2006 Volkswagen Polo GTI

Volkswagen has unveiled details on it’s most powerful Polo model to date, the Volkswagen Polo GTI. The Volkswagen Polo GTI will debut at the Tokyo Motor Show in Japan later this month.

The little pocket rocket will be powered by 1.8 litre turbocharged engine making 150ps and 220Nm torque. 0-100km/h takes 8.2 seconds and top speed is 215km/h. This particular engine is a real breather, with 5 valves per cylinder.

The styling cues clearly emulates it’s bigger brother the Volkswagen Golf GTI. The car will be available from January 2006 onwards. It has the Golf GTI’s grille and bumper design as well as the U-shaped spoke rims that come in 16 inch sizes for this car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• exterior very much similiar to golf indeed.

sofa is kinda ugly though…

vw is good as always. Models like the Passat & Boro are equally fantastic!

• Aris Tee on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:32 am

breathtakingly awesome stuff… looks like a mini golf gti… is it coming here? any idea on pricing… looks really desirable… hehe

• narrowband on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:55 am

Handsome looking. Wheels could be bigger though. The ones on Golf are perfect! (Massive wheels fitted onto the Golf). But this entry-level Polo (cheaper than Golf) is sure one fine hot-hatch itself.

• holy_cow on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:55 am

I love the Golf GTI, absolutely adore it, believe it to be one of the greatest cars on the road today etc etc.

So I'm a bit biased.

But I have to say it anyway – I don't like the fact that VW have essentially regurgitated the unique Golf GTI styling cues on this Polo. I mean, why not let the Polo GTI have its own special look, rather than the exact same touches (tartan seats, honeycomb grille with red piping, offset twin exhaust) as its bigger cousin? They even rehashed the glorious Denver alloys; to me they're the nicest wheels on the road today, and used to be one of those things that made the Golf GTI seem so incredibly special. I feel this devalues the Golf, and makes the R32 seem like a much better proposition. VW will attract more buyers to each of these cars if they made them seem more individual. I mean, one or two common details or themes is fine, just to link the two cars, but to repeat the entire styling pack wholesale just shows a lack of creativity.

The funny thing is, if I'm not mistaken the previous gen Polo GTI had unique details, such as red trim around the floor mats. Unless I'm mistaken and that was the Lupo GTI, if such a thing exists.

• holy_cow: have you seen the Jetta GLI?

• Streamyx User on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:08 am

The front grill new trend nowadays, see it everywhere.

• e-Nabill on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:11 am

the rear look abit odd,bt u sit in any vw car,n immediatly u start to luv the interior , it mite nt look flashy,bt seriously its top quality…everyting inside looks so expensivly made…can i have that interior for my satria?!!!

• holy_cow on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:22 am

Paul:

Yeah, and actually I commented on that post. I didn't like the Jetta GLI, but I was willing to forgive it, since the Jetta is, after all, a Golf with a boot. A boot that still looks tacked-on to me, but nevermind.

This one's not a Golf at all, though. Which makes me wonder…these styling cues have now appeared on cars badged both GTI and GLI. VW really ought to think about maintaining more purity and coherence in their model line-up.

• aksMs on Oct 06, 2005 at 4:05 pm

holy_cow: u sound a bit sentimental there. anyway, i deeply agree with you that vw should've stick to each model identity, following the design cues of their predecessor (did i get this word correctly?) there's nothing wrong with this Polo. it does has a look of a hot hatch. but, but, i dont want to spent 250K on a Golf GTi and have an identical twin of a Polo. there's just too much of a resemblence there i'd say. i think i'm confused. which one is which? ???

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:05 pm

Just wondering if GEN2 grille or front bumper shape change to VW looks, How is it? Must be very exciting man!…..Can someone modified and installed one on GEN2??

• driver on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:07 pm

1.8L turbocharged gives only 150ps? 0 to 100km/h in 8.2 secs? My Mivec [NA only] gives me 165ps……

• KL Lim on Oct 06, 2005 at 5:23 pm

Is it the car brought by Amazing Tempo .. ahahahahahaha

WALD …

• rainbow7j on Oct 06, 2005 at 6:22 pm

this is surely one of little rockets on the road ….

>_

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:10 pm

GUYS…IMAGINE MALAYSIA WITHOUT PERODUA AND PROTON….

RESULTS ,i would have drive a Honda, Toyota od VW……

wa..wa…wa….wa…huk..huk..huk;

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:12 pm

quality car from a REAL car manufacturer…….(sighs)

• baloi on Oct 07, 2005 at 6:53 pm

If you look closely at the head lamp, it has that Proton Gen-2 sort of design..betul tak?

• entreri on Oct 13, 2005 at 8:50 pm

driver, yes your mivec has 165ps… but from the desc the engine mentioned are the ones that was used in Audis. the 1.8T at its basic give out 150 but a mere chip upgrade/flash will give you 180+ on stage 1, 220-230 on stage II and so on and so forth. The potential is fantastic!

I would like to own one…… only if the come in 4motion