Daihatsu Copen ZZ

This new Daihatsu Copen ZZ concept is the sports car embodiment of Daihatsu’s compact car engineering skills. For Initial D fans, think of the Suzuki Cappucino that you saw going against Takumi.

This new concept is longer and wider than the original Daihatsu Copen and it boasts a newly developed 1.5 litre DVVT engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hfrshah on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:40 am

haha nice choice for a name.. a dead giveaway for the car it obviously copied..(wheel arches and rims similar to Nissan 350Z)

• bloody hell, it looks like a Mini.

• kalen_XI on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:43 am

i wonder…perodua will copy this or not ar?!?!hehe…HOPEFULLY..lah..please lh..for all that's mighty and powerful up THERE!..please let perodua copy tis car!hehe….imagine..this car with a new and wider more aggressive bodykit….*drool*

• Apai_Mau on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:12 am

Any info on the engine specs? Want to install one inside my P2 for experiment.

• I thought it look like a Beetle!

• that will b good if p2 come whit this car. this car come whit turbo type only.

• karheng on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:50 am

8555: I think it looks more like the VW Beetle…

• I would have to agree that Copen ZZ looks very much like the Beetle with hints of the TT. Check out the joint lines between the body and the bumpers, front and rear, just like the Beetle's. Also, the design of the boot and and hood are just like the Beetle's. And of course the mini rollover bars for the seats are copied off the TT.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:25 pm

The Same based car had 660cc engine and it was already been sold in Japan! This ZZ has 1.5l engine!! Wow, wish to see the engine room and space on this model. Should be very COMPACT lei!

• AlexC on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:43 pm

** Drooling **

Paul: can you please confirm that for toyota, lexus and daihatsu: Are they categorizing their market as:

Lexus – luxury car

Toyota – 1 liter and above cars

Daihatsu – small to medium cars

Is this statement true?

• Wilfred on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:12 pm

Perodua Coupe?????

will it be???

• Michly on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:39 pm

P2 coupe.. i think we still need to wait for few more years..

• napps on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:53 pm

this car won't see the light of the day as a perodua. i asked mbm resources if they would consider perodua making it. he said it's unlikely, as the volume is unlikely to be viable. i wonder if any CBU importers are getting this car into the country….

• AsapMan on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:19 pm

dam son, and u guys said the savvy sucked? this is one of the ugliest car i have ever seen.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 21, 2005 at 12:46 am

I have seen the real one on the road, this car had a HARD top not soft type, it seems the photos look much better than Actual car. Funny lei? Anyway it is still look UGLY, Sorry not my taste too!! Hate the look!

• Big Hairy Flaps on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:06 am

hfrshah said,

September 19, 2005 @ 8:40 pm

haha nice choice for a name.. a dead giveaway for the car it obviously copied..(wheel arches and rims similar to Nissan 350Z)

This car was first on show in 1999, long time before 350Z was about. The name was concieved through that it can be a convertible and a open top hense the name copen

I can confirm this car has an electric hard top roof. That takes about 25seconds to go up or down.

• hfrshah on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:11 am

dude this concept has different wheelarch styling to the normal Copen.. and about the name i was referring to the 'ZZ' part..

• vr4,5,6,7,8,9... on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:45 pm

suck!

• WajaTME on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:46 pm

I love the YRV more.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 21, 2005 at 7:28 pm

porsche copycat?

WTH is goin on toyota/daihatsu ?

• I wait for P2 to produce it………. :)

• amouse on Sep 22, 2005 at 1:05 am

i think this is much better thn HVS concept.. it would be better if got bigger rim and in black..

• Noticed the rims look like one on Kenari..

• Did anyone know how much the selling price? so far i know the secondhand type already RM 110,000

• zz looks fantastics .

how mutsch it cost?

ps. if its possible please give me your answer to finnish please.