Announcement

I am going to edit or delete any comment which mentions racial issues from now on.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cameljoe on Sep 09, 2005 at 9:38 pm

Thank you Paul! Yes, freedom always lead to abuse. We all should be a little mindful and mature in our comments. No need to get all excited over words. Afterall, if those are not satisfied, then they can always have their own blog in less than five minutes to setup and do all the abuse by yourself.

• ShaolinTiger on Sep 09, 2005 at 10:04 pm

Good, keep the dirty racist fools away.

• ah lim on Sep 09, 2005 at 10:31 pm

good news to hear……. merdeka(7X)

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 10:42 pm

ya u should paul,latly it hav been geting out of hand,any single issue either ralted to racial tings or government……should be baned….good job!

• mahagurusia on Sep 09, 2005 at 10:43 pm

uhuh?… I missed out something?

• 100% support

• dando on Sep 09, 2005 at 10:48 pm

kudos to Paul! end to all the racist comments! maybe u should set up a "Hall of Shame" page and put the names of all the racist ppl in there.. that should teach them a lesson

• Wilfred on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:02 pm

no racism thought, however critics/comments on G or corporates should remains….its a good thing to comment our G, to let them improve.

• it is about time…. he he ha ha :)

• JoeWong on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:28 pm

Keep Up Your(mighty Man)… Good Work…hahahah

• Shariman on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:41 pm

ini website citer pasal keter daaa..apasal nak ade komen pasal bangsa lak…gue sokong lu laa paul….caya sama lu !!!

• napps on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:56 pm

good on u mate

if anyone wants to talk those kind of things, write to malaysiakini or go to the free-for-all slugfest at raja petra's www.malaysia-today.net

• SEE FU on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:44 am

SAYA sokong! Paul Jangan potong sampai orang tak faham! Like Malaysian Cinema did lei! Okay!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:48 am

See who start the FIRE first! That should be CUT by Paul!

Next, We should play our part too, don't reply XXX ppl comments! then the issue will not continue….Rights?

• Paul,

totally agree

• rafreez on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:21 am

totally agree with u paul…in cyberspace we r all the same….no races issue…hantam G or corprate bodies, fine with me. N the most important thing is we r here for the same issue n intrest…CARS

• lilian on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:26 am

15 words in one sentence. But dem pahwerful man!

• gogochaiyo on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:32 am

yeah paul

go straight never stray

only hoping that cencoring doesn't involved biasing

you know like some people we know and don't know

• Chedi on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:42 am

That is the responsible things to do…..

• FiveElements on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:53 am

GOOD JOB!!!!!!!!!!!

• neurra on Sep 10, 2005 at 2:11 am

about time.. full support.. ^_^>

• Verne on Sep 10, 2005 at 3:27 am

Huh? Wat did I miss?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:23 am

Look for the Myvi vs Savvy topics and you'll get what I mean.

Oh and anything related to the Government might have something for you too , Verne.

• Streamyx User on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:28 am

I WANT 2MB Connection!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:26 am

Hey , just saw the HWM , Congratulations to Paultan.org for being listed on HWM Malaysia!

• According to Jeff Ooi, Telekom can easily give everyone 6MB connection just by doing software adjustments and minimal hardware upgrades.

When I tell my Singaporean friends I have a 512Kbps connection, they type "ROTFLMAO" from their 10Mbps connection. And my Korean friend does the same thing, from his 1Gig connection in Seoul.

• harry on Sep 10, 2005 at 5:44 am

can we still condemn the BN government Paul? kahkah…

• ya why talk about racism when nothing will change, it is better to share more on cars and technology.. more ummh mua mua…

really enjoy and nice to know more foreign cars being locally produced..

cheaper cars for more rakyat…

• Good decision.Well done Paul!!!!!

