHIT..

if u want to be proud have a good reason not because people say u should…

PROTON…. same old shit, now with a stink stronger than shit twice its size

• TO AKARI,

seem like i started a hot topic,true; PROTON SALES PERSON & SERVICE team haven't wake up to understand the customer, the old & bad habit; P2 sales & service do better job. My point of view is, SAVVY is well developed on workmanship & quality compare to GEN2, strong body give better handling, so it can win a modified 1.3 DVVT DOHC MYVI. If we watch SAVVY PRESENTATION, we can understand P1 concept, (don't listen to the silly SAVVY radio avertisment & poster)& also what kind of safety we get.

TO HFRSHAH,

What so great with TOYOTA 20-30million, just help yourself & find out more from PROTON website. Also sulf DAIHATSU website to find out their latest model; they already 11 yrs in MALAYSIA; they also need to contribute more but not transfer end of life model to MALAYSIA.

• Power nye Savvy, performance wise, so laju wehhh!!!, but, if you think the advantage of savvy is becoz savvy is laju, then, it drive you to buy it, then you already give the polis kaya loh!..110kmh sahaja!..u know what i mean rite?..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Aug 25, 2005 at 9:28 am

Hahahaha , FLAME FLAME ALL THE WAY.

Direct battle between P1 and P2 , Ohh love it. This is what we call Monopolistic Competition , well because of Proton needing the policy to protect them , causing P1 and P2 to actually 'monopolize' the lower-end market.

Who said competition isn't good? And why would it be bad if Proton (or P2) were to be destroyed? The loser in the long run loses out and we are left with a single national car maker which is the better one.

Talking about jobs….Those who lost out will just go to the others and continue to utilize their expertise there , easy?

———- About Myvi and Savvy , Myvi is actually classified as a Mini-MPV. Don't know about the specs but Savvy definitely loses out in interior (as in space.) , and Ohh yes I've tested both , My dad opted for Myvi coz it's made from Toyota / Daihatsu which would mean easier maintainance and cheaper too. As for Renault engines… ask Waja owners.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Aug 25, 2005 at 9:32 am

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_business.p…

Ek , just read this…

5,500 units this year…huh. It's really surprising , I might say , since we get really no news from the sales of Savvy or whatsoever. But I remember the radios broadcasting the numbers of Myvi booked.

40k units…. Is it me or is that rather ambitious? Who buys a car everyday?

• only one on Aug 25, 2005 at 6:39 pm

toritori & rave

okok… get the fact here…. sorry.

thanks toritori for the link.

THE TRUE FACT.

fact 1)

Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Bhd (Proton) has set an annual production target of 40,000 units of the Proton Savvy beginning next year.

This is only "beginning next year", why only NEXT YEAR. What happen THIS YEAR? And it is ONLY a TARGET. They can actually TARGET 100,000 units and write in the newspaper, nothing is wrong with writting. BUT ACTUAL is what we looking for.

MyVi sales (order & delivered) already surpass 55,000 units, NOW/THIS YEAR.

Savvy 40,000 target next year VS MyVi 55,000 actual now this year.

fact 2)

Chief Operations Officer of Proton Holdings Bhd, Datuk Kisai Rahmat, said that a total of 1,500 units of Proton Savvy had been sold todate and another 4,000 units would be delivered to customers before the year ends.

CONGRATULATION………………. in the low sales!

I read the news earlier, i think Paul had the artical too, 35,000 units of this MyVi will be deliver to customer BEFORE hari raya THIS YEAR.

5,500 Savvy VS 35,000 MyVi , by year end.

fact 3)

Proton was planning to also up the production capacity of the Savvy model at its plant in Tanjung Malim, Perak from the current 100 units per day to 150 units per day.

That is good….. BUT what is the sales impact on production.

MyVi, Perodua also is UP-ing the producting line to have 600 units a day.

Proton 4,000 pending delivery, devide 150/day, they will deliver all in 27 days.

Perodua, given this 4,000 order, devide 600/day, Perodua would had deliver all within 7 days.

