Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Archive for August, 2005

Proton Savvy Accident

I’m not sure how this happened or what it hit… whether it was a real accident or some crash test. Looks really bad. Like something hit it really bad on the right side of the car. Maybe some tall SUV or lorry hit it on the right and the Savvy went underneath it.

Update: Wingz says maybe nothing hit him and the driver just lost control of the car… flipped over like a turtle and finally the car stopped when it hit something.

Thanks to Vincent for the photos.

Click here to read the rest of Proton Savvy Accident

Comments (161)

Renault Egeus SUV Concept

Even Renault is into SUVs now. Renault’s new Renault Egeus SUV will debut at next month’s Frankfurt Motor Show. These concepts will give you an idea of how the final SUV will look like.

Click here to read the rest of Renault Egeus SUV Concept

Comments (13)

Maybach Excelero

I’m sure many of you know about the ultimate luxury car from the same group that brings you the Mercedes Benz S-class. The Maybach 57 and 62. The numbers refer to the length of the car. Either 5.7 meters or 6.2 meters.

They’ve recently outdone themselves with a special concept luxury coupe - The Maybach Exelero.

Click here to read the rest of Maybach Excelero

Comments (21)

Klang Valley State of Emergency

The government has declared a state of emergency for the entire Klang Valley area. What does it mean? I’m still in the office working.

So what does it really mean?

Click here to read the rest of Klang Valley State of Emergency

Comments (45)

Sumatra Fire Satellite Photo

Unrelated to cars… but I’d just like to share. You can click for an an enlarged version of it. Source is from NASA’s Earth Observatory Newsroom.

This photo was taken back on 25th June 2005. I guess the white smog that was previously over the ocean is now right over Malaysia.

Click here to read the rest of Sumatra Fire Satellite Photo

Comments (17)

Malaysian Diesel to be blended with Palm Oil soon

Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak said today that Malaysia’s diesel will be blended with 5% palm oil before it is sold to consumers. This is part of a new fuel policy to be announced soon.

Click here to read the rest of Malaysian Diesel to be blended with Palm Oil soon

Comments (28)

Kuala Lumpur Air Pollutant Index

The government has lifted the 8 year ban on Air Pollutant Index figures today.

Click here to read the rest of Kuala Lumpur Air Pollutant Index

Comments (28)

Proton Loses Top Executives

Three top Proton executives have quit. The executives are head of group finance Tan Seng Lee, head of internal audit, Colin Low, and head of public relations, Fauziyah Abu Hassan.

Click here to read the rest of Proton Loses Top Executives

Comments (5)

Proton to build RM40 million third plant

Proton Holdings Bhd might be spending another RM40 million ringgit to build another plant near it’s existing Shah Alam plant. The new plant is intended to be used as the main base for manufacturing Volkswagen’s cars.

It’s existing Shah Alam facility has a manufacturing output capacity of 230,000 cars a year while it’s Proton City in Tanjung Malim can make a million cars a year.

Does anyone know the current output of the current plants? Do they really need another one?

Source: The Malay Mail

Comments (16)

Rafidah to explain today

Rafidah is supposed to explain all the controversial issues regarding the AP system today. I don’t think she can skip the meeting again.

Among matters to be explained are what are the criteria of giving out APs, and why are there as many as 6 types of APS:

• open APs
  • franchise APs
  • tuner APs
  • student APs
  • diplomatic APs
  • “Member of Parliament APs”.

Will we see another advertisement for no more tears shampoo?

Comments (19)

Page 6 of 8«12345678»