Hyundai Accent SR Preview

Reader Mega passed me this shot of the hot new Hyundai Accent SR hatchback that’s due to be revealed at the Frankfurt Motor Show this month.

I’ve been reading around and have seen people talking about the new hot Hyundai Accent hatch which shares the same platform as the previous Kia Rio which I covered. Here’s some sketches too.

Can someone tell me what on earth is that Toyota-ish grille doing on that Hyundai? The front of the car looks like a Toyota Vitz and a Scion tC. Scion is a brand under the Toyota group.

Anyway rumours are that the car will come with a 200hp 2.0 litre turbocharged motor. Sweet!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AlexC on Sep 12, 2005 at 3:15 pm

The back reminds me of the civic that paul just blogged recently… very much civic like anyway, and yes, with a toyota like grill… its a nice design anyway, hopefuly comes with an attractive price tag… koreans manage to do that for some time, hopefully they are still able to do that for this model…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 3:30 pm

Haha! I like this , My guess that it looks a bit similiar to the Toyota Vitz , the new one that is.

But, Hyundai's aren't cheap , are they. Even a Getz is outta my range now.. Guess I have to work and get my own car…After my studies end , hehe.

• holy_cow on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:19 pm

Looks a bit Ford Focus-y.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:32 pm

Korean cars are getting better in STYLING! Good move! Anyway, the front has Honda's image maybe because of the LOGO!

• totally beated Satria SRM, only see the smoke… 'potong' pls learn how to design from others, don't only keep in your own mind that's good design (actually ugly), & get people opinion…

• ah lim on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:38 pm

bad signal 4 poton……

• Wahlauwehhh… damn nice looks… that is what we want for P1 improvement…

• FiveElements on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:14 pm

DAMN….that is nice.

Then again how much will it be on our shore???

:(

• kalen_XI on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:17 pm

well..hyundai..was once branded as a 'copycat' manufacturer…..well…look how far they have come from just copying….hahah..unlike proton…haih…try to be original…but…fail..so badly…

• Hey, it looks more like its comes out from an 'Ah Beng' workshop instead of an auto plant. What a messy design!

• belacans on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:19 pm

the shape looks familiar but damn…. hot hatch! hehehe, just nice for a coming-to-40yo man :P

• Verne on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:31 pm

Hey, I once I have some lust for a Hyundai, and its not the Tiburon coupe! Nice!

• 2.0 series car…could it be under 100k's range? hard lei

• Jason on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:18 pm

Anything that has a turbo is in my list.

• rafreez on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:29 pm

fuyooo…looks very very nice…I'll give 3 1/4 stars for the design, but 100k for 2 doors is really not my choice…

• cameljoe on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:36 pm

Looks like it is production ready. Hope they can get this out. Very good in the exterior styling, very japanese. Yummy!

• cameljoe on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:57 pm

Could this be the next WRC rally car?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:15 pm

100k for two door isn't bad , providing you have $$$ to burn heheheh..

And it looks very good! Much better than what we have now, I guess it might beat Golf GTI in styling. But a 200hp 2.0 turbo going for 100k? That's dirt cheap , expect a price around 120k for this.

• E-Nabill on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:46 pm

dont judge the car by the looks only la ,look nice ok,bt its not gonna make me buy if it drives like a normal Hyundai does,wil hav to see n wait for the review

• stupid rafidah on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:23 pm

civic EKrish

• stupid rafidah on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:24 pm

Plus a bit of passorish light haha

• Chapree Da Grande on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:03 pm

I want a WRC version…they should planned one! :p

• cbljkkj on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:24 pm

Definitely one of the best concept designs to come out of the Hyundai legacy. Totally agree with others on grounds that it resembles the EP3 Type R but with such good looks and ample power it should be a winner.

Just wonder if it can put all 200 turboed ponies to the ground….

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:24 pm

Oh no… The Hyundai's do impress me. Esp with the Sonata , with its own problems as well.. But it's a bit better than what we have here right? And people used to be afraid of Vauxhall cars … Until Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear reviewed it and whoa.. The Astra was a sold-out. Maybe this car will change Hyundai's image? Who knows? I think Savvy changed people's image about Proton with its rigidness too..

I hope this will be a successful model with it's looks. At the very least , it's a hundred times better than the current Accent model. Good design there! (The new one of course , the old Accent sucked.)

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:25 pm

Oh yeah , that 2.0 200HP scares me. ^.^ Gonna love having 200 wild horses underneath you , Power when needed , anytime. =)

• Verne on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:50 pm

The Vauxhall Astra VXR totally blows every other hot hatch away though. Damn it. I want one.

• akari on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:03 am

i see the first pic very nice, but the drawing not really nice…

it's good to see they have new car… will available in malaysia?