What is the Proton's impact on the UP-ing production, the dealer will have to look for land to STORE the unsold cars. :)

fact 4)

Besides this, Proton has a flexible marketing plan that could be amended for next year, he said. He, however, could not elaborate on the plan, saying that the plan to be used would depend on the climate of the automotive industry then.

WHAT flexible plan ???!! I think

– free installment for 4 months when U buy Savvy.

– lucky draw, buy savvy and get the lucky draw to win unsold Gen2.

– lower the interest to 1%. (catch is 1st year 1%, other years 3%) :)

I am in Merketing too, when we managers have to sit down to think of marketing plans, promotion, discount, etc etc…. it is only SALES is POOR.

fact 5)

The response from the public has been very encouraging based on the good records registered by Proton with the production of this compact car which fulfills the taste of consumers, is attractive and affordable by all levels of people," he said.

at 5,500 order is "very encouraging" …. what will you call 55,000 MyVi order ? MEGA encouraging ? SUPERencouraging ? OUT OF THIS WORLD encouraging ?

OKAY. thanks Rave & Toritori… I have all this facts right now.

• only one, you are 'forced' to do your homework by toritori and rave!

well done toritori and rave!

next time, get your facts correct on your first try!

hahahaahaha……

;-)

• only one on Aug 25, 2005 at 6:59 pm

oh… sorry… an error.

MyVi producting line is increase to 200 units a day….. not 600 as written above.

• only one on Aug 25, 2005 at 7:19 pm

Jake… sure right. I was indeed "forced" to do my homework. ONLY to come out with more facts to prove MyVi is the people's choice.

:) :) :)

• dear "only one"

you are right….

I have a friend, talks a lot on how Savvy is better then MyVi, test drove both car. So I ask him, have you order the car, "yes, sure, order and deposit paid".

I saw him early this week, he come down from a MyVi, I ask him why not savvy, he say "my wife love the MyVi more then Savvy" :)

• Wah Ray,

So fast he got his MyVi:D You sure or not?

• dear kay,

he sure did, MyVi 1.3 EZ standard, Green colour. RM48,300.00… I sit in it leh.. very sure.

BUT he did not offer me to test drive. :S

And there is a lot of MyVi of various colour on the road now ma.

• there only 1 there own minority to do a thing is like jihat.

we cant blame them cause dont like people to say there stupid but like to do a stupid thing.

congratulation to who owned savvy . it was tiara TRM = savvy and SVRM next time ?.

any way is base on our budget . full lone 1 la is what we 1.

• no to tiara on Aug 26, 2005 at 6:25 pm

DAN, are U a owner of Savvy already ? or was u a Tiara owner earlier. ?

I regret buying a tiara, the publicity was so great on that car that I buy it, now I cannot sell it at a reasonable price that I have paid for, to rub salt on worn, I cannot get spare parts to repair, or way to expensive to repair.

Is Proton giving a price protection for buyers of Savvy ?

Price protection like,

1) guarantee resell value within the first year at 10% depression of my purchase price.

2) guarantee resell value within the second year at 15% depression of my purchase price.

3) guarantee resell value within the third to fifth year at 20% depression of my purchase price

4) guarantee resell value within the sixth to tenth year at 30% depression of my purchase price

above all, spare parts must be available within 2 weeks for fault, otherwise a loan car be provided until parts arrive, plus the spare part's price to remain within reasonable price compare with Japanese model.

OTHERWISE, FORGET ABOUT SAVVY, MY MONEY IS IN PERODUA MYVI

• toritori on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:50 pm

To Only One, Jake and Rave,

Get the facts right that means you comment with solid facts and don't write something that corrupt the young minds. For me it is alright if you guys choose Myvi over Savvy or vice versa. I have no rights to tell you what to buy and I guess any car you buy you will choose based on your daily needs, right?

From you reply, I guess you guys are MYVI or Perodua supporter, it is ok if you bash me and if bashing me will make you guys feel better.

