MINI Traveller Concept

This is the MINI Concept Frankfurt, a new concept version of the popular new Mini based on the old Mini Traveller launched 45 years ago in September 1960. The old Mini Traveller sold 400,000 units from 1960 to 1982.

The car seems like a stationwagon to me, but notice it does not have a B-pillar. Mini says the car has a smooth coupe-like appearance. Everyone seems to love coupes and SUVs these days.

The concept of the car is making loading and entering the car as easy as possible, which explains the missing B pillar. The doors also come with kinematic joints and springs, and they swivel to the side as well as the front in one single movement. The rear doors swivel backwards like the Mazda RX8.

This concept is powered y the MINI Cooper S engine. The additional air intake scoop and the dual tailpipes clearly indicate the power under the hood. Without a B-pillar, the back windows slide open instead of going up and down into the door panel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fuyyo…… mini pun leh gak diorg buat station wagon…. cantik lah tu tp manual,ni yang kureng sikit ni..

• E-Nabill on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:53 am

looks like some japansese concept car,with a flat roof principle.im sure it has some uper body reflex since thrs no b-pilars….bt designwise,its very nice…btw,u noticed the seats are 'floating'??

• geejun on Sep 20, 2005 at 4:36 am

wah… looks like mini + cube3

lol

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 20, 2005 at 3:21 pm

I like the Back doors, there are 2 doors left and Right side. The door hinges located at the rearlamps and the whole silver color door at the back will be opened together. Paul you should paste one more Photo to show the Back doors opened conditions, then you know what I am saying.

• Michly on Sep 20, 2005 at 5:35 pm

oh man….. i like this car.. its one fine art… if less than 200K think ill buy it.. hahaha

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:18 pm

Can make a pasar mlm car..hehehe..sell a popia goreng..waa,what a rich pasar mlm popia salesperson…

• rafreez on Sep 20, 2005 at 7:48 pm

is 3 doors or 5 doors….I cant see it….???

• December on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:05 pm

Man, this is surely sexy, my boss owns a Mini One, i drove it sometime ago, it rocks, this looks even nicer, but its kinda big and longer, defeats the purpose of 'mini' in some point. Just my 2 cents.

• December on Sep 20, 2005 at 8:10 pm

More pictures here, of course with the back door opened, pretty amazing

http://www.wheels24.co.za/Wheels24/Galleries/w24_…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 21, 2005 at 12:30 am

Paul, check this site….MORE nice MINI photos!! Click on the photos! No regret!!

http://response.jp/issue/2005/0920/article74460_1…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 21, 2005 at 2:30 am

for me = copycat of mini cooper s ..

what a shame..

• gegaoff on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:45 am

the back seat is a bit tie… don't u guys think so??

• Lousy BMW 1-Series!!

now because of that there will never be a 5 door Mini

which i think would have been way better….

Wonder how the production version of this concept will actually come out….

• Paul… U are great…. why ?

"old Mini Traveller launched 45 years ago in September 1960. The old Mini Traveller sold 400,000 units from 1960 to 1982."

When I was young, about 30 years ago… my dad is a postman, and post office use this MINI to deliver parcel. My dad use to drive the car back home during the lunch hours, and I remembers jumping into the car everytime he come home in this MINI (family did not have car back then).

BOY…. I miss the great old days, this car just reminder me … Thanks

• amouse on Sep 22, 2005 at 12:50 am

cute looking car i would say.. =) but just not my cup of tea

• December on Sep 22, 2005 at 7:24 pm

rafreez..by propotions…its 6 doors :D

• Mini Cooper AD Resort anyone?

• Rachel on Nov 20, 2005 at 7:14 am

..hmm what are you doing to the mini it looks crap!..OLD MINI ROCKS!..