• Ir Entau on Sep 10, 2005 at 9:51 am

Why do we segregate ourself interms of color and race, we do forget that when we make racial coments we are moving backwards and not forward. If we still argue about "the rights" we are not going anywhre but back to square one because there will be always people to fight and to protect the system. The best thing is not to change the system but to manipulate the system. Instead of fighting we should work together and not pointing fingers, its not decision to be born malay,chinese, indian,etc..So why do we fight…I thinks it is better to come together with a better plan to manipulate the system well suited for everyone.

• ManInGermany on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:31 am

I support your move, Paul.

• MutantTomato on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:47 am

Good one Paul! :) Let me be the first here to also add in, if I have ever offended anyone here (unprovoked, that is!), I am really sorry.

If there is one thing we can learn from Americans in particular, it is this… Ask an American what he is and he will say I'M AN AMERICAN! Then will he say, "I am Hispanic," or "I am a Latin American," or whatever else. However, ask a Malaysian and he will say "I am Malay" or "I am Chinese," or even worse, start identifying himself by sub-race i.e. "I am Ceylonese" or "I am Hokkien."

Why I said all that in the above paragraph is, we should learn to say "I am a Malaysian" first before anything else. Leave aside all the problems and biasness and so forth. The problem does exist,but seriously, do any of you have lives that are SEVERLY affected by it? SEVERELY as in no food, no clothes, no job, simply because of racial preference? No right? So look to the positives of our country! There are so many things here that we can't get anywhere else in the world!

Anyhow, once again, kudos to you Paul for taking this drastic, yet much applauded step. also, Once again, if I have offended anyone, please accept my sincerest apologies. :D

• michael lee on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:57 pm

Dear Mutant Tomato – that was a very nice thing to do and we should all learn from your example … and your story brought up memories of something that happened to my family and me recently in Australia. My rented car began to misfire, and being another lover of cars like all of you, I went into a LARGE handyman's store and asked to buy some small tools so that I could check the plugs, etc. etc .etc. I was surprised to find that they were swamped with those cheapies that wouldn't last for more than a few turns … so I said that I wanted to look at other tools and not these cheapies made in _____. That guy looked cheekily at me, over the rim of his stupid glasses, and asked me loudly where I came from. When I told him that I was a Malaysian, he could hardly believe it, and he retired to hide behind his counter, and then started to point me out to another of his colleagues. When you are winning, you go on the attack right ?

I deliberately, and slowly walked up to the counter, and asked again for some good tools – in the best angmo style I could fake – and you could immediately see the total confusion I was causing in the poor man's mind. Needless to say, we left as good friends, and further, with me very proud to be Malaysian.

• yahoo, strongly support.

• HANG JEBAT on Sep 10, 2005 at 6:19 pm

hmm good move Paul!!! just bring all the good topic!

• Ir Entau on Sep 10, 2005 at 6:51 pm

Kudos to everyone….

• 好!!! 好!!!!! 应该酱做的!

• pomen_kete on Sep 10, 2005 at 9:18 pm

The main you all did.. i saw their nick in here.. 3, 4 people..

When they critic the "G".. they always relate the G is a malay G

and thats also the problem here..

they knew but they still did it..

Remember! the G is not stupid as u think.. if someone report to the G cyber n multimedia ministery.. This web gonna be ban larrr..

So.. who makan cili, dia rasa pedas..

• What happen to free speech?

Our good former PM, Tun Dr Mahathir once told a pack of reporters that "a good dictator can be better than total democracy", most people smirked and considered this as another Mahathir's way of doing politic.

Certain quarters of politician vows that total free speech is the way to go and should not be controlled in anyway whatsoever.

So what happened now? Becoming a dictator Paul? hehehe.. no offence Paul.. I never believe in totally free speech anyway.

• Free speech? Please do not bring that over-rated phrase up. Free speech is one thing, relevance is another. The government does not give discounts for Bumiputeras to buy cars. Why should the issue of race ever come up in my car-related blog posts?

Also, what good do you think will a bunch of people insulting each other's races in my blog comments will do? Unless someone convinces me that comments that provoke racial tensions actually do any good to the reader community that read my blog, I will do my best to keep them out.