What I am tring to say is please comment in a more constructive manner instead of corrupting the young using your own emotional words, I guess you have set a very good example to others especially the 'homework' you have done :) GOOD WORK, KEEP IT UP!

By the way, as you have quoted

"at 5,500 order is “very encouraging” …. what will you call 55,000 MyVi order ? MEGA encouraging ? SUPERencouraging ? OUT OF THIS WORLD encouraging ? "

Cool down man, I am not talking about which car or company is winning or losing here but just get the facts right and post the truth without bias.

I guess Rave and myself share the same view so that when others read the comments posted they too will get the facts right. There are some who read your comments are actually gathering information and to check out the facts and then to decide what to buy, right? So, if we give them the right info all the time without bias and when they choose for good or bad they will not regret, right?

In this way, we actually help ourselves, others and local products to grow to a more healthy and mature level. Is it too much to ask for… to comment with facts? Thumb rules is, if we ourselves don't use Malaysian products, we don't comment with lies, that is very bad and sinful because many Families out there depend it as source of income.

So just put emotional words a side, be mature and show others we are responsible, caring Malaysian.

Guys, Happy Merdeka !!!

Take Care

p/s Still not happy, bash me but not Malaysian Products :p

• observer on Aug 27, 2005 at 12:27 am

hehe. just a funny thought.

do u all realize, with all this savvy vs myvi craze,

proton AND perodua are gettin more and more exposure. hahaha.

oh btw, regarding someone mentioning about the daihatsu giving 'old ' cars to m'sia market.

i guess it has something todo with pricing and stuff.

cos remember that the daihatsu charade's were really got sellers.. and suddenly they all disappeared :(

but i do like their new designs, storia, cuore, etc.. cute and nice :)

• FiveElements on Aug 27, 2005 at 12:58 am

I think enough its enough!!!!. The conclusion is PROTON produces shit box. That is the fact!!!! SAVVY…..yes its another shit box coming from PROTON's factory. I can't understand…its just Darn UGLY!!!!

• toritori on Aug 27, 2005 at 1:42 am

In respond to FiveElements,

"I think enough its enough!!!!. The conclusion is PROTON produces shit box. That is the fact!!!! SAVVY…..yes its another shit box coming from PROTON’s factory. I can’t understand…its just Darn UGLY!!!! "

The facts are

1. Proton assemble and produce cars, not "shit box"

2. Proton Savvy is a name of a car, not "shit box"

3. Yes, Savvy is another car coming out from Proton's factory, not "shit box"

There is no guide nor standard measurement for Beauty and Ugliness. It is all depends on beholder eyes and feel in the heart. If he or she feels that the object or person is beautiful than it is beautiful, or vice versa. Some may see Myvi is a beauty and some may not agree and that applies to Savvy too.

So th fact is… it all depends to the owner.

Cheers

• cikguchong on Aug 27, 2005 at 2:41 am

Did you learn in your childhood to grow up not to talk about your own droppings?

• cikguchong on Aug 27, 2005 at 2:45 am

That's life. move on, you are so calculative on not losing money, did you ever blame yourself or your friends when KLSE stocks plunged ?

• bypasser on Aug 27, 2005 at 5:52 am

toritori, are u mahathir ?

• only one on Aug 27, 2005 at 7:23 am

to toritori

I rest my case.

Happy merdeka and happy motoring

cheers

• SWEET CANDY on Aug 27, 2005 at 8:09 am

SAVVY LOOKS REAL UGLY……..!!!!!!

MYVI = MINI MPV !!!!

• toritori said,

August 26, 2005 @ 5:42 pm .

toritori.

beautiful o not is not u see your self nice, nice o beautiful i who people see it nice, that what we call beautiful and nice, if majority of it see mivy in the market for time been is a nice car vs savvy. so that prove enough myvy is nicer wa!. no wonder Malaysia not really grow up cause have all this people to entrap n not really accept the fact.

