Proton R3 Amprex to race at Zhuhai, China

Proton R3 Amprex will be participating in Round Nine of the FIA GT Championship at the Zhuhai Circuit in China.

The team’s Lotus Exige RR will be participating in the GT2 class of the race. The team will be participating in the Super GT series next year. Because this is the only race out of the FIA GT Championship that Proton R3 Amprex is participating in, the organisers will probably issue a 50kg weight penalty to the team.

The Lotus Exige RR has been further upgraded since the last race in the Merdeka Millenium Endurance race on August 28th 2005. It’s since had a few 3 litre V6 General Motors engine, a new gearbox and new suspension from Lotus.

Round Nine of the FIA GT Championship will be held on October 20-23 2005. Let’s see how our local boys fare!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Streamyx User on Oct 04, 2005 at 10:47 pm

Wow congrats to R3 team

• Chapree Da Grande on Oct 04, 2005 at 10:58 pm

All the best to the R3 boys! ^^

• KL Lim on Oct 04, 2005 at 11:02 pm

Where is it Tengku Djannn … Mahaleeel`s son…

I think this idiyet left already … which used to be R3 team driver…

• Marmitecrab on Oct 04, 2005 at 11:08 pm

Wasting time and money if you ask me. If Proton committed their efforts towards making better cars, it doesn't matter to me which race and where it took place at all, I'd support them. As it is, their cars sucked big time. I had 4 Protons in the past, a Saga, Iswara and 2 Wiras, and they all sucked. Problem after problem and poor quality. Power window, A/C, engine mountings, leaky absorbers, etc.

Motorsports is supposed to add prestige and glamour to your make, however, I don't think this is gonna work for Proton. Fix your cars first, then commit them to racing, that's what I say.

• ganime on Oct 05, 2005 at 12:27 am

go ahead proton…but please upgrade the power of proton

• I think this is not for proton but for lotus not like other GT teams. R3 are using the Lotus Elise and not Proton cars, yeah keep up promoting Proton using Lotus name and we still can't afford the Lotus bcoz it's own by Proton… G'dluck guys as long as it's a Msian team i will sokong!

• Joshua on Oct 05, 2005 at 1:14 am

I totally agree with Marmitecrab, no use participating in big races and wasting all their time and effort when all their cars suck big time. my whole family is using proton cars and i hate all of them. even my dad's perdana is so problematic. Money suck idiots who only know how force people buy their cars by making all other cars so expensive. i'm nvr gonna buy a proton again unless they really come up with something really good in the future. but i doubt it, expecially with the launching of savvy which was so damn dissapointing. "Malaysia is better off without proton!!!"

• MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

• I wish HAPPY RAMADHAN to all muslim…HAPPY FASTING!!!

• joshua: “Malaysia is better off without proton!!!”

eat ur word. eat ur word dude!

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 05, 2005 at 1:42 am

In Proton We Trust…..

Proton..Improve!!!or Bankrupt!!!

• Proton go, go, go… go conquer the Great Wall of China!

;-)

• Apai Mau on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:09 am

Pros: Good for Malaysia. Proton made it into the prestigious GT Championships.

Cons: Many ppl has concluded that Proton is putting too much emphasis on racing. So therefore lots of complaints on quality of it's cars from the common ppl.

• travis on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:48 am

dont be soo negative thinkinglah folks, at least there a racing team which will make us proud. But i hope those foreign spectatctors wont mistaken the exige is frm proton, aiks!!!!

But speaking of motorsports, proton n thr gov has forgotten an unsung hero named karajit singh, who used to race his Proton Pert (evo 7 to be precise) in WRC n asian paciffic rallies, but due to sort of funds n no help from Proton, he has to abandon his rallying this year.

So all the money from proton went to R3?

• E-Nabill on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:24 am

R3 beat the crap out of them!! in R3 we Believe…!