• michael lee on Sep 10, 2005 at 11:17 pm

Don't worry Paul – you are at least 3 – 0 up already … and look at all the willing goalkeepers you have supporting you. How to lose ?

• I'm totally support your action Paul… that's should be the way… TQ..

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 4:50 am

Do the right thing. Kudos to u Paul.

• harun on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:44 pm

long live paul! long live paul! god bless all malaysians!!!!

• Sounds cool…as far as 'initiator' is kept out. i doubt anyone would start the fire…sometimes some comments juz hurts and you are p*** off there is when the war started. should this be avoided and non-exist…its oni abt cars. Not race, religions or even JJ skins!!! now thats wat i mean – COOL~!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:51 pm

Paul, you see actually WE all are very UNITED!

BOLEH LAND BOLEH!! Kita semua ini ABANG ALEK lei!!! MALAYSIAN SUDAH DEWASA. Macam mana Lawan pun akhirnya SENYUM balik juga!!! Tak payah panggil POLIS untuk selesai PROBLEMS kita!!…….YAHOOOO!

• Yes.. tak payah panggil polis… agree.. but I still hate you Dog.. hehehe… just kidding.. just kidding!

Politicians keep promoting racial harmony… where got.. where can get racial harmony.. racial tolerance yes.. harmony? hah!…

• Biothing on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:10 am

we cerita pasal kereta why bother racist racist one!! all race or ethnic also drives same car. the problem, is why car so expensive.. that's the problemm. Whay NAZA susah-susah built Pojot cars.. just buy out Proton lo, ahy take so long.. TDM will always supprort you, see he goes everywhere with NAZA now. (hope this is not racist ahh)

we want hybrid (repeat many times)

• moo_t on Sep 13, 2005 at 3:47 am

Paul, if authority or big guy want to kena you, they can find 1001 reason to charge you in sedition/libel/etc. Even simple thing like color of your car can be topics of sedition.

• I second what moo_t said, just look at Anwar.

Anyway.. this is supposed to be Motor blog.. so get back to the topic guys.

• moo_t: i am hoping to minus 1 from that 1001 reasons hehe.

• i want to buy toyota wish side mirror (R) who can help me !!!!

• hokkien lang. on Sep 14, 2005 at 10:33 am

these are good paul…

but what about the people …. i mean 1user use alot of nicknames?

e.g. abu use his PC to comment these blog .

he use 100 different nicknames to comment his opinon….and few of them can

be a racial issue…… can you do something about this?

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:27 pm

You should paul…..u should…

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:34 pm

"Racial pethatic moron" should'nt be in this blog…

Why should the issue of race ever come up in a car-related blog posts?

unless those guys want another 13th MAY…huh?

• Pandai on Dec 18, 2005 at 9:44 pm

Sort of implying the idea that "ignorance is bliss". Just live your day the way it was 100 years ago and shut up and everything will be fine.

• gerrard on Dec 19, 2005 at 9:05 am

U r rite paul…repelled all the bashers and racists

• Tuning_Professional on Dec 19, 2005 at 9:09 am

Thank God Paul Tan decided to take action. Although my story is a little different, there is something in my story that could make Paul Tan do something to help improve this site's reputation as being the best.

Here's my story (to Paul Tan). Paul Tan, do you remember that 'Proton to re-visit Mitsubishi Partnership' site? You know, that nasty quarrel in that site? To tell you the truth, one bad guy impersonates himself as me and sadam and used both my identity and sadam's identity. He gave bad comments, yes. But unfortunately, people are already suspecting me and sadam as the bad guys, since the names were Tuning_Professional (my name) and sadam. Makes me totally sick. Why would I always became a target although i did not even used my computer the day that bad guy give those comments?? No idea…

Paul Tan, please help me solve this 'identity theft' problem. I really need it.

• MikeO on Dec 22, 2005 at 4:26 pm

Race means everything! If you refuse to acknolodge your race than you reject yourself and everyone like you. Don't be a self hater! :D

• The_Hives on Dec 22, 2005 at 5:59 pm

sokong 100%…hidup paul!