—————————————————————-

no to tiara said,

August 26, 2005 @ 10:25 am

DAN say.

i not a tiara owner but i sale all type of any car.

that why i petty any 1 who owner tiara. who own it there will know.

so my b savvy will like tiara but not to bad s tiara time been my b. so wait n see it could b.

• toritori on Aug 27, 2005 at 9:14 pm

To bypasser,

Sorry Paul, a bit off-topic comments

:) haha.

I'm not him but just a 'neutral' person that try to understand things without hatred feelings, without anger, without idolize and without bias by race, religion or politics. Take Care

To Only One,

My personal opinion, you are the type of person that people will respect the most because of your good attitude by admitting your own mistakes, correct it and accept the facts. Bravo! and Take Care :)

To SWEET CANDY,

It is a personal opinion, same as what FiveElements have mentioned, I have no problem with that and respect it but it's definitely not a 'shit box'.

Happy Merdeka!

To DAN,

Hi, I guess you must use a lot of SMS, it took me some time to understand your comments :)

Respond to your quote

"if majority of it see mivy in the market for time been is a nice car vs savvy. so that prove enough myvy is nicer wa!."

The facts are,

It is definitely not justified by 'Choice of the Majority'. Beauty and Ugliness, is just like Art. Some people may appreciate it and some may not. There are no rules, no guide, no reference for beauty nor ugliness.

No hard feelings, say when you married your wife or husband, is it because of 'Majority' people saying she or he is nice and beautiful?

Or because she or he is beautiful in your eyes, in your heart and every little move she or he made really captured your heart?

It is sad, the world is changing, advancing and with today's media, marketing, advertisement… a lot of human mind perception being biased into a state that (my personal opinion) for example Fat = Ugly, Thin = Beauty, Tan Skin = Ugly, Fair Skin = Beauty, Poor = Not Successful/Ugly, Rich = Successful/Beauty

So how about the blinds? They can't see, so do you mean everything in their world is ugly? Friend, there is no beauty nor ugliness, it is just perception in your mind and the feel in your heart.

Your quote

"no wonder Malaysia not really grow up cause have all this people to entrap n not really accept the fact."

I will accept it if it's a fact, but I guess my above paragraph explain it well and you can try to understand it further if you want.

To All,

Happy Merdeka and Happy Holiday.

• toritori said,

August 26, 2005 @ 11:50 am .

Your quote.

So how about the blinds? They can’t see, so do you mean everything in their world is ugly? Friend, there is no beauty nor ugliness, it is just perception in your mind and the feel in your heart.

toritori.

when perception in your mind and the feel in your heart have to do, dont it have any level to describe it. so when u describe it , that is a means in your live, u do have beauty or ugliness in your live on what it means.

• neurra on Aug 28, 2005 at 12:31 pm

rofl.. that should hit myvi fans in the face

• I'd rather buy a WIRA than MYVI, cos it has a larger booth for family (balik kampong).

• LotusGT1 on Aug 29, 2005 at 2:06 am

If that is already proof that savvy is batter than MYVi. but but how come people still wanted to wait such a long time for MYVi? is it Savvy is using renualt engine? or people lost confidence from Proton already?????

• Only one, jake, toritori,

You guys are great man….this is what i mean by contructive argument with correct facts and figures. It gives alot more meaning to our discussions. at the end, everybody is happy…….Grrrrrreeeeeeaaaaaatttttt work people.

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:47 am

To Toritori….

Quoting Toritori

The facts are

1. Proton assemble and produce cars, not “shit box”

2. Proton Savvy is a name of a car, not “shit box”

3. Yes, Savvy is another car coming out from Proton’s factory, not “shit box”

Dude, pardon me for not making myself clear….let me explain……

The "SHIT" in SHIT BOX doesnt mean yours or any human's dropping….."SHIT" could means a lot of things. At this paragraphs…"SHIT" means lousy, bad or worst". And "BOX" means the car is rather abit square like SAWI.

So "SHIT BOX" in this case means, a lousy and terrible car that looks like a box. Hope i have made myself clear in enough.