• aksMS on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:56 am

Err…travis…u got that right. i really pity karamjit. for me, he's the best rally driver we have ever had. (saladin who?) what happen to PERT? what happen to Proton's Motorsports division? All the funding goes to R3? I thought they will make full use of the experience in rallying and apply it to their new model. but all we got is just one bloody waja that can go sideways. do they think thats enough??

long live karamjit! (if im an AP king i'll definitely sponsor him!)

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:03 am

Karamjit have proven he is the way to go. But why no sponsors? I presume that it is because … He is not bumiputra.

Back to the topic at hand:

The R3 may stand a chance after all. Which is good , but they are not Proton cars. If they modded a Wira/Perdana/Gen2 and send it in. I'd be impressed.

• "Karamjit have proven he is the way to go. But why no sponsors? I presume that it is because … He is not bumiputra."

what da fuk!!!..do u know the richest person in malaysia is same race with karamjit..ananda krishnan…why dont he sponsor karamjit??greedy aaa…dont even bother other person who in need aaa?do u know Tony Fernandes same race with him..but Tony choose to dump money at Manchester United rather than his own race!!!..again..greedy eh..and i even asked him about this and he did express his frustration towards Air Asia!

Malaysia gov do sponsor him..but can't sponsor him 100% la…need prove?see his car and u'll see "tourism malaysia" sticker…

what a dump. stupid thinking to say because he's not bumiputera than he dont receive sponsorship….

if his own race dont want to help him…so what…u want aa…throw ur money to him la…

open up your mind la….be grateful u live in Malaysia…u dont like it…migrate lor…Aussie,Canada,US awaits u…and u'll be 3rd class citizen

• aksMS on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:49 am

Woah, guys, come on…. this is not about racism. It's about funding a sportsmen. Not Punjab, Chinese, Malay, Indian, Kadazan or Dusun sportsmen. It's Malaysian sportsmen. And the issue is what happen to Proton's funding to its Motorsport Division? Why Karamjit had to withdraw? Why couldn't Proton raise enough sponsors and funding to continue?

• Streamyx User on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:02 am

Yeah should think first before concluding something racial.

Listen to what Bush said, you don't like the country, migrate ok.

I'm no chinese, malay, indian, dusun, mengkudu. I'm multiracial.

• good job R3. if only proton would make all their cars R3 standard. 2020 come i will be old man and prolly will need a goddamn wheelchair

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:58 am

bush: What the hell is this? I gave my opinion , take it or leave it. Do you read before posting anyway , this is a COMMENT board. If you don't like what I said , Why not ignore me? Instead you chose to argue , What mentality.

Robert Kuok – He is the RICHEST in Malaysia , Get your facts right before sparking off an arguement , Idiot. Don't believe me? http://www.forbes.com/2005/09/07/southeast-asia-r… . I trust after this we'll be getting some silence , before Your Highness bush responds.

• This have to end. We are all Malaysians.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:13 pm

I support Race and sports, besides making money POTONG should continue Sports and Racing. Not only make ppl know about POTONG brand better but to show the WORLD that we MALAYSIAn also BOLEH!!

• honourMe on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:37 pm

To the world accoding to BUSHit, sometimes being a 3rd class citizen is more peaceful than knowing u were left behind by the goverment u voted.

• Jason on Oct 05, 2005 at 4:56 pm

Karamjit is Singh while the other people you mention are Tamil, totally different race. Anyway, that doesn't even matter. We're just wondering why he cant seem to get any sponsors? The govt seem to wasted damn alot of money on Alex Yoong, and he didn't get far. Karamjit was actually winning races.

• Joe Labi on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:05 pm

Paul… Paul.. wake up.. You need to stop this unhealthy shit.

Anyway I heard Proton will close down Motorsport Division soon.

• hey guys, dont you all realised racing in F1, GT i.e. circuit racing the 'in thing' now … and sadly to say rally not so, so no sponsorlah, people less interested!

maybe karamjit need to change to circuit racing now….