• aksMS on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:20 am

akari…thats normal. u wont get 100% of what u see on the sketch board.

aah…it makes me envy the korean. it make me feels…SRM is an old design already! hope someday P1 will achieve better than this…and it better be soon!

• Mivec Gti on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:34 am

Woww.. Must Buy .. 90k Budget lah.

• Senoko on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:56 am

SEE!!

Some people are not too bright. Just give them a good design then they'll get amazed. The notorious Hyundai quality then be forgotten.

Remember the Gen-2, Proton gave great design and then peoples bought it regardless of the dark history of Proton's quality. First they bought it and then started to criticize Gen-2 reliability. Same thing will happens to this Hyundai Accent. And I agree with bob the way this Hyundai looks.

*typical 3rd world mentality, judges a book by its cover*

• stupid rafidah on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:16 am

true true agree with senoko

but proton is still crappish

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:44 am

The so-called Notorious Hyundai quality? Haha , what a joke compared to our local manufacturers. Hyundai does have bad quality once in a while , Heck my dad's friend that used to drive a Hyundai Sonata 2.4 now switched to a Honda Accord.

And the Gen2 was Junk to begin with , with plastic flying out of the car on the first day , but it's not entirely the car to blame .. Blame it on our so-called third-world citizen mentality, because we 'test' everything , especially a new Proton for 'reliability'. However I've been to the Savvy's launch , and things weren't that bad compared to Gen2's launch , well at least for the Puchong branch.

Even Proton can improve , what makes you think that a Korean maker , which has more experience than Proton , cannot improve?

• cbljkkj on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:28 pm

Senoko you numbnut

Most people like us have to settle with Proton because we can't afford anything more. Its not like we would "want" to choose Proton. If we could do you actually think that we would actually stick to Proton. For a normal car to commute but certainly not anything else. The only Proton I actually think of as good is the Satria R3 and not anything else.

If I were to list the problems I had with my previous Protons you would most certainly change your perception. If I were to list the figures of export by Hyundai and Proton you would be amazed. And don't give me lip about Hyundai being foreign and what not because they started exports at around the same time as Proton. Proton can manufacture cars but they just need to grow up thats all.

At least Hyundai has some credibility in designing their cars having done their homework and making cars more comfortable to drive. I'm sure some people who are slightly overweight have problems adapting the the Gen2's hugging seats and feel that the doors shut with the sound of a Milo Tin. As for people who own the Savvy, just try to fit a 6 footer in the backseat you know what I mean.

All in all, I know I will get flamed for this. As for those who take pride in Proton I apologise greatly and as for those who are like me I share the pain. Remember one thing when you read this article which is that I also own a Proton and I deserve to voice out my dissatisfaction.

One thing Hyundai gets from me though. At least they can put the money where their mouth is and manufacture cars of at least average quality and not overspend like Proton and manufacture excess amounts of cars and store miles and miles of them in the stockyard and remain unsold.

• when other cars manufacturer release their new model we malaysian said it's nice, good engine, good body (even we only see the picture). But when malaysia car makers did the same thing we call it ugly this and that….

• Senoko on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:47 pm

Dear eRis-Aeir4s,

I do think that Korean automakers can improve but I don't think they can improve 'overnight'. Remember that Hyundai and Kia are ranked lower than Proton in customer satisfaction in Malaysia. Let alone the Proton UK that is ranked second to Lexus in UK.

What I mean is although the Koreans' are more experienced but that does'nt mean that Proton cannot performs better than them.

GM and Ford are older and more experienced than Toyota and Nissan right?

But you who are the ones can gives the better reliable quality cars………

To cbljkkj,

I know about the figures of export of Hyundai. The figures is amazing but Hyundai is exporting more of 'quantity' than 'quality'. How about our quality Proton cars that we export to UK? The figures is not impressive but Proton is exporting more of 'quality' than 'quantity'……….And I prefer quality!!

• FiveElements on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Senoko,

Hyundai used to produce junk metal but now as you would have notice, they have improve significantly especially in design and quality.That is true that you can't improve overnight, but they improve in a very fast pace as compare to PROTON.

PROTON can of course outrun the Koreans but that depends alot on the creativity of the management. NISSAN almost bankrupt and RENAULT turn it over to a profitable one. Judging by Proton current way of doing business, it is very unlikely that they will outrun the Koreans.

PROTON must make full use of its resources. No use buying LOTUS and MV AGUSTA if can't make full use of it.

• willp on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:51 pm

simply, the fact is potong car are really ugly.

• cbljkkj on Sep 13, 2005 at 8:28 pm

Senoko,

I agree that Malaysian export models do have a certain amount of quality. Better than our local models in some ascpects. I agree that I would like "quality over quantity". Hyundai has good marketing plans for export markets and have their share of ups and downs but all in all they have improved through past experiences.