I'm a proton owner as well infact not one but two. The first is a shit box. The door jammed, power window ROSAK, meter rosak, lights masuk air . IT is a bloddy new car then. ITs just 6 mths old done less than 30K. The second shit box unfortunately still giving the same shit……

So will i buy another proton?????

• toritori on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:53 pm

Hi FiveElements,

Referring to your reply,

Got your explanation is loud and clear :)

You own two Proton cars and have defects like door jammed, power window problem, odometer/oil gauge meter problem, water seeping into the light compartment and worst the car is a new car just 6 months old and done less than 30,000

You are not statisfied with Proton cars, built up quality.

I guess I am a bit lucky than you, I bought my Iswara 9 years ago and don't have power window problem but have a defective radiator (blockage caused by rusty debris inside the radiator), fuel light indicator problem and water seeping in to the booth.

Four years after that, the odometer and oil gauge meter give me problem, guess the components used to built the car is not that lasting or maybe due to wear and tear.

Truly, understand your frustration… not one but two Proton cars give you problems here and there even it is a brand new car.

Hopefully, Proton can built better quality cars and maintain the quality at all times.

Just trade in my Iswara for Savvy. My personal opinion, some people may say we are stupid people buying lousy local car and so on, but I guess without us buying, testing plus a bit mumbling (on facts)… guess what, Malaysia automobile industry will never got the change to grow, improve and produce a better quality product, right? We support Malaysian products (less import and more export) in return we gain economy stability.

Thousand apologies if my words in previous message hurt in anyway

Hope you will get all your cars problems solved.

No Hard Feelings, dude :)

Happy Merdeka ! Take Care

• neurra on Aug 31, 2005 at 12:36 am

good decision toritori… same proud owner here.. :]

• akula on Aug 31, 2005 at 1:45 am

tula…..lain kali pakai kereta biar jimat…..bapak aku pakai proton saga dah lama dah tak rosak ape ape pon…cuma nampak buruk je…

• u know what happen to Tiara before. now savvy is renault engine then u know how it gone do this coming soon. is not the engine not good . u Owen the tiara then u know what i say o u can ask who have tiara then there will tell u. in term of spare part o a resale value next time. we not talking about a luxury car o expensive car but we see in term of value n every single aspect how value n a level on it on that car.

• DaNiSh on Sep 06, 2005 at 8:52 pm

apa laaaaa…. ikut suka laaa… mau pakai mana.. lu suka MYvi pakai MYvi… kalau lu suka pakai Savy pakai llaaaaa…. sapa mau marah…

• Hahaha TRM on Sep 08, 2005 at 10:05 am

Hahahhahah ……

Please find out the prices of sawi spare part ….

• Sawi-Mawi on Sep 08, 2005 at 7:29 pm

tidak apa… tidak apa…itu apa nama…spare part akan turun harga

• When I was about to enter university, it was damn hard to choose a course. Because I am not the cream, I can only get my second choice. When I was studying, people like to do comparison – you know – whose daughter is better, who gets better pay and things like that. Regardless what people say, I be myself.

Now I wish to have my own car – Savvy or Myvi? Please God, my dream car is Getz. ha ha ha but can only afford those two! and reading all comparisons made by all you make me feel dizzy. Now I prefer something I really can't afford – LRT!

• Renault owns nissan… so, probably savvys engine is like nissan too… so why worry???? Even nissans new cars in Europe even look like renault such as the Nissan Primera….

• I think the Savvy is better.

You see, the car actually was able to take the beating from a butt-scratching monster, being hurled at a concrete wall and the two posers inside were still high on the unbeatable sound system.

Furthermore, the Savvy can reach Singapore faster than the time I take to get into my car and start the engine. That's furious speeds there man.

So far the Myvi can only do things that ordinary cars can do, so no competition there.

• Quest on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:29 am

Jojo, That's delightedly funny!!!

Hell, I'm all SOLD, SAVVI it is…..