;-)

• travis on Oct 05, 2005 at 5:48 pm

man stop this race bashing!!!!

but here is not as worse than autoworld forums >.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:04 pm

Somehow I feel like that too. Rallying maybe is not so 'in' nowadays. As TV's only show F1 , A1 and the circuit races.

Haihz , I apologize if I offended anyone , and I wish it to stop now. No more commenting on the past , please.

• honda_driver on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:46 pm

PERT is petronas eon racing team. no where in that name do i see 'proton'. So why should proton give karamjit money? but they do, proton has given him millions, not just money, but help given to him this year as well as last. as usual, no facts, "shoot first, and dont ask questions later".

• faisal on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:48 pm

KL Lim, "Where is it Tengku Djannn … Mahaleeel`s son…

I think this idiyet left already … which used to be R3 team driver…"

If you open your eyes. in the pics the 3rd oerson from the left is T Djan. He stil is R3 Boss and driver.i

• faisal on Oct 05, 2005 at 8:55 pm

aksMS said,

October 4, 2005 @ 8:56 pm

Err…travis…u got that right. i really pity karamjit. for me, he’s the best rally driver we have ever had. (saladin who?) what happen to PERT? what happen to Proton’s Motorsports division? All the funding goes to R3? I thought they will make full use of the experience in rallying and apply it to their new model. but all we got is just one bloody waja that can go sideways. do they think thats enough??

aksMS,

You got your facts all over the place.

PERT is a part of EON, sponsored by Petronas hence the name. It is not part of Proton.

Proton's Motorsports Division is still in operation and it's brandname is R3. so they are one and the same.

R3, apart from Racing the Exige 300RR also developes, build and sells the Satria R3 and performance parts.

The R3 Waja SSO drift car and the R3 Waja PTC race car that competes in the Johor Race series are part of the brand bulding and engineering showcase.

• travis on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:46 pm

Karamjit has reach his peak, now at age 40 ++ i think its hard for him to compete with other younger drivers.

what i really hope is to get karamjit to manage a local WRC team via proton.He has won the production car WRC once n a few asian paciffic rally titles. Then it is hope to see a gen2 to race in the WRC.

• ThinkingMalaysian on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:47 pm

Marmitecrab & Joshua,

Motorsports has very little to do with quality of cars. Since Malaysian car enthusiast base is growing rapidly, the R3 boys are trying to use this wind of change against Proton. If Proton close R3 and stop all its activities, racing or commercial, we might not even see any developments that represent the youth of the country. It definitely will NOT guarantee better quality either. Quality is driven by passion and accountability. That's what the R3 boys are trying to drum in Proton through their actions. It's an uphill battle for them internally. Please look past the obvious. Why don't you just buy a non-Proton car and spare Malaysians the insults. It’s like spitting in the air. By the way, tell your families not to buy anymore Proton either. We don't need anymore pessimist.

Everyone,

The world is what you make of it. As responsible people we owe it to ourselves to take actions. If Proton is forked-up what are we doing to change things? Talking isn't doing. It is a kind of good deed to say well; and yet words are not deeds. Most of you are not even saying well, forget deeds or actions. Join Proton or help R3 change Proton. R3 has changed the roadmap for Proton and gone international, what have you done? Most of us are slaves to paychecks and forced to conform. Alex might not have been our best driver but I give him A for effort. It takes a lot of stamina to get to F1 level. That’s what you should respect, the people who makes a difference, makes efforts and strive for change. Please don’t reject other Malaysians who have struggled to reach their dreams. Rejoice!