We only wish that Proton would do the same. Probably the only reason that Hyundai is ranked second to Proton in the UK is on the basis of customer service.

Back to the topic. This car certainly has one of the nicest headlamps I have ever seen. Just look at the lamp cluster.

• FiveElements on Sep 13, 2005 at 9:48 pm

FOUND A STORY ABOUT PROTON ON:

http://rohasewok.blogspot.com/2005/08/proton-vs-p…

Gem of a story………..wonder what would happen if this gets published……….as they say….reality hurts!

• Verne on Sep 13, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Why has an article about the Hyundai Accent SR turned into another Proton debate? WTF?

• Inokom Accent SR anyone??

• amouse on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:34 am

ok back to the topic… nice looking car..

hhmm.. price range would be around 100-130k ( guessing only ha)

what make the car look so nice in the picture is the tinting of the car,the back ground and the lightings. Try to imagin if is just a normal glass with pasar malam in the background.. =P that is how real car gonna look like.. overall nice design and i would pay 100k for that type fo look..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:44 am

Ask Senoko , who thinks that Hyundai QC is worse compared to Proton's. And don't talk about export models here. Coz what it matters is what we get , and we are going to get Hyundai imports and Protons that are made local.

Sure Proton in UK may have good QC , but being the more experienced one , not to mention more determined one? Hyundai's Official or whoever said something about not stopping until the get low , and VERY low defect rates.

• the SR in white also look fantastic, imagine if it's in shinny black…. hoo….. cool…stuff & will be great performance if it's true a 2.0 liter…. even if 1.5, i will book it… In our country even until 3.0 or more greater capacity car also cannot perform to its maximum performance. 1.5 will just good for city drive.

• hey guys, no use to argue, time will prove the true & result. let's just wait & see how 'potong' to compete with others in terms of all aspects.

• amouse on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:58 am

hey 1.5 got cheaper road tax too.. lol..

2.0 would be just nice ler… HELLO.. 200HP wei..

so when can we see this car on the road?

• orang_biasa on Sep 14, 2005 at 4:15 am

aiyah.. tak mampu lorrr..

(at least i know who i am.. not like some of here.. seem they already got billion RM = wth )

• travis on Sep 14, 2005 at 6:34 pm

is this another carbon copy of the upcoming focus RS???

looks really like the current ford focus, but cool!!!

• aksMS on Sep 15, 2005 at 4:10 am

Kody, thats what we Malaysian has been doin for the past 20 years with Proton. WAIT AND SEE, Ha? That's the kind of attitude that put Proton in it's place today. I think we've have waited long enough to see all these excuses given by Proton due to their own weaknessess, stupidity and childishness. They must grow up!

• Wong Yat Seng on Jan 09, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Well, well, well, something to comment on the Accent RXS which I bought. There are alot of things that was charged to the customers. Deal with "them" and you will know yourself. New cars nowadays are fixed with theses items but when automobiles are brought in they will say the items are accessories. I check with them with regards to the exclusive mat but they just keep mum about it. In fact the mat which they charged are no better then the proton counterparts. If one is to check the manual, one can see… "if installed". This is the first ever manual that I have come across with those WORDS IN BRACKET.

If one is to look at the review, you can forget about it. It is just too true to believe until take delivery of the car.

Please check and comment further

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:13 am

This is a massive, and I mean MASSIVE, improvement over the previous-generation Accent. Thumbs up to Hyundai! Now let's wait for the performance figures…is it a serious contender amongst the likes of Astra VXR, Focus RS, Golf GTi and such? :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:14 am

Sorry…I meant to say Focus ST…

• Wong Yat Seng on Jul 04, 2009 at 8:03 am

Well, again I am writing since (Jan 9 2006 @2.11pm) Please (to all) leave the Accent alone and let it rot at the showroom. Until now I cannot figure where the sound comes from especially during rainy seasons (the howling sound coming in from the back of the car) and if you complain to 'them' they will keep mum on the subject. The aerial fixed at the back is make of 'rotten rubber' and one can see the metal part…real shit….better buy a Proton. The water pump is horrible…I think it is made in Jinjang or Kepong…another shit . TO THOSE WHO MANAGE TO COME ACROSS THIS MESSAGE…boycott the HYUNDAIS.There is no 'proper' service centres for Hyundais…and if one is to buy Hyundai GO FOR KIA instead.

• Ash Menon on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:05 am

Err, maybe it's just me, but when I look at it I only see a Satria Neo >.<

Especially for the actual pic, and the third illustration (side view). Maybe it's also coz of the colour? Lol.

I like the aggresive look of the front. The grille + headlamps = 'Get out of my way'.

But the back, I think the rearlamps could have been done better. A bigger sized cluster, spreading inwards a little bit, would have given a thruster-esque look to the car. Instead, the small lamps make the car's body look rather fat on the back.