Geez, I've never had a Perodua before, all my life I've been driving Protons and liked them very much (not Tiara of course, just the 1.5 megavalve, a 1.5 Iswara Sedan and a 1995 1.5 Wira. While still driving the Wira 1.5 (carburater model) I bought a Wira 1.3 manual for my mom (97)….. Finally, got enuff money to try something else out, got a 2nd hand CBU 2 liter Mitsubishi. Culture shock!!!!, the car at 7 or 8 years old, better in everything, every conceivable nook and corner, every aspect than any of the NEW Protons I have. Then my fren with a 1 year old Perdana (V6, not the old OSHC 16valve) tested my car and cursed…… The 1 year old Perdana got an invisible mouse, always squeeking away, but can never catch the Mouse, "Standard lah"

In 02, I bought a Wira 1.5 A, for my mom. From day 1 there were problems, suspension got mouse, squeeking away, check wit Proton, they say "checked and adjusted" on the service invoice sheet….. complain again, they say "Standard la", the petrol cover doesn't close, small problem, just the plastic hinge defective, check with them, "check and adjusted"… same problem, "standard la….", of course the legendary invisible mouse that squeeks away, one that no mouth traps can help.

I've never owned a Perodua before, but the next car I should buy, if in that price range, I won't buy a Proton. 20 years of crap is enuff to last a long time. If Proton doesn't have any quantum leap in design and quality soon, it's a goner. So are all your own hard earned money because you'll be force to pay SO MUCH for it, since they're gonna outlaw other car brands soon to protect Proton.

• Tawau on Sep 21, 2005 at 7:16 pm

la ni kita cuba ubah Proton buat Myvi & Perodua buat Savvy…

Mesti org kata Perodua savvy bagus…dan jualannya meningkat hingga ke ratusan..

Pasai org kata Perodua tak banyak problem compare ngan proton. Pasai Proton pula mempunyai bad history ngan keretenya yg lepass…

For me, Proton Savvy is a good car in all aspect except spacious. Myvi pula, i rasa there's nothing special for me, sebabnya wife i pun pakai Myvi 1.3. I rasa underpower la , dah la tu kuat telan minyak…la ni Myvi i dah ada mcm2 bunyi tikus kat dlmnya mcm skru longga, sampai la ni tak dpt detect . Dlm masa 2 bulan ni 4 kali ulang alik kat servis centre.

Kepada pemilik Proton Savvy pula, i rasa u all have made a good choice. Forget about the proton bad history. This car really great…drive like a european car. I already test it few times..One day,I rasa Savvy will be malaysian choice when proton launch auto transmission & comes with ABS/airbag soon.

Bagi i,Myvi ni cantik kat Showroom aje, atas jalan nampak mcm Dumbo (anak Gajah) terutama rear design…..Tak elok langsung mcm gajah duk nak berak.

• nurul Q on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:08 pm

wah stuju sgt. savvy mmg best. tgk myvi cm bontot labuh. x mantap lgsung.

• echan on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:31 am

it look like a lot of guys have to go for myVi becuase of their WIFE… hahaha

from outside myVi look better to me.

anyway i never test drive any of those cars… so can't coment on other aspecs

my 2c.

• Old man on Sep 26, 2005 at 5:40 am

I think the latest development in Proton was an effort to put all the bad records, all the ghosts behind them. From what I heard from friends who are working in Proton most of the sub-standard and quality issues with the national cars were results from incapable suppliers and contractors with high level political connections.

For those who are about to buy your first cars lets give Proton a fair chance now, as I am very sure Proton has taken the very first positive step by removing Tengku Mahaleel (as well as Mahathir's grip). Lets support the industries as they provide jobs (not only in Proton but the supporting industries), pay taxes and the money is not taken out of the countries (though some did end up in certain people's pockets).

As for why a lot of people go for MyVI, it is normal for people to make decisions based on popularity – "the majority of people could not go wrong concept" but then who knows 55,000 people could be making a mistake? This Raya season be prepared to be hogged by the growing numbers of the slow MYVI on the roads or be endangered by the poor handling of the cars as the drivers make an effort to exceed 100 kmh speed.