• Marmitecrab on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:47 pm

Somehow or rather, almost all the topics have some element of racial bashing. Why? Because we are all different races living in the same country and we all have our issues with each other. And the beauty of forums like this is that we can bash each other (but try not to get caught, please) and still not get anywhere. No one particular race is excellent at racing. Karamjit may have been the best rally driver but I'm sure his team was multiracial. Alex Yoong wasted a lot of money and got nowhere but he has fame and a glamourous wife (you can't win them all)

I still believe that Proton should focus more on building better cars. Branding is a good move and it's purpose is to make you feel good about the product you bought but how are they supposed to expect me to feel good about a car that is made with such poor quality? Even the ministers are asking for Proton to improve their quality. If you see today's papers, the MP's are asking Rafidah why isn't Proton sold in many other countries when we allow those same countries to sell their cars here? The answer? Because their quality just doesn't cut it and the consumers there know it. There is no protection in foreign countries. Speaking of protection, the MP's are also asking for more protection for Proton by disallowing cars with similar engine capacities to be imported. The end result? Everyone has to buy a Proton. Sucks, doesn't it?

• Marmitecrab on Oct 05, 2005 at 9:56 pm

Dear ThinkingMalaysian,

Quality is not driven by passion and accountability. Not in Malaysia anyways. Quality is driven by you and me. The day we stop buying Proton and tell them to improve is the day they will. But if the govt keeps on offering them protection, there is no need for improvement because ppl will still buy their cars. But I agree that the winds of change is near. Look at the dismal sales performance of the Savvy. It's the customers way of saying "we're not going to take it anymore". And Proton took notice. But instead of saying "we know you got a raw deal in the past. We'll try to make up for it in the future. Stick with us and we promise you we'll improve", the company asked for more protection from the govt. And it looks like they're gonna get it. Who's going to end up paying for it? You and me, that's who. We've already had to pay compensation to Thailand for delaying AFTA. And don't hink you didn't pay for it because it came out of the taxpayers pockets.

• MVYI IS 1000 TIMES BETTER THAN SAVVY.

• Streamyx User on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:24 am

VOLKSWAGON LOOKS SO NICE WHEN WINDY.

• honda_driver on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:55 pm

"MVYI IS 1000 TIMES BETTER THAN SAVVY."

"VOLKSWAGON LOOKS SO NICE WHEN WINDY."

you guys went to school just so you can come up with lines like that? come on lah, be a bit constructive and make some educated remarks. We malaysians are better than that.

as for R3, i'm just happy for their contribution to malaysian motorsports. At least we continue to fly the flag for malaysia in international motorsports. But r3 didnt forget us malaysian enthusiasts as well with their continued support for the local grassroots movement. Other private companies dont care, the govt dont care, AAM doesnt care as well, and even proton probably doesnt care.

If proton shuts down R3 today, and stops all motorsports activities, do you think the production cars will improve? i dont think so. Its the people at proton R&D, engineering, design or whatever they call it, who need to get their act together. after all, its them who build cars like the waja, and Gen2, not R3.

• I strongly support the R3 team simply because most of the benefits of the soprts car went to the road production car. Perhaps Gen 2R3 should be the second model to race internationally. Afterall proton should gain expertise in term of aerodynamics, braking, suspension…etc. GO R3.

• Verne on Oct 08, 2005 at 1:36 am

honda_driver, that is very well put. I support R3 and their efforts. And I've never seen more hardcore and committed people trying to make a difference as much as this bunch. They are nutters, but are serious about what they do.

I am not a Proton supporter and like you, wish they made better cars.

They have improved by leaps and bounds with the Savvy, and the SRM coming end of the year should be even better.

To say the MyVI is better than the Savvy by 1000 times? Not in a long shot, bro. Putting everything into context and laying down proper facts, it is a close comparison, but the Savvy wins hands down where vehicle dynamics, handling and ride quality is concerned. Sorry.

• vernox on Oct 08, 2005 at 6:20 pm

Marmitecrab: The reason Proton is not selling well in foreign is bcos country like China do not allow Proton 2 enter their market unless Proton meets their industrial requirements which include setting up plants in China….by doing this Proton actually helping China develop….

on the other hand, these foreign brand eg; ALADO, do not need to fulfill these rquiremnets to be brought into Msia….so wat do u think is happening? Who is da fellar who approved these cars into Msia?? Anyway, Proton had been trying to enter China market over the past 7 years but still couldnt. This is not bcos of car quality but their gov (China) industrial requirements…..