For those who wrote and gave outrightly biased judgement, save your money buy an Altis or a Civic. Based on my experiences you cannot go wrong with these two cars unless you are really unlucky.

My comment – the Savvy is good if it is your second car (you have a better and bigger car to travel long distance) while the MyVI is the right choice if it is the only car that you can afford.

Happy Motoring, Drive Safely and Don't Rod Hog

• DarkNeill on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:04 pm

My first Car is Wira 1.8 (auto) doesn;t really give me any big problem. bad i have bad experince with the power window only. that's for true as long as i did open those power window b4 they gonna have problem.i remember i change 4 of them mean 4 different window. funny ya ? talking about car services i dun really go back to proton service center hardly go back to them , i prefer go "ah peng" service center hehe. after 3 years i sold my wira and i get a Kelisa .

now my kelisa already 3 yrs old i never have power window problem , and 3 yrs i never go "ah peng" service center i only go to Perodua Services center.becoz ah peng dun really know about this kelisa much, and perodua Service center charges is reasonable . is cheap . problem now the car is already 3 yrs , problem is coming be it comes to me i got to change new car !!!

MYVI and Savvy is my only choice to have ….

damm it MVYI

• DarkNeill on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:07 pm

MVYI definite a better car , But damm it i LOVE SAVVY .

also i would like to say

SAVVY dun have automatic transmition

MYVI have it both .

I will buy Savvy if they offer AT model

if not i will go for MyVi .

just a rm50k car … heck care

• In my opinion , compacts cars targets are more focussed on lady drivers and I think proton had made a wrong marketting strategy which the focus on performance etc . Of course i could be wrong , but I personally would prefer a wira to a Myvi but my girlfriend would prefer the Myvi instead . The comsuption aint that bad for town driving , i tested it and it comes to around 13cents/km town driving . I am not sure bout the savvy though , but anything associated with renault wouldnt come cheap . My friends who are using wajas are really fed up as wajas always gives them problems , a few of them even sold their wajas and downgrade or should i rather say revert back to their old cars ~ a more reliable wira . yes , the invisible mouse is still there , but at least the maintenance is cheap and the windows doest break that easily . Waja owners should know .

• MCdiva on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:35 pm

Test it, before u buy. Myvi & Savvy is not in the same segment. Myvi win the car lover since in the showroom but Savvy win, when drive it a few times. My opinion, both car have their own characteristic. For who want a comfort & extra spacious, Myvi is a right chice. For me, Savvy is like a sport car when u drive it, with a good handling in cornering & stability, Savvy can win the young man hearts.

And for who to save your money due to oil price getting up…Below are the comparison:

from proton website(FUEL CONSUMPTION @ 90 KM/H):

Savvy 1.2L manual: CONSTANT 5.3 L/100km

from perodua website(?):

myvi: (not published) ???

from daihatsu australia website(Fuel economy ADR 81/01 Test standard):

sirion 1.3L SX auto: Combined 6.4 L/100km

sirion 1.3L SX manual: Combined 5.8 L/100km

• pungit on Nov 02, 2005 at 9:26 pm

mmmmm…….myvi vs savvy?????………

i prefer myvi………………

but i do heard complaint about myvi…

it's about tyre…any idea???

• For handling and outlook which is better? Myvi Or Savvy?

• mystvearn on Nov 19, 2005 at 7:14 pm

For handling and outlook which is better? Myvi Or Savvy?

Savvy la. I have one, can outrun a 2.0 litre car on east west highway. Corners feel soconfident. But, passengers will be in for a rough ride. Like I care.

• freakoaxeman on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:46 pm

pungit said,

November 2, 2005 @ 1:26 pm

mmmmm…….myvi vs savvy?????………

i prefer myvi………………

but i do heard complaint about myvi…

it’s about tyre…any idea???

dear pungit…

regarding the tyres, my moms myvi recently blew a tyre, n rode from puchong 2 cheras on 3 tyres.. (impresive!!) but the bloody tyre costs RM180!! the shop told my mom that the tyre is 1 of a kind.. n someore have 2 order!! no ready stocks..

• shaymen on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:19 am

stupid cloudz….

• shaymen on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:19 am

i agree wit maniam besi buruk…

• szw (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 4:41 am

savvy rox , myvi sux !

• rowen (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:01 pm

In my humble opinion, both car suxx… So, no point of arguing over which is better.

Savvy comes from Proton which we know have a lot of reliability issues with their car since day 1.. Savvy may be proton concept of "My First Lotus" but it's still not as great as what Proton boast… No comment on it's looks…

The MyVI is actually a great car because it is copy and paste of Daihatsu Sirion, Boon and Toyota Passo… Nothing to be proud of owning this car…

Bottom line is, If you want a REAL reliable compact car.. Get a Suzuki Swift..

It's for both you petrol heads and sane drivers…

• budak blues (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 6:51 am

..memang savvy paling best dari segi persembahannya..! myvi harap bumper jer besar…kekeke… harap lepas ni kluar pulak savvy SE lagi dasat tuh..

• budak blues (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 7:00 am

myvi suck! savvy powerfull!

• saivi (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 8:50 pm

hi. i prefer savvy over myvi. but i’m not a real supporter of proton actually. i feel love in savvy after ride it. it’s definitely better on performance-wise. if we are talking about comfortable car i will go to honda instead. lol.

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:41 am

The funny thing is that so many malaysians modify their myvi and drive recklessly thinking they are driving a porsche or something?

how stupid!!!

• SickGuy on Jul 20, 2009 at 1:01 am

savy rocks!

• funkygiglydoll on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:44 am

i've just visited proton's showroom today and driving cross states for hours and decided to do some online research on affordable,local cars(yes we are not that rich,if we are,we don't even go online typing myvi and savvy right),and after hours of searching and typing,this page give me loads than i can get by reading and analyzing the internet content all by myself.all the clubs need to register la,cannot access la,and full of their own supporters right?tho there are sections for problems(we're not driving cinderella pumpkin cars).great article and discussion going on here..very helpful and entertaining too.lmao!

really feels like real ppl talking.

thanks a load guys!

• Lol.. both suck.. my grandpa bought a 240GL in 1984 ie before even i was born. that old workhorse has 500000+ kms on the clock now and still going strong. Not a single overhaul or major problem ever encountered. the car was so used till the seats also kaput already and got new ones installed recently. But engine still going strong. Compare that to my 7 yr old Wira (only 130000 kms so far) already overhaul 2 times because consuming oil and smoking like crazy! Proton always power window spoil. That Volvo power window motors 25 yrs old never change even once still works. Now my bro gotta Savvy. Sucks big time. Flimsy and cheap feel. Till today I feel so safe and secure in that old 240. Even when you close those massively thick solid steel doors, you feel impregnable enough :-). The ride is also still nice considering its age. Whatta car that is. Not surprisingly my grandpa, although has the means to buy a better car, has an attachment to it and says he don't wanna change car. (Other 240 owners will understand) Now tell me who can say same thing about any dumb Proton? I wanna hear. Even Perdana sucks big time our own Ministers also don't want.

• MatrixLYN on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:08 am

After owning both a Myvi manual 1.3 and Savvy manual for 4yrs. I can say this:

Savvy is the better car. No kidding. Excellent ride and handling, superior suspension, stable on highway at high speed, cheap maintenance, relatively problems free.

The only thing Myvi has an edge is bigger space…other than that…crap handling, floaty on highway, suspension sucks and just inferior in about every way. In terms of comfort, Savvy is more comfortable, but in terms of engine queitness, the Myvi wins a bit as the Savvy engine has the charateristeric to roar a little.

• fuck p1 on Nov 13, 2011 at 4:50 pm

nk tgk gen2 n waja kena tapau dgn myvi dlm rally kt johor?stupid p1 omners….